Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Recommend a home charger for Leaf

• 17-05-2017 9:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭

Anyone have any recommendation for a home charger? Rolec, Podpoint etc? Really not sure which one to go for!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,889 ✭✭✭✭Calahonda52

http://www.eurosales.ie/products/AD990J.html

http://www.evcables.co.uk/189/EV-Charging-cables-for-Nissan

https://speakev.com/threads/charging-the-leaf.28265/
    and the boss penned this some time ago
    cros13 wrote: »
    There are a few better than Rolec in different categories.

Rolec makes good basic chargepoints, but for more features / premium materials / multi-EV charging you need to look elsewhere:

FILLIE - very well built, very stylish, upgradable to three phase, cloud management

Tesla Wall Connector - upgradable to three phase, up to single phase 48A, load sharing, stylish

ICU Eve Mini - upgradable to three phase, RFID authentication, LCD charging status screen

ChargePoint Home - Tethered J1772 chargepoints, very stylish, smart home integration, cloud management, have to import from the US but they work fine here.

Charge AMPS Halo - Stylish, odd socket location, cloud management, load sharing

Zaptec Zapcharger - load sharing, cloud management, upgradable to three phase, RFID

With the exception of the Tesla Wall Connector and ChargePoint Home all are substantially more expensive than the Rolec.

“I can’t pay my staff or mortgage with instagram likes”.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,035 ✭✭✭goz83

I looked into a few of them and I found Rolec to be the best and to have the most variable selection. I wanted a 13Amp 3 pin domestic plug, as well as a home charge point and I was delighted that I could have that option included with the Rolec CP. I opted for tethered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭Orebro

I've ordered a Rolec homecharge model - got a 32a version as it was the same price as the 16a, even though my Leaf is 3.3 I may as well future proof a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Soarer

I got my Rolec for £330 + AddressPal from the UK.

Cheapest I could find.

Got mine from evonestop for 318 plus address pal too. Must line up one of the lads at work to do me a favour for install!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,702 ✭✭✭✭BoatMad

Orebro wrote: »
    Got mine from evonestop for 318 plus address pal too. Must line up one of the lads at work to do me a favour for install!

just be aware that mods to your distribution board require a RECI electrician

BoatMad wrote: »
    just be aware that mods to your distribution board require a RECI electrician

Cheers for that. Yes they are all RECI - won't be taking any chances with this.

Sorry, should've clarified.

I got this 32A tethered Rolec with extra 3 pin socket for ?330 + AddressPal.

i got it from a crowd called Midshires Electrical.
    Used the discount code "mail5" to get 5% off.
    Then when I selected Ireland as delivery address, they kept the free delivery and they subtracted the VAT for some reason! :eek:
    They rang a couple of days later saying free shipping doesn't apply to Ireland, I gave them the AddressPal postcode, and without adjusting the total, they shipped it to there! Invoice was sent to my house, and only delivery fee was paid at the post office.
    Maybe Revenue will come knocking looking for the VAT, but as it stands, I think I did ok! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,702 ✭✭✭✭BoatMad

Soarer wrote: »

Then when I selected Ireland as delivery address, they kept the free delivery and they subtracted the VAT for some reason! :eek:
    They rang a couple of days later saying free shipping doesn't apply to Ireland, I gave them the AddressPal postcode, and without adjusting the total, they shipped it to there! Invoice was sent to my house, and only delivery fee was paid at the post office.
    Maybe Revenue will come knocking looking for the VAT, but as it stands, I think I did ok! ;)

No the lack of vat is an uk vat issue ( until Brexit )

Guys, I just thought I'd bump this as the same VAT situation is happening!

The price is coming in at £349.79 + AddressPal.

Not a bad saving on the £462 delivered from EVOneStop.

With the SEAI grant available now, I doubt you'll get a better charger + install for the money.

The SKU on the Type 1 is EVMM0020.

Also, they both have the Type 2 version available, for all ye posh i3/Ioniq/40kWh drivers! I think ye're all Type 2 anyway!
    That's coming in at £510 from EVOneStop and £385.16 from Midshire.

The SKU on the Type 2 is EVMM0040.

