Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

London or Paris?

• 17-05-2017 8:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29

Planning on a 3 day 2 night trip in a few days but cant decide whether to go london or paris! Which would you prefer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,832 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

SBM111 wrote: »
    Planning on a 3 day 2 night trip in a few days but cant decide whether to go london or paris! Which would you prefer?

Not sure about London but you should google the famous "One Night In Paris" video. Will give you a good introduction.

That said, she'd have probably aged a good bit since it was made.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Beyondgone

London.
    Paris is gone a kip in the last few years. Used to love Paris.

Loads to do in London as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,348 ✭✭✭Loveinapril

I love Paris! London is great craic for going on the p!ss but you get all the rides in Paris.

London by a mile its a fantastic city, Paris is alright :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

For me it would be Paris, without hesitation. Depends on what you want from the trip, of course.

As a Londoner, and as such completely unbiased, I vote for London.

Lots to do, no language barrier, plenty of restaurants, pubs, comedy gigs, music gigs, West End shows, shopping and only an hour's flight away. Weather is pretty good this time of year too, so there's walks by the Embankment, to the galleries, museums and parks, London Zoo, and depending when you go, various ceremonies like the Guard Change.

Candie wrote: »

Lots to do, no language barrier, plenty of restaurants, pubs, comedy gigs, music gigs, West End shows, shopping and only an hour's flight away. Weather is pretty good this time of year too, so there's walks by the Embankment, to the galleries, museums and parks, London Zoo, and depending when you go, various ceremonies like the Guard Change.

Same. Love London. Used to love Paris to. The last couple of trips there have been more Marseille than Parie. I'm kinda done on "Paris".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭Dave0JV

I'd say London for a weekend trip. There'd be about the same or more things to do, but handier to get to and cheaper for a weekend

Beyondgone wrote: »
    Same. Love London. Used to love Paris to. The last couple of trips there have been more Marseille than Parie. I'm kinda done on "Paris".

I do love Paris. I spent a solo few days there a few years ago just doing the galleries and museums and went out to Versailles, and it was just the most perfect few days alone ever.

I'll always prefer London, mind. :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭please helpThank YOU

London is by far a better city spend a lot of my life in London.

I do love Paris. I spent a solo few days there a few years ago just doing the galleries and museums and went out to Versailles, and it was just the most perfect few days alone ever.

I'll always prefer London, mind. :)

Nip back for a look. :( It's changed, a lot. Went a few weeks back and where before I couldn't be dragged away, I couldn't wait to get back on the plane. It's one City that has Really changed in a short space of time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Fly to London and take the train to Paris.

biko wrote: »
    Fly to London and take the train to Paris.

You get to enjoy the Gar du Nord as well..such a delight these days..

Nip back for a look. :( It's changed, a lot. Went a few weeks back and where before I couldn't be dragged away, I couldn't wait to get back on the plane. It's one City that has Really changed in a short space of time.

Thats sad to hear. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭greencap

A good European would spend their Euros within the eurozone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭charlietheminxx

London a million times over.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

London

definitely

camden market

get on it

all over it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

SBM111 wrote: »

Would Rome float your boat?
    Very warm there now, great food, lots to see and prices aren't too bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,734 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Come to Limerick.

osarusan wrote: »
    Come to Limerick.

And I always pictured you in Tokyo. How disappointing. :(

Thats sad to hear. :(

Went to Paris on our honeymoon and walked and ate for a week. The food, the markets, the people - even the cranky ones. Mad drivers, the Louvre, endless street markets selling everything from frogs legs to pepper spray..Tour D'Eiffel, the works. Time went on and we brought the kids - bateau Boats, west bank, window shopping on the expensive rues.. went back in February there and it was mattresses, stressed Gendarmes, beggars and "Come, Taxi - good rates for you Sir!" and human flotsam and jetsam everywhere you looked. Even the typically snooty Parisians looked out of sorts and furtive. How to ruin a Capital in three easy steps..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

Heading to Paris with herself in October, I'll report back :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,589 ✭✭✭JJayoo

Any other city suggestions ?

