Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards Golf Society Ballykisteen 17th June @ 11.00

• 27-05-2017 12:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 849 ✭✭✭

As there's a relatively short period of time between our outing last week in New Forest and our next outing I wanted to get this out now. Our next outing brings us to Tipperary and to my home course of Ballykisteen, the only Irish course to host a EuroPro tour event this year. The course was designed by Des Smyth and measures 6,260 yards off the white tees and 6,703 yards off the blues. Scorecard is here: http://ballykisteengolfclub.com/scorecard.php#. The order of the holes has changed since our last visit in case anyone is wondering, the 1st hole is the old 10th etc.

This is our third time to visit the course through the society and it was in great shape the last day I played it so I hope you'll all enjoy it. If anyone is looking to stay let me know and I'll ask about availability in the hotel or lodges.

As we tee off at 11am it's an early start for some so let me know your requests for early or late tee times and I'll do my best to accommodate you. Teamer invites should have been received a few minutes ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭jarrieta

Hi, I will miss this one too, I am just travelling that Saturday, enjoy guys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,118 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

Same here, Mrs birthday and gang of us heading out for the day to celebrate

enjoy it folks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭doublecross

As most of you know already this course is next to Limerick Junction railway station. So anybody that needs a lift from the station just shout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 849 ✭✭✭ballyk

It's just over an hour and a half on the train from Dublin to Limerick Junction. The 8am train arrives at 9.33, the 9am train arrives at 10.36. It's ?14.99 single or ?29.98 return for those interested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭Macker1

Apologies but not going to be able to make this outing as I'm in work that weekend. I've took a lot of holidays this year for golf and I just can't use any more. It's a pity as I was looking forward to playing there especially after looking at the recent Europro Tour event on Sky last week. The course looked in great condition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

Just accepted there now Captain. Have a lot of points to make up in the GOTY table

You and me both! Thanks.

Right lads and lasses, looks like we are all playing for 2nd as defending champion Tigerwood1, who took the course apart last time, will be attending! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 486 ✭✭a post punk

Looking forward to this outing being so close to home for me, only 20 mins:) hoping to get a practice round in there beforehand if possible. I played an open in muskerry golf club last evening, if anyone is looking for a test of golf check it out if your in the cork area. Bring the hiking boots there is massive climbs but great views from some tee boxes of the course.

The Open Singles on Monday might be a good opportunity for you to get a practice round in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭BigChap1759

Unfortunately won't be able to attend this one as playing Jimmy Bruen for Margaret's that day - looked class on Sky :(

That's a pity. Well done on getting selected on the Bruen team though. Who are you up against?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭BigChap1759

ballyk wrote: »
    That's a pity. Well done on getting selected on the Bruen team though. Who are you up against?

We're in the Donabate qualifier - up against Donabate, The Island, Corballis, Swords, Lucan, Roganstown, Balcarrick, Beaverstown, Hollywood Lakes, Rush, Hermitage, Elmgreen & Skerries

Top 4 through to semis the following day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭paulos53

I won't know until late next week if I can make Ballykisteen. I have declined on teamer for now

not many going by the looks of it, some easy GOTY points to be picked up there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭benny79

I should be good to go dont want to commit till end of week when I know for sure..

Could you stick myself and ssbob down for the first tee time if possible Bally k ? Thanks

Im coming from Dublin so happy with a later time Captain

That's cool lads. I've got those requests. If anyone else has a preference let me know.

paulos53 wrote: »
    I won't know until late next week if I can make Ballykisteen. I have declined on teamer for now

I will be there on Saturday and have accepted on Teamer.

Super, thanks paulos53.

so will I and the new member Brian hes not set up on teamer yet. I accept now

That's great, thanks Benny. If you or Brian want to send me through his details I can set him up on teamer. Otherwise I can get them off him in Ballykisteen.

My statement that I would achieve a top 10 result on Saturday could be in doubt now! :D

Weather forecast is picking up for Saturday lads :) golftastic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,315 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Was hoping to make this but can't, best of luck to all involved.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

Weather forecast is picking up for Saturday lads :) golftastic

I was just checking that earlier and it looks pretty good alright. Good to know that the weather will be good for the 2 most important events to be held at Ballykisteenthis year, i.e. this and the EuroPro Tour! :D

Timesheet for Saturday below. If anyone else wants to join us last minute in sweltering Ballykisteen just let me know! :P No time to sort out the table formatting at the moment but will update it later.