Think that's all right. Long day already!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 987 ✭✭✭oinkely

one rolec type 2 untethered on the way for the parents house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,186 ✭✭✭✭KCross

I'd recommend the Zappi or Tesla Wall Connector over a Rolec for two reasons...

1) They have extra features (e.g load balancing and additionally the Zappi has load shedding and Solar PV integration)
    2) The Rolec, for me, hasn't proven to be the most reliable and I've seen other forums complain about them too. (e.g. RCBO burnouts, case cracking over time, controllers failing)

Mine has been ultra reliable.

It went through a phase of tripping, but that was because water had gotten in at the car end.

Mine has been ultra reliable.

It went through a phase of tripping, but that was because water had gotten in at the car end.

Big thread here detailing issues with RCBO burning out and melting the neutral wire.
    https://speakev.com/threads/rolec-charger-dangerous.37841/

Post with pic here
    https://speakev.com/threads/rolec-charger-dangerous.37841/page-14#post-2025193

It seems to be earlier versions that have the B type RCBO. They've subsequently upgraded it and it doesnt appear to happen now for new ones.

A few have detailed the case cracking due to becoming brittle. One of my screw points has cracked. The plastic doesnt appear to have the correct UV properties for outdoor use! :rolleyes:

When mine arrived day one the controller was dead.
    Got a new one sent over under warranty and replaced it and it worked flawlessly for 18 months and then died. Got another controller sent under warranty and its working fine now again but I'm just not filled with confidence.

There are of course loads of people like yourself that have had no issues and it is early days yet with the Zappi to see how reliable that is, but Rolec are at the "cheap" end of the market so you get what you pay for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 987 ✭✭✭oinkely

I had the contactor on mine burn out. Still bought another one for the parents house. At the price they are good value.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭creedp

KCross wrote: »
    I'd recommend the Zappi or Tesla Wall Connector over a Rolec for two reasons...

1) They have extra features (e.g load balancing and additionally the Zappi has load shedding and Solar PV integration)
    2) The Rolec, for me, hasn't proven to be the most reliable and I've seen other forums complain about them too. (e.g. RCBO burnouts, case cracking over time, controllers failing)

I've received my SEAI grant approval and am now looking at home charger units. Subject to electrician viewing my set up I'm hoping to install the unit in the garage which will allow me to charge car both in and outside garage as required (could pass cable through window to charge outside). As I have a Leaf I will need a Type 1 cable so am considering a Type 1 tethered unit or going for a Type 2 untethered unit and get a 2nd Type 2 to Type 1 cable and leave it plugged into unit. This would future proof unit so it I upgrade to Leaf 2 or Ioniq in future all I would have to change is the cable. Does this make sense or, given the life span of these units, am I as well getting a Type 1 tethered unit?

I like the look of the zappi unit, although its a tad expensive, but I'm not clear if you can get an untethered unit? The places I was looking at seemed to have tethered only units.

Looked up company website and it seems the untethered zappi won't be launched until later in the year which is too long for me to wait. I suppose I could get a Type 1 tethered and then get a Type 1 to type 2 adaptor if I decided to upgrade to type 2 car in a couple of years.

Are the adaptors suitable for full time use charging at 32amps?

In all of this I'm presuming these units would have a lifespan beyond 4 to 5 years. Otherwise I might be as well off just get a cheap type 1 tethered and replace If/ when I get a Type 2 car.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

Do you have to buy brand new
    With receipt?
    There’s a new ABL one on adverts for €300.
    I have one and they can be flashed to be used at 32A.

http://www.adverts.ie/15143969

kceire wrote: »
    Do you have to buy brand new
    With receipt?
    There’s a new ABL one on adverts for €300.
    I have one and they can be flashed to be used at 32A.

http://www.adverts.ie/15143969

Thanks. Good point. I kind of assumed a brand new unit is required with receipt for the grant. Having read the Grants T&C there doesn't seem to be any mention that items must be new just they are receipted. Was originally contemplating going down the ABL route but got my head turned by the zappi.

