Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are our fields empty

• 21-05-2017 9:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭

I am from mayo and travelled to Kildare today via athlone tullamore and come back via naas clane Longford, round about way I know. Overall I had the opinion there is very little cattle on the land versus its potential. I know there is no money etc. The majority of fields are empty ( bar the odd dairy man or woman)and that does have cattle might have 10 cattle grazing 20 acres. It always puzzles me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭kerry cow

It's all about the free money , no one wants work anymore .There will be no fear of the wild life not having cover .
    Tis a far cry from the days the marts were buzzing and all the bullock punching was going on and all the cross heifers been bought to go suckling for the headage.
    Happy days they were .
    Now it all going to be waste land .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,147 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

I think there is various points
    Kerry cow has a point.
    we are at 75% this year compared to 2 years ago, issue being losses & bills.
    There are lots that got stung last year & burnt a few years ago, so may not have the finances to stock to potential or want to limit potential losses.
    Also you will have the people who are cutting back due to various reasons

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,742 ✭✭✭lalababa

In 2015 there were 6.5 million cattle in ireland, in 2000 there were 7 million. That's a drop of 7%.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

lalababa wrote: »
    In 2015 there were 6.5 million cattle in ireland, in 2000 there were 7 million. That's a drop of 7%.
    2000 - 6.3mil
    2015 - 6.4mil

not sure where you got your numbers but...http://www.cso.ie/multiquicktables/quickTables.aspx?id=aaa06 and http://www.cso.ie/px/pxeirestat/Statire/SelectVarVal/Define.asp?maintable=AAA02&PLanguage=0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,024 ✭✭✭yosemitesam1

kerry cow wrote: »
    .There will be no fear of the wild life not having cover .

Not much truth in that, the majority of lads are doing a great job sterilising the countryside while earning less than ever...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,721 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

I am from mayo and travelled to Kildare today via athlone tullamore and come back via naas clane Longford, round about way I know. Overall I had the opinion there is very little cattle on the land versus its potential. I know there is no money etc. The majority of fields are empty ( bar the odd dairy man or woman)and that does have cattle might have 10 cattle grazing 20 acres. It always puzzles me

There's no market, producing more product for an already saturated market just crashes the prices paid so increasing production is a zero sum game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

ganmo wrote: »

My opinion is the same. There is no drop in cattle numbers. Yes sucklers cows have decreased but Dairy cows have increased. If Sucklers cows hold steady in 2-5 years time we will still have 200K extra dairy bread stock hitting the ground. Only reason I see for land looking empty is some farmers have expanded while others have reduced numbers. This has lead to shed being used for longer in the year. This is especially true with bulls. Lads killing U16 and U20 months bulls.

We now have virtually equal kill all year round. We no longer see the huge autumn glut of 30+ months old cattle being killed between September and November. However there is no point in being a busy fool. If a lad is not making money at it I agree with him lowering stocking levels. Same thing is happening with some shed men. Know of a few that have stopped or reduced numbers finishing out of the shed. One lad used to have a shed for 400 full to the brim last winter it had half that many and a lot were cattle for grass. A local dairy man used to kill 30ish now sells as yearlings. He now has nearly 50 cows opposed to 30ish

Slava Ukrainii

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,756 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

It's an interesting thread. There have been a few changes since 2000;
    • Suckler cow numbers have dropped.
    • U 16 month bulls instead of 30 month steers
    • Quotas gone, so dairy herds have expanded, with bull calves exported for veal.
    • Subsidies like Glas etc, low input pasture, traditional hay meadows being more profitable than summer grazing.
    • I don't think the amount of beef produced has dropped that much, cattle are killed younger now, they are not out grazing for three summers anymore. Farmers that are still producing beef have had to get more efficient as the real (allowing for inflation) price of beef is only a fraction of what it was 30 years ago.

Just my 2 cents, I'm sure others will have more to add.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

I think you're spot on there Bass Reeves. The factory kill is almost a flat line for the entire year. Nearly as many cattle killed now in March than November.

