Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Munster vs Connacht, Sat 6th May 5:15pm, TG4

• 05-05-2017 11:02am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭

Munster: Andrew Conway, Alex Wootton, Jaco Taute, Dan Goggin, Keith Earls; Ian Keatley, Angus Lloyd;
    James Cronin, Rhys Marshall, Stephen Archer; Darren O'Shea, Billy Holland capt.; Jean Deysel, Conor Oliver, Jack O'Donoghue.

Replacements: Niall Scannell, Dave Kilcoyne, John Ryan, Peter O'Mahony, Tommy O'Donnell, Conor Murray, Tyler Bleyendaal, Francis Saili.

15 Tiernan O'Halloran (126)
    14 Danie Poolman (84)
    13 Tom Farrell (8)
    12 Craig Ronaldson (66)
    11 Cian Kelleher (12)
    10 Jack Carty (79)
    9 Kieran Marmion (119)

1 Denis Buckley (117)
    2 Shane Delahunt (27)
    3 Conor Carey (10)
    4 Quinn Roux (56)
    5 Andrew Browne (154)
    6 Eoin McKeon (106)
    7 James Connolly (22)
    8 John Muldoon (301) (captain)

Replacements:

16 Dave Heffernan (83)
    17 JP Cooney (49)
    18 Finlay Bealham (81)
    19 Sean O'Brien (38)
    20 Naulia Dawai (11)
    21 John Cooney (38)
    22 Marnitz Boshoff (3)
    23 Darragh Leader (52)

Injured/unavailable: Tom McCartney, Ronan Loughney, Ultan Dillane, Nepia Fox-Matamua, Steve Crosbie, Bundee Aki, Peter Robb, Stacey Ili, Matt Healy, Niyi Adeolokun, Josh Rowland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,215 ✭✭✭letowski

Like the balance in the Munster backrow. Buckets of pace in the back 3 too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Dat Munster Bench doe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭Yourself isit

May 6th

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Connacht will need a good lead before the Munster bench comes into play. Have a feeling morale and confidence is low in the Connacht squad. Can't see past a good Munster win, keep a winning mentality going into the playoffs. Probably Connacht's second last game of the season.

Ah jeez, I sound like PTH... :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Couple of crossfield Carty kicks into Poolman and we're cruising this. Good to see Carey back before the play offs.

So I was down in Galway on a Guinness tasting tour at the weekend and who did I see along the banks of the Corrib but our own Zzippy out fishing with Connacht's first son John Muldoon.

I said "lads.. what's the crai....

220px-Red_card.svg.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,599 ✭✭✭ScrubsfanChris

After hearing about Jean Deysel's injury after the Saracens game its good to see him back playing before the season ends. Taught we'd seen the last of him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,079 ✭✭✭leakyboots

Wootton v Kelleher is a nice little subplot, two speedsters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,478 ✭✭✭Wegians89

leakyboots wrote: »
    Wootton v Kelleher is a nice little subplot, two speedsters

ToH v Conway too from an Irish tour point of view and looking forward to the battle at 7 as well

Maybe it's my own bias but Conor Oliver looks to be a right little diamond, could do with bulking up a bit but still only 21 and looks to be a right nuisance at the breakdown and superb linkman. Reminds me of JvdF, great engine on him too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,980 ✭✭✭✭phog

The two people I fear most in that Connacht team are Buckley and Muldoon both are excellent at the breakdown. It will be interesting to see how our halfback pairing get on, not the strongest but I'm looking forward to seeing them nonetheless.

No lock on the bench for us but Deysel can cover there if he lasts the full 80.

leakyboots wrote: »
    Maybe it's my own bias but Conor Oliver looks to be a right little diamond, could do with bulking up a bit but still only 21 and looks to be a right nuisance at the breakdown and superb linkman. Reminds me of JvdF, great engine on him too

Honestly think he'll be starting next season, he's a bit short and light for a breakrow, but think he has the talents to get past that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

DOCII is seeing a specialist on his knee injury so Munster could be down another lock cover for the playoffs.