However, I currently don't have any home generation so would not benefit from the extra functionality available for some time. Maybe better going with cheaper Type 1 Unit and upgrade in the future if necessary.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

creedp wrote: »
    Thanks. Good point. I kind of assumed a brand new unit is required with receipt for the grant. Having read the Grants T&C there doesn't seem to be any mention that items must be new just they are receipted. Was originally contemplating going down the ABL route but got my head turned by the zappi.

However, I currently don't have any home generation so would not benefit from the extra functionality available for some time. Maybe better going with cheaper Type 1 Unit and upgrade in the future if necessary.

Have a 3kw PV array and one of those ABL units I picked it on on the FB group for €200 and it’s flawless. Works perfect every time (although I’ve only charged at home about 10 times due to work charging :) )

It might just mean you charger install will come in less than the grant :)
    Also, if you want to upgrade the unit in the future, the wiring etc is all in place so it’s just a matter of swapping out the charger unit. Plus you’ll get a good chunk of your charger outlay back too.

kceire wrote: »
    Have a 3kw PV array and one of those ABL units I picked it on on the FB group for €200 and it’s flawless. Works perfect every time (although I’ve only charged at home about 10 times due to work charging :) )

It might just mean you charger install will come in less than the grant :)
    Also, if you want to upgrade the unit in the future, the wiring etc is all in place so it’s just a matter of swapping out the charger unit. Plus you’ll get a good chunk of your charger outlay back too.

Sounds good.

Would a hand written receipt from a private individual suffice for the SEAI Grant?

Also I have a 6.6kw charger in the Leaf so will need to install the 40amp RCBO. I read in one of the EV forums that an electrician could balk at installing a 40amp RCBO with a 16amp charger unit as they would be deemed incompatible for grant purposes. Do you know if this might be a problem?

I think there is a thread on here dealing with flashing ABL Units but very quickly can anyone flash the unit to 32amp or is an electrician required for this job?

Also I have a 6.6kw charger in the Leaf so will need to install the 40amp RCBO. I read in one of the EV forums that an electrician could balk at installing a 40amp RCBO with a 16amp charger unit as they would be deemed incompatible for grant purposes. Do you know if this might be a problem?

I dont think his issue would be the grant. It would be having the wrong RCBO for the unit. The RCBO needs to match the load so he might not be comfortable signing off his electrical cert with the wrong RCBO.

Having said that, if the unit has "16A/32A" written on it you could just tell him its setup for 32A and he would probably be none the wiser.

I think there is a thread on here dealing with flashing ABL Units but very quickly can anyone flash the unit to 32amp or is an electrician required for this job?

Very unlikely that your run of the mill electrician would have the equipment or the knowledge to flash it to 32A.

Technically, anyone can do it, its a config change not an electrical one. You just need to know how!

@unkel did it himself I think. Cable, computer and some commands that you send to it.... I think they are the high level steps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭optimal

Hi, Guys.

I'm new here so forgive me if I'm posting in the wrong place.

I'm in the process of getting de-fossilized and purchasing an EV. I'm really looking forward to it, if a little apprehensive, as it's a big change.

Thanks to this forum I've really been able to educate myself on EVs and am hoping to buy a 30Kw Leaf. I have seen that there are some out there that are really 24Kw so that's a little worry !!

However, my biggest confusion is the home charger and I've read a fair few posts here which helps but I'm still not settled. I try and buy quality if possible as it generally pays in the long run. I don't get the impression that Rolec is the highest quality.

I'm not entirely certain about untethered or not - I think the untethered is more future proof if I ever move to the new LEAF which is I think Type 2 but tethered is more convenient.

I do have Geothermal - I think this draws greatest power when starting so I need to be conscious of this.

