Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are people gone fierce lazy in this country?

• 08-05-2017 9:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,292 ✭✭✭

To get any fella now to pick up a welder or a stilson now you're looking at the bones of €200 for a simple job, nothing too challenging or that requires the thinking cap.

Call-out fees for not fixing things are on the increase as well. A fella charging €300 a day to cut the grass and a few hedges is one I heard of recently, before I got charged 150 myself for a lad to squirt a few cans of stuff into the car (which didn't even work). Another was charging €20 a head to take people on a peaceful stroll and tell them a few tidbits about the history of the place.

Most people have thrown in the towel when it comes to actual making and fixing stuff opting to click "order" on alibaba and re-sell at an obscene margin instead. Are we back in the tiger times yet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭snowflaker

pah! inflation!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Scrapped my car cause it was making a weird noise.

Later learned it was just Crystal Swing on the radio..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Hard enough to get a man to spell stillsons* right these days never mind use them :p

*i only learned this a year or two ago meself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Beyondgone

Hard enough to get a man to spell stillsons* right these days never mind use them :p

*i only learned this a year or two ago meself

It's all torque wrenches and certification these days anyway. Lashing it up "Guttentight" with a stillson and hoping for the best has been outlawed by the EU.

Beyondgone wrote: »
    It's all torque wrenches and certification these days anyway. Lashing it up "Guttentight" with a stillson and hoping for the best has been outlawed by the EU.

Aye, The art of knowing how hard to pull the bar in your hand is dying fast, that's the kind of stuff they should be teaching in school

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

I can cut the grass, service the car and weld, badly. So I've already saved myself nearly a grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

To get any fella now to pick up a welder or a stilson now you're looking at the bones of €200 for a simple job, nothing too challenging or that requires the thinking cap.

Call-out fees for not fixing things are on the increase as well. A fella charging €300 a day to cut the grass and a few hedges is one I heard of recently, before I got charged 150 myself for a lad to squirt a few cans of stuff into the car (which didn't even work). Another was charging €20 a head to take people on a peaceful stroll and tell them a few tidbits about the history of the place.

Most people have thrown in the towel when it comes to actual making and fixing stuff opting to click "order" on alibaba and re-sell at an obscene margin instead. Are we back in the tiger times yet?

It sound like you're just an easy mark tbh.

Aye, The art of knowing how hard to pull the bar in your hand is dying fast, that's the kind of stuff the should be teaching in school

I'm amazed they still sell shovels.

"Is there no minidigger??:confused:"

I can cut the grass, service the car and weld, badly. So I've already saved myself nearly a grand.

Trying to look in an engine bay, control and lawn mower while wearing on of those masks means that at least one of the three jobs is gonna suffer in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,718 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

It's just that it costs a fortune to run any small business PROPERLY in Ireland.

By the time they pay proper insurance and run vehicles and pay tax it's just all money out the door, charges have to be high to cover these and pay a decent wage.

Beyondgone wrote: »
    I'm amazed they still sell shovels.

"Is there no minidigger??:confused:"
    And then they wonder why obesity is such an issue

If there was more digging half a mile of a trench before you fry the steak on the back of the shovel at 8am and less sitting on your arse in a minidigger and prancing about in a dontknockmedown jacket waiting for the tar to harden the world would be a better place

"Ahh..me back!:eek:" done that in.

It would indeed, for one thing Elvis would still be alive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

I learned to masturbate. Imagine the savings on hookers over the years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭Slanty

_Brian wrote: »
    It's just that it costs a fortune to run any small business PROPERLY in Ireland.

By the time they pay proper insurance and run vehicles and pay tax it's just all money out the door, charges have to be high to cover these and pay a decent wage.

Spot on.
    Its not how easy or how hard the job is. The overheads are still the same. It might sound expensive but if that price isnt charged then the company will be losing money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,826 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Person complains about others being lazy because it is becoming expensive to hire people to come over and do simple tasks that they cannot do themselves (or may be apparently too *ahem* lazy to do)

Isn't it ironic, don't ya think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,826 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Depends what you're welding there horse.

A bad job might end up costing a lot of money (or even a life!)

Depends what you're welding there horse.

A bad job might end up costing a lot of money (or even a life!)

Most I see nowadays are welded to their phones. You'd need a consaw to get them off it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,292 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

Person complains about others being lazy because it is becoming expensive to hire people to come over and do simple tasks that they cannot do themselves (or may be apparently too *ahem* lazy to do)

It would be rare enough that I'd have to outsource a job to someone else but I'd hate to be dependent on others to do jobs around the house or be able to fix my own car because you get absolutely fleeced. If they reckon you're stuck they'll try and get away with charging even more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 IronSteve

I do very basic DIY, gardening and car safety basics. After that, I'll hire a real man to do the job. I'm just not going to do any reasonably complex job to the same standard as a professional doing it every day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

I save myself a fortune by being able to fix anything.

Well apart from roofing.:o http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=103376957

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,099 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

Aye, The art of knowing how hard to pull the bar in your hand is dying fast, that's the kind of stuff they should be teaching in school

Agree totally, and what length of bar to put on the stillson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Lucy8080

I save money at Christmas by returning last year's cards to the sender with the simple inscription " Same to you".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭ygolometsipe

I completely agree op, however.
    it will be 200 euro to read the rest of my comment. PM for details. No payment, no reply

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,891 ✭✭✭prinzeugen

That is because we have a generation of thick twats.

