Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Most pathetic, cringe-worthy occurrence in football?

• 22-05-2017 5:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,587 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Yesterday we witnessed one of the saddest, most pathetic, most cringeworthy things ever witnessed on a football field, two premier league football teams intentionally stopping a top flight football match so that one team could form a first half guard of honour for the guy who slept with his teammates wife.

Everything about it was pathetic, from the player organising his own guard of honour (whats that they say about self praise...), to the opposition actually allowing it to happen, the ref not telling them to cop on, right up to the FA who will ignore the spot fixing accusations because it didn't happen at a small club. Pathetic and cringe worthy from start to finish.

But was it the most cringe worthy thing in football ever?

Was it more embarrassing than the full kit wanker after the EL final? Daglish and his t-shirts? The Spice boys and their godawful suits? What was the most pathetic thing you've ever seen in football?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,625 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Chelsea fans incoming in 3-2-1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,928 ✭✭✭Morrison J

Screen-Shot-2015-12-13-at-20.11.02.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Commemorative shirts for injured players.

Organised Minutes applause at X Minute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,472 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

Players smiling on the pitch after losing when they are shaking hands with the opponents.
    Players swapping jerseys on the pitch after losing.

Hate seeing it.

If football journalism counts, the freelancers/journalists working for smaller outlets who go out of their way to be edgy just for the sake of clicks or to appear smarter/different annoys the sh*t out of me. Everyone is looking for an angle which I get, but so many just spout complete sh*te.

Seems to be an unpopular opinion but the pitch invasion in Hamburg on Saturday when we survived was pathetic. We've made a loss of over €50m on transfers the last 4 years and have one of the highest wage bills in the league. Since 13/14 we've finished 16th, 16th, 10th & 14th. Celebrating avoiding relegation 3 times in 4 years is ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

Mourinho calling the Europa League final the most important match in United's history

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

That time when New York City FC handed out sheets with chants to the supporters attending their games.

CJfG1h_WEAA6dHt.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Wengers interview after the match yesterday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

It was cringing and pure John Terry, the worst of it was that Sunderland were happy to play along. I wonder what would have happened if it had been say Liverpool?! :D

Oh yes, plastic flags. Make your own!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

This

pardew-dance.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

And of course the half time talk from hell with Phil Brown

Phil-Brown-team-talk-Manchester-City-Hull-Cit_1688455.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,743 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

That time when New York City FC handed out sheets with chants to the supporters attending their games.

CJfG1h_WEAA6dHt.jpg

FAI did that in about 2003 during the Fran Rooney administration.

It was after Cetlic's appearance in the UEFA Cup Final that year and the good atmosphere they created.

The FAI handed out placards to all in the East stand, and both terraces, the parts of the ground that would be visible on TV.

On one side of the placard was an tricolor, the other side had chants on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,743 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Ok2boo campaign was pretty cringe, especially when it came from the booing of the wrong player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,444 ✭✭✭fergiesfolly

Rivaldo.
    Scarlett for his mother for having him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭JaMarcusHustle

The fact that the majority of footballers go down at the smallest contact, screaming their heads off and rolling around. Then they get up and limp for 30 seconds or so, and forget about it.

Football today is a very different sport from the one I watched growing up, and it's not a good difference.

Facts, facts, facts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭Rekop dog

This AINEC

o-KENNY-DALGLISH-570.jpg?7

PA-12343417-390x285.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,720 ✭✭✭Schwiiing

John '33rd Team' Delaney.

John 'Full Kit Wanker' Terry.

Ireland 1 Cyprus 5.

Sergio 'PeekaBoo' Busquets.

Steve 'I'm The Gaffer' Staunton.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,516 ✭✭✭Wheety

Jordi Alba

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,721 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

Schwiiing wrote: »
    Steve 'I'm The Gaffer' Staunton.

Celebration of a last gasp injury time winner in San Marino

San Marino being a tough place to get three points...

Wheety wrote: »
    Jordi Alba

Agreed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,880 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

Rekop dog wrote: »
    This AINEC

o-KENNY-DALGLISH-570.jpg?7

PA-12343417-390x285.jpg

Did Goldust from the WWE used to play for Liverpool?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,720 ✭✭✭Schwiiing

David 'June 2013-April 2014' Moyes.

