Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clermont v Leinster Build up Thread

• 21-04-2017 2:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

So I was in Dublin during the week, the big schmoke if you will, and I dropped into this 4FE place, or whatever Jamie calls it, to see what all the fuss was about. I'll tell you, the coffee was fierce expensive - they wouldn't last long in Ballinasloe!

So anyway, as I'm waiting for my bearded hipster barista to pour my mocha frappucino, who do I bump into in the queue only the bould Venjur, and who was he with only Leo and Stu. In fairness, the lads looked a bit embarrassed to be spotted with him, but they were sound enough. Leo was having a skinny latte, with chocolate frosting, while Venjur had a, what could only be described as a loosely coffee-related girly cocktail. Stu was drinking black coffee, no sugar.

"Well, Venjur, fancy meeting you here!" says I, "and you hanging out with the big lads too! What's the craic?"

"Ah, you know yourself, just giving the goys a few tips for the weekend, you know, a few nice places to be seen in Lyon, the best nail bors, that kind of thing loike. And the best bors for a good pint of Heino too, of course" says he, with a wink and a nudge. Leo looked mortified, shoulda seen the look he gave Stu... "Emm, Venjur..." he murmured, before being interrupted:

"Ah no, really, we're having a chinwag over the team for the weekend" Venjur continued.. "What with Cian being out, and Jamie just getting high on the oxygen for a few weeks, I'm thinking Porter onto the bench and Leavy just has to stort at 8, but Leo here thinks Bent and Conan... shhh Leo, I'm holding court here!" looking around to see who was listening.
    Spotting Thornley at a window table, he went on to talk at length about how Leinster were really up against it, while Munster had no excuses, what with home advantage and all the Leinster goys who would be going along to cheer them on, and Rassie clearly playing silly buggers pretending Murray wouldn't be fit.

Thornley looked up, startled at the turn in events... ears pricking up like a nervous deer. Leo tried to say something again, but Venjur just grabbed him by the shoulder and told him to cop himself on, if Carberry didn't start at 10 with Sexton on the bench they were focked. SOB at 8 would be a monumental mistake, and if he had any sense he'd stick Cronin on the bench too, for impact loike...

Stu had clearly had enough by now. Stepping around Leo, he politely murmured "Excuse me" in my direction, pausing for me to step aside so he could line Venjur up. The next thing I knew, Venjur and the barista were sprawled all over the Faema Classic 1961 espresso machine, hand-picked Costa Rican organic fairtrade coffee beans cascading down on their unconscious bodies, like the hopes of Clermont fans in the 79th minute....

"What a load of bollocks" says Stu, "we only met him to look at colour schemes for the new dressing rooms in the RDS. Come on, Leo, let's find a proper coffee shop where I can get a decent black coffee".

As they passed Thornley, he looked up, shocked, and asked "Did he really mean that about Munster? I mean, home advantage and all, but it's Sarries, like, they've got that je ne sais quoi at the moment, surely they can't beat them!".

"Not at all mate, course they can beat 'em - you've just been venjured" says Stu, leading a docile Leo out the door.

I never got my coffeee, machine was f*cked.

G'wan Leinster!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,186 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Typo in the title - didn't bother reading.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

I see the sleep deprivation has already driven him mad.

Zzippy wrote: »
    So I was in Dublin during the week, the big schmoke if you will, and I dropped into this 4FE place, or whatever Jamie calls it, to see what all the fuss was about. I'll tell you, the coffee was fierce expensive - they wouldn't last long in Ballinasloe!

So anyway, as I'm waiting for my bearded hipster barista to pour my mocha frappucino, who do I bump into in the queue only the bould Venjur, and who was he with only Leo and Stu. In fairness, the lads looked a bit embarrassed to be spotted with him, but they were sound enough. Leo was having a skinny latte, with chocolate frosting, while Venjur had a, what could only be described as a loosely coffee-related girly cocktail. Stu was drinking black coffee, no sugar.

"Well, Venjur, fancy meeting you here!" says I, "and you hanging out with the big lads too! What's the craic?"