York City England the most beautiful city in England. google it . the shambles York famous street.

mynamejeff wrote: »
    London

definitely

camden market

get on it

all over it

Had a stall in the Lock back in the day. Epic spot. Lived in Kentish town on Royal college street - Lock by day, Town and Country club by night, getting locked. I remember REM, Petrol emotion, all the greats coming out onto that pokey stage. If you got bored of Camden, you could walk to Oxford St - I was raised till age 3 on Charlotte st - Greeks, Turkish people, Chinese, Italians, Germans -all walks and colours. You couldn't sleep because no one else did, but it was so alive, you didn't care. It hasn't changed that much. Paris has.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Had a stall in the Lock back in the day. Epic spot. Lived in Kentish town on Royal college street - Lock by day, Town and Country club by night, getting locked. I remember REM, Petrol emotion, all the greats coming out onto that pokey stage. If you got bored of Camden, you could walk to Oxford St - I was raised till age 3 on Charlotte st - Greeks, Turkish people, Chinese, Italians, Germans -all walks and colours. You couldn't sleep because no one else did, but it was so alive, you didn't care. It hasn't changed that much. Paris has.

Was always beggers and taxis asking when I was there in 2004 and 2009 and last year was at Euros and being honest bar more nationalities did not see much difference in 12 years

JJayoo wrote: »
    Any other city suggestions ?

I just suggested one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,176 ✭✭✭blackwhite

Have been in both already this week with work!

Much as I love Paris, I'd probably pick London over it at this stage. Paris has definitely gotten a lot rougher in recent years. As mentioned already, around some of the big train stations have gotten very rough (Gare du Nord is particularly bad). There still some great places to go, like in around the Latin Quarter on La Rive Gauche, or taking in visits to Versailles, La Louvre, d'Orsey or Pompideau. But it's no longer a city that I enjoy just setting off and wandering in, which used be one of the great ways to spend an evening after work

Lisbon Portugal.

Lisbon, Vienna.

Edinburgh, and Glasgow, Scotland and from there go to Fort William Scotland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,589 ✭✭✭JJayoo

bear1 wrote: »
    I just suggested one.

Do you want a pat on the head?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,059 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Paris for me, because it is in the Euro and that makes it easier to figure out the costs. Avoid the usual crappy haunts that you find in every city (train station surrounds etc.) and the place is magical. Just watch your back, but no more than in any foreign city. Unless you are twelve years old, the safety rules apply no matter where you are.

London is just SOOOOOO expensive. It really is. Jayzus.

Lisbon Portugal.

Actually love Lisbon. Prefer Portugal to Spain - you can keep Barcelona if you're headed that direction. I never was a Spanish fan, unless you fancy a day or two out in the sticks, like Zaragoza, which is an eye opener to how the normal Spanish live and is a nice place to walk around of an evening.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Bambi985

As a Londoner my vote would be for Paris.

London is over-crowded, over-expensive, takes an age to get around, once you've been to one pub you've been to them all, weather is ****e at the moment - torrential rains all week - all the touristy spots are ruined by the crowds and the prices, same to be said for the shopping and it's just like a far far bigger, unfriendly Dublin at the end of the day.

Mind you a lot of the same applies to Paris, but it's more of a novelty, far more of a cultural experience in that romantic old worldy sort of way, still has that "neighbourhood" feel that London is lacking, less expensive, shopping and style trumps what you'll find in London, metro is far less of a headache than the tube, less crowded and less risk of being shoved out of a bar at 11pm as happens across London especially during week nights. Oh and PAIN AU CHOCOLAT.

