Netflix Recommendations 2.0 *READ FIRST POST*

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,206 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fysh

Hmm. I dunno. It depends on what you mean by better. Just like Tony Jaa in Ong Bak, the sequels are a case of 'more is more', with the completely OTT 10 minute bone-crunching slogs. I can't even remember the plot (no reference to porn needed here). Not saying the degree of violence needs to be toned down, but sometimes less is more.
    Obviously the idea is to cash in quicky, and strike while the iron is hot by upping the ante, but as a martial arts and film lover, why can't the producers spare a thought for us who love high quality and well written extreme violence martial art flicks? :p

Ah here, you can't really level the complaint of "it's just more martial arts" at The Raid 2 - it spent a lot more time on plot, specifically the rivalry and budding war between the Jakartan and Japanese organised crime syndicates. Plus the car-based scenes towards the end.

First time around I remember being a bit disappointed at that, but I've since come to appreciate that it's not just a do-over of the first film in that sense (plus, there's a de-sequelised fanedit version if you really want a cut that's the same sort of runtime and action-focus as the first film).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,378 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Has anyone watched I am mother?
    Didn't think it was half bad and it looked fantastic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,563 ✭✭✭✭peteeeed

Doctor Who: The Return of Doctor Mysterio
    When aliens invade New York and the Doctor returns, saving the world means reporter Lucy might learn the truth about her nanny Grant's double life

Recall
    Struggling to move on from a heartbreaking loss, Mikey is drawn into a dangerous underworld robbery orchestrated by his unreliable stepbrother Dale

Mike Epps: Only One Mike
    In a raw stand-up comedy special, Mike Epps mixes it up as he tackles sexual misconduct, special ed, aging body parts and much more.

Added today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,106 ✭✭✭cdgalwegian

Fysh wrote: »
    Ah here, you can't really level the complaint of "it's just more martial arts" at The Raid 2 - it spent a lot more time on plot, specifically the rivalry and budding war between the Jakartan and Japanese organised crime syndicates. Plus the car-based scenes towards the end.

First time around I remember being a bit disappointed at that, but I've since come to appreciate that it's not just a do-over of the first film in that sense (plus, there's a de-sequelised fanedit version if you really want a cut that's the same sort of runtime and action-focus as the first film).

All good points. I had forgotten the plot, but my memory of it is the unfeasibly long slug-fests, overshadowing any plot. It was an enjoyable martial arts/slug fest flick, but I think it fell between 2 stools. If the slug fests were edited, I think from the points you made earlier it would have been better than the first film. Hence, I preferred the first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,106 ✭✭✭cdgalwegian

gmisk wrote: »

There's a thread for it in the Films sub-forum. (Using my tablet, and can't seem to be able to post link :(.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,016 ✭✭✭gubby

Designated survivor.... will there be a season 4

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

gubby wrote: »
    Designated survivor.... will there be a season 4

Have you not suffered enough already?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

peteeeed wrote: »
    Doctor Who: The Return of Doctor Mysterio
    When aliens invade New York and the Doctor returns, saving the world means reporter Lucy might learn the truth about her nanny Grant's double life

At first I had NO idea what this was, maybe being some random Korean thing, then I remembered Dr. Who did an awful, superhero Xmas special. :D

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Raid and Raid 2 are incredible movies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Season 3 trailer starts July 8th in the States it's a 3 night event series and is due to air soon after over on Netflix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭Taiga

gmisk wrote: »

I enjoyed this though thought I'd hate it. Had me thinking for a while after.

Almost finished Dead To Me, really enjoying it. Loving Christina Applegate in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,546 ✭✭✭✭km79

Season 3 trailer starts July 8th in the States it's a 3 night event series and is due to air soon after over on Netflix.

Liked the movies but never watched the series
    Would I need to have ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

I liked the first two seasons so I'm really pissed off that they decided to make a fresh start with season 3 and cut all links to what came before, which has zero resolution. Especially after they made that stupid Halloween special that could easily have been used to instead make a finale to close out S2.

ANIMA
    WhatsAppTelegram In a short musical film directed by Paul Thomas Anderson, Thom Yorke of Radiohead stars in a mind-bending visual piece. Best played loud

Daniel Sosa: Maleducado
    In his second stand-up special, Daniel Sosa reminisces about his childhood, ponders Mexican traditions and points out a major problem with "Coco."

The Emoji Movie

The World's Most Extraordinary Homes seasons 2

QI season 15

slasher season 2

added today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,292 ✭✭✭✭Electric Nitwit

ANIMA
    In a short musical film directed by Paul Thomas Anderson, Thom Yorke of Radiohead stars in a mind-bending visual piece. Best played loud

Just watched this, I found it genuinely quite beautiful :-)

I'm a big Radiohead fan so I am biased, but I'd definitely recommend it. It's only 15mins

Dope: Season 3
    Around the world, from Los Angeles to Rotterdam, the war on drugs rages on as users and addicts remain caught in the middle.

The Chosen One
    Three young doctors sent to a remote village in Pantanal to vaccinate residents find themselves trapped in an isolated community shrouded in secrets.

Exhibit A
    This true crime series shows how innocent people have been convicted with dubious forensic tools and techniques such as cadaver dogs and touch DNA.

Twelve Forever
    Twelve-year-old Reggie’s desire to remain a child is so powerful that it opens up a fantasy world where she never has to grow up.