"Ah, you know yourself, just giving the goys a few tips for the weekend, you know, a few nice places to be seen in Lyon, the best nail bors, that kind of thing loike. And the best bors for a good pint of Heino too, of course" says he, with a wink and a nudge. Leo looked mortified, shoulda seen the look he gave Stu... "Emm, Venjur..." he murmured, before being interrupted:

"Ah no, really, we're having a chinwag over the team for the weekend" Venjur continued.. "What with Cian being out, and Jamie just getting high on the oxygen for a few weeks, I'm thinking Porter onto the bench and Leavy just has to stort at 8, but Leo here thinks Bent and Conan... shhh Leo, I'm holding court here!" looking around to see who was listening.
    Spotting Thornley at a window table, he went on to talk at length about how Leinster were really up against it, while Munster had no excuses, what with home advantage and all the Leinster goys who would be going along to cheer them on, and Rassie clearly playing silly buggers pretending Murray wouldn't be fit.

Thornley looked up, startled at the turn in events... ears pricking up like a nervous deer. Leo tried to say something again, but Venjur just grabbed him by the shoulder and told him to cop himself on, if Carberry didn't start at 10 with Sexton on the bench they were focked. SOB at 8 would be a monumental mistake, and if he had any sense he'd stick Cronin on the bench too, for impact loike...

Stu had clearly had enough by now. Stepping around Leo, he politely murmured "Excuse me" in my direction, pausing for me to step aside so he could line Venjur up. The next thing I knew, Venjur and the barista were sprawled all over the Faema Classic 1961 espresso machine, hand-picked Costa Rican organic fairtrade coffee beans cascading down on their unconscious bodies, like the hopes of Clermont fans in the 79th minute....

"What a load of bollocks" says Stu, "we only met him to look at colour schemes for the new dressing rooms in the RDS. Come on, Leo, let's find a proper coffee shop where I can get a decent black coffee".

As they passed Thornley, he looked up, shocked, and asked "Did he really mean that about Munster? I mean, home advantage and all, but it's Sarries, like, they've got that je ne sais quoi at the moment, surely they can't beat them!".

"Not at all mate, course they can beat 'em - you've just been venjured" says Stu, leading a docile Leo out the door.

I never got my coffeee, machine was f*cked.

G'wan Leinster!

This is a very silly post. Nothing like this would ever happen. Stu would only ever drink tea obvs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,728 ✭✭✭Former Former

Teams? No

Kick-off time? Nah

TV details? Pfft

Who's the ref? Haven't a rashers

Now that's how to do a preview thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,515 ✭✭✭swiwi_

It's Friday, work has finished early, the beers (plural) are cooling as we speak. I'm not even going to try to play this down: I'm off to the game, first Leinster fix live since, hmmm, I actually can't remember, but it should be good craic!

I see 195 caps for Toner. Respect.

I'm still maintaining Leinster will win this, with the young guns to the fore.

Good luck to all and sundry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,128 ✭✭✭CMOTDibbler

Buer wrote: »
    I see the sleep deprivation has already driven him mad.
    Not enough Zs in Zzippy :D

Depressing fact: Clermont have scored 83 tries in their 24 T14 games this season (although 9 of those came against an already relegated Grenoble last week). This is 18 more than the next highest.

Encouraging fact: Clermont have conceded 54 tries in their 24 T14 games this season. 7 teams have conceded less than that and two others have conceded the exact same.

It is a winnable game. It is going to be a big ask and the front five are going to have to have a monster performance. If we can give a platform, I do have some confidence in our 10, 12 and 13 to give us something to feed off.

Their back line is not what it was and certainly isn't as potent given their injuries. They're massive and powerful but they're not flyers. Abendanon is by far the most fleet of foot athough Strettle is on fire this season with 11 tries in the T14.

I've no doubt they're going to try and overpower us and run monsters down Sexton's channel repeatedly. It's a shame SOB is out becuase that's something he's great at dealing with and holding players up. Ruddock at blindside is excellent at it too but off scrum ball, he won't be in position to get there first. It's worth considering putting Ruddock to openside on some defensive plays for that reason. Lamerat and Rougerie are 100% going to try and crash into Sexton early on from a scrum.

Given our pack, we have serious fitness and mobility in there. Jack McGrath and Tadhg Furlong won't be seen breaking any speed records outside a pie shop but they've huge engines. Hopefully we'll look to move the point of attack and not get completely sucked into an arm wrestles against them. If we do, we'll have our energy sapped out of us and they'll eventually break through us.

