Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Unfairest thing to happen to you?

• 28-05-2017 2:00pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 484 ✭✭jeanjolie

Was purchasing whiskey yesterday at 9PM and the little f**** behind the till refused flatly despite me being 19yrs old and providing the age card. Took a long look and asked for another form of ID which was surprising since other Tesco and Supervalu stores have never asked me. It also wasn't because store policy was 21 but simply that she obviously didn't believe I was over age. Female friend though who is the same age but looks much younger than me got her wine.

Inspired me to create this thread. Share your stories. As you know misery loves company?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 540 ✭✭✭Solomon Pleasant

If that's the unfairest thing that's happened to you, be grateful and hope your luck doesn't change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

When I was young I had blonde hair , as I grew older it became dark brown.

Now I'm unfair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,559 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

jeanjolie wrote: »
    Was purchasing whiskey yesterday at 9PM and the little f**** behind the till refused flatly despite me being 19yrs old and providing the age card. Took a long look and asked for another form of ID which was surprising since other Tesco and Supervalu stores have never asked me. It also wasn't because store policy was 21 but simply that she obviously didn't believe I was over age. Female friend though who is the same age but looks much younger than me got her wine.

Inspired me to create this thread. Share your stories. As you know misery loves company?

Tough life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 484 ✭✭jeanjolie

lawred2 wrote: »
    Tough life.

Nah...but seriously though, it was probably race related. My female friend is the same age as me and doesn't look over 20. She had only 1 form of ID as I did (Age Card) and didn't get refused. Only difference between her and me is that I look biracial while she's white.

Wasn't surprised though by who the person behind the counter was. Sounded like she was from those rough areas (North Dublin).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

Nah...but seriously though, it was probably race related. My female friend is the same age as me and doesn't look over 20. She had only 1 form of ID as I did (Age Card) and didn't get refused. Only difference between her and me is that I look biracial while she's white.

Wasn't surprised though by who the person behind the counter was. Sounded like she was from those rough areas (North Dublin).

Wut ??

McDermotX wrote: »
    Wut ??

As I said, she's probably 'knackerish' and they tend to be more racially intolerant than others.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

3/10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,559 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Troll thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Tough life.

It was my wife who served you.
    She's from north Dublin , but is also mixed race and of Jewish descent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,585 ✭✭✭jca

Aww god help you, life is sooooo unfair...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭bmwguy

Bet you feel better today without drinking a bottle of whiskey.

Unfairest thing that ever happened to me was much unfairer than that. Got thrown out of a university for a very very minor transgression of referencing rules in a thesis. I had the heading on the paragraph that this was the historic thinking of a well known historical thinker and pioneer in the field and even mentioned him in the sentence I got in trouble for but didn't do the footnote correctly. Harvard referencing system I think its called.
    It was in the UK this happened doing a masters. My thesis advisor looked over it and all but then he was the one that flagged it to the university. I since got a masters in a different area but that pissed me off big time. But in the end best thing that ever happened to me I am so glad I am not working in the area I studied that time. I probably would be if I hadn't got turfed out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,753 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

1st world problems

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

As I said, she's probably 'knackerish' and they tend to be more racially intolerant than others.

Ah here, let's not go there. You are probably small for your age and don't look 19. With so many fake IDs about, she was just doing her job.

Mad at myself for rising to this in the first place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭cython

f82c7d304eae5a69c76e0f7e0e0da60e5636bf5c98894c82385a5ac88b25240e.jpg

While place of origin is not necessarily a racial factor, you're complaining about one form of discrimination based on profiling, while profiling her yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

Bi racialism, nanny state booze laws, north side nackers

AH BINGO!!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 161 ✭✭Allah snackbar

Did you do the Ali g thing and say " is it coz I black " you're new to Ireland aren't you going by your recent posts ? You should never have come to this racist little backward 3rd world country we live in , you'll be lucky to escape without being lynched by a group of blood thirsty North siders because of your sallow skin and youthful looks , escape now while you still can

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

5k taken from accounts.3 k ran up on a credit card also.

Did you do the Ali g thing and say " is it coz I black " you're new to Ireland aren't you going by your recent posts ? You should never have come to this racist little backward 3rd world country we live in , you'll be lucky to escape without being lynched by a group of blood thirsty North siders because of your sallow skin and youthful looks , escape now while you still can

3rd world is actually an outdated term (even though Ireland wouldn't qualify as one). Was a false correlation/causation.

What's the new term

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

smurgen wrote: »
    5k taken from accounts.3 k ran up on a credit card also.

Did you not get it back?

Guessing OP is really mid 40s, and his mum has allowed him PC time.

