Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sky finally closing in on Cam Sharing on Satellite (or so it appears)

• 12-05-2017 4:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,064 ✭✭✭

Firstly this is not meant as discussion on ways around the blackout, so no illegal talk on purchasing these cam-sharing services!

Sky seem to have finally cracked the encryption system with software to prevent the cam sharing of channels on Astra 28.2. They have started systematically shutting down some sky channels and it seems like they are testing the waters before a complete blackout...

The reported list of channels encrypted with the new software include -

Sky Living
    Sky 2
    Lifetime
    Sky Atlantic
    Sky Sports 2
    Sky Sports 4 (All Versions)
    Sky Sports 5 (All Versions)
    Sky Sports News HQ (All Versions)
    Chelsea TV
    Sky Sports 3 RoI
    Disney XD
    Disney XD+1
    Disney Channel
    Disney Channel +1
    Disney Junior
    Disney Junior +1

I would imagine sky are waiting until the end of the Premier League season to roll this out to all channels on the platform (just in case legal subs are someway affected - this is what happened when the CCCam HD encryption was ended)

It is reported online that this new encryption has yet to be broken since the HD blackout and somehow they have managed to roll it out to SD channel while keeping SD set top boxes.

Interesting times!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭Irreverent

Interesting times alright. A lot of my colleagues have been giving out about it in recent weeks. I suppose it was always going to happen once a critical mass of cardsharers was reached. Now if only Sky would launch some reasonably priced sports packages....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,064 ✭✭✭irishfeen

Irreverent wrote: »
    Interesting times alright. A lot of my colleagues have been giving out about it in recent weeks. I suppose it was always going to happen once a critical mass of cardsharers was reached. Now if only Sky would launch some reasonably priced sports packages....
    In all likelihood it is probably coming to an end within a few weeks, they are obviously testing the waters with variations of channels and keeping away from the movie channels and Sky Sports 1&2.

Encryption will be staggered to protect the paying subs on the platform.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭macnug

Anybody know why IPTV not affected? Or is it only a matter of time?

macnug wrote: »
    Anybody know why IPTV not affected? Or is it only a matter of time?
    AFAIK an awful lot of IPTV streams are taken directly from satellite feeds, if this is the case they will be gone too...

At this stage it's too early to know but you can be sure sky is working on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

Some IPTV streams may be using Virgin media ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,365 ✭✭✭ongarite

sugarman wrote: »
    Will give it a month before it's broken, if even.
    Doubt it.
    No-one has broken the encryption since Sky Italia rolled it out last year & the cam sharing update first happened a month ago with no progress so far.

Some IPTV streams may be using Virgin media ?
    There appears to be a scramble from IPTV cccam providers to move exclusively to cable feeds - I have no idea how that might end up but you would think if the crack satellite encryption then they will move to that straight after.

sugarman wrote: »
    Will give it a month before it's broken, if even.
    As said the HD encryption has yet to be broken (12 months on AFAIK) and if reports are to believed Sky Italia has not been broken either.

The apparent scrambling for cable feeds by IPTV cccam providers is a sure sign people don't expect it to be broken (at least not in the near future)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

Will they eventually have to upgrade all boxes to introduce new security or is it really possible to keep existing boxes.

wil wrote: »
    Will they eventually have to upgrade all boxes to introduce new security or is it really possible to keep existing boxes.
    The big news from this current encryption is they seem to have devised a way to keep the old SD boxes going perfectly - this is exactly why the HD channels went about 12 months ago but the SD channels remained.

Seemingly they have achieved a way to stop cam sharing no matter what boxes are in circulation - it's a game changer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

wil wrote:

For the money they charge it will be cheaper and effective to upgrade boxes. But at the end of the day they can't beat IPtv.

I'm surprised they don't put something like a QR code on the screen to identify the source, similar to the pint glass you see on pub screens. But then again I'd guess that would be easily defeated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 869 ✭✭✭mikeybrennan

Will this affect illegal services like mobdro?

Could very well, depends where the feeds are being sourced from... cccam satellite was among the most stable way to achieve cam sharing.

... basically nobody knows fully yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

Presume this is proprietary Sky technology but is it something that is likely to be licensed or rolled out to other providers who might similarly want to target sharing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 226 ✭✭PAKNET

For the money they charge it will be cheaper and effective to upgrade boxes. But at the end of the day they can't beat IPtv.

