Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

small things that make you realize Ireland kinda sucks

• 06-06-2017 1:52pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 484 ✭✭

1.) when my American and Canadian friends recommend an OTC drug/herb for a problem I have only to find out it's either banned by th on prescription which means another €50+ and hours to spend

2.) when I meet an genuinely attractive Irish girl/woman dressed well (something rare tbh) and then she opens her mouth :(...that accent

3.) when people seem to dismiss the problems in the country with 'Ah sure, it'll be grand'

Small problems, big problems etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭WinnyThePoo

jeanjolie wrote: »
    1.) when my American and Canadian friends recommend an OTC drug/herb for a problem I have only to find out it's either banned by th on prescription which means another €50+ and hours to spend

2.) when I meet an genuinely attractive Irish girl/woman dressed well (something rare tbh) and then she opens her mouth :(...that accent

3.) when people seem to dismiss the problems in the country with 'Ah sure, it'll be grand'

Are you from Ireland yourself?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Ah sure it'll be grand.

Look to the positives. Neither the USA nor Canada are perfect by any means either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

there was a video in cool vids of a Kangaroo in Oz punching someone's door, and my first thought was, boy we only have boring animals in Ireland :D

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,779 ✭✭✭A Neurotic

Reading this, I'm more thankful that we're not subject to the onslaught of pharmaceutical marketing that our mates across the pond receive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,067 ✭✭✭368100

Solution: Don't live here

Solutions to your problems above

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

The amount of people who love nothing more than bitching about the place. It really grinds after a while.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 484 ✭✭jeanjolie

Ah sure it'll be grand.

Look to the positives. Neither the USA nor Canada are perfect by any means either.

Nirvana Fallacy

No one is talking about perfection. Personally I'd like to move to Southern France. Great weather, women who can dress well. Sure there's Islamists but f*ck those guys, I won't let them ruin my chances.

It's not about perfection but about standards. Ireland seems to have the standards pretty low.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

The overt noseyness and judgement.

It does exist in other countries, of course, but it is definitely a more visible and somewhat nasty part of Irish culture. There's very much more of a "each to their own" approach in other places and they're better for it.

368100 wrote: »
    Solutions to your problems above

And when has running away from the country ever solved anything?

It would solve us not having to listen to you complaining:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Saw thread title, thought it was going to have something to do with midget prostitutes.
    I is disappoint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭AuldDaysul

The poxy weather. My only gripe about Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,372 ✭✭✭893bet

Just the weather! Great place otherwise!

Saw thread title, thought it was going to have something to do with midget prostitutes.
    I is disappoint.

Made me chuckle! See OP, at least we have a sense of humour!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

The amount of times someone is allowed to start stupid threads on forums like this.They don't tolerate that kind of crap outside of Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,862 ✭✭✭Beta Ray Bill

1) Going into town for a pint and forgetting it's €5.50 a pint and also forgetting the vasaline.

2) Not using vasaline before getting quoted/paying for motor insurance.

3) The new brand of Mortgage vasaline that I now need to purchase because of ridiculous mortgage payments.

Basically the price of everything in Ireland...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

fianna fail

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

The accent is not a valid reason to say a country sucks
    Its completely subjective opinion

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭Tilikum

The money politicians are earning. Their ridiculous pensions.

Ryan Tubridy's salary

Ray Darcey's salary

Yer man over the FAI. His salary.
    Can't stand the sight of him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭vandriver

grahambo wrote: »
    1) Going into town for a pint and forgetting it's €5.50 a pint and also forgetting the vasaline.

2) Not using vasaline before getting quoted/paying for motor insurance.

3) The new brand of Mortgage vasaline that I now need to purchase because of ridiculous mortgage payments.

Basically the price of everything in Ireland...

Having to use vasaline in Ireland because Vaseline is too expensive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

Tilikum wrote: »
    The money politicians are earning. Their ridiculous pensions.

Ryan Tubridy's salary

Ray Darcey's salary

Yer man over the FAI. His salary.
    Can't stand the sight of him.

Your man over at the IRFU. His salary.
    Cant stand the sight of him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

It's minor but it gets my goat how people over here default to supporting English teams. "Who do you follow?" "Cork City". "Yeah but who do you really follow?". That annoys me, and I'll tell you why. You can say ah the teams here aren't as good but that doesn't matter a jot in GAA. You'd ever get a man from Louth supporting Dublin in the football or hurling for instance. I'd love a thriving domestic soccer scene over here that's our own and not deluding ourselves into thinking Liverpool and Man United are our teams or "us".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

The Gardai are like the cast of Police Academy, not intimidating in the slightest.

