Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would an electric car suit me?

• 26-05-2017 9:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭

My car (Honda Jazz) is going into the garage for the upteenth time to try and find & fix a problem. If this trip doesn't fix it, I think I'm going to have to be looking at getting a new car.

My commute is 15km each way on regional roads. For work I can then travel up to 80km round trip, rarely 100km or more. This would again mostly be regional or national roads, occasionally on the motorway.

Weekends I occasionally make the trip to Limerick which is 110km round trip, mostly motorway. A couple of times a year I might drive to Dublin which is 240km on way, so I know I'd have to make a couple of stops. Although most of these trips are either to the airport or to the city so I could use public transport instead. One thing though, because it is such as long trip, I like to get home as soon as possible (obviously obeying the speed limit!) - how long would I need to stop for each time to recharge? I guess that's another thing - if I needed to be in Dublin by 9 it would be a very early start.

Also, how long do the batteries hold their charge for. I go home to Australia about once a yr for about 3 weeks - would the battery still be charged when I get back?

I have off street parking so that is fine.

Any thoughts would be great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Soarer

I'll tell you what you want, what you really, really want!

I'll get me coat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,122 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

mel.b wrote: »
    Any thoughts would be great.

You forgot to mention the most important bit - what's your budget? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭mel.b

unkel wrote: »
    You forgot to mention the most important bit - what's your budget? ;)

I'd be looking at a 2nd hand leaf. Wish I had more, but I didn't win the lotto tonight :p Probably around €10,000

Well in that case, the €10k second hand Leaf will suit your needs perfectly. You already have a very good understanding of what such a car can do range wise. You might have been lurking here a bit? :)

And forget about public transport, driving an EV in Ireland is a lot cheaper than public transport :p

I'm not quite sure about the leaving the car for 3 weeks once a year. The main battery will be fine if you leave it like half charged, but the aux 12V battery will probably be dead. Unless the Leaf has similar smart functionality like the Hyundai Ioniq: it checks once in a while if the aux 12V battery is going down and if so, it tops it up from the main EV battery. Up to a month or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,035 ✭✭✭goz83

You will manage to get an acenta (sv....mid spec) for that budget. You will be looking at a 1.5 Gen version (better battery) from late 2013/14. Look for the eco button on the steering wheel, which guves it away.

For the very long journeys, you will get from 0 to 80% in 30 minutes at a fast charger, so realistically, you will be stopped for about 20 minutes per time. The savings make it worth while. Your other joirneys will make it in 1 charge, but you might be able to get charged at your work/destination.

Look to the UK to meet your budget.

Yes, I've been lurking around for the past few days:o

What's the difference between the main battery and the aux 12v battery? I presume if that aux battery goes flat if the car is left for a few weeks then the whole car is flat?

Yes, I've been lurking around for the past few days:o

What's the difference between the main battery and the aux 12v battery? I presume if that aux battery goes flat if the car is left for a few weeks then the whole car is flat?

The main battery is the fuel. The aux is the small battery every car has.

Leaf will automatically top up the 12V battery from the main pack so no worries there. We left our car parked for 3 weeks last summer at 50 percent charge with no problems.

Thanks samih, that is good to know.

I guess now i just wait and see if they can find & fix the problem in my jazz. Whether its soon or in a couple of years it looks like my next car will be eletric.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,186 ✭✭✭✭KCross

My commute is 15km each way on regional roads. For work I can then travel up to 80km round trip, rarely 100km or more

I have off street parking so that is fine.

Can you clarify the commute and work trips? Are you saying you do 15km to get to work and then you use your car to do another 80km for work and then 15km home?

If yes, you are at the edge of the 24kWh Leaf's range particularly in winter and depending on how hard you drive it.

I think you will need to either up the budget to get a 30kWh Leaf or else get a work charge point. Will work give you one?

On the street parking, will you be able to get a chargepoint installed on the house and have a cable running out to the car?

Yes, that's correct KCross, however its not everyday. Some days i don't leave the office, or may only need to do less than 20km in addition to the commute. I would say its probably less than once a fortnight that i would be at the max range.