I would like to buy equipment myself and get local spark to install.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,132 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

If you're worried about using your pump and your EV charger at the same time, both can run on timers, no? You can set the timers to avoid conflict. If that doesn't work for you, you can have a priority switch installed that allows only one of these at a time (based on your preference). Not that expensive. Certainly not in the light of your other recent de-fossilization investments :p

There is also a third way with your charger. Semi-tethered. Use an untethered charger but leave a cable permanently connected to it (and perhaps to a DIY post at the car's end). When you change your car for a Type 2 charging car, just sell the cable and buy a Type 2 cable. I use this. Convenience is everything when you do nearly all of your charging at home.

unkel wrote: »
    If you're worried about using your pump and your EV charger at the same time, both can run on timers, no? You can set the timers to avoid conflict. If that doesn't work for you, you can have a priority switch installed that allows only one of these at a time (based on your preference). Not that expensive. Certainly not in the light of your other recent de-fossilization investments :p

There is also a third way with your charger. Semi-tethered. Use an untethered charger but leave a cable permanently connected to it (and perhaps to a DIY post at the car's end). When you change your car for a Type 2 charging car, just sell the cable and buy a Type 2 cable. I use this. Convenience is everything when you do nearly all of your charging at home.

Thanks for that. That does help.

optimal wrote: »
    Thanks for that. That does help.

Any advice on the best charger?

You'll get a lot of people saying their own charger is the best and that it never failed. If I was getting a €600 subsidy on a new charger install today, I'd get a Zappi (which is smart and versatile) for the best possible money and I'd get a competent sparks to install it who wouldn't charge me for figuring out for 3 hours how to do the job. In other words, about as close down to €500 as you can get for the charger and about €100 for the install. With €50 in other parts (RCBO, cables and ducting) you should be able to get a clever high quality install for as close to zero euro as possible after the grant

Don't entertain vultures looking for big money to supply and fit a charger. We've all got enough of rip-off Ireland even before the recession started a decade ago. Never again. Just don't allow it.

As far as I can gather there is no untethered version of the Zappi available as yet. I've been mulling over this and delayed my installation as a result. An electrician will look at my set up on Saturday and I will make a final decision then.

One question I asked elsewhere already is whether or not a zappi which has a variable output from 6amp to 32amp could be installed on a 16amp feed and if this would be OK for the SEAI grant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭JackieChan

You'll get a lot of people saying their own charger is the best and that it never failed. If I was getting a €600 subsidy on a new charger install today, I'd get a Zappi (which is smart and versatile) for the best possible money and I'd get a competent sparks to install it who wouldn't charge me for figuring out for 3 hours how to do the job. [In other words, about as close down to €500 as you can get for the charger and about €100 for the install. With €50 in other parts (RCBO, cables and ducting) you should be able to get a clever high quality install for as close to zero euro as possible after the grant

Don't entertain vultures looking for big money to supply and fit a charger. We've all got enough of rip-off Ireland even before the recession started a decade ago. Never again. Just don't allow it.

Would it be worth having a new thread for a listing of RECI electricians that posters have used for an EV charger install and been happy with?

Might be better than the usual Nigel Daly recommendation which while they may be good may not be the most price competitive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭_dof_

One question I asked elsewhere already is whether or not a zappi which has a variable output from 6amp to 32amp could be installed on a 16amp feed and if this would be OK for the SEAI grant.

You can configure the Zappi to limit the max current to 16A. I suppose if the electrician certified that it was sufficient then that might be fine for the grant ( I think there's something about a current limiting device on the grant application form, so the Zappi itself might be considered as the current limiting device).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭Kangas daddy

Forgive my ignorance but what does home generation mean? Thanks

Awaiting new 2018 Leaf from dealer after deposit put down but am totally unversed on home chargers. Tethered/untethered? Type 1/type 2?

I know there’s a grant of €600 that from reading prev posts requires receipt and certificate of installation by a qualified electrician so I presume I buy the charger, get it installed and apply for refund up to €600

I’m quite sure I’ll be staying EV after my L40 first venture but NOOOO idea what to look for charger-wise. I’ve read the other posts and only confused myself even more.

Forgive my ignorance but what does home generation mean? Thanks

Electricity generated at home using solar or wind. I'm not really up to speed on the technical but I understand the zappi can be configured to take excess solar / wind generated electricity to charge the car

Awaiting new 2018 Leaf from dealer after deposit put down but am totally unversed on home chargers. Tethered/untethered? Type 1/type 2?