Mostly though we're going to need 5 or 6 guys play to an intensity that they have never played to before for Leinster. This will be a massive test for them. It's worth remembering just where Carbery, Leavy, Luke McGrath and Ringrose were a year ago as well as Dooley, Ross Byrne and Ross Molony on the bench.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Buer wrote: »
    Given our pack, we have serious fitness and mobility in there. Jack McGrath and Tadhg Furlong won't be seen breaking any speed records outside a pie shop but they've huge engines. Hopefully we'll look to move the point of attack and not get completely sucked into an arm wrestles against them. If we do, we'll have our energy sapped out of us and they'll eventually break through us.

How very dare you. Furligind certainly would.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

Yeah, I'm not massively confident at all now having seen the respective squads. The nerves I woke up with this morning are all but gone, which is a bad sign. We still have it in us to win this game, and by God this Leinster side have made a mockery of me underestimating them a few times in the last 3 or 4 months, but it's hard to see it at this stage. There's not enough big game experience in the pack for me.

Still I'll be travelling with the intention of making myself heard on Sunday. As Buer said if we can move them around a bit and play at the sort of pace we played a lot of the Wasps game at then we have a real shot at this. The more I think about it the more I reckon Ross Byrnes inclusion owes as much to wanting 2 play makers on the pitch at the same time as anything. If that is the case, and it is an indication of how we want to play, then we might get something special on the day. Neither side are where they were 5 years ago so we might see a more open game as a result. Here's hoping anyway. That we're heading to France without Healy, SOB and Heaslip (never mind both Kearneys and Jordi Murphy as well) and it isn't completely hopeless is in itself a positive.

COME ON LEINSTER!

Leinster+Supporters+Celebrations+ASM+Clermont+OkD-Ar1GP9Al.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

I'm going to buck the current trend od pessimism about this game. I have no idea why but I think we are going to win this. I probably won't be able to talk by the time the games over and there's no logical reason to feel this way, but I really think we will do this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Sangre wrote: »
    Typo in the title - didn't bother reading.

It was a coffee shop. No tea ;)

Zzippy wrote: »
    It was a coffee shop. No tea ;)
    Can you please fix the title Zzippy?

My eyes bleed and my inner Rougerie weeps every time I read it. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

They actually have Earl Grey flown in freshly every morning from the Yorkshire savanna for Stu

Freshly flown tea. And freshly flown Earl Grey at that too.

Can't say I've ever tried it and it must be very difficult to keep hot, but to each their own I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,047 ✭✭✭Bazzo

As if a Yorkshireman would drink anything other than Yorkshire tea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

I can actually see us winning this one to be honest.

Which means we're in for a serious hiding tomorrow. Sorry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭lotmc

I can actually see us winning this one to be honest.

Which means we're in for a serious hiding tomorrow. Sorry.

That's OK.

Provided we win on Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

With Jamie and SOB out it's hard to see where the win is going to come from...

Ferg in the starting 23 and no Adam Byrne is an interesting one. It's actually a bit experimental as opposed to picking the 'conservative choice', as Adam has established himself as the 1st choice wing this season, and Ferg hasn't played a huge amount of rugby for us and whilst he had a brilliant game against Wasps it was a real work-horse like performance and didn't add anything to our attack.

We lose a massive offensive threat with not selecting Adam Byrne, so I wonder what the reasoning behind it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

.ak wrote: »
    .....With Jamie and SOB out it's hard to see where the win is going to come from...

.....Ferg in the starting 23 .....

Starting 23 players would certainly help alright!

Ferg in the starting 23 and no Adam Byrne is an interesting one. It's actually a bit experimental as opposed to picking the 'conservative choice', as Adam has established himself as the 1st choice wing this season, and Ferg hasn't played a huge amount of rugby for us and whilst he had a brilliant game against Wasps it was a real work-horse like performance and didn't add anything to our attack.

We lose a massive offensive threat with not selecting Adam Byrne, so I wonder what the reasoning behind it is.
    Maybe to gain of a defensive strength, or maybe there was a reaction in his hamstring after last weekend.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

The people whose boat I sail on are avid Munster supporters and so are off to the game tomorrow.

We were trying to schedule a couple of pre-racing seasons sails to get up to speed.

They very kindly agreed to sail early on Sunday so we can all sit down and watch the match :)

GO LEINSTER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

lotmc wrote: »
    That's OK.

Provided we win on Sunday.

... ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Neil3030 wrote: »
    Starting 23 players would certainly help alright!

