Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

OMG Dublin is so expensive!!!

• 26-04-2017 9:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 503 ✭✭✭

I don't live in Dublin nor have I ever. I may be in the next couple of years however. Rent aside, is Dublin more expensive than any other city in the country?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭Four Phucs Ache

The price of 6 doughnuts in tescos rathfarnham and tullamore is 99c.

However , rent on a four bed beside either tescos differs by 1000.

Ah, you said rent aside, so a cheeseburger in rathfarnham and tullamore is 2.40....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭hytrogen

But it's soo worth it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

More expensive than Paris.
    When I was over in Paris there.
    A few weeks ago.
    I was in Paris.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭hytrogen

Hehe the breadline

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 161 ✭✭Allah snackbar

Your Face wrote: »
    A few weeks ago.
    I was in Paris.

How did that go , had you a nice time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Armchair Andy

thestar wrote:
    I don't live in Dublin nor have I ever. I may be in the next couple of years however. Rent boys aside, is Dublin more expensive than any other city in the country?

Probably cos the place is overran with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

A few weeks ago.
    I was in Paris.

Bet you don't have an apple Mac though.. I've an apple Mac. Did I mention I've a mac.

Ya Dublin is expensive to rent... you should just bite the bullet and buy OP.... jawanna buy a house btw?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,429 ✭✭✭Kenjataimu

How did that go , had you a nice time

I was in Nice once, it was nice. Nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,595 ✭✭✭johnnyrotten

No

It cost me €75 to see Munster get their arses handed to them in Dublin on Saturday. The same result would have been €30 less here in Limerick :mad: :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,694 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Kenjataimu wrote: »
    I was in Nice once, it was nice. Nice.

Poor biscuit offering though.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭Jack the Stripper

I paid well for an escort one time in Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

I paid well for an escort one time in Dublin.

Mk1?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 672 ✭✭✭pangbang

Get a truckload of instant noodles (none of that high fallutin pot noodle nonsense, I'm talking Tesco 5 cent noodles), get a job, work 50 hours a week then hand your wages over to the landlord, who will then hand it over to the bank, who will then hand it over to the reptile king that lives in that hole there.

Meanwhile, watch your body slowly begin to starch stiff, turning beige and noodly, while your sanity sinks into a cheap half-pint in some over-priced kip in temple bar.

Do this for 15 odd years, then go the whole hog and trade decades more of your life away for a mortgage ("Death Grip" in the original French) to continue doing the same thing.

Or....think outside the box, don't do what every one else is doing, and don't buy into the scam :P

KERSPLAT! wrote: »
    Mk1?

MK3 4 door, the ring was driven out of it but good body.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭pontoonz

u can still get 10 boxes of benson and hedges on market street

pontoonz wrote: »

How much are 10 boxes of 20 benson?

You mean 2 Chinese fingers, 1 quart of rat faeces, the nostril hair of 17 impoverished Indians, and a squirt of tobacco perfume rolled up in baboon skin.

Pretty dear, considering.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,565 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

thestar wrote: »
    I don't live in Dublin nor have I ever. I may be in the next couple of years however. Rent aside, is Dublin more expensive than any other city in the country?
    In most countries the capital city is the biggest and most expensive.

It's one of life's unsolved mysteries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Not if you live underground it's not. Plus the great thing about that is you beat the rush hoir, because you travel under the traffic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Beyondgone

Not if you live underground it's not. Plus the great thing about that is you beat the rush hoir, because you travel under the traffic.

The commutes a bit sh1t though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,577 ✭✭✭✭Victor

A few weeks ago.
    I was in Paris.
    What do they call the Whopper?

i haven;t been in dublin in 20 years,

still pass thru a few times a year on the citylink air-bus,

i love driving up the quays and looking at all the dubs with their shiny shoes

where are they all going> like busy ants

Surf that **** wave turtles style, all the way to office meeting! And you'll be taught to be a ninja team to boot.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mH8qFGcE1uQ

When the country needs more tax, these sewer boys don't cut no slack!........Enda leads, Va-radkar does ma-chiiines, (that's a fact, jack!), Michael Martins cool but crude (gimme a break!), Gerry Oddums is a party duuude (yeeeaaa!)

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,351 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Victor wrote: »
    What do they call the Whopper?

L'abomination.

Sorry, I had way too much fun listening to the turtles again, had to give this a better blast :) Listen and sing-along, my fellow-chums

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mH8qFGcE1uQ

In-effective rep-resentatives!
    IN-EFFECTIVE REP-RESENTATIVES!
    Eejits with a half-brain, VOTER POWER!

They're the countrys supposed leading team (we're really ****!)
    They're the cats who take-all-of the cream (Hey, we get a grip!)
    When the country needs more tax, these sewer boys don't cut no slack!

Haughey taught them to be selfish-gombeens (he's a radical rat!)
    Enda leads, Va-radkar does ma-chiiines, (that's a fact, jack!)
    Michael Martins cool but crude (gimme a break!), Gerry Oddums is a party duuude (yeeeaaa!)

