Not The Annoyingly Trivial Things-Bitches be cray cray week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭zcorpian88

Maybe she read morally rewarding as being condescending. Or maybe you put so much thought into the reply you came across as wooden (i.e. a bit of a bore).
    Or maybe she went on a date with someone and decided to see how that plays out.

Jesus if you can't say something nice to break the ice then what's the point, if people are going to be so touchy about the first two opening messages then maybe they shouldn't be on a dating site, didn't have anything else to go on really, she didn't exactly have much written in her profile, not even any hobbies/interests. Just going off the top of my head like. She had a picture of her dog up too, and I said he/she was adorable. I don't do corny chat up lines, being the majority crash and burn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

zcorpian88 wrote: »
    Jesus if you can't say something nice to break the ice then what's the point, if people are going to be so touchy about the first two opening messages then maybe they shouldn't be on a dating site, didn't have anything else to go on really, she didn't exactly have much written in her profile, not even any hobbies/interests. Just going off the top of my head like. She had a picture of her dog up too, and I said he/she was adorable. I don't do corny chat up lines, being the majority crash and burn.

The only one who seems touchy is you.
    Half of your posts on boards are to do with you giving out about women. Maybe she's got good intuition and picked up on something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

Obnoxious people. I was at a conference/ training seminar today and there was one bint who never shut her f*cking pie hole the whole time. I'm convinced she thought SHE was the facilitator. She felt the need to interrupt the facilitator with her paraphrasing updates (Which were way off the mark anyway) the whole time. I felt like decking her, and only it was my first conference with this company and I wanted to make an impression I probably would have smacked her into the middle of next week.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

anna080 wrote: »
    The only one who seems touchy is you.
    Half of your posts on boards are to do with you giving out about women. Maybe she's got good intuition and picked up on something.

This is not the type of thing we want to see in this thread.

Please do not post in the thread again until our new AH mod Buford T. Justice V allows you to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,753 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

I had the exact same gripes with online dating as zscorpion. Not getting replies and wondering is it my profile? Is it what I wrote? But I preserved and in a couple of weeks I am going away to Lisbon for a few days with the OH to celebrate our two year anniversary. In hindsight, it's the best thing I ever joined :)

TA for the day is couriers. Ordered my Halloween costume online at the end of September. It was from a Hong Kong based store, so obviously am expecting it take a while for it to deliver. I checked the online postal tracker and the latest update is that it arrived in the Dublin depot two days ago. It must be arriving via camel or something since. I know it's a first world problem, but the longer I wait, the more I am thinking I got duped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

zcorpian88 wrote: »

Fair play. I've heard of people going straight for the ''wanna ride?'' type stuff, at least you're being polite and making an effort. Online dating has the potential to be very disheartening, I have always felt that I'd stay single rather than go down that road, if they were the two choices.

For what it's worth, I was thinking that maybe she's a bit shy herself and can't think what to say, or maybe she has been listening to some nonsense like ''the rules'', you know where you're meant to ''play it cool'' or something. OR maybe she lost her password to the site and doesn't use that email anymore and can't use the password recovery thing. That's the sort of thing I'd do.

Everything will unfold as it should, as someone wise once said :)

TA: I think one of my first posts in this thread was about my kettle breaking, now my 'new' kettle's gone wonky. It will only boil if you hold the switch down with just the right pressure. Or if you wedge a mandarin orange between the switch and handle :D Just have to make sure you don't forget and wander off while it boils dry!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,723 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

My other online dating problem is my appearance.....:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,164 ✭✭✭Savage Tyrant

Some thundering cuńt has hit the front corner bumper on my jeep and not said anything.... can’t even be sure where it happened. Wife noticed it this morning (can’t blame her, she doesn’t drive it or park near it)
    It’s not like they’ve done structural damage or anything, it’s clearly cosmetic, and not that bad... for sure 100% I’d have told whoever did it not to worry about it ... but it’s annoying all the same. More so the lack of acknowledgment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

When you're in the middle of sending an email/file or an update to someone and they email you asking for said info just as you're typing. If you send it too soon they'll assume you're just sending it because they asked so ya gotta delay it a little more :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,215 ✭✭✭Samsgirl

Samsgirl wrote: »
    What was supposed to be a 2 or 3 day job in my house - stove instsllation is now goin on two weeks. Peaked with a fire in the utility room.

I'm sick of workmen in my house. Sick of the dirt and disruption. Sick of my children goin around like chimney.sweeps. Just when we think we have the smoke damage cleaned they emerge from another room covered in soot.

Painter here today so weekend will be taken up cleaning after him.

Its the job that just keeps giving... it has transpired that out stove supplier gave our plumber the wrong stove. We had ordered and paid for a 21kw one and we got at 17.1kw one.

