Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you have a successor identified

• 27-05-2017 9:20am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 610 ✭✭✭

Following on from other thread do we have a future farmers out there

Do you have successor and what age r u 75 votes

14-35 too young to have successor
    0% 0 votes
    35 - 50 family too young no successor
    33% 25 votes
    35 - 50 no successor
    36% 27 votes
    35 - 50 Have someone identified
    12% 9 votes
    50 - 70 no successor
    8% 6 votes
    50 - 70 have someone identified
    2% 2 votes
    70 + no successor
    5% 4 votes
    70 + have someone identified
    1% 1 vote
    60 + someone taken over already
    1% 1 vote

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 610 ✭✭✭The part time boy

I start my family too young to know yet . I won't first any of them but I be honest I hope one of them would take it up. I am the 6th generation here .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭RedPeppers

Have 2 young fellas here 2 & 3 judging by the amount of plant they have in the playroom I'm hopeful one of both will farm when I'm spent!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

RedPeppers wrote: »
    Have 2 young fellas here 2 & 3 judging by the amount of plant they have in the playroom I'm hopeful one of both will farm when I'm spent!

I had two like that but I doubt either of them will be farmers. Not impossible but unlikely. Good responsible lads to do a job but they don't have to be hunted back to the house very often.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭RedPeppers

I had two like that but I doubt either of them will be farmers. Not impossible but unlikely. Good responsible lads to do a job but they don't have to be hunted back to the house very often.

I guess with dairying anyways its either in you or its not from a young age, growing up i was never asked to do much around the farm was left up to myself but I always loved it, still do most of the time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,685 ✭✭✭Cavanjack

I'm sure there are many on here still waiting to find out if they are the successor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭memorystick

Cavanjack wrote: »
    I'm sure there are many on here still waiting to find out if they are the successor

That's a very sad reality. So many lads being teased and to only get a kick in the hole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭einn32

That's a very sad reality. So many lads being teased and to only get a kick in the hole.

If it's not happening I'd advise a person to get out and go work in a place where there is scope to buy in and future prospects look good for ownership. Plenty of opportunities there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

I must start about producing one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Well they're bigger eejits then, head off for a few years and they won't be long finding out, nothing to lose either way,

My neighbour took over running his fathers farm in the early 80's and had built up to 40 cows by the early 90's. Then his father died without a will and the whole lot ended up being sold to divide it between the family.

Sam Kade wrote: »
    My neighbour took over running his fathers farm in the early 80's and had built up to 40 cows by the early 90's. Then his father died without a will and the whole lot ended up being sold to divide it between the family.

I dunno what worse . The father for not making a will . The son for ploughing on without ensuring the farm was signed over while father was alive . Or the siblings for not signing over the the brother when he stayed at home and rest at no interest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,761 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

I dunno what worse . The father for not making a will . The son for ploughing on without ensuring the farm was signed over while father was alive . Or the siblings for not signing over the the brother when he stayed at home and rest at no interest

The father for not making a will is, leaves a complete and utter mess for everyone else to clean up. It's about e150-e200 to have a will done, if you have to sort out no will the legal fees can be e150 plus per hour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

einn32 wrote: »
    If it's not happening I'd advise a person to get out and go work in a place where there is scope to buy in and future prospects look good for ownership. Plenty of opportunities there.

Where are these opportunities? I used to think they existed too but of late they only really exist for the already well established.

As for a successor, we don't have one as yet. Kids are all in primary school but I've high hopes for 2. I've 2 more with no interest and I'd dearly love if one of them changes his mind, he's not worth a shyte to work but he's a clever boy who'd buy and sell the lot of us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭einn32

Where are these opportunities? I used to think they existed too but of late they only really exist for the already well established.

As for a successor, we don't have one as yet. Kids are all in primary school but I've high hopes for 2. I've 2 more with no interest and I'd dearly love if one of them changes his mind, he's not worth a shyte to work but he's a clever boy who'd buy and sell the lot of us.

Ireland has a few I've seen advertised over the last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Would you not be better off encouraging your children to go away and get a good education and let them have the farm as more of a fall back. No reason to believe that farm incomes won't continue to keep falling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭davidk1394

Setting up a partnership here within the year. Seems like the safest option and it'll be signed over in the coming years all going well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,219 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

The father for not making a will is, leaves a complete and utter mess for everyone else to clean up. It's about e150-e200 to have a will done, if you have to sort out no will the legal fees can be e150 plus per hour.

Then there's the other cop out of leaving it to the wife.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

whelan2 wrote: »
    Then there's the other cop out of leaving it to the wife.