I work for the HSE...anyone know if/how to go about finding if they would install a charge point.

I own my own home so should be able to get a charge point installed without too many issues. Is there anything specific i need to know with regards to that such as location of the charger etc?

Yes, that's correct KCross, however its not everyday. Some days i don't leave the office, or may only need to do less than 20km in addition to the commute. I would say its probably less than once a fortnight that i would be at the max range.

I work for the HSE...anyone know if/how to go about finding if they would install a charge point.

I own my own home so should be able to get a charge point installed without too many issues. Is there anything specific i need to know with regards to that such as location of the charger etc?

Ok, that sounds more reasonable. If it's only once a fortnight you can either drive in eco mode or get a 10min topup charge, that's presuming there is a rapid charger nearby?

No idea about how to get the HSE to install a charge point.

On the home charger, getting it installed isn't the issue but having a cable on the ground out to the street might be. You don't have a driveway?

Yes, there's a rapid charger nearby.

I do have a driveway/off street parking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,513 ✭✭✭BrianD3

There may be a HSE "energy efficiency officer" or somebody working on smarter travel initiatives. There may be a budget for projects such as installing electric car charging points for employees.

I don't know what the HSE structure is like and i'd imagine it won't be easy to find the right person to talk to about this but I could be wrong. The below page has links to pages on smarter travel and energy efficiency
    http://www.hse.ie/eng/services/news/newsfeatures/healthsustainabilityoffice/

Also if there is somewhere at work you can park, where there is a normal domestic type socket, you can use a granny charger cable to slow charge. Not ideal, but a good back-up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

What's your annual mileage Mel?

I thought it was around 15000km a year, but I just worked it out and it's just over 20,000km a yr.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭thierry14

I thought it was around 15000km a year, but I just worked it out and it's just over 20,000km a yr.

The more the better imo if your going EV route

More you drive more you save

No point anyone doing say like 5-10k km buying an EV, savings aren't there over small petrol/hybrid

All your trips are doable on a 40kW battery

They are here next year

To be honest I don't think you'll see great value from an EV at your price point and mileage. You'll get an equivalent Jazz to a similarly aged leaf for substantially less. Don't forget to add in the cost of the home CP install (E600-1000), so you won't see any substantial savings in the first year of ownership but potentially lots of frustration.

Given your driving patterns of wait until longer range EV's hit your price point before making the jump.

To be honest I don't think you'll see great value from an EV at your price point and mileage. You'll get an equivalent Jazz to a similarly aged leaf for substantially less. Don't forget to add in the cost of the home CP install (E600-1000), so you won't see any substantial savings in the first year of ownership but potentially lots of frustration.

Given your driving patterns of wait until longer range EV's hit your price point before making the jump.

I don't agree.

At 20k km/yr the electricity costs will be less than €250.
    Giving the Jazz about 5l/100km and €1.30/l would be €1300.

So, €1k saving per year on fuel alone!
    Add in cheaper tax, insurance and maintenance.

The charge point is a once off added expense but thats not attributable to just your first EV. That will be there for years for multiple cars and will have to be bought at some point anyway so thats not a reason to not switch to EV.

Waiting for longer range cars to hit her price point will take at least another 5+yrs and in that time she will be losing out on the €1k+ savings per year and having to deal with ever increasing maintenance bills as well on the older Jazz.

At €10k depreciation won't be an issue either.

On the frustration side, that only becomes an issue if you are reliant on the public infrastructure on a daily basis which she has confirmed she won't be so I don't think thats an issue either.

I'd also hazard a guess that the business mileage is also paid for and mel.b could find she is actually making money on the venture as she will get paid as if it is a petrol! ;)

Thanks KCross - you typed out everything I was trying too, a lot faster than me!

Yes, I'm spending €60-70 per fortnight on petrol, so minimum €1500 per yr at the moment. I also don't do some things as I think it's a waste paying for petrol - for example there was something on in Dublin this weekend that I would have liked to have gone to, but I didn't want to waste the €50 it would cost me to drive up & back. So I'd probably actually end up doing more mileage with an electric!

