If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

How do people survive on wages close to minimum wage?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,955 ✭✭✭Sunflower 27

Glenster wrote: »
    People on boards would do anything to excuse/defend/mitigate scroungers, and the fact that working people fund them.

3 points

The dole is not designed to be a long term option

Taxes paid in the state (including PAYE) fund the 193 quid a week (minimum) people get for doing nothing

Anyone can get a minimum wage job, they're everywhere. so the idea of looking for work is nonsense, people are either looking for work they want, or not looking.

My points still stand. Your taxes dont all go to people on the dole. Your taxes pay for far more than that;

And

50% tax is an exaggeration

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Yes at the higher rate of tax and include USC and PRSI the deduction is approximately 50%, that's not even including the pension levy which increases that figure even further and is just another tax. Add in DIRT, vat, vrt, car tax, etc and the figure starts to climb even more.

50% of your tax is going on social welfare? Let's say all of you're tax is going on SW. That's 50% of your wages. A previous poster mentioned that probrably 4% of those on the dole are lifers. So 4% of your 50% tax would be going towards lifers. That's 2% of your tax going to lifers and we all know 50% of your tax isn't going on SW. Let's say it's 5% of your tax. Then it's 0.2% of your tax going to lifers.

Hardly worth getting stressed about dude.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,955 ✭✭✭Sunflower 27

steddyeddy wrote: »
    50% of your tax is going on social welfare? Let's say all of you're tax is going on SW. That's 50% of your wages. A previous poster mentioned that probrably 4% of those on the dole are lifers. So 4% of your 50% tax would be going towards lifers. That's 2% of your tax going to lifers and we all know 50% of your tax isn't going on SW. Let's say it's 5% of your tax. Then it's 0.2% of your tax going to lifers.

Hardly worth getting stressed about dude.

Yes. Is it really worth it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭Glenster

My points still stand. Your taxes dont all go to people on the dole. Your taxes pay for far more than that;

And

50% tax is an exaggeration

No-one said all their taxes go to pay people benefits, Although a huge amount does.

And no-one said the tax rate was 50% on your gross salary.

But if I get an increase in salary, I pay back over 50% of that in taxes, seems like a 50% tax rate to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,019 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

People on boards would do anything to excuse/defend/mitigate scroungers, and the fact that working people fund them.

3 points

The dole is not designed to be a long term option

Taxes paid in the state (including PAYE) fund the 193 quid a week (minimum) people get for doing nothing

Anyone can get a minimum wage job, they're everywhere. so the idea of looking for work is nonsense, people are either looking for work they want, or not looking.

How much of the 193 a week is spent and put back into revenue? A lot if not most of it. If it's the doing nothing that bothers you we can look at that too. Most of Ireland worked during the boom so most people prefer to work. We don't need opinion when we have facts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭zl1whqvjs75cdy

Jesus how is this still open.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 726 ✭✭✭The Legend Of Kira

Plenty of people I went to school with are working full time in supermarkets. Most would be on circa €10 per hour.

How do people live on roughly 400 quid a week. Now they all live at home with the folks but what are they going to do in the future when they need a mortgage? How are they going to afford it?

I'm in college atm, and earn €50 a week, just to get by, but I'm sacrificing money now to have a good paying job for life.

Would these people not go to college and at least doubt what there on now a few years after graduating?

EDIT: Thread Title should be - How do people survive on wages close to minimum wage?
    Would these people not go to college and at least doubt what there on now a few years after graduating?

Have you ever thought or considered that not everyone is cut out for college ? one guy I know who has learning difficulties is working in a certain supermarket a good number of years & seems happy to be in the job he,s in.

Permabear wrote: »
    This post had been deleted.

You're conflating that with dole numbers. Not the same thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭Glenster

You're conflating that with dole numbers. Not the same thing.

I think it was just in response to you saying how much Irish people loved to work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,795 ✭✭✭Motivator

I was earning €500 a week before tax for about 3 years and I was actually a lot happier than I am now. I earn a lot more per week now but when I think back to when I was earning that money I didn't have half the stress I have now.

I knew my limitations every week and I knew what I could afford. Nowadays I earn a lot more but have a lot more responsibilities and bills to pay. Now, I couldn't afford to live my current life on €500 a week and I don't know how anybody can do it to be quite honest. It just seems impossible. I don't smoke and I don't gamble and I have a semi regular social life. I love my holidays and that's what my money is spent on - that and my mortgage. Not a chance I could do any of the things I enjoy on minimum wage or slightly higher.

I think it was just in response to you saying how much Irish people loved to work.

The one I backed up with full employment during the boom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,407 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

Jesus how is this still open.

Before I answer that, answer me this.

How much milk do you drink per week? Choose your words carefully now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,575 ✭✭✭WhiteMemento9

Add actually having to do a day's work.

This is something no one generally likes to talk about as if it is a persons duty to society to work. Lets say I am €40 better off at the end of the week after expenses. For anyone doing a menial job with little prospects of progression or job satisfaction it is only natural that your mind wanders to the conclusion that you are essentially doing a 40 hour week for a €1 an hour.