Why not, she'll need an income for her life after he dies,
    I've seen where the man didn't leave it to her for fear that she'd marry again .
    Also saw where the farm was left to a married son and he commited suicide and the mother then finished up bad.
    Poor form to leave the wife exposed like that

rangler1 wrote: »
    I've seen where the man didn't leave it to her for fear that she'd marry again .
    Also saw where the farm was left to a married son and he commited suicide and the mother then finished up bad.
    Everything should be sorted before the farmer dies. I know of a family where the husband left everything to the wife. He wasn't even buried and the kids wanted their "share" even threatened not to let her see the grandkids if they didn't get what they were entitled too. Poor woman was put through so much unnecessary crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,147 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

If I die in the morning, 2/3 of my worth goes to theOH & 1/3 to the kids - No will
    If I have a will & leave all to kids then OH can contest.
    Agree that the remaining parent needs looking after, but also everyone needs to be informed

Everything should be sorted before the farmer dies. I know of a family where the husband left everything to the wife. He wasn't even buried and the kids wanted their "share" even threatened not to let her see the grandkids if they didn't get what they were entitled too. Poor woman was put through so much unnecessary crap.

Imagine what they'd do to her if she didn't have a claim. They sound like ungrateful brats,
    Legally are they entitled to anything until both parents are dead

Imagine what they'd do to her if she didn't have a claim. They sound like ungrateful brats,
    Legally are they entitled to anything until both parents are dead

When their mother needed them most they showed their true colours.

Situations like that brings out people's true colours, they want to be fair b@stards to make threats like that. She should have said if they don't cop themselves on and have some respect that she will be leaving it all to a dogs home.

It's the way a lot of kids are being reared now.....spoilt
    I'd imagine once there was a will, they had no claim
    I hope she left it to a cats home after,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

How many here have a will made? It should be compulsory after a certain age. Would avoid so much unnecessary suffering. Very irresponsible not to do so.

I know of a case where the father willed everything to the mother. For the following 12 years, the mother refused to discuss anything and I mean anything. One of the sons ran the place for her, but because she would not discuss anything, the whole place became totally run down. When she died, having not made a will, it took years of dealing with solicitors to sort it all out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,538 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

And maybe the husband was right to leave all to the wife with kids like that. They sound like they should get nothing even when the wife dies.

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Situations like that brings out people's true colours, they want to be fair b@stards to make threats like that. She should have said if they don't cop themselves on and have some respect that she will be leaving it all to a dogs home.

+ 1
    It wasn't the details of the will that was the problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,059 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Surely the way to go is identify the person or persons who are willing and able to take the farm over, and gift it to them under the Young Trained Farmer Scheme?

If that is not an option well back to the drawing board.

Apologies, I am not a farmer but my OH family are so I do see some things!

Surely the way to go is identify the person or persons who are willing and able to take the farm over, and gift it to them under the Young Trained Farmer Scheme?

If that is not an option well back to the drawing board.

Apologies, I am not a farmer but my OH family are so I do see some things!

The problem is that average farm size is so small in Ireland, that not many farms will support two incomes, you're better to let young people make their own way in life and not mess them around.
    When they do get it then it'll finish of their mortgage or go towards college education for the kids,
    Three or four families will benefit, whereas with one person farming, he'd be screwed and the others would still be struggling with college fees and mortgage
    That's my plan anyway

My father in law had 5 children and his wife died 10 years before him. A year after her mother dying one of his daughters pressed him to make a will, he didn't know what to do in the will but she said if he left it all to her she'd sort it out. When he died she ended up with a house and a few hundred thousand and the rest got zilch, some operator.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,059 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

It is a tough one alright.

In my OH family the middle son trained as an electrician, and worked the farm also. Built a house on the land and married with a young family.

He got the farm, and Dad retired, although he didn't really lol only in name. And everyone is happy. Just my observations. Middle son works as an electrical contractor and works the farm also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Talk it out is the only thing. If no child wants to farm I'd nearly advocate the farmer to sell up and make use of it himself/herself. They can have whatever is left then equally.
    I don't get how families can go that way. The way the farm was worked here for a few generations is that it was a tool to look after everyone, cousins taken in or family helped out as much as possible, I know back then everything was more rural based and times different in what was needed but dad carried it on as much as he could, he was always an advocate of blood is thicker than water. I'm farming here but will help the siblings out as much as possible and in fairness they will do likewise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭memorystick

I know of a case where a man was expected to farm it for his lifetime And then when he dies, it goes to his nephews. The guy found out in time and got it sorted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,123 ✭✭✭Who2

I think I know the same family, there was a huge farm of good ground and they still weren't happy. If it's the same ones the lads have lost out on another two farms that were to be left to them by the mothers brother and sister. I hope there's a successor here but if they aren't interested I can't force them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,459 ✭✭✭✭Base price

The problem is that average farm size is so small in Ireland, that not many farms will support two incomes, you're better to let young people make their own way in life and not mess them around.
    When they do get it then it'll finish of their mortgage or go towards college education for the kids,
    Three or four families will benefit, whereas with one person farming, he'd be screwed and the others would still be struggling with college fees and mortgage
    That's my plan anyway
    I've encouraged my sons to pursue their own careers and they are doing that. When I die both should benefit (in relative equal value) from my estate unless I'm unfortunate enough to have to be hospitalised/nursing home care for a long period of time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 786 ✭✭✭Cattlepen