From;
    https://www.agriculture.gov.ie/media/migration/animalhealthwelfare/animalidentificationandmovement/AIMStatisticsRpt2016190517.pdf

All reports are here;
    https://www.agriculture.gov.ie/animalhealthwelfare/animalidentificationmovement/cattle/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,005 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

I have enough to keep busy but not enough to go broke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭kerry cow

Like tom browne said he had enough money to float a ship but owed enough to sink two .
    Sound man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Feck sorry..... forgot to say.... l let them all in the top field away from the road

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Muckit wrote: »
    Feck sorry..... forgot to say.... l let them all in the top field away from the road

Can't afford golden Charolais and I'm fcuked if I'm letting anyone see the black whiteheads and Angus

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

A few posts about CAP Reform have been moved to their own thread, here, to keep this one on-topic.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,057 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

Funny that Teagasc tell lads to push up stocking rates and increase production but that can only increase workload and push down prices. Seems that they're not doing a very good job getting their message across.

Re CAP: think I read environmental measures will be more to the fore in next CAP. Are Irish farmers now being viewed more custodians of the land rather than just food producers?

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭Biscuitus

With the price of fertiliser and sprays and the unpredictable beef market I wouldn't want to stock heavily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Tigerandahalf

Re CAP: think I read environmental measures will be more to the fore in next CAP. Are Irish farmers now being viewed more custodians of the land rather than just food producers?

Interesting thread. I think the above is the direction farming will go in Ireland, at least for the smaller farmer. Getting subsidies to manage the land that favours wildlife, keeps the water system clean and provide protection for certain species is something that looks likely.

Some farmers are already getting it with the hen harrier being protected. Farmers setting aside land to aid and revive species will become more popular. It might not provide a full time living but would enable farmers to take up work in other areas.

There are also possibilities for farmers to open up their land for greenways for people to use but also to provide safe pathways for wildlife and bees etc. Farmers could be used to maintain them, cut grass and hedgerows and pick up litter etc.

It might seem a bit far fetched but if the farmer gets paid for it he won't mind. I see a farm in Saudi Arabia that was milking 40,000 plus cattle all indoors. Very hard to compete with that system for farmers with 50-100 cows here in Ireland.

You could see a lot more land planted and not just bad land with sitka spruce. Hard wood trees like oak may be encouraged to provide a greater diversity.

Be interesting to see what would appeal to farmers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭tractorporn

There are also possibilities for farmers to open up their land for greenways for people to use but also to provide safe pathways for wildlife and bees etc. Farmers could be used to maintain them, cut and hedgerows and pick up litter etc.

With the litigious society that we have in this country imo I can't see farmers opening up swathes of the countryside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,123 ✭✭✭Who2

Lads to the west are keeping the bare minimum but I'd say a lot of people over my way are pushing on with stocking. I'd say not seeing as many cattle while driving has a lot more to do with rotational grazing rather than a few here and there. Most lads round me have set groups that only hit each field or paddock every three weeks. Traditionally cattle we're let off for a few weeks or even months and left alone.

Don't forget producing food for an ever increasing global population. Set to hit the 10 billion mark.

There are also possibilities for farmers to open up their land for greenways for people to use but also to provide safe pathways for wildlife and bees etc. Farmers could be used to maintain them, cut grass and hedgerows and pick up litter etc.

too much experience of gob****es here to open the gates

Don't forget producing food for an ever increasing global population. Set to hit the 10 billion mark.

The population is increasing in the poorer areas but decreasing across the western world (except for immigration).
    Many of the poorer areas can barely feed themselves and can't afford dairy produce.

So there is no guarantee that the demand will be there for the food produced.

Many farmers would be better served by less food being produced and pushing up prices rather than everyone expanding and producing too much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭TalkingBull

the "older" generation of farmer knows he/she only needs to keep the minimun numbers to keep the DA payments 0.3LU/HA, if he can get enough winter feed saved why worry about a few whins or rushes creeping in towards the centre of fiields.

Maybe theres no younger generation looking to take over and where there is , if they cant afford to stock up, they surely cant afford to be reseeding

edit: Greenways? im only after buying a few new gates to keep ppl out haha

A lot of people were badly burnt in the wet years gone, feed scare, grass scare, and years of having beef price at levels at nothing to do with production cost or sustainability.

I'm increasing stocking numbers but I won't hit Teagasc recommended rates for a long time, if ever, it would mean a lot more work, a lot of investment, that would affect my off Farm job, affect my financial sustainability.

I'll slow aim for it and build on numbers each year cause I'm cracked.