So.... stove has to come out and new one put in. Im so sickened by this I could puke. Just when we were getting the house back to normal.
    I am so sick of it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭KatW4

My TA is finding lots of little bits or broken leaves in my coat pockets. My class won't stop giving me bloody leaves because I thanked someone for bringing some in for our Autumn display. Now my coat is full of rubbish!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,215 ✭✭✭bottlebrush

I slipped on my hall floor this morning and hurt my ankle. I got through the day in work OK but now that I'm home it's really painful. Would have been a lovely evening to go for a walk but instead I've taken to the bed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    only it was my first conference with this company and I wanted to make an impression I probably would have smacked her into the middle of next week.

Yes that would be more acceptable and much better received at your second conference with the new company. Once you settled in and everyone got to know you. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Bambi985

TA'd at being in the office for at least another hour following up on a conference I was at earlier this week.

TH'd to find a box of Celebrations in the snack cupboard.

TA'd that there's no Malteasers ones left :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

I absentmindedly poured boiling water into an aluminium dish as I held it in my hand. Cue boiling water flung all over the floor. It feels like my fingerprints are gone :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭erica74

Re online dating - I met my husband online, we're together 10 years. However, I had some awful online experiences, awful messages, really vile first mails from people, things they would never dare say to your face, thankfully I could block people and it was 10 years ago so the website didn't have the functionality they probably have now.
    I liked online dating as I felt I had control over my dating life and could control the conversations etc.

My TA is how quickly a €50 note disappears once you break it. And shops with out of service card machines. And when my card is out of taps and the machine says "transaction refused" and makes me look like I've no money and I go through the whole awkward thing with the cashier "heh heh oh just out of taps... I hope, heh heh" like a muppet!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭LadyMacBeth_

At Nick Cave concert. He has such an amazing voice. I am shorter than everyone else though and I can't see a thing. I'm 5ft 6!! Stupid tall German people ffs. What are they feeding them.

I slipped on my hall floor this morning and hurt my ankle. I got through the day in work OK but now that I'm home it's really painful. Would have been a lovely evening to go for a walk but instead I've taken to the bed.

Further to my above post I got a craving for a bag of Tayto and drove down to the local shop. I skidded on the shop floor with the same foot! Am going to wear snow boots for the next few days!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,868 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

At Nick Cave concert. He has such an amazing voice. I am shorter than everyone else though and I can't see a thing. I'm 5ft 6!! Stupid tall German people ffs. What are they feeding them.

I'm over 6 ft and get a lot of **** from people at gigs cause they can't see :(

My TA - emptying a dishwasher and it hasn't cleaned all the dishes. Ffs YOU HAD ONE JOB!

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭IamtheWalrus

everlast75 wrote: »
    I'm over 6 ft and get a lot of **** from people at gigs cause they can't see :(

My TA - emptying a dishwasher and it hasn't cleaned all the dishes. Ffs YOU HAD ONE JOB!

That ruddy porridge pot.

Filling out online forms like looking for car and house insurance quotes - why do I never ever complete it correctly the first time and when I hit submit I am always brought back up to at least one field that hasn't been completed although I distinctly remember doing so in the first place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭CrowdedHouse

^^^ or after all the filling out won't give me a quote

Seven Worlds will Collide

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,434 ✭✭✭northgirl

Quoted over 700 euro for my car insurance. A 50 euro increase from last year and looking around I'm struggling to better it :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

That Mattie McGrath is such a sexy beast and I can't have him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

That Mattie McGrath is such a sexy beast and I can't have him.

Whatever floats your boat.

Just figured mods can edit posts without it showing as an edit. Changing the thread title is so last week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭LadyMacBeth_

I had four drinks and I am not well. Felt nauseous on the train. God help me tomorrow. Christ I am getting old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

went to pub for a burger, no waiting staff around. unusual for this place, normally bang on service within minutes of sitting down, get you a drink etc.

not busy this particular day. took a while to be seen to even for glass a water. eventually a nice girl appeared and took my order.. but took even longer to get the water.

sipping away on the water, i wait for the food. waitress disappears for long periods of time. i've the sneaking suspicion she's the forgetful type. must have been 30-45 minutes waiting, before i decided to leave.

i thought of going to the bar and saying it politely to the manager, as the one waitress had gone AWOL, but i believe its on them to deliver good table service in a place like that and you shouldn't really have to.

disappointed, but when staff are nice i stop short of being angry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

Had the most horrific realistic dream last night that my boyfriend cheated on me. It was so awful I woke up crying. Hate dreams like that, feel so anxious now even though it obviously wasn't real, he was snoring next to me oblivious to my nightmare :o

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 81,219 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Have too go too family thing tomorrow and feeling anxious about it, I shouldn't be really :o

Added constructors too a program I wrote and it didn't work :o all it said was "press any key too continue" not what was suppose too happen :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,058 ✭✭✭whoopsadoodles

Conspectus wrote: »
    Just figured mods can edit posts without it showing as an edit. Changing the thread title is so last week.

There's a two minute window where the post can be edited without it showing as edited. Applies to the poster themselves, or mods/admins etc. Basically anyone with editing rights.