Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Uneducated Garda at a checkpoint

• 16-04-2017 9:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭B00056718

Hi.
    Got stoped in a checkpoint today. No insurance disk in the window. I do have a policy and all the other disks in order. Showed him the picture of the current disk as well. not ideal I know.
    I'm on trade insurance and simply forgot to put the disk back in my own car when going up to the cinema with my missus. Foolish, I know.

Anyway. Explained this to Garda and even offered him to wait at the roadside until I organize for somebody else to bring the disc over as i was only 10 minutes away from home. He rejected the idea.

Then it starts: G=Garda M=Me
    G: So you're telling me you have a garage
    M: Yes
    G: Does your trade insurance covers your own car?
    M: Correct
    G: That's doesn't sound right
    M: It actually covers only the cars that me or my garage owns
    G: I'm even more confused now. Where are your trade plates.
    M: I don't have them. Never applied as they're not necessary really.
    G: Well who's going to pay the taxes then if you haven't got the plates?
    M: I give it to the accountant and....
    G: NO NO NO! Don't put the blame on someone else! (He was getting aggrevated at that point) When you open a garage, you have to have the trade plates!
    M: But the trade plates are there only if I want to have the car on the road temporarily without displaying the road tax disc.
    G: And to make sure you pay taxes!
    M: But I do pay taxes. I pay as an employee and my accountant does the self assessed tax return every year for me as a sole trader. And revenue have been happy with it for number of years now. Without having the trade plates.
    G: They're only happy because they don't know how much your'e earning

And this continued for a short time until I realized that I'm still in the wrong at that point in time for not displaying the disk. And the other fella was like a monkey with a grenade and I will be walking home soon.

So I promissed to make sure I'm compliant with the trade plates ASAP and I will produce my cert within 10 days.

The question is. Or two questions.
    1 Is he right about the trade plates? (I'm still convinced he isn't)
    2 Would you file a complaint?
    I wouldn't care much but my wife is actually pretty upset about the way he spoke. Very derogatory.

I have his badge number.

Thanks in advance and apologies for the long read.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

B00056718 wrote: »
    Hi.
    Got stoped in a checkpoint today. No insurance disk in the window. I do have a policy and all the other disks in order. Showed him the picture of the current disk as well. not ideal I know.
    I'm on trade insurance and simply forgot to put the disk back in my own car when going up to the cinema with my missus. Foolish, I know.

Anyway. Explained this to Garda and even offered him to wait at the roadside until I organize for somebody else to bring the disc over as i was only 10 minutes away from home. He rejected the idea.

Then it starts: G=Garda M=Me
    G: So you're telling me you have a garage
    M: Yes
    G: Does your trade insurance covers your own car?
    M: Correct
    G: That's doesn't sound right
    M: It actually covers only the cars that me or my garage owns
    G: I'm even more confused now. Where are your trade plates.
    M: I don't have them. Never applied as they're not necessary really.
    G: Well who's going to pay the taxes then if you haven't got the plates?
    M: I give it to the accountant and....
    G: NO NO NO! Don't put the blame on someone else! (He was getting aggrevated at that point) When you open a garage, you have to have the trade plates!
    M: But the trade plates are there only if I want to have the car on the road temporarily without displaying the road tax disc.
    G: And to make sure you pay taxes!
    M: But I do pay taxes. I pay as an employee and my accountant does the self assessed tax return every year for me as a sole trader. And revenue have been happy with it for number of years now. Without having the trade plates.
    G: They're only happy because they don't know how much your'e earning

And this continued for a short time until I realized that I'm still in the wrong at that point in time for not displaying the disk. And the other fella was like a monkey with a grenade and I will be walking home soon.

So I promissed to make sure I'm compliant with the trade plates ASAP and I will produce my cert within 10 days.

I wouldn't care much but my wife is actually pretty upset about the way he spoke. Very derogatory.

I have his badge number.

I'd let it go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭beechwood55

You were driving with no insurance disc displayed. Just do as he says and bring it to the station within 10 days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,708 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Would trade insurance though only be covering you in relation to your business? What business would you have been doing on Easter Sunday in relation to the car?

Did you have tax displayed on the car you were driving?