I know there’s a grant of €600 that from reading prev posts requires receipt and certificate of installation by a qualified electrician so I presume I buy the charger, get it installed and apply for refund up to €600

I’m quite sure I’ll be staying EV after my L40 first venture but NOOOO idea what to look for charger-wise. I’ve read the other posts and only confused myself even more.

A lot to understand but the important thing is to apply for grant approval from SEAI prior to buying anything or you won't be able to claim expenditure for grant purposes. Once you get grant approval - should onlky take a couple of days - you have six months to complete the installation and submit completed grant application form

Many thanks. Been reading various www and have to get info from dealer to include in grant application so at a standstill until vehicle arrives 👍 Thanks again

Electricity generated at home using solar or wind. I'm not really up to speed on the technical but I understand the zappi can be configured to take excess solar / wind generated electricity to charge the car
    Thanks👍 I’ve actually solar panels providing hot water already 😀 Will look up zappi and see what’s available. Thanks again

So you might have figured it out by now, but just to be safe...

You apply for the grant after buying the car and before buying anything else.

The Leaf 2 takes the type 2 charger. If you get an un-tethered charge point (EVSE) then you can just use the type 2 cable which will come with the car....the same one you will use on slow public charge points.

If you go for a tethered EVSE, you will want a type 2.

Whatever you choose, make sure you get a 32A capable, rather than a 16A. They tend to cost the same anyway. The only cost difference will be the thicker cable for the 32A cable connecting your fuse panel to the EVSE.

If you have an electric shower, you may need to have a priority switch installed and give priority to the shower. Unkel will tell you to get a real shower :p

I prefer and chose a tethered EVSE, because it is more convenient. This makes more sense for you, because any cars you buy in the future will be type 2. The Leaf 1 & 1.5 are type 1. In the event a Leaf 1 needs to charge at your house, they can use a granny charger.

I recommend having a standard domestic 3-pin socket installed too while the work is being done. It comes in very handy. My EVSE has it built in, but most don't. I went for a Rolec and it's great, but it doesn't have any smart features. It's simple and functional.

As far as I can gather there is no untethered version of the Zappi available as yet. I've been mulling over this and delayed my installation as a result. An electrician will look at my set up on Saturday and I will make a final decision then.

Electrician confirmed that existing cable to garage is 6mm2 so I am free to install 32amp charger inside or outside garage. Would the charger last longer inside away from the elements or does it matter? What would people's preference be?

Having it inside would mean it would be more messy to charge to car outside if garage was otherwise occupied as I would have to feed the cable out a window which could then not be locked unless I modify the locking mechanism some way to give sufficient room for the cable.

Unless you park in the garage...then outside is where to put it.

I had a look at the Zappi in the web. Manual is here: https://myenergi.uk/wp-content/uploads/2017/10/zappi-manual-v1.2.pdf

On p 19 it talks about a grid limit which, I think, you can set to the max import capacity you have. If I read it right it will reduce amount of electricity used to charge the car if something else is drawing a lot of electricity.
    If this is so it would be a very useful feature but the sensor needs to be after the meter.

Of course it could mean that the car may not charge..... ☹️

I’m going to check with mr Zappi!

goz83 wrote: »
    Unless you park in the garage...then outside is where to put it.

Agree. Currently I park in garage and charge with granny cable which is convenient and also means it doesn't matter if it lashing rain when I attach / detach cable and put in boot. That's less of an issue with a tethered charger as cable is left with Unit.

Up to now I've always parked the S-max in the garage when the weather is frosty or when it snows as its brilliant to just step into car and drive off. However, I suppose the question is do I want to block up the garage all year around with the Leaf or just charge outside and use the climate control settings to pre-heat the car in winter. I could still run the cable in the garage window and charge the car inside when the weather is really cold. Decision time!

The Leaf 2 takes the type 2 charger. If you get an un-tethered charge point (EVSE) then you can just use the type 2 cable which will come with the car....the same one you will use on slow public charge points.

Whatever you choose, make sure you get a 32A capable, rather than a 16A. They tend to cost the same anyway. The only cost difference will be the thicker cable for the 32A cable connecting your fuse panel to the EVSE.