Wish we had a proper police force (and justice system) who don't take **** from skangers and others, instead of letting them away with all sorts. Meanwhile when a normal good person makes a mistake the book is thrown at them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,389 ✭✭✭Cordell

vandriver wrote: »

Vaseline is cheap, just like the education and healthcare. The accent(s) is(are) lovely, if you want to hear really obnoxious accents go to the southern US.
    Some of you Irish lads (I'm not) just don't realize how good you have it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,055 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

The condition that Irish Water left the roads in my town and the fact that they are being allowed to get away with it. Holes and badly patched up strips everywhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

People that don't appreciate the beauty of Ireland or that think things or places that have no monetary value are worthless.

I live near the Barrow Track in Carlow. It's pretty much the only place here you can go walking for hours. There's lovely scenery especially around Milford and Leighlinbridge. Or at least there used to be lovely scenery until Waterways Ireland chopped down every single tree for absolutely no reason. Now they want to tarmac over the entire track, all 60 odd miles of it.

There are people who support this and Facebook groups who post pictures of some canal in England as an example of what the Barrow Track could look like instead of appreciating how beautiful it already is. Some of these groups also post pictures of foreign rivers and canals and pretend they're in Ireland. Here's an argument I got into with one of the groups after they posted a picture of the Nances-Brest canal in France and I pointed it out to them. The second comment is mine.

419225.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭Gravelly

Nirvana Fallacy

No one is talking about perfection. Personally I'd like to move to Southern France. Great weather, women who can dress well. Sure there's Islamists but f*ck those guys, I won't let them ruin my chances.

It's not about perfection but about standards. Ireland seems to have the standards pretty low.

I lived in the South of France for a while - have to say it wore thin pretty quick with me, but I suppose it's all subjective. I hated the pretension, the utterly stupid and overbearing bureaucracy, the prices, and the amount of truly horrible wealthy retirees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

c_man wrote: »
    The amount of people who love nothing more than bitching about the place. It really grinds after a while.

The amount of people who take any criticism of the place as some sort of slight against their Nationalist pride. It really grinds after a while.

No, Ireland is nowhere near as bad as some places in the world.. but let's not pretend either that it's a fantastic place either.

- The lingering influence of the Church on issues that it should have no say in in 2017

- The Irish "need" to be liked, meaning we'll take on whatever persona (the current being a left-wing US liberal attitude to many social issues) to achieve that, regardless of the suitability or impact of those attitudes for the country

- The obsession with alcohol as the nation's favorite social outlet. I enjoy a pint every now and then myself, but the drunken Irish stereotype is a reality too, with all the problems it causes

- The inefficient, expensive, and wasteful public service from healthcare to politicians and everything in between. Littered with scandals and corruption at every level but which we collectively put up with because of the admiration for the "cute hoor" that still very much features in our society

- The lazy, apathetic "Ah shure it'll be grand" approach that infects everything from infrastructure development to the service industry.. resulting in expensive half-assed "solutions" that serve noone properly, and usually end up being redone at more expense a few years later

So no.. while we may not have riots and violence on the streets every week, or police demanding bribes/payments at the side of the road, it doesn't make me blind to these faults, and we have a LONG way to go as a country before we truly fit the "modern, liberal Western society" label we aspire to.

The country COULD be far better if we all took a more proactive interest in it, and thought a little further afield than our own immediate family/surroundings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,769 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Love the sense of humour. We were in Newgrange over the weekend, on the last bus to leave the site. It's about a 10 minute drive back to the visitors center.

The bus driver did a quick head count to check we had everybody - When asked by one of the passengers what he was doing, he said "Ah just have to make sure, they started back with the human sacrifices there recently and wouldn't like to lose anybody". Cue blank stares from the Americans and Europeans on the bus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Sure lookit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭Glenster

Can there not just be one thread that pointless moaning goes into?

You can vent against the poor, the rich, the bankers, the unemployed, feminists, the patriarchy, Dubs, boggers, Uncultured swine, snobs, public sector, private sector, atheists, muslims, the church, fine gael, fianna fail, austerity, scroungers, and all the rest of it.

Then at least it'll be in one place for us to ignore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,389 ✭✭✭Cordell

please delete

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,858 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

The weather is a bit of a downer at times. It does rain a lot here in the West of Ireland, but then again we don't really experience any extremes - no drought or tornadoes or any of that sort of craic.

Ireland has got problems for sure, but you could find fault with any country in the world if you really wanted to and I honestly don't think it's a bad place. I like living here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,024 ✭✭✭optogirl

Nirvana Fallacy

Women who can dress well? Are Irish women not able to dress themselves?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

when I meet an genuinely attractive Irish girl/woman dressed well (something rare tbh) and then she opens her mouth :(...that accent

Which one? Cork? Belfast? Mayo? Dublin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Which one? Cork? Belfast? Mayo? Dublin?

