Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The late house

• 20-05-2017 4:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭

Our house is a late house .I am rarely in bed before 1 at night .up again around 650 am to milk at 7am .
    I hate the mornings and find that at night by time kids go to bed , have a cup of tea and quick flick through the newspaper it's 11pm by which time I need a hour or two of tv before bed . Been doing this now with so many years it's hard to see it changing .
    I would love for my kids when they get older to be up at 6 am and go bed early .
    My house when we were growing up was a 12 or 1 o'clock house to bed .
    Is it what we are brought up with or is it in our dna ?? .my brother is up at 530am to 6 am and in bed by 1030 pm mostly .
    I'd often be at home and pick up the phone to ring someone at 11pm , look at the clock and say to myself , maybe it's too late to ring them !!!.
    I still have 2 hrs before bed .
    Are you a late house .

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭judeboy101

why an hr or 2 of tv before bed? consume your media during lulls in daytime. night time in sleepy ( and occasionally sexy) time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭The man in red and black

I'm gone like that lately, feel wired at night, used to be able to go to bed at 10pm and straight to sleep, now I'm not even feeling sleepy until midnight. Going to cut out caffeine after lunch and start getting up at 7 instead of 7.45 to see if I can go back to sleeping earlier. Would rather start work at 8 instead of 9 but it's not typical of vet clinics here unfortunately so nobody wants it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 610 ✭✭✭The part time boy

Defo a late house for me . I go to bed at midnight or 1 am. To be honest I not going to make excuses and say I have to stay up . I just hate going to bed early . It's like I have a fomo (fear of missing out ) of what I dunno !

I get up at 8 to 9. I lucky that our baby sleeps into at least 8 o clock . Normal start work 9 - 9.30 .

Interesting question is it what you grew up with or in dna. Can't fully remimnber what my father did. But he not be in bed too early . It be 11 anyway . My uncle would be like me 12 1 am . His be up at 6 though unlike me.

So maybe it what we grew up with

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭kerry cow

I used to travel up the country from kerry to work through the years and would be surprised to see so many farmers dwelling house light on late after 12 .so it may be a more common thing than what I first thought . Alot of late owls out there !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,544 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

kerry cow wrote: »
    Our house is a late house .I am rarely in bed before 1 at night .up again around 650 am to milk at 7am .
    I hate the mornings and find that at night by time kids go to bed , have a cup of tea and quick flick through the newspaper it's 11pm by which time I need a hour or two of tv before bed . Been doing this now with so many years it's hard to see it changing .
    I would love for my kids when they get older to be up at 6 am and go bed early .
    Is it what we are brought up with or is it in our dna ?? .my brother is up at 530am to 6 am and in bed by 1030 pm mostly .
    I'd often be at home and pick up the phone to ring someone at 11pm , look at the clock and say to myself , maybe it's too late to ring them !!!.
    Are you a late house .

Same as you. Rarely in bed before 11pm and up most mornings at 5am. Been like that for a whole now. Do have the odd days where ill have to stay in bed with tiredness till around 8am but that's about every 3 to 4 weeks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

Would prefer to be in bed around 10, but rarely happens, usually around 11...
    If I didn't get to bed til 1am, I would t be able to get up early in the morning... Up around 6 most mornings...

This is going to sound very odd - but I love the feeling of going to bed after a long summers day when tis still fully bright outside... :)

As for people ringing the house at 11pm, can't stand it. Wouldn't dream of ringing anyone after 10pm...

At home, 11pm always would have been considered late-ish for bed...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,209 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Normally in bed for ten. Alarm goes off at 5.30. Some days I go for a power nap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,554 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Normally head to bed around half 11 and up at 8, maybe a bit earlier during calving season or a day I'd have a lot on. I'd be fidgety enough in bed though and find it hard to nod off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Hate going to bed and I hate getting out of it am a night owl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Normally head to bed around half 11 and up at 8, maybe a bit earlier during calving season or a day I'd have a lot on. I'd be fidgety enough in bed though and find it hard to nod off

Usuallu go to bed at eleven, spend a while on the phone and go to sleep around twelve and up then around 7 or half 7.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

Usually in bed at 11.30 and up at 7.30.

For the night owls and hard wakers a few possibilities could be the cause.

Not enough sunlight or blue light during the day to regulate your circadian rhythm.

Another one could also be the start of diabetes.
    Your body is only starting to take in sugar during the day and evening and your fully awake and then during the morning your body is run down again and no energy to get up.

