Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do women in 40s use condoms?

• 10-05-2017 4:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭

A friend who is late 40s said women her age don't use condoms. I just wondered was this true?
    The friend is online dating and enjoying the sexual adventures with new guys. I thought she should be more careful. Not babies wise, she's got that sorted, but STI wise. Just wondered what opinions were or experience from guys who dated ladies in 40s?
    I wonder is it more risky cause you would be dating guys who don't use condoms either on a 1st or 2nd date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭TresGats

No. Way. That is really risky behaviour.
    I'm in my early 40's and single, not sexually active atm, but I could still get pregnant, or even worse catch something! Friends of mine would definitely use condoms if they slept with a fella , as would I.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭lazygal

Incredibly risky. Women can still get pregnant at that age, never mind the STDs. Seems very I'll informed behavior, is she a risk taker generally?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,443 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

gsi300024v wrote: »
    A friend who is late 40s said women her age don't use condoms. I just wondered was this true?
    The friend is online dating and enjoying the sexual adventures with new guys. I thought she should be more careful. Not babies wise, she's got that sorted, but STI wise. Just wondered what opinions were or experience from guys who dated ladies in 40s?
    I wonder is it more risky cause you would be dating guys who don't use condoms either on a 1st or 2nd date.

No, it isn't true. It may well be true for your friend that she doesn't use condoms (are you sure she wasn't just winding you up?), but women in their late 40's of course use condoms. There would only be a small number of women who wouldn't, and an even smaller number of women older than that again who wouldn't, and it's this "new lease on life" for some women following either divorce or the death of their partner is causing STI rates among OAPS to grow at a faster rate than teenagers whom one would almost expect would be more irresponsible than adults about their sexual health. On this one unfortunately it's teenagers are more clued in, and adults are more clueless -

http://m.huffpost.com/us/entry/9619778

Your friend won't be enjoying a whole lot of sexual adventures if she contracts an STI so I would suggest you encourage her to go for an STI test and insist on condoms from now on. The men who aren't using condoms are just as clueless as your friend btw, who I'm sure is lovely and all, but as her friend, for her own sake, I wouldn't condone her behaviour and I'd be encouraging her to prioritise herself and her sexual health.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭gsi300024v

lazygal wrote: »
    Incredibly risky. Women can still get pregnant at that age, never mind the STDs. Seems very I'll informed behavior, is she a risk taker generally?

Not really, her thinking around men seems unhealthy though. Low self esteem, kinda thinks a man will come along and solve issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,818 ✭✭✭jlm29

Apparently sti clinics are kept very busy by people of that age bracket, who were "sorted" from a family planning point of view, and didn't consider the risk of sti's! So obviously a lot of women don't use them, but they should!

jlm29 wrote: »
    "sorted" from a family planning point of view, and didn't consider the risk of sti's!

I find this interesting because a woman in her 40s now would have been a teenager in the 80s when we were terrified by the AIDS awareness advertising ("Don't Die Of Ignorance"! :eek:).

Have people become complacent about AIDS and STIs in general again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭gsi300024v

I read they have and AIDS is on the rise again, not like it was before , but we know now it can be managed etc,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

The only woman that age I know who doesn't use them doesn't have casual sex, her and her partner were both tested before having sex, and despite not actively trying for a baby both are ok with it if she does get pregnant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,055 ✭✭✭Emme

This woman is taking huge risks. If she hasn't gone through menopause she's at risk of pregnancy AND if she gets pregnant the risk of birth defects is much higher at her age.

She is also at huge risk of getting STDs. A lot of people that age think they're invincible and condoms aren't necessary. Also some men in that age group don't like condoms because it interferes with "function".

If she has low self esteem she might be attracting idiots who don't want to use condoms and she doesn't want to disagree with them for fear they would bail. She needs to cop on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

That sounds like a ridiculous generalisation - I can't understand eegits that attribute their stupid behaviour to everyone in the same group as them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,724 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

I did a research dissertation on this topic and yes I'd say most older people don't use condoms. The main reasons they give are the reduced risk of pregnancy. The other reasons include being in a monotonous relationship and trusting their partner.

As pointed out already, older people's rates of stud are growing at a date rate than younger people. Campaigns tend to be aimed at younger people so older people slip trough the cracks.

Use the opportunity to chat to your mate and tell her the risks. It's her decision after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

I did a research dissertation on this topic and yes I'd say most older people don't use condoms. The main reasons they give are the reduced risk of pregnancy. The other reasons include being in a monotonous relationship and trusting their partner.

As pointed out already, older people's rates of stud are growing at a date rate than younger people. Campaigns tend to be aimed at younger people so older people slip trough the cracks.

Use the opportunity to chat to your mate and tell her the risks. It's her decision after that.

Nice freudian slip :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,818 ✭✭✭jlm29

Malari wrote: »
    Nice freudian slip :D

I had a little smile too... it is a bit monotonous sometimes!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

gsi300024v wrote: »

In the immortal words of Austin Powers:

frabz-only-sailors-use-condoms-baby-0661fa.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭Lady is a tramp

I've a friend in her late forties who's been menopausal a few years, she recently went on some new medication and had a period for the first time in three years. She asked her GP and he told her she could totally have gotten pregnant before/after it (and yes, she was having casual sex at the time) but that it's unlikely it would have been a healthy pregnancy.

I wouldn't even be worried about the pregnancy bit myself, I'd be more concerned that, if I were that age, and dating a lad of a similar age who was into casual sex, isn't it even more likely that he'd be carrying something than a younger lad! No way would I be chancing condomless sex with him, I can't imagine landing into an STD clinic is any craic at all at any age, let alone when you're granny-age! Morto.