Motown Magic: Season 2
    A second season of magic and music following Ben and his friends Angie and Mickey as they discover that creativity can bring vibrancy to their city and important life lessons.

Shaft
    In this second-generation Shaft saga, the badass detective has been largely absent from his son’s life. But when John Shaft Jr. — an FBI expert in cybersecurity — needs help discovering the truth about his best friend’s death, he turns to his dad.

7SEEDS
    Shy Natsu awakens as part of a group chosen to ensure the survival of humanity. Together, they have to survive on a changed Earth.

Family Business season 1
    After learning France is about to legalize pot, a down-on-his-luck entrepreneur and his family race to turn their butcher shop into a marijuana cafe

Instant Hotel season 2
    Teams of Australian homeowners compete for the title of best Instant Hotel by staying overnight in each other's rentals and rating their experience.

added today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 934 ✭✭✭pheasant tail

Divines - French drama about a young teen who turns to drugs in the slums of Paris. Really good film, winner off Cannes directorial debut with an amazing performance from the lead actress!

Creed 2 added today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

I'd recommend "Last breath". It's a documentary about a diving accident in the north sea. Lads are 90 meters down fixing oil piping when the accident occurs. I found it fascinating to see the conditions they work in and the equipment dedicated to it.

The dark tower
    Glee ( I think all seasons )

Inhuman Kiss(Thai)
    A teenage girl is caught between the affections of two childhood friends while battling the bloodthirsty demon inside of her that manifests at night.

Maudie , My Love
    Despite severe arthritis and a challenging marriage, an amateur painter defies the odds to become a beloved folk artist in this unconventional biopic

Mission Impossible:ghost protocol

Rough Night
    Five college friends reunite for a weekend of booze, sun and debauchery, but their bachelorette party quickly derails when blood is spilled

The pyramid

Added today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,146 ✭✭✭holly_johnson

The dark tower

Added today

Is this based on just the first book - The Gunslinger - or is it an amalgamation? I know people have panned it but I *loved* the books so I’ll give it a watch.

First book I think , they wanted it to be a movie franchise but I think it bombed

Ah grand thanks. I’ll give it a go anyway.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,707 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

It's more like all the books rolled into one from what I've seen.

Mickeroo wrote: »

That sounds kinda impossible there was so much in all the books! I’m on the fence about watching it but it might be worth a punt - if only to get me so wound up I read the books again to “get it right” 😃

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,797 ✭✭✭sweetie

Mickeroo wrote:

Think they're just gonna do an Amazon TV series and forget the film!

sweetie wrote: »
    Think they're just gonna do an Amazon TV series and forget the film!

Amazon are making it.

sweetie wrote: »
    Think they're just gonna do an Anmazon TV series and forget the film!

Oh that sounds great, but boo, I don’t have an amazon sub.

Zero Dark Thirty was added this morning.

Designated Survivor: 60 days
    follows the main storyline of the original US series, but has been adapted to feature more of the Korean reality. It is a story of a politician, who suddenly ascends from the position of Minister of Environment to President, as an explosion at the National Assembly kills everyone in the Cabinet who is ahead of him in terms of the presidential succession. Park Mu-jin is a scientist-turned-politician who struggles to fit in politics. Park is the acting president for 60 days, and during this period, albeit inexperienced and unwilling, he tries to uncover the truth behind the attack.

The Dark Crystal

The Hunger Games
    The Hunger Games: Catching Fire
    The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 1
    The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 2
    Bridesmaids

Zero Dark Thirty

Katherine Ryan: Glitter Room
    Ryan‘s 2018 UK tour show comes to Netflix for an hour-long special after an unprecedented four-week run at London’s Garrick Theatre in the West End. Filmed in December 2018 in Los Angeles, Glitter Room is a follow-up to her 2017 Netflix stand-up special, Katherine Ryan: In Trouble.

Doomsday

Elizabeth: The Golden Age
    Native
    Two aliens head to Earth to eradicate the population, but when they lose their psychic connection to home, they begin to question the mission.

NOVA: Black Hole Apocalypse
    Astrophysicists show how black holes might hold answers to how the universe evolved, leading to life on Earth and, ultimately, the human race.

NOVA: Death Dive to Saturn
    After decades of amazing discoveries, spacecraft Cassini embarks on its final -- and most daring -- mission: a dive below Saturn's rings.

NOVA: Decoding the Weather Machine
    Scientists investigate Earth's climate machine, looking for clues across the globe, from Greenland's ice sheet to the desert of Australia.

NOVA: Poisoned Water
    This documentary details how the water disaster in Flint, Michigan happened, its lasting effects, and the lengthy efforts it took to correct it.

Nova: Ultimate Mars Challenge
    With access to the scientists and engineers responsible for the Curiosity rover's on-the-ground experiments, NOVA captures its landing on Mars.

The Order (Jean-Claude Van Damme)

War Against Women
    Filmed over three years in 10 countries, this documentary gives voice to the women who have become victims of sexual violence as weapons of war.

Are You Human: Season 1
    Black Knight: The Man Who Guards Me: Season 1

Descendants of the Sun: Season 1
    Designated Survivor: 60 Days: Season 1
    Doomsday
    Elizabeth Harvest
    Fight for My Way: Season 1
    Final Destination 5
    Flowering Heart: Season 1
    Good Manager: Season 1
    Hit The Top: Season 1
    Hook