Luis 'Chewy Louie' Suarez.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,229 ✭✭✭marklazarcovic

Some of the commentry bias

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,631 ✭✭✭brevity

DeanAustin wrote: »
    Did Goldust from the WWE used to play for Liverpool?

Rj.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,605 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Morrison J wrote: »
    Screen-Shot-2015-12-13-at-20.11.02.png

One of my absolute favourite Klopp moments to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,776 ✭✭✭raze_them_all_

Jordi albas dive to win a peno....kicked the ground, nobody near him and the ref gave it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,611 ✭✭✭✭ERG89

Bkpcre_IYAAIfze.jpg

I don't know why but this bothered me
    ~Rebel~ wrote:
    One of my absolute favourite Klopp moments to be honest.

In a way I can see why he did it to try show the fans that they can help the team (although doing it when we beat Dortmund would have been far smarter) as when he turned up the famed Anfield roar he heard about was a whisper.
    But I imagine now he's confused why the atmosphere still does be dead far too often. Even yesterday him turning to the fans to wake them up must frustrate him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

That bleedin' trumpet band at the Ireland matches now. I was so embarrassed at the Wales match when they started that up. The Wales fans singing "What the f*cking hell was that" and i almost joined in with the chant.

ERG89 wrote: »
    In a way I can see why he did it to try show the fans that they can help the team (although doing it when we beat Dortmund would have been far smarter) as when he turned up the famed Anfield roar he heard about was a whisper.
    But I imagine now he's confused why the atmosphere still does be dead far too often. Even yesterday him turning to the fans to wake them up must frustrate him.

I actually think it was more fitting that it wasn't after a win. it's easy to stick around when you're winning. He had called out the crowd the previous week in the media, saying he expected more from them, and hated seeing people leave before the whistle. A few days later, they stayed to the bitter end of a rough draw, and he made sure the whole team went out to show them it was appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Fergie and Sammie friends! Football friends!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,461 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Yesterday we witnessed one of the saddest, most pathetic, most cringeworthy things ever witnessed on a football field, two premier league football teams intentionally stopping a top flight football match so that one team could form a first half guard of honour for the guy who slept with his teammates wife.

Everything about it was pathetic, from the player organising his own guard of honour (whats that they say about self praise...), to the opposition actually allowing it to happen, the ref not telling them to cop on, right up to the FA who will ignore the spot fixing accusations because it didn't happen at a small club. Pathetic and cringe worthy from start to finish.

Was it more embarrassing than the full kit wanker after the EL final? Daglish and his t-shirts? The Spice boys and their godawful suits? What was the most pathetic thing you've ever seen in football?
    John Terry was a great football player, one of the best to ever play in the Premier league and he played for the same team for a long, long time.

Based solely on his football he deserved to be treated like he was yesterday.

Of course nowadays you have to be pristine off the field in the eyes of the social media sports fan. It's unbelievable that he is considered as Satan in the eyes of many because of rumours about his teammates ex-girlfriend. All this despite the fact that to this day she denies they had an affair and it was after she split with Bridge if it did happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,587 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

pjohnson wrote: »
    Chelsea fans incoming in 3-2-1

I don't see why, Chelsea fans aren't idiots, they know full well how cringe worthy that shite yesterday was.
    Rivaldo.
    Scarlett for his mother for having him.
    Schwiiing wrote: »
    Sergio 'PeekaBoo' Busquets.

On my personal scale of what is right and wrong, that sort of cheating fakery goes past cringe worthy into downright scummery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,587 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

eagle eye wrote: »
    because of rumours about his teammates ex-girlfriend. All this despite the fact that to this day she denies they had an affair and it was after she split with Bridge if it did happen.

Haha, sure, nice one, two thumbs up! :pac:

Fergie and Sammie friends! Football friends!
    Yeah those gestures from Benitez were certainly up there in the cringe-worthy stakes.

John Terry was a great football player, one of the best to ever play in the Premier league and he played for the same team for a long, long time.