I'm surprised they don't put something like a QR code on the screen to identify the source, similar to the pint glass you see on pub screens. But then again I'd guess that would be easily defeated.

It is possible to transparently watermark video that is immune to re-encoding, compression or post-processing that doesn't make the image practically useless anyway.

Digital cinema uses this, it can identify the time, date and individual screen in the cinema site that the digital file was decrypted in.

No reason the same couldn't be adapted to identify the decrypting source card.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,048 ✭✭✭✭Johnboy1951

Report I got today is that a provider of such service is offering a change (what I don't know) that provides a slightly different range of channels ...... HBO was mentioned.

So SD channels seem to be disappearing generally.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,585 ✭✭✭jca

Will this affect torrents of TV series etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭hytrogen

irishfeen wrote:
    I would imagine sky are waiting until the end of the Premier League season to roll this out to all channels on the platform (just in case legal subs are someway affected - this is what happened when the CCCam HD encryption was ended)

Wouldn't it be absolutely hilarious to find out that all these "pirate streaming sites" were somehow owned and run by the major satellite TV corporates? Same as how tor network has been controlled by the CIA the whole time... *Looks at wikileaks direction for latest scandal ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

jca wrote: »
    Will this affect torrents of TV series etc?

Won't affect them.

Sky are throwing a huge amount of money at this and are even monitoring social media to catch people selling 'dreamboxes' etc.
    I read on another site that somebody published details of hackers that decrypt the Sky encryption and since then these lads have gone to ground.

Report I got today is that a provider of such service is offering a change (what I don't know) that provides a slightly different range of channels ...... HBO was mentioned.

So SD channels seem to be disappearing generally.
    Yeah I heard bits about this too, you would wonder will that be good enough for people who wanted the all round sky package.. US/Canada is basically the only place they can go to find alternatives.

irishfeen wrote: »
    Yeah I heard bits about this too, you would wonder will that be good enough for people who wanted the all round sky package.. US/Canada is basically the only place they can go to find alternatives.

I expect that new 'customers' will be difficult to find, but those who have paid will demand some service even if all they get is non-Sky channels.

If sky do finally block cam-sharing you can just imagine the amount of people who may well be returning in August before the PL kicks off again... Satellite cam-sharing was very stable and people will probably miss this greatly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,604 ✭✭✭irishgeo

rumours are sky are relaunching the sports packages as separate channels.
    Sky are revamping their service this summer with cricket, Formula One and golf getting dedicated channels. Football is still seen as the big seller and will have two channels, one for the Premier League and one for the rest.

But rugby union, despite Sky televising the Lions and England's autumn internationals, is going to be bundled with other sports in a variety package.

now that would be a step in the right direction. would tie in with locking down of channels on card shares.

irishgeo wrote: »
    rumours are sky are relaunching the sports packages as separate channels.

now that would be a step in the right direction. would tie in with locking down of channels on card shares.
    Its the requirement to take out at least the variety pack which is the real problem for me at least ... it makes watching Sky Sports incredibly expensive.

If sky do finally block cam-sharing you can just imagine the amount of people who may well be returning in August before the PL kicks off again... Satellite cam-sharing was very stable and people will probably miss this greatly.

or pubs will get a boost in numbers for game time :D

Or that of course.. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭gerry sat

About bloody time, these card sharing systems ruining the business.
    Yes I agree Sky are a rip off, but with card sharing and IPTV streaming it's causing a lot of issues for some installers, as cowboys are doing nixers for everyone and they will change there mobile numbers next week.
    So delighted Sky have at last started to sort this pirate issue out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,841 ✭✭✭lertsnim

People will flock to IPTV or use foreign providers.

lertsnim wrote: »

Of course they will, but IPTV will not last for long as most taken of pirate services, as with foreign providers.

Problem is if sky crack cable cam-sharing where do the IPTV providers turn to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,386 ✭✭✭ratracer

So I take it now would not be the time to buy one of those 'Dreambox' type yokes??

ratracer wrote: »
    So I take it now would not be the time to buy one of those 'Dreambox' type yokes??
    It may well be like lighting your money on fire... possibly just an expensive FTA box.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,604 ✭✭✭irishgeo

a lot of people dont have the broadband for iptv.

the drop in viewing figures and the huge sums paid for the premier league rights was always going to lead to the end of cardsharing.

gerry sat wrote: »
    Of course they will, but IPTV will not last for long as most taken of pirate services, as with foreign providers.