Danzy wrote: »
    A lot of people were badly burnt in the wet years gone, feed scare, grass scare, and years of having beef price at levels at nothing to do with production cost or sustainability.

I'm increasing stocking numbers but I won't hit Teagasc recommended rates for a long time, if ever, it would mean a lot more work, a lot of investment, that would affect my off Farm job, affect my financial sustainability.

I'll slow aim for it and build on numbers each year cause I'm cracked.

Same here - we're slowly building stocking rates but won't get to Teagasc numbers with the land we have and the time limitations of being part-time. No direct payments so production is our only way of paying the bills

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

Funny that Teagasc tell lads to push up stocking rates and increase production but that can only increase workload and push down prices. Seems that they're not doing a very good job getting their message across.

The way CAP is going here is it will be just providing a play ground for the urban elite to wander around in their lycra on their bikes on a Sunday afternoon and complain about farmers actually doing a bit of farming and producing food for the European masses. So instead we will stop farmers spreading slurry because it can smell pongy. Stop tractors on roads drawing silage because it's holding me up from getting to my real job not like those made up farming jobs which are unviable don't you know.
    So instead we'll stop producing food and plant forestry and we'll buy our food from Brazil because they do a fine job of farming for food and don't you know looking after the environment. Who needs rainforests anyway sure a forest planted here is capable of hosting a far greater range of wildlife.:cool:

Satellite pic of Brazil taken today 22/05/17.
    You see those dark green areas. That's untouched rainforest.
    You see those cleared squares and one is actually being burnt.
    That section is 5 miles long. The length indicator is at the bottom right hand corner.
    screenshot_1.png

Things a joke if you ask me.
    Stop farming here and buy from Brazil instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

kerry cow wrote: »
    Like tom browne said he had enough money to sink a ship but owed enough to sink two .
    Sound man
    FYP

He didn't say if they were equal sized ships though ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Surely you don't believe the over population scare stories? The population of Europe is dropping and china's population is getting older because of their 2 child policy. We currently produce enough food to feed 10 billion with a population of 7 billion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭Zoo4m8

Interesting thread, I have had reason to travel the motorway between here (Wicklow) and Limerick for a couple years and have been struck by the lack of activity and stock in the fields in that time, I had put the lack of activity down to the fact so many farmers have off farm jobs.
    I'm coming to the end of my farming and the contrast between now and when I was young is very striking, lots of reasons have been given above but I find it very sad to see what farming has become.
    As a friend of mine says " sure all that's going to be left is farming for the tourists, we'll just sit in the ditch with the dog till the next coach pulls up at the gate and then we'll gather the sheep/ cattle to make out we're working and when they shag off we'll go back to sitting in the ditch till we're pulled out of it!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,756 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    The way CAP is going here is it will be just providing a play ground for the urban elite to wander around in their lycra on their bikes on a Sunday afternoon and complain about farmers actually doing a bit of farming and producing food for the European masses. So instead we will stop farmers spreading slurry because it can smell pongy. Stop tractors on roads drawing silage because it's holding me up from getting to my real job not like those made up farming jobs which are unviable don't you know.
    So instead we'll stop producing food and plant forestry and we'll buy our food from Brazil because they do a fine job of farming for food and don't you know looking after the environment. Who needs rainforests anyway sure a forest planted here is capable of hosting a far greater range of wildlife.:cool:

That section is 5 miles long. The length indicator is at the bottom right hand corner.
    [/IMG]

If Brazil keeps on forest clearing at this rate, then who knows, when (not if) all their topsoil is flushed down the Amazon things might look up for the next generation of Irish farmers.
    There's ppl thinking that UK soils won't be capable of growing a crop in 100 years time. Those low stocked fields here might be a great asset to this country by then.
    As I get older I'm starting to realize that ag-business always moves in cycles, when product prices are low it's better to ease off on the pedal, don't be bursting your ass with high inputs for little or no return, then when things are on the up, with a demand for food, plough on. The trick is to try and see the changes in the cycle in time.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

For political reasons, Europe (including Ireland) will always produce food. The EU won't ever allow itself to be dependent on an external power like Brazil for it's food supply.