Actually love Lisbon. Prefer Portugal to Spain - you can keep Barcelona if you're headed that direction. I never was a Spanish fan, unless you fancy a day or two out in the sticks, like Zaragoza, which is an eye opener to how the normal Spanish live and is a nice place to walk around of an evening.
    Lisbon is a beautiful city . Barcelona is a kip hell hole.

That's a bit of a sweeping statement.

Spain outside of the Costas is an amazing country. And even within the Costa if you go to a working town like Estepona or San Pedro you will enjoy mixing with the locals and no lager louts or the likes. You fall into the rhythm of churros and chocolate for breakfast rather than bacon and eggs.

Takes time to find this out. LOL.

JJayoo wrote: »
    Do you want a pat on the head?

I was hoping you'd get the hint :)

Bambi985 wrote: »
    As a Londoner my vote would be for Paris.

London is over-crowded, over-expensive, takes an age to get around, once you've been to one pub you've been to them all, weather is ****e at the moment - torrential rains all week - all the touristy spots are ruined by the crowds and the prices, same to be said for the shopping and it's just like a far far bigger, unfriendly Dublin at the end of the day.

Mind you a lot of the same applies to Paris, but it's more of a novelty, far more of a cultural experience in that romantic old worldy sort of way, still has that "neighbourhood" feel that London is lacking, less expensive, shopping and style trumps what you'll find in London, metro is far less of a headache than the tube, less crowded and less risk of being shoved out of a bar at 11pm as happens across London especially during week nights. Oh and PAIN AU CHOCOLAT.

Pop over to Ypres or the back-arse of Belgium. Loads of nice spots. Or drive on and do Southern Germany, where the foods good and the people are friendly. Or stay going into the Czech Republic, where the women are so beautiful you'll think there a Modelling contest on. And beer is that cheap you'll think they've made a mistake. Feck it, who could choose? London, Paris, Prague or Bratislava - Europes a savage place to explore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭riemann

Bath, fantastic urban design.

Venice, something different.

Budapest, Bucharest, Warsaw... or Portugal as someone mentioned above... Verona? Vicenza?
    With airbnb I just love visiting cities who are a little down the pecking order. Cheaper prices and a more relaxing atmosphere.

Personally I'd steer well clear of London and to a lesser extent Paris, just too many tourists (you'll get that in Venice also but it's worth it).

Dubrovnik. Just Beautiful. And its safe.

Found bratislava to be a bit of a kip tbh.
    Cheap beer though.

Budapest is simply amazing, fecking hell op look further afield than London or paris.
    Europe has savage places to go.

Nicosia capital of Cyprus .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,551 ✭✭✭AllForIt

I think London is horrible in comparison to Paris. Not in terms of nightlife/shopping/entertainment but physically. The whole architecture of Paris from grand old buildings to cafe's to even street lamps all combine to a character/style that London simply does not have. I've lived in London for years and I'm an avid walker and I can't think there is anywhere in London that comes close to the beauty and style of Paris.

Nicosia capital of Cyprus .

And the Cypriot people, while a bit nuts and loud, are lovely. Beautiful women too.

OP asked London or Paris.

Back on track ye fekkers.

Paris anyway for me. Like I said, London is great, but is so overcrowded and soooo expensive it is unreal. Paris has je ne sais quoi. London will never have that.

Lisbon is a beautiful city . Barcelona is a kip hell hole.

I hate Barcelona with a passion I reserve for stepping on Lego. People who say Parisians are rude have never been to the McDonalds nears Gaudis cathedral..

OP asked London or Paris.

Back on track ye fekkers.

Paris anyway for me. Like I said, London is great, but is so overcrowded and soooo expensive it is unreal. Paris has je ne sais quoi. London will never have that.

London.
    It has a certain "je ne get robbed".

Liked Valencia too. Zurich is nice. Would have said Malmo up to few years ago.

If you have money to burn go Copenhagen. It will literally burn from your pocket but great spot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭riemann

the McDonalds nears Gaudis cathedral..

Ahem