If it can't be done on an app or learned from a crap YouTube video then buy a new one.

Most under 30's would struggle to cook a egg never mind a Sunday roast.

Simple tasks are for the xxxx guy to do.

Most of the under 30's would struggle with a screwdriver.

I have fixed and reused stuff for years. Its not being tight but why dump something if all it needs is a clean or a €4 part?

That's why we have hipster food.

Don't need plates
    Don't need skill
    Don't need brains to make it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

Permabear wrote: »
    This post had been deleted.

Ah now you don't know until you try.

Seriously, as said above, I'm not ashamed to admit I sometimes have a look on YouTube before tackling something. Its a gift sometimes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Not like back in the day when a real man broke his back for pennies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

That was the point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Dubh Geannain

I think lazy is too strong a word. I think a more appropriate one would be ...

Ah feic it, I can't think of one. There's got to be a service that can look up words in the thesaurus for you.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

prinzeugen wrote: »
    That is because we have a generation of thick twats.

If it can't be done on an app or learned from a crap YouTube video then buy a new one.

Most under 30's would struggle to cook a egg never mind a Sunday roast.

Simple tasks are for the xxxx guy to do.

Most of the under 30's would struggle with a screwdriver.

I have fixed and reused stuff for years. Its not being tight but why dump something if all it needs is a clean or a €4 part?

That's why we have hipster food.

Don't need plates
    Don't need skill
    Don't need brains to make it.

Don't knock YouTube tutorials. I've fixed plenty of things I wouldn't have been able to on my own thanks to them. Pretty much any phone, tablet and even a lot of laptops nowadays have a relatively complex disassembly process where you more or less need to know what you're doing to take it apart with screwing it up. How are you meant to do that without following some sort of guide? Even if you are fairly confident of how it's disassembled, a guide will reduce the chance of something going wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

Surely somone paying someone else to mow their garden for them is lazy themselves, not like mowing the grass is that hard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭5rtytry56

Feirce gobshi+tes. Feckin' cliquey dat's all! ;D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,501 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

You cant really complain about these charges.

Trades people dont charge people for every hour of their day unless they are working but they still need to make a living.

If they wanted to make 40k a year they would need to be making €153 per day, every working day and earns nothing on holidays or when sick.
    Most people wouldnt be working every day so that brings up the average.

If they managed to do 2 average size jobs in a day they might take in €300.

Subtract the cost of the travel, car maintenance, parts, insurance etc

Where as i am a salary man, who gets paid regardless of whether i accomplish anything at work or not, sick, holidays etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

What's scary is the lack of thanks you got for this post. First thing that came to my mind reading the op.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭AuldDaysul

I have a good story about call out fees and lazy people.

Story call out fee is €150 then €50 per minute thereafter. If ye wish to proceed with the story my secretary will take payment immediately and I'll dispense the story sometime next month.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Surly the point of having kids is to get them to do the jobs like mowing the law/painting fences etc?? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

After another 5 years you'l be sorted :).....

Though I suspect the parents used get us to paint gates etc....just to be rid of us for a few hours

Or the worse job.....filling water from a tap/churns for the father to bring to fields which had no supply at the time.....seemed an endless chore which had to be done twice a day :/

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

There are plenty of child prodigies throughout history that did all sorts of mad shít at a really young age like teaching themselves to read at 18 months or studying physics in university at 3 years old. How do you know your kids aren't child prodigies at DIY and general housework?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭TrustedApple

I would not even say its been lazy there not even thought at home how to do the stuff ?. MY age group are the worst for this the mid 20s they where never thought anything. I was lucky that my mother thought me how to cook, clean, wash, iron you name it.

AS I used to live with people who could barely wipe there asses never mind turning on a washing machine ha. It was shocking at times what i used to live with i was like do they ever do anything for them self's ?.

One day i had a past housemate come to me and ask me how to turn on a cooker ?. I used to have to do the washing for them as they did not know how to turn on a washing machine or how to change it to the dryer settings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭bottlebrush

I do all my own diy around the house. saves me a fortune. but i have the time to do it and the flair for it and also really enjoy it. not as daunting as people think. then again i dread cooking and prefer eating out. So what i save in one way is spent in another. and i am sure there are people thinking there's your wan too lazy to make her own dinner!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,576 ✭✭✭Suckler

I would not even say its been lazy there not even thought at home how to do the stuff ?. MY age group are the worst for this the mid 20s they where never thought anything. I was lucky that my mother thought me how to cook, clean, wash, iron you name it.

AS I used to live with people who could barely wipe there asses never mind turning on a washing machine ha. It was shocking at times what i used to live with i was like do they ever do anything for them self's ?.

One day i had a past housemate come to me and ask me how to turn on a cooker ?. I used to have to do the washing for them as they did not know how to turn on a washing machine or how to change it to the dryer settings.

Seems to me the laziest people were teachers & parents not dealing with the issues of; thought V taught - where/were/we're - quite/quiet/quit - there/their/they're etc.

It's basic stuff.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Will someone read this thread to me please?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭TrustedApple

Suckler wrote: »
    Seems to me the laziest people were teachers & parents not dealing with the issues of; thought V taught - where/were/we're - quite/quiet/quit - there/their/they're etc.

It's basic stuff.

Ahh the token lets make fun of the person with Dyslexia .....

It took 2 posts on this thread to get insulted well done