IN-EFFECTIVE REP-RESENTATIVES!
    Eejits with a half-brain, VOTER POWER!

But who is the Shredder?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Beyondgone

Logic fail. Post consigned to " ah here" file.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,465 ✭✭✭MOH

Yes, in a massive shock, the capital and most congested city in the country is the most expensive. No other capital city on the entire planet is similar. Economists are baffled. We'll all die without understanding why, so save yourself a life of misery and stop worrying about it now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Ah, you said rent aside, so a cheeseburger in rathfarnham and tullamore is 2.40....

Yeah but to be fair Chancery is a bit of a kip

Beyondgone wrote: »
    Logic fail. Post consigned to " ah here" file.

so youre saying the dubs don't wear shiny shoes?

Shiny as a button, my boy! *taps cane on nearest homeless dude*

Come with me, and you'll be, in a world of pure imagination, take a look and you'll see, ignored downright depravation.... tra la la, la la la

pangbang wrote: »
    Shiny as a button, my boy! *taps cane on nearest homeless dude*

Come with me, and you'll be, in a world of pure imagination, take a look and you'll see, ignored downright depravation.... tra la la, la la la

^^^^

free beer for this poster

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,565 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

http://www.bbc.com/news/blogs-news-from-elsewhere-25302519
    A woman in Beijing has spent the past 20 years living in a hole as she's too poor to move back to her home city, it's reported.

Quan Youzhi moved into the underground utility compartment in Beijing after her home in the eastern city of Shangqiu collapsed, the state-owned China Daily newspaper reports. She uses washrooms in nearby Lido Park, and quarrels with her husband who lives in a neighbouring hole. Hot water pipes keep the 9m square compartment warm in winter, but she has to stay above ground in summer when it gets too hot, or if rain causes it to flood. The 66-year-old, who collects empty bottles for a living, says she would like to rebuild her house but doesn't have the money.

@ capn midnight,

thanks for not making fun of poor people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,352 ✭✭✭alias no.9

MK3 4 door, the ring was driven out of it but good body.

The 4 door version of the MK3 would have been a MK1 Orion

11515627834_202e9fe5b4_b.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

To jobs, maybe?

A wild guess, admittedly.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭please helpThank YOU

Dublin with the price of rent is now starting to lose out to investors and employers. and now its start to look unattractive to invest in Dublin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 889 ✭✭✭Murrisk

Hubs and I feel very fortunate to only be paying €1050 a month for our well-insulated, low-bills-and-gym-included gaff. And now rent caps are here - woohoo!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,360 ✭✭✭I love Sean nos

I don't live in Dublin nor have I ever.
    is Dublin more expensive than any other city in the country?
    This isn't the Daily Mail OP. Try for consistency. If not, at least try to reach the next paragraph before completely changing tack rather than the very next sentence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,030 ✭✭✭Minderbinder

Having lived in a number of big cities I would say that Dublin is probably expensive when you consider the lifestyle available, environment and the average salary. I like Dublin and I like walking its streets but the cost of rent is just too much. I don't care if I can afford something or not, but I care about value for money. There are so many bigger, cheaper, arguably nicer, equally interesting cities in the world, and the majority of them have better weather.

If you're confined to Ireland, but have a fairly high salary or the likelihood of attaining a high salary it's unquestionably the best place to be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Moved to Sydney. Live 4km south of the CBD. From door to desk in 18mins. Have much much, more disposable income that I had in Dublin. 1/4 of my monthly wage goes on rent compared to 1/3 at home living all the way out of the Dublin where I worked in poxy Maynooth.

Dublin/Ireland is a rip off. My eyes have been opened to how bad it is at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭99problems

ChikiChiki wrote:
    Moved to Sydney. Live 4km south of the CBD. From door to desk in 18mins. Have much much, more disposable income that I had in Dublin. 1/4 of my monthly wage goes on rent compared to 1/3 at home living all the way out of the Dublin where I worked in poxy Maynooth.

Sydney is the second most expensive city in the world though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭D0NNELLY

Absolutely it is. You get what you pay for. Helps keep the knuckle draggers outside the pale m50

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭D0NNELLY

pangbang wrote: »
    You mean 2 Chinese fingers, 1 quart of rat faeces, the nostril hair of 17 impoverished Indians, and a squirt of tobacco perfume rolled up in baboon skin.

Pretty dear, considering.

Probably better for you than the real thing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 646 ✭✭✭hungry hypno toad

A few weeks ago.
    I was in Paris.

Paris, Texas?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,023 ✭✭✭Donal55

Paris, Texas?

No. Paris Hilton.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Wait till you get out into the big wide world and discover that Ireland is so expensive!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,023 ✭✭✭Donal55

No, Paris H1lton.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Of course Dublin is more expensive it's a capital city.

I saw a ghost once.