Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BANGERNOMICS (sub2k) of the week/day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 frugzy

kupus wrote: »
    cant fault it, looks good. You made use of all pictures wisely, which is a bugbear of mine.
    You have 10 photo opportunities to showcase your car.
    And a lot of people use that to take the darkest photo on the wettest cloudy overcast day possible.....in a fcukin lake.
    drives me up the wall.

you say you have full service regularly. Do you have the paperwork that goes with that.
    If so mention it in the ad, and any other work that was done, that you have paperwork for.

GLWS

Thanks a million for the advice! Sold tonight for near enough the asking price. I'm delighted but heartbroken at the same time :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,232 ✭✭✭marklazarcovic

JKerova1 wrote: »
    He was right actually as I rang about it. The flywheel is going on it and the power steering is squealing too...prob a few grand in repairs there.

Annoys the fcuk outa me when they mention nothing if that in the ad

Asking price puts it over budget (€2475) but it's taxed until end of Sep and is LPG equipped..........

http://www.damagedcarsales.com/full.php?carid=3084&imgn=image

resizer.php?imgfile=fAvYkLimage-0-02-04-6f5d4bb9b256072efcd9358be9267905caa7970b7493700c4ebd6d5b30321843-V.jpg&w=579&h=434

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,900 ✭✭✭✭bear1

I'd be curious as to why it's being sold on a damaged car sales website.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,974 ✭✭✭tinofapples

Augeo wrote: »
    Asking price puts it over budget (€2475) but it's taxed until end of Sep and is LPG equipped..........

http://www.damagedcarsales.com/full.php?carid=3084&imgn=image

resizer.php?imgfile=fAvYkLimage-0-02-04-6f5d4bb9b256072efcd9358be9267905caa7970b7493700c4ebd6d5b30321843-V.jpg&w=579&h=434

Same "seller" has a 2008 95 well in budget with nct and tax :

resizer.php?imgfile=T5vhX2image-0-02-04-035f91aa08c09e0011a8309a3058e38674abdae762cf5b9eaa7fe41285fd631b-V.jpg&w=579&h=434

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,922 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Same "seller" has a 2008 95 well in budget with nct and tax :

resizer.php?imgfile=T5vhX2image-0-02-04-035f91aa08c09e0011a8309a3058e38674abdae762cf5b9eaa7fe41285fd631b-V.jpg&w=579&h=434

does that saab seem too cheap?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,045 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Well his camera certainly is...

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

bear1 wrote: »

Site says they specialise in the sale of modern motor salvage............ as with most motor trade folk he'd probably take trade ins etc.

Dunno tbh.

Was jsut looking for LPG ish stuff this morning to amuse myself and came across it.

The adds detail is there damage or not, "no damage" suggests it's just a normal 2nd hand car for sale, IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

bear1 wrote: »

I think they may need to drop that word from the name. Can't be good for business. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 315 ✭✭Teddington Cuddlesworth

It does. Not much info on it on their eloquently named website.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 Kruganomics

Posted a thread about buying a second car (the wife is going back to work) for sub 5k. Found very little value around that price range so am now thinking of going the Bangernomics route. So far I've found these:

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/bmw-3-series-320-e46-cd-2dr-a/16004567

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/jaguar-s-type-2-5-v6-luxury/14473639

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/mercedes-e200-automatic-nct-4-18-nice-car/15989208

Kind of leaning towards the S-type, the tax is killer but it looks like great fun to drive. Also from a dealer which gives a little recourse. Is this a good example or has anyone seen any better out there?

Also from left field are these 2:

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/volvo-xc90-2-4-diesel-d5-awd-7-seater/16080315

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/toyota-mr2-convertible-6-months-tax-nct/15960989

Not usually keen on SUVs but this looks a tidy number.

MR2 looks tidy, far away but I'm in Roscommon occasionally so might have a look if its still there next time I'm down. I see it's been up a while and dropped in price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭nd

Another of my yokes. 03 Clio

I've just fitted a new clutch and timing belt. Nct to Apr. 18. Asking 800 or so.

ZTU1NTcwNjM4NTUwMmYzYzY3NzA2NmU1ZDI3NzdkOWQHPO-S-OuIylaz5MX1Xlh6aHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b183Nzg2NDc3OHx8fDYwMHg2MDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg
    https://www.donedeal.ie/adview/view/16119209

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 551 ✭✭✭CiboC

Kind of leaning towards the S-type, the tax is killer but it looks like great fun to drive. Also from a dealer which gives a little recourse. Is this a good example or has anyone seen any better out there?

Yes, mine!

Going to be putting it up soon - same colour, much higher spec, 3.0 V6 (yes, tax, I know...!), 2005, lower mileage (138000 km), service history, NCT to April 18.

I would hope for a bit more than the 2k territory though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

Not a bangernomics car with no nct and a worn clutch/flywheel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭johndaman66

JohnBoy26 wrote: »
    Not a bangernomics car with no nct and a worn clutch/flywheel

Plus it is the report that is received after going through the NCT that shows it to "fly" through it. Other than that its pointless speculation.