When I mentioned foreign providers I mean a legitimate sub. It's the choice I would make before subscribing to Sky.

Which may well be costly too and all PL games on the continent now cannot have English commentary.

Cost and hassle of installing a motorised dish and the likes may well put off many from going down the subs route.

The only legitimate sub available in Ireland are robbing SKY.
    Any other satellite service is from another country, so technically no, i.e. : canal plus, bein etc.

Which may well be costly too and all PL games on the continent now cannot have English commentary.

Cost and hassle of installing a motorised dish and the likes may well put off many from going down the subs route.

A lot of people do not care about commentary. A 12 month sub to polish tv for €250 compared to whatever it is Sky are charging is huge. Who needs a motorised dish to access Hotbird?
    Any other satellite service is from another country, so technically no, i.e. : canal plus, bein etc.

Domestic subs from other providers in the EU is perfectly legal.

I think I'll buy a 2.4 metre dish and watch Bein Package, 26degs east, all in HD and english, about 3K : :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,935 ✭✭✭TallGlass

Looks to be coming to an end alright.

I was looking at packages with Sky and my word it is extremely expensive. I understand, they've to pay staff, taxes etc..

Also seen some other football serviced launched outside of UK and ROI, you select your team and then you get access to all there games online. Can't go wrong with that.

I think personally they are getting it from all angles, Online, Card Sharing, Netflix then pirate DVDs and then the rise of the Android boxes. Then if you a football fan, your paying out your arse and not guaranteed seeing all your team games.

As always, it's cat and mouse, they'll close something down and it will just start something back up again.

Quote : Domestic subs from other providers in the EU is perfectly legal.

Not anymore.
    Try giving Canal plus your Irish address,
    All loop holes are been blocked.

Nope, not true ... as long as it is not for public broadcast...

Per EU ruling...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭liam7831

IPTV will keep the dodgy boxes going no sweat

liam7831 wrote: »
    IPTV will keep the dodgy boxes going no sweat
    I suppose that will depend on the source for the content... I would imagine the vast majority at the moment are sourced from stable satellite cam-sharing streams.

Satellite cam-sharing was/is very stable - sky block this and reliable sourcing becomes a problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,551 ✭✭✭AllForIt

I'm really curious about how SKY managed to do this because if they didn't change something in the SD box or the card then it is just some software technique...which they could have done at the very beginning of illegal card sharing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭FightingIrish

irishfeen wrote:
    I suppose that will depend on the source for the content... I would imagine the vast majority at the moment are sourced from stable satellite cam-sharing streams.

With cam sharing having lost a host of channels recently, iptv have lost none, so my guess is that iptv are not sourcing from cam sharing in the first place?

Quote : Domestic subs from other providers in the EU is perfectly legal.

Not anymore.
    Try giving Canal plus your Irish address,
    All loop holes are been blocked.

EU ruling says otherwise. As long as it is used privately then it is ok.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

I'll just listen to the matches on the wireless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 898 ✭✭✭Schwanz

Icam is in use by Sky on a slow roll-out including NDS encryption on the channels shut down recently.

Which means these cams can't handle it.

It's a modified cam from that used by Sky Italia successfully a few years back.

it won't be breached quick but those who think people who previously illegally subscribed to these servers will pay the sky-high prices to Sky must be smoking something stronger than a benson & hedges.

IPTV will be the next thing, already working well.

AllForIt wrote: »
    I'm really curious about how SKY managed to do this because if they didn't change something in the SD box or the card then it is just some software technique...which they could have done at the very beginning of illegal card sharing.
    From what I understand they have started to employ "ICAM" encryption. This is a 2 way encryption system opposed to the current "NDS Encryption".

Sky Italia introduced this 2 way system and from what we understand has proved 100% effective in stopping cam-sharing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 898 ✭✭✭Schwanz

With cam sharing having lost a host of channels recently, iptv have lost none, so my guess is that iptv are not sourcing from cam sharing in the first place?

Lots do but that will change when 28e CS is gone.