Does your trade insurance cover you for driving on your own time to the cinema? Or whatever other activities apart from work ? Or does the trade insurance cover you to drive while you are driving a car in the garage you work in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,813 ✭✭✭Wesser

In what way was he derogatory? Can you expand on this.

Calling him uneducated is slightly derogatory actually. How do you know he has more less education than you? You're not even 100 % sure if you are right.

Sounds to me like you're just not happy that you got caught. This is understandable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,895 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

It covers your personal car too for domestic use I would think

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,951 ✭✭✭SB_Part2

You were driving without your insurance disk, you're in the wrong.

And TBH you came across like more of a dick here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭Erik Shin

Garda had no need to discuss anything with you, you were completely in the wrong, it's not even open for discussion

It covers your personal car too for domestic use I would think

Trade insurance?
    Really?
    Do you have any proof that trade insurance will cover your own personal car on domestic activity?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭type85

Counter claim for ? The use of trade plates is very specific, for the delivery of a motor vehicle which is currently un-taxed and cannot be used by a mechanic for any old business such as parts pick-up etc. Ex it cannot be used on a recovery vehicle in-lieu of taxing it properly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,895 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

SB_Part2 wrote: »
    You were driving without your insurance disk, you're in the wrong.

And TBH you came across like more of a dick here.

Sounds to me like the cop wanted to be the cop the court and the judge, it's not his job to tell a driver his insurance is not right, how would he know what policy he has. Trouble with cops is they can't take being wrong, they take it so personal like little 5 years olds would. It's quite silly.
    They guy was insured, full stop. Cop had a problem with that, would rather he wasn't and questioned the insurance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,616 ✭✭✭grogi

Erik Shin wrote: »
    Garda had no need to discuss anything with you, you were completely in the wrong, it's not even open for discussion

No discussion would be professional. The op should have been asked to produce the proof in ten day and end of story.

However the Garda engaged into one, started being aggressive and making unnecessary comments about taxes and earnings. Completely out of the line.

bubblypop wrote: »
    Trade insurance?
    Really?
    Do you have any proof that trade insurance will cover your own personal car on domestic activity?
    Most trade policies cover trade and private, social and domestic purposes for the policy holder.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭Erik Shin

grogi wrote: »
    No discussion would be professional. The op should have been asked to produce the proof in ten day and end of story.

However the Garda engaged into one, started being aggressive and making unnecessary comments about taxes and earnings. Completely out of the line.

Says who ? Can't believe a word that is written in the OP sorry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,519 ✭✭✭Oafley Jones

Sounds to me like the cop wanted to be the cop the court and the judge, it's not his job to tell a driver his insurance is not right, how would he know what policy he has. Trouble with cops is they can't take being wrong, they take it so personal like little 5 years olds would. It's quite silly.
    They guy was insured, full stop. Cop had a problem with that, would rather he wasn't and questioned the insurance.

#MAGA

type85 wrote: »
    Most trade policies cover trade and private, social and domestic purposes for the policy holder.

And in a lot of cases covers named drivers too so long as the vehicle is registered to the policy hold and must not be registered to the named driver or there spouse

• Closed Accounts Posts: 615 ✭✭✭Boaty

Seeing that you thought you were right, I bet you had a right attitude and asking for his number backs up the idea.

But if the guard thinks there is no insurance than he can seize the car.
    So he is quite entitled to ask questions about the insurance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

Was the garda wearing his hat?

P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,493 ✭✭✭harr

Op offered to get the disc and show him..that would have ended the matter...op knew he was wrong driving without it hence he knew to shut up and agree with guard..honestly no need for The drawn out conversation especially about op Financial affairs..car was insured so asking to produce insurance cert within ten days should have been the end of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭B00056718

Ok. I admit I'm a bit upset that I got caught. But mostly at myself for forgetting the disc.

And I admit that calling him uneducated is a little derogatory but he was making uneducated assumptions that I wasn't paying my income tax which I always file on time.

The Tax and NCT are up to date and I offered to have the insurance disk brought to me while I'm in the checkpoint.

Also my insurance covers me for domestic use so no issue driving the car to the cinema on Sunday.

Deragotary as he wouldn't let me finish my sentences, would raise his voice and in general you could tell he had no time for me.

I was in no way smart and did my best to solve the issue. I'm also often complimented on being reserved and cool headed. Just this time I somehow feel uneasy about the whole thing.