The medical card has a far higher value than the amount of money it saves you from week to week. The kind of peace of mind that someone has from owning a medical card is something you can't really put a price on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,019 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Bambi985 wrote: »
    Honestly I could think of nothing worse than rushing to Tesco/Aldi/Lidl at stupid hours to bulk buy that discounted veg or salad or meat that's about to go off just to save a few quid. I'd rather buy my meat at Waitrose for a higher price but that will last longer and taste better, because otherwise I'm losing valued free time and not enjoying my food. So I guess it depends on your definition of "value".

Really? I can think of many worse things. Like having no food.. IF that were the way it is. I check reduced if I am already out shopping ..
    No time lost and I enjoy my food.

And the reduced stock is not "about to go off" .
    There are very strict sell by rules and the produce is sold well within the sell by dates.
    I did a 2 week shop yesterday and saved well over 16 euro by just checking what was reduced. All perfectly good food, far too good to throw out. Made stews that freeze, raw chickens in the freezer for the dog and cats. I do not eat meat anyways. Many of the vegetables are long keepers .

We live in a wasteful society. They bin food that others would need. tesco are starting to cop on to this as they do in other countries

Many of us have no choice . And that is fine too. You have a different choice is all. That is fine. By me ;)

<snip>

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,005 ✭✭✭pilly

There is a large percentage of people on the dole who are making zero effort to work that is a fact. I see many of them every single day hanging around taking and spending their day going between the pub and bookies. Then there is another cohort who pop out kids to increase their social welfare income and expect free houses.

As opposed to spending their days posting on boards?

I actually think it's laughable how so many people get wound up by someone stating how it's possible to live on very little and actually turn to personal attacks over it.

Disgusting behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Have you ever thought or considered that not everyone is cut out for college ? one guy I know who has learning difficulties is working in a certain supermarket a good number of years & seems happy to be in the job he,s in.

I know parents of under 10s who are already saving to send the kids to college. They see themselves as failing as parents if their children do not go to college. One I knew had 4 grown lads who were doing course after course with no jobs in mind and helping dad on the farm was beneath them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,691 ✭✭✭4ensic15

Graces7 wrote: »
    I know parents of under 10s who are already saving to send the kids to college. They see themselves as failing as parents if their children do not go to college. One I knew had 4 grown lads who were doing course after course with no jobs in mind and helping dad on the farm was beneath them.

It could be worse. Some parents don't save, and then there is no college even if the kids want it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,609 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

4ensic15 wrote: »
    It could be worse. Some parents don't save, and then there is no college even if the kids want it.

some parents cant save

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Graces7 wrote: »

My father worked day and night so he could afford a full education for his children. He never had much and he knew education was one way out of the poverty we were born in to. Thank God he did. It's no shame for four sons on a small Kerry farm to want to go a different route.

Graces7 wrote:

Absolutely. I've said it already, if everyone goes to college then qualifications become meaningless.

In fact it's happening already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,476 ✭✭✭neonsofa

4ensic15 wrote: »

Exactly, I don't see the harm in saving so that the kids have that option.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭r93kaey5p2izun

I don't know how families do it, I don't see how it could add up. Must be very tough. I know I as a single person could live on a fairly low income. I currently live on €260 per week because I'm saving and I think it's grand. But I would find the lack of security that comes with a low wage hard to cope with as I already find it difficult enough as it is in a much better position. The stress of that would really get to me.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,413 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

Can we move on from the whole Graces7 driving discussion discussion earlier? That includes you, Graces7.

It's got nothing to do with the topic. There won't be more warnings. And cut out the backseat moderation too please. Thanks.

Mod

My father worked day and night so he could afford a full education for his children. He never had much and he knew education was one way out of the poverty we were born in to. Thank God he did. It's no shame for four sons on a small Kerry farm to want to go a different route.

Same applies to my mother. I wouldn't be where I am without her. I think I'll actually call her and tell her that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Same applies to my mother. I wouldn't be where I am without her. I think I'll actually call her and tell her that.

Do that. My father died before any of us were grown and he never got to see how we fared and we never got to thank him. My mother was always proud and we made sure she benefitted from our success.

Call your Mother and just say thanks.

Education isn't the only answer but for us it was the only route to a decent livelihood at that time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 990 ✭✭✭cefh17

I'm sure she'll appreciate that :)

My parents put me through college fully, no grants or need for a part time job though I did have one when the opportunity arose. I'm deeply appreciative of that, and conscious of how lucky I was to be in that situation as much as college was a stress at times. Now I'm off on my own I do throw my parents money now and again, not that they'd ever ask but it's my way of saying thanks (as well as actually saying thanks!) for the sacrifices they made for me especially during college

Do that. My father died before any of us were grown and he never got to see how we fared and we never got to thank him. My mother was always proud and we made sure she benefitted from our success.

Call your Mother and just say thanks.

Education isn't the only answer but for us it was the only route to a decent livelihood at that time.

I'm sorry to hear that Edith Tart Thundercloud. My mother will benefit from my success too. I brought her over to England to see me recently and was happy to see me happy.

I will call her. It's not the only route to success but it's something I always wanted. She helped that.