Looking on autotrader, a 2014 jazz also seems to generally be more expensive than a 2014 leaf, and the leaf has better spec (sat nat etc)

And yes, work mileage is paid for so likely to come out ahead there as KCross mentioned (although I hadn't thought of it that way before!)

KCross wrote: »
    I don't agree.

At 20k km/yr the electricity costs will be less than ?250.
    Giving the Jazz about 5l/100km and ?1.30/l would be ?1300.

So, ?1k saving per year on fuel alone!
    Add in cheaper tax, insurance and maintenance.
    A Jazz of equivalent year would be E7500-8000 though, so it would be potentially 3 years before the savings materialise.

EV makes sense today when you are driving it almost daily to the edge of range.

A Jazz of equivalent year would be E7500-8000 though, so it would be potentially 3 years before the savings materialise.

On carzone there is only 1 Jazz available that is a 2014 model for €10,000. If I increase the budget to €14000, there are 9 available, so the Jazz is more expensive than the leaf.

I'd be looking at a 2009/10 Jazz for €8000

I don't get your logic?

If she buys a Leaf for €2k more than a Jazz it will be worth more than the Jazz 2yrs later so its not like the extra €2k is "lost" somehow.

You could extend your logic to telling her to buy a car for €2k and then say that the Leaf won't save her anything for 8yrs.... its a strange way to look at it, imo.

Even if it does take 3yrs to materialise it does still materialise so again I don't get the "hold off" recommendation. Each to their own I suppose.

On carzone there is only 1 Jazz available that is a 2014 model for ?10,000. If I increase the budget to ?14000, there are 9 available, so the Jazz is more expensive than the leaf.

I'd be looking at a 2009/10 Jazz for ?8000
    Try donedeal.
    KCross wrote: »
    I don't get your logic?

If she buys a Leaf for ?2k more than a Jazz it will be worth more than the Jazz 2yrs later so its not like the extra ?2k is "lost" somehow.

You could extend your logic to telling her to buy a car for ?2k and then say that the Leaf won't save her anything for 8yrs.... its a strange way to look at it, imo.

Even if it does take 3yrs to materialise it does still materialise so again I don't get the "hold off" recommendation. Each to their own I suppose.

The logic is that cars depreciate approx 50% every three years so a car bought for E8000 will be E4000 and one bought for E10000 will be E5000 but there is a new Leaf due which will seriously effect the future desirability of a 24kWh Leaf in three years time so I would there to be a step drop in residuals for existing vehicles when that happens.

Some savings will materialise, but what the OP has to work out whether or not the savings are great enough (all things considered) to make it worth it.

Try donedeal.

Still looking at cars mostly from 2010. There's a 2014 but it has 165000km done.

The OP is a pretty ideal candidate for a 10k used Leaf. I haven't seen you post anything balanced about EVs and all you seem to do is suggest that people wait for more range. In this case, that's about 5 years. People doing more miles, you suggest they wait. People doing less miles, you suggest a petrol, because there are no savings for such drivers. Your suggestion doesn't stack up.

goz83 wrote: »
    The OP is a pretty ideal candidate for a 10k used Leaf. I haven't seen you post anything balanced about EVs and all you seem to do is suggest that people wait for more range. In this case, that's about 5 years. People doing more miles, you suggest they wait. People doing less miles, you suggest a petrol, because there are no savings for such drivers. Your suggestion doesn't stack up.
    That's unfair. If the OP was doing 80km daily then they would be an ideal candidate for an EV. The problem for the OP is that their daily mileage is well within the 24kWh EV range but takes regular (weekly) trips outside EV range, of which the work trips would be the most problematic. If the OP was just doing the odd Dublin run in addition to their short commute, an EV would work for them although the savings wouldn't be that great tbh.

As for getting the HSE to install a work charge point, depending on who you end up dealing with you could be waiting anywhere from years to never before it would be put in for you.

That's unfair. If the OP was doing 80km daily then they would be an ideal candidate for an EV. The problem for the OP is that their daily mileage is well within the 24kWh EV range but takes regular (weekly) trips outside EV range, of which the work trips would be the most problematic. If the OP was just doing the odd Dublin run in addition to their short commute, an EV would work for them although the savings wouldn't be that great tbh.