Finally I do admit that I was in a wrong for not having the disk. Just feel that there was a little less agressive way out of it.

Thanks for your inputs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭jelutong

Pity we've only got one side of the story.

Ok. I admit I'm a bit upset that I got caught. But mostly at myself for forgetting the disc.

And I admit that calling him uneducated is a little derogatory but he was making uneducated assumptions that I wasn't paying my income tax which I always file on time.

The Tax and NCT are up to date and I offered to have the insurance disk brought to me while I'm in the checkpoint.

Also my insurance covers me for domestic use so no issue driving the car to the cinema on Sunday.

Deragotary as he wouldn't let me finish my sentences, would raise his voice and in general you could tell he had no time for me.

I was in no way smart and did my best to solve the issue. I'm also often complimented on being reserved and cool headed. Just this time I somehow feel uneasy about the whole thing.

Finally I do admit that I was in a wrong for not having the disk. Just feel that there was a little less agressive way out of it.

Thanks for your inputs.

The disk being present is not proof of insurance.
    The Garda is entitled to asked for the policy, as per the law.
    He is quite entitled to ask questions, that is his job after all

I honestly wasn't a dick at all.

Have been stopped many times. Never any issues.

I wasn't asking for his badge either. Just noticed the number on his shoulder.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,662 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

I'm no legal Eagle so take this as you want. The only thing you're obliged to do here is produce your cert. I'd just leave it at that. The Garda hasn't charged you with anything else regardless of what was said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,813 ✭✭✭Wesser

Talking over you and raising his voice is not derogatory
    It may be rude and it sounds like he is a bit nosey over your tax affairs but it is not derogatory. Or uneducated.

The disk being present is not proof of insurance.
    The Garda is entitled to asked for the policy, as per the law.
    He is quite entitled to ask questions, that is his job after all
    I could have the whole document brought up to me if needed.
    It's ok to ask the questions. But there's more than one way of doing so.

I'll let it go probably and forget about it. Time for a drink.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

Sometimes cops just like to have the banter and see where you bring them in a conversation.
    Especially if you're in the wrong ... then they know that no matter how wacky their questions or how frustrated you are.... you're still the joe schmo with no insurance disk displayed.
    Sure you could get someone to run up with the disc but I doubt any guard likes to be the one being kept waiting. You were the one being kept waiting and he was stalling for time talking 5hyte to show you that.
    Just let it go man.

I could have the whole document brought up to me if needed.
    It's ok to ask the questions. But there's more than one way of doing so.

I'll let it go probably and forget about it. Time for a drink.

I presume he gave you 10 days to produce?
    Just produce the cert.
    End of story

• Administrators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,907 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Big Bag of Chips

Maybe when you bring your cert to the station you could ask to speak to someone for clarification. Tell them this is what you have been doing for years, with regards the plates, and there was never any issue. Ask them if you need to change that now, and if not could they just clarify it with the guard in question.

No need for complaints or what not. A chat should sort it out.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 161 ✭✭Allah snackbar

jelutong wrote: »
    Pity we've only got one side of the story.

It's a discussion forum , should we not have any threads at all without input from both sides , maybe the poster could contact the guard and get him to register with boards and we can get both sides , it seems a silly remark to make about it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

Just produce the cert.
    End of story

It would be the end of the story but for the guard busting his balls over the trade plates. You only need them when the car is untaxed. If there is a valid tax disc displayed in the car, there's no need for them.

Just produce the cert.
    End of story

Yes. Ten days in a Garda station of my choice.
    I will do so and that will be that I agree.
    I have calmed down since. Guess typing it out helped.
    Just needed a shoulder to cry on. Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭tallaghtfornia

My Dad told me one thing when I started driving back in the 90s. if the Guards stop you no matter if you think you are right: Just say yes sir no problem sir and when they let you go just forget it you will never win with them.

Maybe when you bring your cert to the station you could ask to speak to someone for clarification. Tell them this is what you have been doing for years, with regards the plates, and there was never any issue. Ask them if you need to change that now, and if not could they just clarify it with the guard in question.

No need for complaints or what not. A chat should sort it out.