If you have an electric shower, you may need to have a priority switch installed and give priority to the shower. Unkel will tell you to get a real shower :p

I prefer and chose a tethered EVSE, because it is more convenient. This makes more sense for you, because any cars you buy in the future will be type 2. The Leaf 1 & 1.5 are type 1. In the event a Leaf 1 needs to charge at your house, they can use a granny charger.

I recommend having a standard domestic 3-pin socket installed too while the work is being done. It comes in very handy. My EVSE has it built in, but most don't. I went for a Rolec and it's great, but it doesn't have any smart features. It's simple and functional.

That’s very helpful, many thanks. 32A tethered looks like my best option as I understand it, the cable that connects to the car is like a garden hose on a reel that’s pulled out from the wall unit to the car. Sounds a lot better option than going to the boot to get your own cable and connecting it to the charger and car in the rain
    Many thanks again

Yeah the convenience is great. My tethered charger "sits" in the bush right beside the chargepoint of my car. It literally takes 5 seconds to plug in.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,943 ✭✭✭from_atozinc

hi. in regard to the charge point having "smart" features...........what controls how the car gets charged. Like if I plug in car at 9pm, but dont want it to start charging until 1am (for cheap rates etc) what controls this scenario, settings in the car OR the charge point.

What does a "smart" charge point mean in laymans terms?

hi. in regard to the charge point having "smart" features...........what controls how the car gets charged. Like if I plug in car at 9pm, but dont want it to start charging until 1am (for cheap rates etc) what controls this scenario, settings in the car OR the charge point.

What does a "smart" charge point mean in laymans terms?

The Leaf has 2 timers. You can only use 1 at a time though. So, you set the timer to engage when night rate kicks in. I set mine for 10 past midnight and so I never need to change it. You can over-ride the timer by pressing the timer off button on the right of the dash. You need to do this if charging at a slow public charger, or charging anywhere outside the timer settings.

Smart chargers have wi-fi capabilty and you can control a multitude of settings, depending on the charger itself. For example, you can limit the power intake, or set it to charge only at certain times, or only using solar etc etc etc.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,943 ✭✭✭from_atozinc

The Leaf has 2 timers. You can only use 1 at a time though. So, you set the timer to engage when night rate kicks in. I set mine for 10 past midnight and so I never need to change it. You can over-ride the timer by pressing the timer off button on the right of the dash. You need to do this if charging at a slow public charger, or charging anywhere outside the timer settings.

Smart chargers have wi-fi capabilty and you can control a multitude of settings, depending on the charger itself. For example, you can limit the power intake, or set it to charge only at certain times, or only using solar etc etc etc.

thanks, so one could plug a car in to charge and it may not charge at all depending on the timers set, buttons presssed. im sure this has affected a few people :)

Will only happen you once.

When the Leaf is plugged in with timer engaged, the 3 blue dash lights flash in a 1,2,3 pattern. When it's charging, only 1 light will flash (1,2 or 3) indicating an approximate state of charge. Up to 33% the first light flashes. Up to 66% the first light stays on and second light flashes. Up to fully charged, 1 & 2 stay on and 3 flashes.

You learn quickly to hit the charge panel open, timer disable and the cable locking buttons automatically one after another when parking at a public charger point (and just the panel open and lock at home). The timer override stays active for a while as indicated by the middle of the three charging indicators being lit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭_dof_

samih wrote: »
    You learn quickly to hit the charge panel open, timer disable and the cable locking buttons automatically one after another when parking at a public charger point (and just the panel open and lock at home). The timer override stays active for a while as indicated by the middle of the three charging indicators being lit.

Isn't there a setting on the time configuration to only use the charge timers at home, based on setting the HOME location in the sat nav. So, if charging at home, the timer is used, and if charging anywhere else, it'll do it immediately.

That's only on the 2018 Leaf though I think, and only if there's a sat nav.

That's a great feature. All EVs should have it. Having to override the scheduled charging for immediate charging (and of course forgetting to switch it back) is one of the many reasons I really don't like public slow charging. Worst of course is getting your own cable out to do it (and having to put a wet and dirty one back into your car). And the time you waste for almost zero gain. Necessary evil for when EVs could not make it from one fast charger to the next, but that time is long gone for most EVs