What's the new term

PC - Developing World

Less PC - Dictator ridden, religion obsessed, $hit hole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

Malahide isn't known as mini Marseille for nothing.Tough town,no two ways about it. Years of messing around in sunseeker yachts and barely surviving on a diet consisting of nothing more than zinfandel,rocket salad and lobster takes its toll.It turns them into cold,callous people.Devoid of anything that even resembles emotion.They aren't 'bad people' as such,it's just the way their conditioned.Best advice I can offer is to keep the head down and keep the neighbours at a friendly distance. Be nice,but not too nice if you know what I mean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Recurring sciatica.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Racial factor? Lol, no, i think more the fact that you're only barely over the legal age to buy it. Does that not make more sense in your head? People under 21are probably pretty regularly refused, even with ID sometimes if they look particularly young for their age

Also your friend may be same age but girls often make themselves look older with clothes and makeup

What's the new term

Developed or developing nation

I'll stick with 3rd world for now I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

wakka12 wrote: »
    Racial factor? Lol, no, i think more the fact that you're only barely over the legal age to buy it. Does that not make more sense in your head? People under 21are probably pretty regularly refused, even with ID sometimes if they look particularly young for their age

Most shops have that policy,it's not something they hide either. You'll often see signs saying alcohol won't be sold to anyone under the age of 21,a shop owner doesn't want to lose his or her licence to sell drink over the price of a six pack. My local spar even closed off the drink section on paddy's day as they didn't want to have a glut of underage customers chancing their arm. They're shopkeepers at the end of the day,not bouncers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

The store assistant has just won the thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Buried both parents by the grand ole age of 25

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

When you sh1t your underpants, i mean actually sh1t your underpants as a direct consequence of your first true whiskey bender, remember this day and think it could all have been so different.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭Starscream25

Back in the day the manager sent his son on cork trials when I was the one who was supposed to go, it left a bad taste in my mouth and I retired soon after because of the obvious favouritism at the club, always wondered what if I had my chance.

If thats all it took for you to give up the sport you never would have made it.

Its as much to do with character as talent. You clearly dont have what it takes to make it at professional level.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭Starscream25

If thats all it took for you to give up the sport you never would have made it.

Its as much to do with character as talent. You clearly dont have what it takes to make it at professional level.

Indeed, my crystal balls says the same.

About a month ago, and it's still fresh enough to be upsetting to talk about, I had a very difficult time after falling victim to a con trick.

I had bought twelve assorted macaroons in a fancy bakery shop, but when I got home and opened the box there were only eleven in it. I can't articulate how annoying that was. It was a very distressing and unsettling incident, but taking inspiration from the OP's struggle with injustice I can just about bring myself to carry on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Troll thread

Troll fecking account

Indeed, my crystal balls says the same.

You're the one that gave up.

Its a pair of balls you need not a crystal ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

Serial thread starter.

Pac1Man wrote: »
    Serial thread starter.

Nothing wrong with that, per say.

But, under bridge dwelling threads they are for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

Did you not get it back?

Guessing OP is really mid 40s, and his mum has allowed him PC time.

Nope.bank insisted i had entered my pin a number of times even though i had cctv showing it was not me.financial ombudsman was completely useless also.found the behaviour of the bank a real eye opener

smurgen wrote: »
    Nope.bank insisted i had entered my pin a number of times even though i had cctv showing it was not me.financial ombudsman was completely useless also.found the behaviour of the bank a real eye opener

Feck, happened to me once. $ were taken out in the US over a few days. Obviously wasn't me and got the money back.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 907 ✭✭✭Alpha_zero

Candie wrote: »
    About a month ago, and it's still fresh enough to be upsetting to talk about, I had a very difficult time after falling victim to a con trick.

I had bought twelve assorted macaroons in a fancy bakery shop, but when I got home and opened the box there were only eleven in it. I can't articulate how annoying that was. It was a very distressing and unsettling incident, but taking inspiration from the OP's struggle with injustice I can just about bring myself to carry on.

Shut your yammering

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Not at all. Third World is still a term and differs from Developing Countires, as you allude to.
    Ireland is by definition a Third World Country.

Third World countries are in Green on the attached.

https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/2/2c/Cold_War_alliances_mid-1975.svg/860px-Cold_War_alliances_mid-1975.svg.png

Alpha_zero wrote: »
    Shut your yammering

It's not yammering. It's jibber-jabber.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭dar100

Was standing at a busy bus stop one summers day in a pair of shorts and I got the horn

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭arayess

OP ruined what could have been a decent thread of hard luck stories

Not at all. Third World is still a term and differs from Developing Countires, as you allude to.
    Ireland is by definition a Third World Country.

Third World countries are in Green on the attached.

https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/2/2c/Cold_War_alliances_mid-1975.svg/860px-Cold_War_alliances_mid-1975.svg.png
    Yeh but whatever about the true meaning, which relates to war sides. Todays usage of the word '3rd world' almost exclusively means very poor undeveloped economy, even though thats wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,946 ✭✭✭indioblack

Candie wrote: »

You have to prove to yourself that you've risen above this. Go back to the shop and buy another box.
    Macaroon deficiency is a serious condition.

indioblack wrote: »
    You have to prove to yourself that you've risen above this. Go back to the shop and buy another box.
    Macaroon deficiency is a serious condition.

So is macaroon overdose though :( I only had nine of them and I was doubled over with tummyache. The price of greed, eh? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

I was sitting down trying to eat my breakfast and in walks Kate...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,596 ✭✭✭hairyslug

Not being born into a pirate family, sailing the seas pillaging ships for bounty, aye aye matey

And not getting to say goodbye to my mother before she died, I was there for my father's death , both on 2015, and me being able to comfort him on his final hours is somewhat comforting to me now.