It's a loophole I hope we expose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

molloyjh wrote: »
    Here's hoping anyway. That we're heading to France without Healy, SOB and Heaslip (never mind both Kearneys and Jordi Murphy as well) and it isn't completely hopeless is in itself a positive.

COME ON LEINSTER!

Second this.
    I really like the look of the back line alone : Carbo, Fadser, Ringsie, Henchie, Isa, Jonno, Graazer.
    Fills me with optimism anyway.

We might lose a massive offensive threat, but we also gain a lot in defence.

Adam Byrne has been exposed badly in recent games and Clermont is not a team who would be slow to take advantage.

I also think it's a bit unfair to say McFadden added nothing to the attack against Wasps. You look at Conan's try; https://youtu.be/Inbp9AAruC4?t=57
    Ferg gives a nice support line, a step, an offload all in about two seconds. And of course he scored a try himself.

Byrne established himself as first choice - but in the absence of McFadden and Kearney. We never really knew if he'd be retained once the more senior guys came back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,950 ✭✭✭✭phog

I probably won't be on here much before tomorrow, so let me wish the travelling support a safe and successful trip and best of Luck to Leinster tomorrow.

Whose job was it to bring over the giant inflatable version of Wesley Fofana's bicep?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭Ectoplasm

Does anyone know of a decent pub in Lyon to watch the Munster game? Unfortunately I'm not there myself but my brother is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

EMF2010 wrote: »
    Does anyone know of a decent pub in Lyon to watch the Munster game? Unfortunately I'm not there myself but my brother is

The OLSC have 2 bases. The Wallace Bar on the waterfront (there's apparently 3 of them but the waterfront describes where this is I believe) and Accasbel, which is a place run by a Clontarf man but looks a little small. Both look decent enough and will be showing the games.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,525 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

Kinnegar beer from Donegal on tap in Lyon here. Give it a whirl: https://www.facebook.com/accasbel/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,918 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

We might lose a massive offensive threat, but we also gain a lot in defence.

Adam Byrne has been exposed badly in recent games and Clermont is not a team who would be slow to take advantage.

I also think it's a bit unfair to say McFadden added nothing to the attack against Wasps. You look at Conan's try; https://youtu.be/Inbp9AAruC4?t=57
    Ferg gives a nice support line, a step, an offload all in about two seconds. And of course he scored a try himself.

Byrne established himself as first choice - but in the absence of McFadden and Kearney. We never really knew if he'd be retained once the more senior guys came back.

Has he really? That's a bit harsh and it seems to be just accepted now because of previous reputation. Carbury has missed tackles and there's not a word said about it.
    Not picking Adam Byrne is the conservative option. I disagree with it.As someone else pointed out somewhere; Lancaster became more conservative with his England selections after initially trusting younger players.This selection has the same feel about it, slightly nervy.
    Dropping Byrne is a negative move, not a positive one and sends the wrong signal.

Byrne isn't getting dropped, it was a 50:50 call and McFadden got it, Byrne wouldn't probably have got anywhere near as many starts as he has if DK and Ferg had been fit. Adam Byrne is a great attacking threat but against Cardiff and Connacht his defending has been exposed. It's something hopefully that will improve because he is an absolute weapon in attack, but at the moment he's not that far ahead of Ferg that he demands inclusion.

Has he really? That's a bit harsh and it seems to be just accepted now because of previous reputation. Carbury has missed tackles and there's not a word said about it.
    Not picking Adam Byrne is the conservative option. I disagree with it.As someone else pointed out somewhere; Lancaster became more conservative with his England selections after initially trusting younger players.This selection has the same feel about it, slightly nervy.
    Dropping Byrne is a negative move, not a positive one and sends the wrong signal.

He hasn't been badly exposed, but Leinster and Ireland similarly look to attack in defence by winning the initial contact and this is not something Byrne has shown to bring to the table. He's been caught out of place a few times but he just hasn't shown as much aggression in defence as he has in attack.

I have every faith he'll sort it out, he's in a squad with McFadden and Dave who will help bring him on.

Ah it's this old chestnut that every time a younger guy loses out to an established player, it's "conservatism" and "negative".

It's not, it's picking your best players.

Byrne was in pole position for the jersey. Leo gave him every chance. He didn't do enough to keep it.