Time: Player 1, Player 2, Player 3
    11:00: a post punk, ssbob, paulos53
    11:08: acalmenvoy, dylanmc30, doublecross
    11:16: Break80, Tigerwood1, Brian Rossiter
    11:24: spacecoyote, ballyk, benny79

Anyone with some local knowledge fancy throwing up a little course guide (ahem captain)

That could be dangerous as the posting of a course guide seems to put a hex on the poster of said guide! :eek: Also I'm in your group so you will have the course guide with you on the course!

I'll stick something up during the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,979 ✭✭✭RoadRunner

I wonder is it mathematically possible for me to remain in 2nd place in the GOTY after this round? Tigerwood, paulos, Break80 and doublecross will all surely go flying up through the leaderboard.

RoadRunner wrote: »
    I wonder is it mathematically possible for me to remain in 2nd place in the GOTY after this round? Tigerwood, paulos, Break80 and doublecross will all surely go flying up through the leaderboard.

how the hell do i get out of the wifes birthday party????????

That could be dangerous as the posting of a course guide seems to put a hex on the poster of said guide! :eek: Also I'm in your group so you will have the course guide with you on the course!

I'll stick something up during the week.

Dont worry about it Bally :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭ssbob

Looking forward to Saturday lads!! Hopefully my best boards finish since 2014 coming up on Saturday 😂😂😂

Provisionally I would expect that nearest the pin will be on 6 and longest drive on 18. I'll be speaking to the pro shop on Thursday so will find out what tees we are likely to be playing.

Right lads, I've been in touch with Ballykisteen and we have the option of playing off the greens or the whites. I would suggest whites myself unless anyone has a strong preference to play off the greens. The course is 6,260 yards off the whites or 6,048 off the greens.

Seve OB wrote: »
    how the hell do i get out of the wifes birthday party????????

Tell her she's getting too old to be celebrating birthdays. That would get you out of going and maybe out of a marriage as well! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,979 ✭✭✭RoadRunner

Provisionally I would expect to take nearest the pin and the longest drive.

:eek: :eek: :eek:

Right lads, I've been in touch with Ballykisteen and we have the option of playing off the greens or the whites. I would suggest whites myself unless anyone has a strong preference to play off the greens. The course is 6,260 yards off the whites or 6,048 off the greens.

I'd be happy off the whites Captain.

What about off the Europro Tees :D:D

I'd be happy off the whites Captain.

What about off the Europro Tees :D:D

Ha ha! I could play off the blues if I entered the monthly medal which is on Friday and Saturday. They won't allow the rest of you onto the Europro tour tees unless you join the club though :P

Whites is fine with me Bally k, 1 decent drive in the difference :)

Is there a range/practice facilities on site?

There's a driving range, a putting green and a small chipping area available. There's a machine next to the pro-shop when you can get range balls, ?2 per small basket.

Getting the practice in with ssbob this evening:) Surely Ballyk is the outright favourite with home advantage saturday???

Forecast looking great for tomorrow at the moment...might even have to break out the shorts!!!

ssbob you wouldn't have me down as favourite if you saw me hacking it around New Forest today.

I typed up a full course guide earlier but due to dodgy tethering connection it didn't post. :mad:

Enjoy the day lads.......Sitting here in work and its a beautiful morning.....Not a cloud in the sky

It's scorchio here!

Right she has gone off to get a drink so I have 5 minutes to check in on the craic and find out what I've missed and bleedin none of yis have posted even a whisper!

C'mon lads, the anticipation is killing me

Probably all suffering with sunstroke given the fabulous weather today. Typical to be working the weekend. No fun playing in the sun anyways. 😫😫😫😫😫

The course was in great condition today and the greens were lightning quick. The speed made putting tricky as it was tough to be aggressive on short putts for fear of knocking it several feet past.

1st Brian Rossiter 33pts
    2nd Me :) 33pts
    3rd Break80 31 pts

Nearest the pin: acalmenvoy
    Longest Drive: Break80