Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

farmers journal farm

• 19-04-2017 9:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭

Just saw farmers journal have leased a farm. Will be interesting how this fits within its business and what is real objective

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,361 ✭✭✭tanko

Are the suckler herds in Derrypatrick and Athenry still on the go?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,573 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Bellview wrote: »
    Just saw farmers journal have leased a farm. Will be interesting how this fits within its business and what is real objective
    What type of enterprise?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

Base price wrote: »
    What type of enterprise?

It appears to be a demonstration farm with sucklers & sheep, where they will give a count of performance & show us how to run an efficient farm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

Sucklers and sheep.
    Gonna be interesting whatever happens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

tanko wrote: »
    Are the suckler herds in Derrypatrick and Athenry still on the go?

Ya. Badly tho. Athenry had a massive bill for mastitis related issues and derrypatrick had a large empty rate at scanning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 610 ✭✭✭The part time boy

Not sure how I feel about this . Does not sit well but I dunno why .

Probably cause I don't like there imparablety when it comes to the ifa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Ya it'll be interesting to see how its managed with beef and sheep. Its fierce handy for lads to let out weanlings in Feb when the ewes haven't to be fed even though there's only a small proportion of ewes to cattle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭bonaparte2

Fair play to them for trying. I hope it succeeds .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,573 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Farrell wrote: »
    It appears to be a demonstration farm with sucklers & sheep, where they will give a count of performance & show us how to run an efficient farm
    Ah will ye stop pulling me leg sure the Farm Centre doesn't do comedy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭Bellview

Ya. Badly tho. Athenry had a massive bill for mastitis related issues and derrypatrick had a large empty rate at scanning

Were derry Patrick using a lot of ai or was it just fertility

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,810 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Bellview wrote: »
    Were derry Patrick using a lot of ai or was it just fertility

I think it was BVD. Don't hear as much about derrypatrick since Athenry got going.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,177 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

I'm guessing it'll be covered in the paper itself this week, but I wonder if Teagasc has its nose out of joint with this new demo farm. Aren't they supposed to be the experts who report their results and tell farmers what to do?

Or are Teagasc "partners" in the venture? Along with others (Dawn, Kepak, etc.)???

If the Journal farm turns out to be independent, then it'll be good to have another voice out there (even if they are "on friendly terms" with the IFA).

As with everything, the devil will be in the detail; e.g. will they try to mimic existing farms (managing part-time, etc.) or will it be completely focused on output whatever the cost? Will they have advisors in place for farmers to access? Plenty questions to answer yet.

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Does anyone know the place? I don't, but I'm not convinced that the land is as they say, typical of that which most suckler farmers are working with!

I wonder will they have open days and if so, will there be an admission fee at the gate? Or perhaps admission with 10 IFJ newspaper header mastheads! :cool:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,810 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

I wonder did they get into GLAS on time?:D

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

And the owners are keeping the BPS..........they can come use my cabbage patch as a demo farm here anytime!! They could call it 'the out farm' or whatever else they want for that matter!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 607 ✭✭✭larthehar

For anyone on snapchat, the IFJ story is about this farm.. getting some insight into it..

blue5000 wrote:
    I wonder did they get into GLAS on time?

Need the skates on for genomics too

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,177 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

Muckit wrote: »
    Does anyone know the place? I don't, but I'm not convinced that the land is as they say, typical of that which most suckler farmers are working with!

It's next to the golf course up there according to the literature, So like yourself I'm not convinced either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

TITANIUM. wrote: »
    It's next to the golf course up there according to the literature, So like yourself I'm not convinced either.

It's very near the tullamore show ground and the ploughing site, Golf club wouldn't be great land.. it's peaty around there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

audited accounts by IFAC . That will hurt the bottom line :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭annubis

video up on youtube of the place, no more than athenry the land looks very good to me compared to alot of west of ireland sucker farms

annubis wrote: »
    video up on youtube of the place, no more than athenry the land looks very good to me compared to alot of west of ireland sucker farms

Ya just saw it there your right. It's 180 acres aswell so allot bigger than the average suckler farm. But they did say they needed it big enough to merit paying a full time manager in fairness.

All things considered tho I say fair play to them. It should be interesting, they didn't have to go out and do this. They claim that they are going to report on what they did wrong as well as right so it's hard to argue with that. Maybe we might learn something out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,235 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

Is this farm linked to the dealer column in the rag and brother of the recently retired senior inspector of the dept of ag for livestock inspections.