Aside from farms, I 'v seen a lot of people getting sites in practically their parents gardens. Six months after the build is finished there is an auctioneers sign on it. It must be some shock for their parents.
    My own situation is I have no children. It's a problem I never saw coming. I have to say it's hit me like a punch in the face and left me wondering what all the work was for. No point whinging about it but at 45 I really have to assess my life plan shortly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Base price wrote: »
    I've encouraged my sons to pursue their own careers and they are doing that. When I die both should benefit (in relative equal value) from my estate unless I'm unfortunate enough to have to be hospitalised/nursing home care for a long period of time.

The fair deal scheme will mind us all when we are drooling from the left side of our mouths.I have a will made handiest thing ever to do.
    But sign it over in good time and not let lads/lasses in there 40s eventually get the place,and may lose it with the 5 year return spring on the fair deal arrangement.

Cattlepen wrote: »
    Aside from farms, I 'v seen a lot of people getting sites in practically their parents gardens. Six months after the build is finished there is an auctioneers sign on it. It must be some shock for their parents.
    My own situation is I have no children. It's a problem I never saw coming. I have to say it's hit me like a punch in the face and left me wondering what all the work was for. No point whinging about it but at 45 I really have to assess my life plan shortly
    Emm ... You're suitation isn't as bad as you think.
    Currently you know you may not have a successor & can plan for 20-30 years time.
    There's lots who have / will be in an opinion they have successor(s) only to find out at the last minute that they don't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 786 ✭✭✭Cattlepen

Emm ... You're suitation isn't as bad as you think.
    Currently you know you may not have a successor & can plan for 20-30 years time.
    There's lots who have / will be in an opinion they have successor(s) only to find out at the last minute that they don't

Well we don't seem to be able to have children so barring giving it away there's no successor

A successor doesn't have to be a child or even a relative.
    It's someone you can trust to carry on yours & previous generations life work.

Sorry to hear your news .... don't let it get you ..... remember when the door is closed, there's always a window open

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

I eas a kinda of reluctant successor here. I do as much as i can, when i can, on the farm. My dad does 90% of the work still even tho its been signed over to me.
    I have 2 young kids, and id like one to eventually farm it. But if they have no interest in it, it'll be signed over when I'm retired and they can lease it out then. And they can sell it after my death if they want.

P.s my OH of nearly 10 years has only once set foot on the farm and says she has no interest in what happens to it

Can I ask is your place big enough to support 3 of them ?

I dunno what be worse having no one having a interest or having 2 children that want it .

As for wills and signing it over . My father signed the farm and house over to me on my 35th birthday . I builded them a new house . They also got right of residence on the home house as the new house was not build when place was signed over . I was the only one of family Intrested .

My grandmother did not sign over the place to father untill be was married and had 2 sons . ironically I was not the first 2 sons !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,459 ✭✭✭✭Base price

I said wrote: »
    The fair deal scheme will mind us all when we are drooling from the left side of our mouths.I have a will made handiest thing ever to do.
    But sign it over in good time and not let lads/lasses in there 40s eventually get the place,and may lose it with the 5 year return spring on the fair deal arrangement.
    I must speak to the solicitor about possible arrangements including "life interest" option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 cashcow

I'm the eldest son and for the last 4 yrs since I moved away I've been making an 8 hour round trip home every weekend and using all my holidays to help out at home.I was doing it because of my love for farming and also because I thought I was investing in my future with time and money.

The last few months I'm coming to the realisation I'm being used,the brother who returned to live locally only shows up to criticise and never lend a hand is listened to. I feel a sense of disrespect.I have my weekends back now again and time for me to live my own life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,123 ✭✭✭Who2

The fair deal scheme is currently being moved from the five year clawback to seven years for anyone that it may be relevant.

I wouldn't be regretting if I was you, a lot of these ''partnerships'' aren't working out, misery on both sides in a lot of cases......
    Make sure you assess tour life plan at 45 as you said not 65, you don't owe any one anything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭MF290

I suppose I am the successor here, bar brief stints when he tells me he's bringing it with him and leaving a black hole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

MF290 wrote: »
    I suppose I am the successor here, bar brief stints when he tells me he's bringing it with him and leaving a black hole.

Holding it over ya is he

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

MF290 wrote: »

Same here:D

I was the only one of family Intrested .

My grandmother did not sign over the place to father untill be was married and had 2 sons . ironically I was not the first 2 sons !
    That's the thing though the eldest son inheriting is thankfully gone out the window. I am the only one here with an interest, 2 older sisters and 2 younger brothers. No one was ever forced to work on the farm here. I know a few people who were made go out morning, noon and night and it really sickened them of the place. There's earning your keep or "instilling a work ethic" and then there's being made a slave of