Probably Dundalk. Which if it was the case, would lend some minor credence to the OPs argument.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭Glenster

Probably Dundalk. Which if it was the case, would lend some minor credence to the OPs argument.

Nothing wrong with an accent from the town.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭5rtytry56

The overt noseyness and judgement.
    The self - appointed sense of this and the sense of self - entitlement because I am so - and - so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

Re your first point, nothing decent is available without prescription in the US. I'd much rather be able to buy codeine over the counter like in Ireland than have access to a plethora of useless herbal remedies or drugs that probably should be banned!

2. Whenever I'm over I see lots of well dressed attractive Irish women. I presume you are also Irish and therefore have an Irish accent? Stop being a hypocrite. Also did you not say before that you aren't attracted to women at all and for that reason your cousin is "ignorant" for not feeling comfortable with you being in the women's changing room? Which is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,862 ✭✭✭Beta Ray Bill

vandriver wrote: »

Touché

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭Persephone kindness

I like Ireland :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,005 ✭✭✭pilly

Entitled teenagers who aren't getting any sex with nothing better to do than start threads online with ridiculous whinges.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭jacksie66

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,596 ✭✭✭hairyslug

Ireland does not "suck" or "blow" yes it has its small problems like any other country but overall we aren't that bad.

And shure it'll be grand, it'll all blow over

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

The weather is so changeable it's ridiculous but aside from that we really have very little to complain about.

The constant whinging and moaning about every little thing and the apparent inability of a lot people to take responsibility for their own mistakes and situations is my only real gripe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    The amount of people who take any criticism of the place as some sort of slight against their Nationalist pride. It really grinds after a while.

No, Ireland is nowhere near as bad as some places in the world.. but let's not pretend either that it's a fantastic place either.

- The lingering influence of the Church on issues that it should have no say in in 2017

- The Irish "need" to be liked, meaning we'll take on whatever persona (the current being a left-wing US liberal attitude to many social issues) to achieve that, regardless of the suitability or impact of those attitudes for the country

- The obsession with alcohol as the nation's favorite social outlet. I enjoy a pint every now and then myself, but the drunken Irish stereotype is a reality too, with all the problems it causes

- The inefficient, expensive, and wasteful public service from healthcare to politicians and everything in between. Littered with scandals and corruption at every level but which we collectively put up with because of the admiration for the "cute hoor" that still very much features in our society

- The lazy, apathetic "Ah shure it'll be grand" approach that infects everything from infrastructure development to the service industry.. resulting in expensive half-assed "solutions" that serve noone properly, and usually end up being redone at more expense a few years later

So no.. while we may not have riots and violence on the streets every week, or police demanding bribes/payments at the side of the road, it doesn't make me blind to these faults, and we have a LONG way to go as a country before we truly fit the "modern, liberal Western society" label we aspire to.

The country COULD be far better if we all took a more proactive interest in it, and thought a little further afield than our own immediate family/surroundings.

Agree with pretty much everything there, except for the part in bold.
    THere is nothing lazy or half assed about infrastructure in Ireland.

Its a perfect set up for government/civil servants and companies to work together to better enhance their pockets by spreading payments around ....benefitting the economy.
    Trickle down economics 101 dude. It just happens to take decades to trickle down.

Somebody mentioned Irish water about the mess they left behind on the roads.
    Who comes after them to fix them? Oh and on top of that, then they change maintenance fees that sometimes in my experience dwarf the actual cost of building and fixing the ****ing road.

ceadaoin. wrote: »
    Also did you not say before that you aren't attracted to women at all and for that reason your cousin is "ignorant" for not feeling comfortable with you being in the women's changing room? Which is it?

Mate, when did I say that. Could you please point me to that post/thread?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,717 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

1.) when my American and Canadian friends recommend an OTC drug/herb for a problem I have only to find out it's either banned by th on prescription which means another ?50+ and hours to spend

Drugs are tightly controlled here to protect people - usually from themselves!

Places like the US where drugs are more readily available have serious problems with antibiotic resistant infections and many thousands die there each year due to their lax drug controls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Beyondgone

Eflow.
    Enough said.

_Brian wrote: »
    Drugs are tightly controlled here to protect people - usually from themselves!

Places like the US where drugs are more readily available have serious problems with antibiotic resistant infections and many thousands die there each year due to their lax drug controls.

Two words..

Natural selection.

The British allowed it during the Famine and perhaps we should allow it again..