As for getting the HSE to install a work charge point, depending on who you end up dealing with you could be waiting anywhere from years to never before it would be put in for you.

There will always be some compromise, but in the OP case, it seems that the fortnightly work stretch could be easily overcome with a 10 minute top-up at an fcp.

I wouldn't count on any employer installing a CP, but it didn't seem like it was a necessity here anyway. If the OP can plug in anywhere at or near work, the occasional range issue disappears.

The pay off here will be savings and it seems the OP already sees the extra freedom that can be given with an EV with the mention of the cost of fuel to travel to Dublin for an event, versus the cost of electricity to get there in an ev.

There will always be some compromise, but in the OP case, it seems that the fortnightly work stretch could be easily overcome with a 10 minute top-up at an fcp.

I wouldn't count on any employer installing a CP, but it didn't seem like it was a necessity here anyway. If the OP can plug in anywhere at or near work, the occasional range issue disappears.

The pay off here will be savings and it seems the OP already sees the extra freedom that can be given with an EV with the mention of the cost of fuel to travel to Dublin for an event, versus the cost of electricity to get there in an ev.

I wouldn't like to have to rely on one fcp as you can be sure the day you need it and are running late will be the day it's out of service. And I wouldn't count on using a granny cable on HSE property either (a cable left lying on the ground, hanging out a window while people with limited mobility are on site won't go down well with the health and safety officer).

However I think it's the weekly trip that requires charging on the road will be the one gets old quickly.

And remember ecars are going to start charging for the use of their network soon.

I wouldn't like to have to rely on one fcp as you can be sure the day you need it and are running late will be the day it's out of service.

Agreed. Not for your daily commute anyway. There are some mad lads and other hard core EV enthusiasts out there and on here who do that and fair play to them, but that kinda thing does nothing to promote EV ownership. If you have to rely on charging every day during your daily commute, you are mad in my book!
    I think it's the weekly trip that requires charging on the road will be the one gets old quickly.

Nah. On a once in a week relaxed longer trip, who would mind a relaxed wee 15 minute stop for a charge, a wee, a bite to eat, a coffee, a smoke and a relax?
    And remember ecars are going to start charging for the use of their network soon.

They've been saying that for years. It's not gonna happen this year. Maybe next year. My bet is that it won't happen till at least 2019. Until then I'm happily getting my free 15 minute free 15kWh charges :D

I wouldn't like to have to rely on one fcp as you can be sure the day you need it and are running late will be the day it's out of service. And I wouldn't count on using a granny cable on HSE property either (a cable left lying on the ground, hanging out a window while people with limited mobility are on site won't go down well with the health and safety officer).

However I think it's the weekly trip that requires charging on the road will be the one gets old quickly.

A bit too much "what ifery" there. If it's once a fortnight....I wouldn't be at all concerned about using a public cp. One EV owner here relies on one daily to get home. I wouldn't recommend that personally.

Granny cable would hardly be strewn across a pathway. Anyone doing so deserves a slap. I would only recommend using granny cable if parked right up to a socket.

The ecars charging has no time frame and it could be a few years before anything happens there. In any case, its not likely to be as expensive as fossil fuel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,958 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

How you come up with that little nugget?

Numerous times you have posted a little nugget like this and then show you have nothing to back it up....

I had a 2ltr car, diesel. I was swapping. I bought electric car, the same car in diesel would have cost the similar money. I use it everyday. A few times I had got to the limit but majority of time I have at least 40+ km left

Dont go about depreciation because you have no idea, I plan to keep the car circa 5+ years. It is common knowledge the government will have to crack down on diesel cars. So in 5 years time my electric car "could" be worth more than a second hand diesel. You have no idea, I sure as hell don't either so no point using that point.

Also my electric car comes with every gadget possible. To get the same on petrol/diesel the cost goes thru the roof.

So far I am saying 120 per month on diesel. Tax is reduced from 333 to 120(just renewed for year). My insurance has dropped from 1200 to 700.

Not a bad saving if you ask me. All this is done based on home charging...