Also a lack of minerals in your diet and depression or anxiety can also do it.
    But some say anxiety and depression can be linked to your diet too and health of gut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭MF290

If I stay up late I end up tired no matter how many hours I sleep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭visatorro

Its not unusual for me to be in bed at 7 or 8. Sleep maybe until 5. No drinking anymore made a difference to my sleep I think. Doing shift work so might only sleep 5 hours after nights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Are you a late house .
    Is 1am night time in Kerry :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭tractorporn

I used to be the same could take me half an hour or an hour to drop off. Since the young lad arrived here in Sept I'm asleep as soon as my head hits the pillow. I used to be a night owl staying up till 1 but in bed before 11 now

We new arrive in sep too. I used to stay up at 12 1 or 2 depending when he was due a feed. Suited me been a night owl . Still stay up late though now that he sleeps through

Ya 1am is night here .
    Alot on here have the light out early .
    I think , any time before 6am is too early to get up . My mother can be up at 5 am but takes a power nap during the day .
    I see alot of the old timers who are early risers and progressive farmers always power napped after lunch .!!!
    Is it the difference between a achiever in life and a waster in life when it comes to rise times in the morning ?

I heard Sean Lemass used to get up out of bed at 9 o'clock in the morning when he was Taoiseach.

Enda Kenny gets up at 5 in the morning.

It's what you do with the time that counts not the length of time that you work.
    Tired people don't make good decisions.

(Btw this is not a slight on Kenny. He's been one of the better ones maybe a bit too conservative at home and forceless at times in Europe. But this looks hopefully to change with the new broom).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭AntrimGlens

[QUOTE=kerry cow
    Is it what we are brought up with or is it in our dna ?? .
    Are you a late house .[/QUOTE]

Certainly not what we were brought up with. My father would rarely have been out of bed before 7am even when we were milking cows. I would be up at 5 from April to September to try and get stuff done before going to work or wife leaving to go to work. I wouldn't be in bed before 12 any night as I'd sit up reading or trying to wind down, getting the stuff done in the morning allows me to be there then for kids bedtimes and stories and be there for breakfast. The kids r usually up from 6.20 onwards so rarely a lie in here. The brother who also farms here would never be outa bed before 7 or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭tractorporn

We new arrive in sep too. I used to stay up at 12 1 or 2 depending when he was due a feed. Suited me been a night owl . Still stay up late though now that he sleeps through

Sleeping through the night. We haven't hit that particular milestone yet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,447 ✭✭✭Never wrestle with pigs

Was always 12 to 1 am before I hit the hay. 4:30 to 5:30 I get up. I slept until 9 one Sunday morning a few weeks ago and woke up with a banging headache and swore I wouldn't do it again. Ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭20silkcut

When your courting and chasing women the worst thing you'll ever do is go to bed early. I used be a disaster falling asleep on nights out missed many a good opportunity.
    When your in bed at 10:30 during the week then your screwed trying to stay awake on a Saturday night.
    I have seen many farmers sons suffer from this affliction torn asunder working during the week sprawled out asleep in the bar on a Saturday night or gone home at midnight. If you can't stay awake till four or five in the morning at the weekends then you are at nothing. As the song says we're up all night to get lucky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭jimmy G M

20silkcut wrote: »
    When your courting and chasing women the worst thing you'll ever do is go to bed early. As the song says we're up all night to get lucky.

In bed by 10 and home by 12.... ha. :p

So who's still up then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,120 ✭✭✭Who2

in bed anything from 11 to 1 o'clock and usually up between 4.45 and 6. As ive been getting older i'm finding the odd ten minute snooze has gone from maybe once a month to once a week and the drinking has gone from twice a week to twice a year.

Reggie. wrote: »
    So who's still up then.

For another bit, I only start to look at AI catalogues around now for some reason!

So who's still up then.

Watching scutter channel surfing

And who's awake now?

Sitting in the car having a hoors breakfast (coffee and a fag) before work. **** morning here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭visatorro

And who's awake now?

Iv no water in the house, pump fooked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

When my grandad was alive and farming (Scartaglen in Kerry), he'd be up at dawn to milk the cows, and be in bed by 11 at night (always had to be quite after 11). When he retired from farming, he'd be up later, and sleep in a bit later, but early enough so he'd be into the chuch for the early mass.

Someone asked was it in their DNA? It's only habit. I used to be up at 7am, and would rarely be in bed before 1am. Now that I'm up at before 6am, I try my best to be in the bed by midnight.

Except for the weekends. Bad habits, and all; it's half one here now, but only because I slept in today. Friday nights I'd usually be sleepy by 11 if I had some rum in me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭C0N0R

Bed at 9 asleep by 9:30, alarm goes off 5:25 but would usually be awake before it. That's one thing I love about working here, in a routine and I never suffer with sleep deprivation. Father would be in bed by ten now I'd say, mother struggles to sleep so could stay up later. Father probably gets nine hours at night and another few hours during the day, isn't it well for some!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭einn32

In bed at half 9/10 usually. Need the 8 hours. I Usually wake before the alarm. Years ago I used be terrible for staying up late and waking up late but I got in to early mornings. I just shifted my day and it suits me. Feel more productive plus done at 6 so time in the evenings. Too much Ipad and phone probably cause sleep trouble for me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,145 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

20silkcut wrote: »
    When your courting and chasing women the worst thing you'll ever do is go to bed early. I used be a disaster falling asleep on nights out missed many a good opportunity.
    When your in bed at 10:30 during the week then your screwed trying to stay awake on a Saturday night.
    I have seen many farmers sons suffer from this affliction torn asunder working during the week sprawled out asleep in the bar on a Saturday night or gone home at midnight. If you can't stay awake till four or five in the morning at the weekends then you are at nothing. As the song says we're up all night to get lucky.

