Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you sit in the front or back seat of a taxi?

• 03-06-2017 9:33am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭

Was talking to a taxi driver about this earlier, he says most people would tend to sit in the back and sit on their phones not speaking to the driver. I myself prefer to sit in the front as I don't like the awkwardness of being in an enclosed space with someone and not speaking to them. I suppose sitting in the back is better if you're drunk as you're less likely to annoy the driver but any normal day I'd be happy enough to sit in the passenger seat yapping away, so where do you sit in a taxi?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭PandaPoo

Definitely the back, the front is too close for my liking. I feel really awkward up there, I still chat from the back and don't go on my phone.

I don't like sitting in the front seat beside anyone who's not my husband. I feel like I'm radiating awkwardness and smiling like an axe murderer. I still do it though, would be more awkward if I went out with a friend and sat in the back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

I always sit in the front and chat away to the driver. I would find it a lot weirder to sit in the back tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,946 ✭✭✭indioblack

Lia_lia wrote: »
    I always sit in the front and chat away to the driver. I would find it a lot weirder to sit in the back tbh.

In all the places I've been, here and in Ireland, you sit beside the driver and chat - well, I do!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Depends on my mode, and alcohol intake. Sitting in the front you have to talk to the driver, in the back it's optional.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,844 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

Front, I love to get the drivers take on the hot topics of the day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭Yourself isit

indioblack wrote: »
    In all the places I've been, here and in Ireland, you sit beside the driver and chat - well, I do!

It's not possible in many countries.

I sit in the back. I used to sit in the front. Not sure why I changed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,966 ✭✭✭gifted

Hanging off his back windscreen wiper cos the fecker wouldn't stop for me lol lol

It was 2.30 in three morning and I may have been over the limit lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,065 ✭✭✭Miaireland

I tend to seat in the back but chat away.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

Always front seat when I'm on my own. I tend to talk to the driver too. Well, they'd usually start the conversation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Front seat, wouldn't even occur to me to sit in the back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

If I get in a cab alone it's the front by default,I kinda consider jumping in the back as rude.If I'm coming home late from somewhere with herself we might hop in the back. Anyways,I enjoy having a natter with the driver,and I don't like talking to the back of somebody's head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭doolox

My wife and daughters usually sit in the back and I natter away to the driver.

Was once in a cab with another passenger so we both sat in the back or if I'm on my own I will sit in the front. Sometimes I might not talk if i guage that the driver is not in the mood for talking (rare).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,277 ✭✭✭km991148

back -way more room?

Conversational optional either way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

Usually the booth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

Back of the taxi especially in dublin.

Id rather not have to listen yo the ignorant scutter of dublin taxis.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I've never gotten a taxi in Ireland in my whole life.

Usually sit in the front abroad whenever possible, especially when you see a driver with all kinds of personal crap over the passenger seat. It's a working vehicle ya yahoo, not somewhere to store your lunch and your porn.

• Administrators Posts: 54,424 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Mr.S wrote: »
    Always back.

Taxi chatter is woeful.

"Busy today?"

"What time are you on to?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

If I'm on my own always sit in the front and usually chat to the driver, feels weird to me to sit in silence when another person's in the car! But I'd never take journey's longer than 10-15 minutes at most so it's fairly easy to just casually chat about whatever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

Introvert = back
    extrovert = front

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

Robsweezie wrote: »
    Introvert = back
    extrovert = front

Not really. Dont know how you can decide that in a seat choice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 697 ✭✭✭wordofwarning

The back only.

I have yet to have a conversation with a taxi driver that was somewhat decent. I don't want to listen to your holiday plans or how horrific your last passenger is. I don't know any other services industry job where the staff thinks it's grand to dump their problems on you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 697 ✭✭✭wordofwarning

The back only.

I have yet to have a conversation with a taxi driver that was somewhat decent. I don't want to listen to your holiday plans or how horrific your last passenger is. I don't know any other services industry job where the staff thinks it's grand to dump their problems on you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,921 ✭✭✭buried

Introvert = back
    extrovert = front

Scuttered drunk = All over the shop

Make America Get Out of Here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Always in the front bit ignorant to be sitting in the back ignoring the driver

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭willmunny1990

Never even considered sitting in the back to be honest, always thought of sitting in the back as being more of an american thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭markc1184

If it's just me, I'll sit in the front and chat to the driver. If I'm with my partner I'll sit in the back with her. If I'm in a group I'll let someone else sit up front.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭dirtyden

If on my own, the front always. Usually have a chat about sport or whatever else is current. Passes the trip. Generally most taxi drivers are sound men (not too many lady taxi drivers tend to work during the hrs I might use one, ie going home after a few beers or a meal).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Used to always sit in the front but got sick of talking ****e to drivers so tend to sit in the back and ignore them these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

Never even considered sitting in the back to be honest, always thought of sitting in the back as being more of an american thing.