This looks pretty clean and well minded to me but think it may have being in here before somethings telling me. Here goes anyway in case it wasn't...
    https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/toyota-corolla-1-4-luna-nct-05-18/16193906
    00' Corolla 1.4 4dr;
    155k miles;
    NCT 05/18.

People attack these VVTI engines for their excessive oil consumption but on the basis of having owned 3 of them they have not being bad in my experience. You will have to be prepared to keep an eye on it as you should with any car and top it up from time to time but nothing overly excessive.

My bad, I'm a noob :o

What about this? Seems cheap and low miles. Nct till Jan, prob out of tax though.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/jaguar-s-type/15858840

or this?

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2005-bmw-316-1-8-nct-and-taxed/16118261

Looks good value if they have paperwork for all the 'New' stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭johndaman66

^^ Both very good finds. wink.png

Running costs will mean that the Jaguar in particular is not for everyone. It does seem to be in good order as I can see from the photos, low mileage and seems a decent spec. If its the kind of car that floats someone's boat and they can afford to run it then it looks to be a very decent find to me!

No doubt the motoring purists will soon let you know that you need something more special in the BMW than that 1.8! However, as an everyday car that looks to be a terrific find. Looks in great order in so far as I can see. If is is mint as the seller describes; has that fsh; and has a lashing of motor tax thrown in I would say its almost a giveaway at under a grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,176 ✭✭✭Top Dog

Maybe I'm being unfairly suspicious - but does 1900 for a '07 Jag with a decent bit of test not seem a little too good to be true, or do these X-Types really depreciate like rocks?

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/jaguar-2-2d-sport-nct-02-2018/16152285

YTMzMjg3Y2ZlMzZjY2Q2NDRlMDFhNTZhZTU0ZjY1MDZVd22MV_nduvDRhYIOwEeqaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b183ODA5MTY3NHx8fDYwMHg2MDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

They are nothing special tbh now.

10 years old, outdated shape and interior, limited market etc.

Most of the ones I have seen weren't equipped to a proper Jaguar/premium brand level tbh.

Mondeo in disguise I was told ;)

There are some on Donedeal for 4-5k, but I doubt anyone will pay that much for this model.

Why would someone put €1200 into a car only to put it up for sale for €1900 a month later is what makes me suspicious in this case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,176 ✭✭✭Top Dog

wonski wrote: »
    Why would someone put €1200 into a car only to put it up for sale for €1900 a month later is what makes me suspicious in this case.
    Could simply be looking to recoup their costs and move on I guess.

I expanded my search and found XF's under 5k - mental!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

Top Dog wrote: »
    Could simply be looking to recoup their costs and move on I guess.

I expanded my search and found XF's under 5k - mental!

I could be wrong, but advertising it up for sale for €1900 you can end up with offers of €1500.

Very close to giving it away for free. I wouldn't put that much money to be sitting in the driveway. You might be right, though. Better to have 200-500 in your pocket than scrapping it for peanuts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,475 ✭✭✭vandriver

wonski wrote: »
    I could be wrong, but advertising it up for sale for €1900 you can end up with offers of €1500.

Very close to giving it away for free. I wouldn't put that much money to be sitting in the driveway. You might be right, though. Better to have 200-500 in your pocket than scrapping it for peanuts.
    He doesn't say that he spent the 1200 on it .He appears to be a small time dealer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,974 ✭✭✭tinofapples

He's economical with the truth:
    body in perfect condition

from one of his other ad's :

MWFkM2U5NGMwYzQ1NDlkOTBkZmJmNTg3MjEyMzIwZGWfl8nIcJWV9mTna0hgM9VIaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b183ODMzNzUxOXx8fDYwMHg2MDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭Gravelly

He's economical with the truth:

from one of his other ad's :

MWFkM2U5NGMwYzQ1NDlkOTBkZmJmNTg3MjEyMzIwZGWfl8nIcJWV9mTna0hgM9VIaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b183ODMzNzUxOXx8fDYwMHg2MDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

He meant "body in perfect condition, if you look at it from the front, late in the evening when the sun is low and in your eyes"

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,367 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

Maybe he's talking about himself and not the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭Gravelly

Whoever owned it must have had a habit of backing up to the trailer at around 50 mph.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,096 ✭✭✭W123-80's

Possibly a little ambitious with the asking, but if it all checks out it looks a very decent lugger for the family.
    '03 Rav 4 Estate
    63k miles
    Nice colour and wheels combo.
    Owned by the much sought after 'retired doctor'..!!
    Test May '18
    Asking €1,999

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/03-rav-4-automatic-ncted-till-2018-low-milage/15735881

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

This looks a bit cheap?

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/ford-focus-estate/15868236

2006 Focus Estate, 145k km, 2 owners, NCT 06/18 - €1,250

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,546 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

1.8 FFV, supposed to be hard enough on juice.
    LX spec is yukky too.