I don't think there's any wars coming or anything like that, but when it comes to negotiating on various other issues, the EU wouldn't want to be in a weakened position across the table from South America. "Parity of esteem" and all that malarky.
    blue5000 wrote: »
    As I get older I'm starting to realize that ag-business always moves in cycles, when product prices are low it's better to ease off on the pedal, don't be bursting your ass with high inputs for little or no return, then when things are on the up, with a demand for food, plough on. The trick is to try and see the changes in the cycle in time.

blue5000 is right: ag-business moves in cycles and for the most part, Ireland as a food producer is not a mover or shaker in what causes changes in the cycle. We merely react to bigger political moves.

Sam Kade wrote: »
    ..... We currently produce enough food to feed 10 billion with a population of 7 billion.
    There's only enough food for 50 days at any one time. The milk lakes, beef mountains are long gone.....and that's at a population of 7billion. Wait till it hits the 10.

While crops, sprays, etc are improving yield all the time, the amount of Arable Land is not.

33,000 hectares a day, circa 12 million a year are being lost.

That is a lot of ground even to a Farmer in Meath.
    Eventually that will have an impact.

screenshot_1.png

It's all very well giving out about other countries environmental record but we are every bit as bad if not worse than any other country for destroying what wildlife we have as well as degrading soils, water etc.
    I think it is totally reasonable for any EU taxpayer to have some sort of say in how farms receiving their money are producing food, it's all fine and dandy complaining about these views but think of it this way. How many of the main practices on your farm will at the very least maintain the health of soil and biodiversity. The average farmer is destroying both of these for short term gain (especially through reseeding and fertiliser use), I don't think it's at all unreasonable to want to divert that damage somewhere else if our farmers won't look after things themselves.

It's all very well giving out about other countries environmental record but we are every bit as bad if not worse than any other country for destroying what wildlife we have as well as degrading soils, water etc.
    I think it is totally reasonable for any EU taxpayer to have some sort of say in how farms receiving their money are producing food, it's all fine and dandy complaining about these views but think of it this way. How many of the main practices on your farm will at the very least maintain the health of soil and biodiversity. The average farmer is destroying both of these for short term gain (especially through reseeding and fertiliser use), I don't think it's at all unreasonable to want to divert that damage somewhere else if our farmers won't look after things themselves.
    I'm sorry but this line of degrading soils is nonsense.

This farm has been farmed for thousands of years and just because I'm supplying the optimum amount of nutrients (not excess) now, that farmers before me would have given their lives to get access to and I'm being accused of degrading soils. That's B.s and only pandering to anyone trying to sell organic over conventional produce. The soil is staying put here (grassland) and is not washing away anywhere. I'm not sure if it's Catholic guilt or trying to sell in front of conventional produce but this talk is nonsense.
    The farm and soil will be here when I'm dead and here in 2000 years time.

Edit: this is not personally aimed at you Yosemitesam.

The soil might be there but there are bigger issues like the run off into the water system.

All that nitrogen being spread is getting into the river system and into lakes and seas. Unfortunately it takes years for its effects to be fully understood.

Plus the over abundance of rye grass as the dominant plant is killing off other plants and flowers with a knock on effect on bees and pollination etc.

When I was young most farmers cut some hay and this gave the system some chance but nowadays that is not happening.

As long as farmers are given a fair deal most of them wouldn't have an issue with change.

Too many farms have had hedgerows removed to provide extra pasture.

I can see all that being reversed. Most of the older farmers saw the value in hedgerows to provide shelter for animals.

The average farmer is destroying both of these for short term gain (especially through reseeding and fertiliser use), I don't think it's at all unreasonable to want to divert that damage somewhere else if our farmers won't look after things themselves.

You may explain that line further to me.

Because it sounds like you're advocating chopping down the rainforest.

Soil erosion is largely a problem in lands where there is hot summers and regular ploughing for crops like grain and heavy periodical rains.

We are in no way comparable to other countries like say Egypt, America, Brazil etc in this regard and it is foolish to claim so, nor many on the continent.

It smacks of Irish self loathing, shure we are de worst in de world and dey are all laughing at us.

Have a bit of respect for yourself and you'll find you get more respect in return.

I think you'll find that most cases of river pollution now come from sewage treatment plants which were operated by the local councils...and guess who's responsible for prosecuting polluting bodies...the local councils.

You may explain that line further to me.

Because it sounds like you're advocating chopping down the rainforest.