My electric bill has not increased because I have night meter now and use it for washing etc which I done before during the day as no savings. I have taken 20 off the monthly diesel bill to cover 20 quid of electric. :D

So tell me again how does EV make sense?

* Please note OP I would never recommend an electric car to someone that it doesn't make sense for. Based on the details you have provided I think you already know the answer yourself but just want someone else to point you in that direction

So I've pretty much decided regardless of if they can fix my jazz or not that I'm going to change to a leaf :) I think it just makes sense for me and I will be saving money. Plus in a year or two the jazz will be worth nothing so might as well try and get rid of it now while I can still get a grand or two for it.

Could someone show me a photo of their car charging at home. I understand it's just an outside socket that is needed (for some reason I had been imagining the chargers like the public ones!) But I'm wondering about cords etc.

Now to find a car...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,942 ✭✭✭stesaurus

So I've pretty much decided regardless of if they can fix my jazz or not that I'm going to change to a leaf :) I think it just makes sense for me and I will be saving money. Plus in a year or two the jazz will be worth nothing so might as well try and get rid of it now while I can still get a grand or two for it.

Could someone show me a photo of their car charging at home. I understand it's just an outside socket that is needed (for some reason I had been imagining the chargers like the public ones!) But I'm wondering about cords etc.

Now to find a car...

It will be something similar to this, discreet enough
    http://fuelincluded.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/03/2_ZOE_Charging_ChargingSolutions_c.jpg

You can have a home charger that comes with a 5m cable (tethered) or have one which uses your own cable (untethered).
    Untethered is a little tidier but tethered is handier than taking out a cable from the boot every night.

Thanks. Where is the tethered cable tethered too - does it retract into the car or is it tethered to the power point?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,958 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

When I bought car I got untethered charger unit included. I then got electrician to install

I got 5m cable with car so I leave it plugged in all the time. I plan to invest in another cable to leave in the car. I do have a granny cable as well but that sits in press

I attached pictures. Don't mind the mess around it the house is been renovated.

What I wanted was from the front of the house you couldn't see the charger but then had easy access to at least 2 cars to charge. I ran a cable down the wall because the wall on other side is bathroom which is fully tiled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 892 ✭✭✭xl500

Whats the problem with the Jazz they usually top the reliabilty charts

I went for the rolec tethered cable. I hate the idea of taking a cable out of the boot every time I want to plug in at home. I got one that includes a normal 3 pin socket, which is dead handy for plugging in the hoover, or power washer, or power tools :D

It's this one.
    2015-12-17-14.01.49-300x300.jpg

I don't have any images of my car charging, but here is a similar rolec without the 3 pin socket.

rolec-car.jpg

They are on the slightly expensive side compared to some chargers, but they are very well built and worth the investment. Around €500 should land you one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Patww79 wrote: »

CCTV and/or the trip switch. The charge point always has its own fuse on the board.

There is also an optional lock you can order for about a fiver with the rolec.

You'd want to have seriously hard necked neighbours for that to happen anyway.

One thing I always wondered about the home chargers, what's to stop the neighbours powering little Tommys bouncy castle or powering lighting for a late night barbeque off one of those while you're away on your holidays? Or running their tumble dryer or lawnmower while you're in work.

Important point you overlooked is that most charge points only have an EV socket. You can't plug tommys bouncy castle into it.

You can order a charge point with a 3pin socket built in but that's not common.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,702 ✭✭✭✭BoatMad

I suggest you sell up and move

xl500 wrote: »
    Whats the problem with the Jazz they usually top the reliabilty charts

It has a jerk/loss of power/hesitation when accelerating, best described in this thread...
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=103561325

I think it is a wiring problem described here https://clubjazz.org/forum/index.php?topic=8954.0 so it is going back to the mechanic with the instructions for them to look at. The problem was only happening at low speeds, such as when accelerating out of a roundabout but it has gotten very bad and has multiple hesitations when for example, accelerating down an on-ramp onto the motorway which is not good :mad:
    I went for the rolec tethered cable. I hate the idea of taking a cable out of the boot every time I want to plug in at home. I got one that includes a normal 3 pin socket, which is dead handy for plugging in the hoover, or power washer, or power tools :D

It's this one.
    2015-12-17-14.01.49-300x300.jpg

They are on the slightly expensive side compared to some chargers, but they are very well built and worth the investment. Around €500 should land you one.