Absolutely. It's a form selection, McFadden has been really good since coming back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭The Pheasant2

Does anyone know will there be any radio coverage? Feckers in work won't let me get covered so I'll miss the entire match ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,918 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

Does anyone know will there be any radio coverage? Feckers in work won't let me get covered so I'll miss the entire match ffs

Newstalk have it, I believe.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

I'm feeling quietly confident about this one.

Castres 26–16 Clermont
    Clermont 19–28 Montpellier
    Clermont 65–13 Pau
    Racing 27–24 Clermont
    Clermont 21–26 Brive
    Grenoble 18–59 Clermont

That's not awe inspiring form, it's erratic form.

This Leinster team knows that they can stick it right up to French teams in knock out games in France too.

When I look at their backline of

Scott Spedding
    David Strettle
    Aurélien Rougerie
    Remi Lamerat
    Nick Abendanon

that's not going to put the fear of God into our lads, granted I don't know much about Lamerat, if anything I rate our lads as better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭shuffol

I've not seen an awful lot of him but from what i have Lamerat is the pick of their backs, very physical and serious workrate. His tussle with Henshaw should be worth the admission on its own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,047 ✭✭✭Bazzo

Lamerat is an excellent centre.

Lamerat is top quality. Has given us problems when playing for Castres and France in the past.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

In Lyon, seeing a few Leinster jerseys around

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Fair enough on Lamerat but when you compare the two 15's there is an experience issue in some places but overall there's not much between them.

Scott Spedding 15 Joey Carbery
    David Strettle 14 Fergus McFadden
    Aurélien Rougerie 13 Garry Ringrose
    Remi Lamerat 12 Robbie Henshaw
    Nick Abendanon 11 Isa Nacewa (capt)
    Camille Lopez 10 Johnny Sexton
    Morgan Parra 9 Luke McGrath
    Raphael Chaume 1 Jack McGrath
    Benjamin Kayser 2 Richardt Strauss
    Davit Zirakashvili 3 Tadhg Furlong
    Arthur Iturria 4 Devin Toner
    Sébastien Vahaamahina 5 Hayden Triggs
    Damien Chouly (capt) 6 Rhys Ruddock
    Peceli Yato 7 Dan Leavy
    Fritz Lee 8 Jack Conan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

I'll need overnight to build up to it, but Im prepared to be a ladyboy for a day

G'wan Leinster

BBDBB wrote: »
    I'll need overnight to build up to it, but Im prepared to be a ladyboy for a day

G'wan Leinster
    Tadhg Furlong wants to speak to you outside about that ladyboy thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

Tadhg Furlong wants to speak to you outside about that ladyboy thing.

okay, okay, he can borrow the handbag but not the shoes, he'll stretch them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,127 ✭✭✭The real mccoy 91

Anyone worried about a size difference in the backs? Could be a little exposed I feel.

I don't think heaslip not being there will hurt too much he doesn't provide alot of big go forward carries anymore and conan has been flying.

Obviously going to be tough but clermont are not unbeatable by any means. Stating the obvious but above average performances are needed all over the field to pull out a win here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,709 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

CatFromHue wrote: »
    I'm feeling quietly confident about this one.

Castres 26–16 Clermont
    Clermont 19–28 Montpellier
    Clermont 65–13 Pau
    Racing 27–24 Clermont
    Clermont 21–26 Brive
    Grenoble 18–59 Clermont

That's not awe inspiring form, it's erratic form.

This Leinster team knows that they can stick it right up to French teams in knock out games in France too.

When I look at their backline of

Scott Spedding
    David Strettle
    Aurélien Rougerie
    Remi Lamerat
    Nick Abendanon

that's not going to put the fear of God into our lads, granted I don't know much about Lamerat, if anything I rate our lads as better.

Totally. Clermont suddenly look past their peak, although both sides obviously have enforced changes which require reverting to experienced campaigners

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,619 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

Our backs aren't too small. Only Ringrose and Carbery are light, and both are in slightly more technical positions.

• Anyone worried about a size difference in the backs? Could be a little exposed I feel.

I don't think heaslip not being there will hurt too much he doesn't provide alot of big go forward carries anymore and conan has been flying.

Obviously going to be tough but clermont are not unbeatable by any means. Stating the obvious but above average performances are needed all over the field to pull out a win here

The only guy in the backs who is questionable when it comes to physicality is Carbery. Nacewa is a small guy by pro rugby standards but he hits like a truck. No real concerns there tbh.

Heaslip is a massive loss. He's been excellent this season and knows exactly how to win these matches.