They'd not be much use at Calving or lambing if they can't stay awake for the important stuff

Sleeping through the night. We haven't hit that particular milestone yet!

Ah he does not do it every single night . But night he does not it only one doddie 're-entry . Ye get there !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Definitely not a late house here , ten o clock would be well time to hit the hay and up between 6 and 7 depending whats on .

I'd take a power nap if I got it during the day aswell but dont get the chance that often

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

And who's awake now?

I'd bet Reggie set his alarm, and then went back to bed. :D

Some times of the year, will only get in a few hours after the 2 ladies were a few hours in bed and up a few hours before them. Other times of the year would still be up early to finish up around 4.30 - 5.

I'd bet Reggie set his alarm, and then went back to bed. :D

Some times of the year, will only get in a few hours after the 2 ladies were a few hours in bed and up a few hours before them. Other times of the year would still be up early to finish up around 4.30 - 5.

Ya bloody swine
    I bloody wish that's what I did

Another late night watching cliffhanger on universal fcuk sake there is always something to catch your eye channel surfing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭kk.man

I have to be in bed before 12 cause it be hard going the next day. Have thought about bringing it back to 11 and will try but its hard. Up at 6.30. Old folks were great to be in bed early and up early. I think the older you get the less sleep is required. Had this debate before with a relation who is a very progressive operator and he agreed. When i was younger i needed at the very least 8 plus hours sleep.

As for ringing people my rule was always last phone call after the 9 o'clock news but not before the weather! The reasoning being just like this debate...it might be an early house ya be contacting.

Don't agree kk with ...as I was younger you'd live on a few hours sleep .out till 4 and 5 chasing women , drinking foolish and jump out out of bed at 6am with the silage contractors old noisy van reving outside the windows , hop in the back with 5 other lads and off we go , not a bother .great times they were , but now it's harder to pull out in the morning .and the odd lunch nap needed .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭kk.man

Don't agree kk with ...as I was younger you'd live on a few hours sleep .out till 4 and 5 chasing women , drinking foolish and jump out out of bed at 6am with the silage contractors old noisy van reving outside the windows , hop in the back with 5 other lads and off we go , not a bother .great times they were , but now it's harder to pull out in the morning .and the odd lunch nap needed .
    Oh that time was different alright!...

I'd agree with both of ye :)

It was far easier to manage on a few hours kip after a late night out when I was younger... you could survive away, do a days work and catch up on sleep that night...
    Nowdays - not a hope I could do that... sure hangovers seem to last for 2 days now, even after only 3 or 4 pints :)

But, when I was younger, I would get 8 hours sleep, prob by not getting up as early really. :) But now, I can make do fine on 6-7 hours, and if I get more sleep, I am nearly worse the next day...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,123 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

BBC 4 kills me. Every night they have a good documentary from 12 to 1am. Last night it was about the origins of the rare Appaloosa spotted horse. FFS...and I know nothing about horses.

I didn't see that last night.
    But was that the woman looking for spotted horses in Mongolia and claiming the horses came in to the U.S via the Bering Strait instead of the wide held view of with the Spanish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    But was that the woman looking for spotted horses in Mongolia and claiming the horses came in to the U.S via the Bering Strait instead of the wide held view of with the Spanish.
    That's the one. I watched it a few months ago, very interesting but could easily have been shown in half the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,123 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    Yep, that's the one. 5 times she was married. Tough woman.

I hate the mornings and find that at night by time kids go to bed , have a cup of tea and quick flick through the newspaper it's 11pm by which time I need a hour or two of tv before bed .
    Switch to decaf tea that late and you will feel sleepy earlier.

I am in bed by 10:30 most evenings and wake at 7:00 without an alarm usually.

I would have been later before our toddler came along.

Edit: An hour of sleep before midnight is better than two afterwards - I have come around to this way of thinking recently.

Switch to decaf tea that late and you will feel sleepy earlier.

I am in bed by 10:30 most evenings and wake at 7:00 without an alarm usually.

I would have been later before our toddler came along.

Edit: An hour of sleep before midnight is better than two afterwards - I have come around to this way of thinking recently.

The ould crowd used say you can get more done in morning before 12 noon than all the time after it !!!