Thanks, that is very handy to have the normal plug as well.

I'm going to go in the Nissan dealer tomorrow and organise a test drive. I'll have a look in my diary and plan it for a day when I have a few home visits planned so I can see how I go.

Is it only the 2016/2017 models that have the 30kwh battery? How much extra range does it give you? Does anyone know what sorts of deals they are doing on new cars given that a new model is due. I'm not really considering it, but it's always good to know :pac:

Planning a hypothetical trip to Dublin airport from my place
    1st stop - nenagh 94km, mostly motorway M7. Stop for a fast charge
    2nd stop: Nenagh - Mayfield Junction 14 M7 service station 96km - motorway. Stop for a fast charge
    Mayfield to Airport 71km.

Would this be doable?

There are only 2 charges in Nenagh and it's 20km to the next one so that could be an issue I imagine if it's out of order or being used.
    Does anyone know if there is a charger at the Applegreen in Birdhill. I would have thought so, but it's not coming up on the map.

It may be better for me to start using the M6 again. From my place
    1st stop: ballinasloe : 76km
    2nd stop: Applegreen Enfield: 107km
    Enfield to airport: 50km

Actually is similar, but there are more places to stop along the M6/4

Also, does the home charger need to be near the electric meter? I'd have to open the gate everyday to plug it in. Getting a cord out of the boot everday wouldn't bother me but opening the gate would drive me crazy. If it can be away from the meter i could put it on the other side of the house as the gate is set further back.

I'm going to go in the Nissan dealer tomorrow and organise a test drive. I'll have a look in my diary and plan it for a day when I have a few home visits planned so I can see how I go.

Is it only the 2016/2017 models that have the 30kwh battery? How much extra range does it give you? Does anyone know what sorts of deals they are doing on new cars given that a new model is due. I'm not really considering it, but it's always good to know :pac:

2nd stop: Nenagh - Mayfield Junction 14 M7 service station 96km - motorway. Stop for a fast charge

Would this be doable?

There are only 2 charges in Nenagh and it's 20km to the next one so that could be an issue I imagine if it's out of order or being used.
    Does anyone know if there is a charger at the Applegreen in Birdhill. I would have thought so, but it's not coming up on the map.

It may be better for me to start using the M6 again. From my place
    1st stop: ballinasloe : 76km
    2nd stop: Applegreen Enfield: 107km
    Enfield to airport: 50km

Actually is similar, but there are more places to stop along the M6/4

usually the dealers are very flexible on runout deals, and I wouldn't ignore it either, if the car suits , the car suits , dont chases technology for technology sake

Would this be doable?

Entirely doable , you have backup chargers in Portlaoise -Midway, Naas
    30 kWh will put 100km range back in about 15 minutes

You will have to allow considerable extra time, if your travel is time sensitive, so on this journey , as it involves two fast charges , personally Id add another hour to the journey in case of issues ( i.e. leave 1 hour earlier )

No charger in Birdhill

BoatMad wrote: »
    usually the dealers are very flexible on runout deals, and I wouldn't ignore it either, if the car suits , the car suits , dont chases technology for technology sake

Entirely doable , you have backup chargers in Portlaoise -Midway, Naas
    30 kWh will put 100km range back in about 15 minutes

You will have to allow considerable extra time, if your grave, is time sensitive, so on this journey , as it involves two fast charges , personally Id add another hour to the journey in case of issues ( i.e. leave 1 hour earlier )

No charger in Birdhill

that's disappointing to hear there's no charger in birdhill. The station is only relatively new there as well.

I'm not chasing technology - it's more the budget I'm watching!

that's disappointing to hear there's no charger in birdhill. The station is only relatively new there as well.

I'm not chasing technology - it's more the budget I'm watching!
    141+ Leafs with 24 kWh are good value right now

However if you intend to do such long journeys regularly then perhaps a newer EV is best

its all horses for courses