Give me the choice of preserving a block of land in Ireland whose flora and fauna I've spent my whole life looking at or preserve a block of land in a country I'm unlikely to ever visit and whose wildlife I've never seen. Do you think there will really be any contest there?

I'm sorry but this line of degrading soils is nonsense.

This farm has been farmed for thousands of years and just because I'm supplying the optimum amount of nutrients (not excess) now, that farmers before me would have given their lives to get access to and I'm being accused of degrading soils. That's B.s and only pandering to anyone trying to sell organic over conventional produce. The soil is staying put here (grassland) and is not washing away anywhere. I'm not sure if it's Catholic guilt or trying to sell in front of conventional produce but this talk is nonsense.
    The farm and soil will be here when I'm dead and here in 2000 years time.

Edit: this is not personally aimed at you Yosemitesam.

But it won't be as productive as it should, current conventional systems are turning soil into a lifeless pile of sand, silt and clay. Really it should be bursting with life and activity if it's not to deteriorate over the coming years and that's not happening.
    If you compare Brazil's versus Irish tillage sector, Brazil has almost fully converted to direct drilling and is also miles ahead in there use of cover crops, cutting inputs etc...

But it won't be as productive as it should, current conventional systems are turning soil into a lifeless pile of sand, silt and clay. Really it should be bursting with life and activity if it's not to deteriorate over the coming years and that's not happening.
    If you compare Brazil's versus Irish tillage sector, Brazil has almost fully converted to direct drilling and is also miles ahead in there use of cover crops, cutting inputs etc...

Can ya show where you got that comparison?
    In general the conditions in Ireland aren't the best for crops and that's why we mainly concentrate on grass

California is streets ahead of us in terms of reducing heating costs throughout most of the year.

You are comparing too things that are immensely different.

I saw on Politics.ie a person comparing Irish agriculture to English agriculture, the differences were so profound yet he could not see them and they were ones that could not be overcome by the farmer or even a State.

Give me the choice of preserving a block of land in Ireland whose flora and fauna I've spent my whole life looking at or preserve a block of land in a country I'm unlikely to ever visit and whose wildlife I've never seen. Do you think there will really be any contest there?

Go and make your own oxygen then you pesky human!

screenshot_1.png

:D;)

Go and make your own oxygen then you pesky human!

screenshot_1.png

:D;)

That nonsense doesn't really deserve a reply but go read up yourself on what has happened to numbers of birds, bees, butterfly's, beetles, grasshoppers/crickets, wildflowers etc. There's a huge reduction in all of these in Ireland as well as across Europe. How is it acceptable to continue this and finish them off all together.
    BTW I'm not talking of organic farming, farming with a few chemicals won't wipe out all the wildlife around as long as there's some sort of balance to the system (there isn't any in the case of intensive Irish grass production).

That nonsense doesn't really deserve a reply but go read up yourself on what has happened to numbers of birds, bees, butterfly's, beetles, grasshoppers/crickets, wildflowers etc. There's a huge reduction in all of these in Ireland as well as across Europe. How is it acceptable to continue this and finish them off all together.
    BTW I'm not talking of organic farming, farming with a few chemicals won't wipe out all the wildlife around as long as there's some sort of balance to the system (there isn't any in the case of intensive Irish grass production).

Well I can't speak for anyone else.
    But for my own system I don't see no reduction in birds or wildlife on the farm.
    I suppose I'm as intensive as any farmer and would be fairly well stocked per acre.
    But I look after my ditches. As these are the wildlifes refuge and fence off the stock from the ditches.
    This nonsence you have about either or is nonsense you can have intensive grassland and wildlife on the farm.
    Get your head out of the books yose and think for yourself and through up a few pics of your own farm and put down stocking density as well and I'll do the same.

I still can't wait to see your crop of field mushrooms this year. You should have a good crop considering you've all the knowledge and studies to go on.
    I'll stick up a pic when hopefully they come up for me.

Well I can't speak for anyone else.
    But for my own system I don't see no reduction in birds or wildlife on the farm.
    I suppose I'm as intensive as any farmer and would be fairly well stocked per acre.
    But I look after my ditches. As these are the wildlifes refuge and fence off the stock from the ditches.
    This nonsence you have about either or is nonsense you can have intensive grassland and wildlife on the farm.
    Get your head out of the books yose and think for yourself and through up a few pics of your own farm and put down stocking density as well and I'll do the same.