I'm the opposite. I would never sit in the front (unless there were 3 people in the back already and I was first getting out). It didn't occur to me people would sit in the front!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,476 ✭✭✭neonsofa

I always sat in the front and never questioned it til i read a thread on here and someone else said that taxi drivers themselves prefer people to sit in the back. Imo a person sitting behind you where you can't see what they might be doing seems more dangerous than a person in the front but I don't know. A taxi driver once told me of a guy using his belt or something and grabbing his head from the back seat and robbing him that way. There was two of them in the back.

I love taxi drivers though, they have so many cool stories and they are always so friendly :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Front, unless I have female company then in the back with her.

Would feel weird in the back on my own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,511 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Introvert = back
    extrovert = front

Back right hand side: Pyscho

Always in the back unless there are 4 of us getting a taxi and I have to sit in the front. Wouldn't even consider the front if on my own, if feels awkward. I'd also feel I was invading the taxi drivers personal space by sitting in the front unnecessarily.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Always the front. And then I get their name off the identity thing on the dashboard and start chatting away like I've known them all my life.

"You're my wife now, Dave"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

Only ever use Taxi's when away on business, but far prefer to rent a car if it's feasible.

If it's an Uber & the driver's not a full-time pro, I'll have a chat. If it's a taxi cab, I'll generally keep schtum, but it can depend on the driver or whether or not I'm a bit knackered etc.

Always sit in the back either way. I'm their customer, not their pal.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

RayM wrote: »
    Always the front. And then I get their name off the identity thing on the dashboard and start chatting away like I've known them all my life.

"You're my wife now, Dave"

It's a known fact that all taxi drivers are called Dessie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Peregrine wrote: »
    It's a known fact that all taxi drivers are called Dessie.

And they all have moustaches, smell of stale Guinness and cigarettes and support League of Ireland football teams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,238 ✭✭✭Bredabe

Always in the front if im alone, easier to get out if things look dodge.
    Easier to see changes in mood/direction and open door.

"Have you ever wagged your tail so hard you fell over"?-Brod Higgins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

I usually only use taxis on holidays and I sit in the back, but I do chat unless the driver has the radio on and appears to be listening to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

I'd sit in the front passenger seat. I'd feel like a child if I sat in the back. It would just feel silly. I don't mind whether the driver is chatty or not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 167 ✭✭Guy Sajer

I always sit at the back as I think the drivers prefer, ie the laminated messages are usually at the back of the front seats.

Probably from watching so many tv scenes in new york. Must try to sit in the front of a new york cab sometime. Would have made Travis Bickle nervous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,214 ✭✭✭cbyrd

I call shotgun. . .

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,738 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

PandaPoo wrote: »
    Definitely the back, the front is too close for my liking. I feel really awkward up there, I still chat from the back and don't go on my phone.

I don't like sitting in the front seat beside anyone who's not my husband. I feel like I'm radiating awkwardness and smiling like an axe murderer. I still do it though, would be more awkward if I went out with a friend and sat in the back.

So if your friend pi ked you up to go somewhere you'd sit in the back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,295 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

Back. I'm the driver's customer not their friend.

awec wrote: »
    "Busy today?"

"What time are you on to?"

If the chat stops there, the driver gets a tip.

If not and s/he insists on asking where I'm from and then telling me about the cousin's neighbour who moved over there years ago ... no tip.

Sometimes I wish i could fake a local accent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

i always sit in the back in the rare occasions that i get taxis, you have more of your own space there as does the driver, and i can relax better. it just feels ''proper'' like in a limo. I'd feel a bit awkward plonked right beside someone i dont know in a situation like that, regardless of how chatty they are.

the whole premise is a bit awkward to begin with as you're in a small space with a stranger for a good while. its as awkward as you make it.

i dont mind chat,but i rarely start it. the ones i've had just said about two words and that was it. and thats fine. depends on the driver too.

when i mentioned intro/extroverts, i meant that i could imagine the louder chattier extroverts would have no problem diving in the front, while the introverts are happier in the back. of course it depends on your mood too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

The last time I got a taxi was eleven years ago. I think I sat in the back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

How do people feel about rickshaws? Does anyone else sit on the rickshaw operators shoulders or is it just me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,921 ✭✭✭buried

Just got into Dublin here and got a taxi from train station, not only did I sit in the front chatting to the driver but I gave him a tip of a tenner when I got out, why? Because I'm in good mood and off to enjoy myself for weekend and it does the greater good to share that good mood around with anyone else if you have it. He told me I was his first ever fare and he literally only started work today and went off f**king beaming, he was chuffed to bits man. Thats what its all about. Sitting in the back, fook that, that's for them two auld sore stockbroker twats from 'Trading Places'

Make America Get Out of Here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

I rarely take a taxi but the drivers usually tell me their name of their own volition. I've never tipped them, but the journeys are very expensive as I'm rural, and I can't afford to tip on top of that. The last driver was extremely late but there were delays on the road, and he couldn't find my village. I would have thought satnav would be standard in taxis now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

Well la di da Mr I can afford to take a taxi.