Of course nowadays you have to be pristine off the field in the eyes of the social media sports fan. It's unbelievable that he is considered as Satan in the eyes of many because of rumours about his teammates ex-girlfriend. All this despite the fact that to this day she denies they had an affair and it was after she split with Bridge if it did happen.

I've no problem with him getting special attention from the club in some way - but to do it like that during a competitive match sort of demeans the match itself. imo the game should always come first. If you want, give him a guard of honor before, or after, but not during.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭Tom Mann Centuria

Jermaine Jenas throwing his toys out of the pram when Spurs got beaten by Chelsea in the semifinals was quite cringey. Funny as well though.

Ron Atkinson when he did the sky series at Peterborough, that whole series actually.

Oh well, give me an easy life and a peaceful death.

~Rebel~ wrote: »
    I've no problem with him getting special attention from the club in some way - but to do it like that during a competitive match sort of demeans the match itself. imo the game should always come first. If you want, give him a guard of honor before, or after, but not during.
    It was a nothing game, Chelsea were already crowned champions, Sunderland were already crowned worst team in the league.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Did he not organise the thing himself? Even if you disregard all the other stuff, that says all you need to know about the man, tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

John Terry and his family have a very long rap sheet.It's more than that incident that leads people to think he's scum.

Tim Sherwood deciding to let some fella from the stand sit on the bench during a Spurs game.

Tim Sherwood's entire managerial career and every bit of ****e he spouted dduring it.

John Terry and his family have a very long rap sheet.It's more than that incident that leads people to think he's scum.
    Right here we have a social media football fan. I point this out because it's not like a regular football fan.

He doesn't want to talk about his performances on the pitch, he wants to talk about the man's family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 927 ✭✭✭Icaras

Tim Sherwood deciding to let some fella from the stand sit on the bench during a Spurs game.

Tim Sherwood's entire managerial career and every bit of ****e he spouted dduring it.
    How do I know so little about the legend of Tim, that was the first time Ive seen the picture earlier in the thread. What a hero.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

No he didn't. Take him off with a few minutes left and the fans can give him a standing ovation. Then he can walk around the pitch afterwards and give them a wave.

To be subbed off after 26 minutes, going round hugging everyone and then a guard of honour formed all during the middle of a football match?? Bearing in mind this all took about two or three minutes for this charade to complete. As i said yesterday, the ref should have booked everyone for time wasting and told them to cop on.

Right here we have a social media football fan. I point this out because it's not like a regular football fan.

He doesn't want to talk about his performances on the pitch, he wants to talk about the man's family.

I appreciate he was a top class player most people do.

You fail to realise that the reason he is so disliked is mainly because of the off the field stuff and the racist incident that happened on the field and the punching another player which happened on the field.

You can appreciate how good a player is without necessarily liking them.

Of course the people who don't like him aren't proper fans like you so their opinions don't count.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,291 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

monkey9 wrote: »
    No he didn't. Take him off with a few minutes left and the fans can give him a standing ovation. Then he can walk around the pitch afterwards and give them a wave.

To be subbed off after 26 minutes, going round hugging everyone and then a guard of honour formed all during the middle of a football match?? As i said yesterday, the ref should have booked everyone for time wasting and told them to cop on.

It was pathetic, especially considering he organised it for himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,657 ✭✭✭Royal Legend

is it possible that the two players who refused to play for Sunderland yesterday did so because they did not agree with the guard of honour for Terry?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭Tom Mann Centuria

is it possible that the two players who refused to play for Sunderland yesterday did so because they did not agree with the guard of honour for Terry?

Possible? Yes. Likely? Not really.

Oh well, give me an easy life and a peaceful death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,725 ✭✭✭✭blueser

I'd forgotten about that band at the Wales match. While nowhere near as dreadful as that farce yesterday, that racket in the Aviva was embarrassing and painful to listen to. They sounded like a bunch of 6 year olds, let loose in their school's music room. I've had more melodic farts!

It was a nothing game, Chelsea were already crowned champions, Sunderland were already crowned worst team in the league.

I know, it still just feels wrong though. It's one thing if it's an actual friendly match, but this was still a premier league fixture.