I'm sure the IRFU will let ye sign another NIQ forward :)

(Tongue firmly in cheek here incase WWIII sets off)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

wp_rathead wrote: »

Munster are short a 2nd row so they've signed Dan Carter

wp_rathead wrote: »

(Tongue firmly in cheek here incase WWIII sets off)

We'll be fine as long as there isn't another injury: Holland, Ryan and DOS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,906 ✭✭✭budhabob

We'll be fine as long as there isn't another injury: Holland, Ryan and DOS.

Whens Kleyn expected back?

budhabob wrote: »
    Whens Kleyn expected back?

All I know is he's done for the season.

Wegians89 wrote: »
    Honestly think he'll be starting next season, he's a bit short and light for a breakrow, but think he has the talents to get past that
    At 6ft he's not exactly tiny :D but he is noticeably slimmer than he contemporaries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭freyners

Buckley vs Cronin could be a Japan decider

At 6ft he's not exactly tiny :D but he is noticeably slimmer than he contemporaries.

It's not tiny but he could come up against a lot of backs bigger then him at that height, not that size matters too much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,906 ✭✭✭budhabob

All I know is he's done for the season.

Oh.....I for some reason thought it was 6-8 weeks, reported back in Feb / early march, so I was expecting him back. Must have totally misread or made it up.

So I was down in Galway on a Guinness tasting tour at the weekend and who did I see along the banks of the Corrib but our own Zzippy out fishing with Connacht's first son John Muldoon.

I said "lads.. what's the crai....

]

Tsk! You need glasses Venjur, that was Bundee, ya feckin' eejit...

416488.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

Not tiny for the man in the street. That would still make him very short for a professional back row player.

Munster site has him at 1.83m. You'd be hard pushed to find many back row players that short these days. Unless he develops freakish lower body power which allows him to play like Xavier Rush or Thomas Waldrom, he'll need to really work on link play and speed at the breakdown and make that the focal point of his game.

Putting on weight will be a big part of the off season for Oliver. Playing at 15st. for a backrow forward is too light.

Lads he's 21, still plenty of time to fill out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,090 ✭✭✭johnnyryan89

phog wrote: »
    The two people I fear most in that Connacht team are Buckley and Muldoon both are excellent at the breakdown. It will be interesting to see how our halfback pairing get on, not the strongest but I'm looking forward to seeing them nonetheless.

No lock on the bench for us but Deysel can cover there if he lasts the full 80.

That's my one worry especially with his style of play and coming back from injury I can't see him lasting 80mins.

15 mins to kick off, not that big a crowd so far

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭Erik Shin

Expect a BP win for Munster today, can't see Connacht being competitive today .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

Score updates would be appreciated periodically please

Still 0-0

Does it sound like there's a child screaming into a microphone at times or is it just me? :/

Piece of piss 7-0 Earls

Just getting walked through all season while we're static and going backwards with the ball.

Really poor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,563 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Appalling defence from Connacht. A schools team would be embarrassed to concede such a simple score.

Anyone else want to hear Marie Theresa chat to Rassie as Gaelige....

Erik Shin wrote: »
    Anyone else want to watch Marie Theresa chat

Yes

Poor from Ronaldson, bit in and let Keatley step outside him

TOH making Earls look like a prop there :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,799 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Zzippy wrote: »
    TOH making Earls look like a prop there :D

He's fast but Earls was obstructed and couldn't get to the tackle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,857 ✭✭✭shootermacg

Some game! :D

Akrasia wrote: »
    He's fast but Earls was obstructed and couldn't get to the tackle

Hey! I expect to lose this match and I've given up on the season already. Let me have one moment of fun... :o

Never a forward pass

Jesus. There was no need to throw a skip pass, especially from a front row.

Erik Shin wrote: »
    Never a forward pass

Would have been fine in NFL

:p

Zzippy wrote: »
    Would have been fine in NFL

:p

North Fahad League?.

Now you're sucking Deysel

How was that a maul... ffs.

Who does Angus Lloyd love more than anyone in the world?!?

Damian Varley has a voice of a RTE regional news reporter.

Jaco loved that.... sacking the QB.... NFL ref there boys :)