It probably would. And I bet that if I met the same Garda tomorrow he wouldn't speak the same way to me. I don't think it was personal. Being on a shift on Easter Sunday must be annoying too.
    I know I don't need the trade plates. And I'm not really prepared to waste my time complaining.
    I guess I just needed to tell someone. Or rant:)

I kind of regret the choice of the thread name. Is there a way to edit it?

pablo128 wrote: »
    It would be the end of the story but for the guard busting his balls over the trade plates. You only need them when the car is untaxed. If there is a valid tax disc displayed in the car, there's no need for them.

Oh, so you don't think the guards should do their job?
    Let's just imagine you were in a RTC with an uninsured driver who had earlier been stopped at a Garda checkpoint?
    Who have you a problem with now??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

Posts from serial re-regger removed

In future, please don't feed the troll

dudara

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

I have his badge number.

1. No he was wrong.
    2. Why? He asked you some questions but obviously didn't understand fully what trade insurance is but he's not supposed to be fully aware of every single type of insurance and how they differ. He just has to ensure you have insurance and it covers you for the type of vehicle
    your in. Tell your wife to get over herself and be happy that she hasn't got any real worries like many other people when silly trivial little things like that upset her :rolls eyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,074 ✭✭✭skibum

You finally realised you came across as beeing a bit of a twat while the cop was just doing his job...
    I'm no fecking saint, had my own run ins over the years, but always try to have nct, tax and ins window certs in order...😎

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,697 ✭✭✭goochy

You call him uneducated? I am no fan of the guards but there's things I would call you and they are not pleasant. Imagine you came across bad.

1. No he was wrong.
    2. Why? He asked you some questions but obviously didn't understand fully what trade insurance is but he's not supposed to be fully aware of every single type of insurance and how they differ. He just has to ensure you have insurance and it covers you for the type of vehicle
    your in. Tell your wife to get over herself and be happy that she hasn't got any real worries like many other people when silly trivial little things like that upset her :rolls eyes:
    She's over it. It was his statement that I wasn't declaring my income tax and the way he spoke that had me wound up.
    I'll pass the message anyway. Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,358 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

How about, 'Tried to be a smart ass with a guard today but he was having none of it' ?

But I wasn't. I even talked through my self assessed tax return and other details that were not relevant to the problem of missing disc.
    I was also calm and at the end agreed that I might need the trade plates. Not sure why you think I was being smart ass.
    I was very calm and willing to have it all in order as soon as possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 138 ✭✭SGSM

Cannot stand posters who turn the tables on an OP and attack them over basically nothing. Would ye just answer his question.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭Mark Tapley

Jesus OP you should have just told your friends what happened. Hopefully you would have got responses from people not living in a guards rectum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,546 ✭✭✭An Ri rua

1. No he was wrong. 2. Why? He asked you some questions but obviously didn't understand fully what trade insurance is but he's not supposed to be fully aware of every single type of insurance and how they differ. He just has to ensure you have insurance and it covers you for the type of vehicle your in. Tell your wife to get over herself and be happy that she hasn't got any real worries like many other people when silly trivial little things like that upset her :rolls eyes:

That's a bit beyond the pale. You're bang out of order discussing a man's wife like that. If she's any sort of a lady, and law abiding (and the poster seems quite reserved, just a little smarting over the incident, but a person who reflects and thinks better of someone (wants the thread title amended), then the lady could VERY WELL be aggrieved at being questioned by a Garda. Don't ridicule people just because they're of a gentler ilk. Live and let live.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,585 ✭✭✭jca

Yes. Ten days in a Garda station of my choice.
    I will do so and that will be that I agree.
    I have calmed down since. Guess typing it out helped.
    Just needed a shoulder to cry on. Thanks

Make sure it's noted in the book in the station, he sounds like the kind of fcuker who'd love to do you for something. Nice to see Templemore are still producing 'em

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,951 ✭✭✭SB_Part2

But I wasn't. I even talked through my self assessed tax return and other details that were not relevant to the problem of missing disc.
    I was also calm and at the end agreed that I might need the trade plates. Not sure why you think I was being smart ass.
    I was very calm and willing to have it all in order as soon as possible.

You are aware you are in the wrong by not displaying your disk, yes? Offering to get someone to bring it doesn't really make this any different. It's your responsibility to ensure they are displayed.