TITANIUM. wrote: »
    Ya just saw it there your right. It's 180 acres aswell so allot bigger than the average suckler farm. But they did say they needed it big enough to merit paying a full time manager in fairness.

All things considered tho I say fair play to them. It should be interesting, they didn't have to go out and do this. They claim that they are going to report on what they did wrong as well as right so it's hard to argue with that. Maybe we might learn something out of it.

IFJ give a lot back to farmers at events, etc, it was only a matter of time before they did something like this. Don't think there's any mixed grazing demonstration farm in the country, huge opportunity to cut costs on the 120 ewes on that farm while selling €20,000 worth of lambs
    As you say they need a proper farm to justify a manager....the average suckler farm is now becoming only a hobby/parttime job and be stupid to use as a model

Is this farm linked to the dealer column in the rag and brother of the recently retired senior inspector of the dept of ag for livestock inspections.

If it is, they didn't get a great rent for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,810 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Yeah rent is low enough. but as long as the family are happy.
    Great to see the trust between all with the 60 cows landed on the farm, a month before the lease was agreed and signed.

I presume from the story detail that the family kept over 20 acres out of the lease.

Water John wrote: »
    Yeah rent is low enough. but as long as the family are happy.
    Great to see the trust between all with the 60 cows landed on the farm, a month before the lease was agreed and signed.

I presume from the story detail that the family kept over 20 acres out of the lease.

To exercise the dogs.
    Only signed the lease on my place today and the manure and stock on the farm over a mth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭tractorporn

Muckit wrote:

rangler1 wrote:
    It's very near the tullamore show ground and the ploughing site, Golf club wouldn't be great land.. it's peaty around there

No matter how peaty it is it will not be within an asses roar of the land that the majority of West of Ireland suckler farmers are on. If they wanted land that was typical of suckler farmers they should have went to Boyle or Drumshanbo and had to take a fragmented farm with land in 5/6 different spots.

Best wishes on you retirement Rangler.

Water John wrote: »
    Best wishes on you retirement Rangler.

Only a third of the farm leased yet, still have to finish out this year,
    Also going to keep 10 acres to exercise the dogs

A couple of Piebalds and Skewbalds to keep the grass down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,101 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

No matter how peaty it is it will not be within an asses roar of the land that the majority of West of Ireland suckler farmers are on. If they wanted land that was typical of suckler farmers they should have went to Boyle or Drumshanbo and had to take a fragmented farm with land in 5/6 different spots.

Remember that not all suckler farmers are west of the Shannon.

What's typical in your parish isn't typical in another

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Cavanjack

And the owners are keeping the BPS..........they can come use my cabbage patch as a demo farm here anytime!! They could call it 'the out farm' or whatever else they want for that matter!
    There is a review of cap in 2019 is there not. I wonder will this effect non active farmers. They have leased their land for 15 years. It would be some blow to loose a chunk of their BPS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,180 ✭✭✭Who2

I often think people west of the Shannon think they are the only suckler farmers in ireland. I'd say it's a fair average when the rest of the country is included.

Cavanjack wrote: »
    There is a review of cap in 2019 is there not. I wonder will this effect non active farmers. They have leased their land for 15 years. It would be some blow to loose a chunk of their BPS.

Highly likely . And they locked In 140 acres until 2022.

This seems very foolish . They could loss bps in 2020 and only get 140 while the journal could get a new land based bps for been active farmer

Landlords shouldn't get BPS anyway, For a lease to be succesful there has to be some twist in it for both.
    I'm in the same position myself, you can't bring it with you and if no one is interested you just do the best you can. The tax free rent plus 20000 contributory pension for a couple plus whatever other pension you paid into means you won't starve.
    The BPS will be a bonus as long as it lasts

rangler1 wrote: »

Landlords shouldn't get BPS anyway, For a lease to be succesful there has to be some twist in it for both.
    I'm in the same position myself, you can't bring it with you and if no one is interested you just do the best you can. The tax free rent plus 20000 contributory pension for a couple plus whatever other pension you paid into means you won't starve.
    The BPS will be a bonus as long as it lasts

That's fair enough and I actally agree with you . However 140 seems a small bit low where the tenant is getting no bps. It going to be very very low if it naked land in 2020.