I still can't wait to see your crop of field mushrooms this year. You should have a good crop considering you've all the knowledge and studies to go on.
    I'll stick up a pic when hopefully they come up for me.

Bird population has crashed here on my farm and stocking rates are half what they were 15 years ago.

The same is happening in urban areas.

With changing climates birds and their source of food have gone out of sync.

Danzy wrote: »
    Bird population has crashed here on my farm and stocking rates are half what they were 15 years ago.

The same is happening in urban areas.

With changing climates birds and their source of food have gone out of sync.
    I haven't seen it here and don't go blaming climate change for birds numbers decreasing.

It's our own actions and management of hedgerows that influences if birds have food and shelter.
    Plant trees on ditches and let some sceachs mature and not have them nice and trimmed.
    Don't go spraying everywhere under the electric fence and only selectively spray if you have too.
    Feed your birds with bird feeders in your garden. It mightn't be popular to feed them during the summer but do it anyway.
    Leave piles of branches and bushes in the corner of fields of for more wildlife e.g hedgehogs.
    I'm not in any Glas schemes as I'm not stuck that way and I like my independence in how I manage the farm and would probably hit someone a box if they told me how to do it.:p;)

The weather could be blamed for the smaller number of swallows returning this year as it was very cold and snowy in Spain when they were migrating through there.
    But mostly it's in the hands of our selves.

Oh and don't be putting on spot on the whole time for the flies on the cows only do it if it gets real bad leave the flies mostly for the swallows and don't be using wormers as much either, give up the set stocking and put in paddocks and keep the stock on the move every few days. Don't give the parasites a chance to get going in pasture. Then you'll have more dung beetles under your pats. It's all commonsense really but some quarters will have you believe conventional farming is bad. It's not if you think about what you're doing and not be influenced by anyone else.

I haven't seen it here and don't go blaming climate change for birds numbers decreasing.

It's our own actions and management of hedgerows that influences if birds have food and shelter.
    Plant trees on ditches and let some sceachs mature and not have them nice and trimmed.
    Don't go spraying everywhere under the electric fence and only selectively spray if you have too.
    Feed your birds with bird feeders in your garden. It mightn't be popular to feed them during the summer but do it anyway.
    Leave piles of branches and bushes in the corner of fields of for more wildlife e.g hedgehogs.
    I'm not in any Glas schemes as I'm not stuck that way and I like my independence in how I manage the farm and would probably hit someone a box if they told me how to do it.:p;)

The weather could be blamed for the smaller number of swallows returning this year as it was very cold and snowy in Spain when they were migrating through there.
    But mostly it's in the hands of our selves.

Oh and don't be putting on spot on the whole time for the flies on the cows only do it if it gets real bad leave the flies mostly for the swallows and don't be using wormers as much either, give up the set stocking and put in paddocks and keep the stock on the move every few days. Don't give the parasites a chance to get going in pasture. Then you'll have more dung beetles under your pats. It's all commonsense really but some quarters will have you believe conventional farming is bad. It's not if you think about what you're doing and not be influenced by anyone else.

I don't really use sprays, in the last 5 years I have planted over 500 Trees. mostly Oak on ditches here and wet headlands, with wild plums every fifth tree.

I keep bees myself so I am loath to use chemicals, I do all the things that you say and more.

I'd be Yosemite's dream farmer. Hell I even help the Cow Slips spread by clearing briars for them, though given they don't reach for the wire, of use to me as well.

The reference to the feed being out of Sync was based on a study, there is a very significant proportion of Insect larvae whose hatching is determined by weather, while birds hatch based on sunlight.

The gap between the two has been growing for years.

Modern farming techniques are playing a part but like everything it is a conflux of events and reasons.

Ireland is less intensively farmed in a lot of places than it was 25 years ago, numbers wise, and given our smaller scale enterprises more sustainably than the 50,000 feedlots with no ditch higher than a Cow's shi7 that are the hallmark of South America, Canada and the States.

I went in to Glas, they are all things that appeal to me, so that I can be supported in that, is an easy chore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

One of the reasons for the reduction in smaller birds is the increase in crow numbers over the last 10ish years. There is no predator and no method of controling them. They are cleaning the hedge rows of nestlings and eggs

Slava Ukrainii