If i was the landlord I would be having a rent review in 2020 not 2022

That's fair enough and I actally agree with you . However 140 seems a small bit low where the tenant is getting no bps. It going to be very very low if it naked land in 2020.

He should've put it on the open market but the land will be minded, There's no doubt that the hope value of reference years set the high price of mine....if I can hold it there now for ten years it'll be a miracle but if the tenant gets my entitlements it'll sweeten it for him....he seems a good guy anyway

They not foolish. I'm sure they've thought about selling the entitlements or leasing them to journal if that scenario plays out. I doubt they'll go wasted anyways!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,004 ✭✭✭Green farmer

he seems a good guy anyway

Always makes it easier to have someone in that you can get along with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Cavanjack wrote: »
    There will be revisions in the ANC qualifying lands next year as well. It's looking like a lot of currently qualifying land will be locked out and some currently locked out may get in, depending on CAP funds post Brexit.

They not foolish. I'm sure they've thought about selling the entitlements or leasing them to journal if that scenario plays out. I doubt they'll go wasted anyways!

Wonder how they apparently kept the entitlements while leasing the land to the farmers journal....where are they going to claim on now,...must look in to that trick when i find out what it is

I'd expect that the animals or enough of them anyway are being transferred into there herd no. Or joint herd number.
    I know it's happening that way in allot of places.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭tractorporn

Not my parish but I just don't think that 180 acres of ex tillage land in one block is typical of most suckler farmers in the country.

I think it's a good idea, and wish them well it's about time we had someone else other than Teagasc doing some research.

Another popular way of it been done is the journal lease the land and entitlements and they hang over the bps money straight over .

If it's been done this way I still think it silly having a rent review in 2022 not 2020.

Land with entilments been kept by the landowner is making around 150 around here . I agree with ye that If its a good farmer taking it 140 is noproblem . In fact that's what I do .

Naked land around here can make from 250 to 300.

So if there doing it as a partnership then the land owner will probably keep a never version of bps as his still putting it through in his name .

Then review date make a sense . But if his name is not on the area aid form them more than likely to loss any future bps . So he could be lossing out on 160 euro . I don't care how good the tenant is . That a big discount

Is this the farm that was mentioned by charolais society at their agm as option for their own testing. .will be interesting to watch

Another popular way of it been done is the journal lease the land and entitlements and they hang over the bps money straight over .

If it's been done this way I still think it silly having a rent review in 2022 not 2020.

Land with entilments been kept by the landowner is making around 150 around here . I agree with ye that If its a good farmer taking it 140 is noproblem . In fact that's what I do .

Naked land around here can make from 250 to 300.

So if there doing it as a partnership then the land owner will probably keep a never version of bps as his still putting it through in his name .

Then review date make a sense . But if his name is not on the area aid form them more than likely to loss any future bps . So he could be lossing out on 160 euro . I don't care how good the tenant is . That a big discount

Not much point in having your name on the BPS when there isn't tenants that'll tolerate the landlords claiming it,
    With the numbers of farmers giving up and looking for tenants, taking the BPS from landlords might be the only way to keep young guys interested.
    Maybe it's because all my friends are trying to retire with no takers (among them two with 600 acre each), but I see big problems coming down the track.
    It's alright saying to keep the BPS away from the tenants until there is no tenants

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,355 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

Not much point in having your name on the BPS when there isn't tenants that'll tolerate the landlords claiming it,
    With the numbers of farmers giving up and looking for tenants, taking the BPS from landlords might be the only way to keep young guys interested.
    Maybe it's because all my friends are trying to retire with no takers (among them two with 600 acre each), but I see big problems coming down the track.
    It's alright saying to keep the BPS away from the tenants until there is no tenants

Tbh at this stage Rangler I'd happily give back the SFP if I could even get land to lease around me.
    Lot of land not utilised to its full potential around me and they get awful insulted if you ask would they lease any.
    And these are lads well past there prime with no successors.

Tbh at this stage Rangler I'd happily give back the SFP if I could even get land to lease around me.
    Lot of land not utilised to its full potential around me and they get awful insulted if you ask would they lease any.
    And these are lads well past there prime with no successors.

I'd say a few years will solve a lot of your problems, There's a lot of farms with no successors. Hope my tenant is hungry for more land next year,
    I'm farming 45 years now and I won't be looking to be involved from now on in order to keep my name on the BPS form....