Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Roadside drug tests from tonight.

• 12-04-2017 12:35pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭

Tests for cannabis cocaine and other substances to be tested from tonight at midnight at Roadside checks.

I've checked to see if their is limits set like the other drug alcohol.
    I didn't find anything only a few pictures of Shane Ross and the gardai.

Its a half hearted effort with no information so people who indulge in recreational drugs to know where they stand, say at the weekend.

Yes I know they're illegal some of them, and no I don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

They'll have a million done by wednesday week:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

Smoking a spliff?
    Know the one that's one too much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

It will be interesting to see if they're actually testing for people being under the influence of drugs or whether it's just going to show them who's used drugs in the past two days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

They'll have a million done by wednesday week:D

Your wrong they have already run out of 500,000 swabs they used so many already;-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭Bejubby

ScumLord wrote: »
    It will be interesting to see if they're actually testing for people being under the influence of drugs or whether it's just going to show them who's used drugs in the past two days.

Ye, just say u smoked 2 nights ago and ur tested and it shows up, what then like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 906 ✭✭✭big syke

Bejubby wrote: »
    Tests for cannabis cocaine and other substances to be tested from tonight at midnight at Roadside checks.

Its a half hearted effort with no information so people who indulge in recreational drugs to know where they stand, say at the weekend.

Probably similar to the UK.

"If a driver tests positive for having more than 2µg of Delta-9-tetrahydrocannibinol, or THC (the active compound found in cannabis), per 100ml of blood, then this is considered a positive test"

http://www.forsterdean.co.uk/cannabis-driving-limit/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

For cocaine the limit is zero.
    Hope that helps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

Ye, just say u smoked 2 nights ago and ur tested and it shows up, what then like?

Interestingly there is no crime of using drugs. Only of possessing them or supplying them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,157 ✭✭✭srsly78

The offense should be impairment, not just having it in your blood. These rules are fscking idiotic, you could be in amsterdam having a smoke one week - then get tested back home and fail the next week. This stuff stays in your system for a long time (months in some cases) - but the impairing effect wears off in hours.

People will be prosecuted when they are not actually intoxicated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

biko wrote: »
    For cocaine the limit is zero.
    Hope that helps

Would codeine show???

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

big syke wrote: »

"If a driver tests positive for having more than 2µg of Delta-9-tetrahydrocannibinol, or THC (the active compound found in cannabis), per 100ml of blood, then this is considered a positive test"

What happens is you were in the USA or Amsterdam and smoked some herb legally and were pulled a day or two after your return and it found to be in your system?

I'd imagine the limits for driving with ILLEGAL drugs in your system is zero!
    Legal drugs probably different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

From Big Sykes link

"Most groups agree that any intentional use is likely to mean that a person is over the limit for at least a period of 10 hours, in the case of saliva roadside testing. Heavy users are more likely to be over the limit for a longer period of time."

That's about in line with alcohol, which isn't to bad. I think the government could be shocked by the numbers under the influences of cannabis if the test will pick up cannabis used in the last 24 hours.

bubblypop wrote: »
    I'd imagine the limits for driving with ILLEGAL drugs in your system is zero!
    Legal drugs probably different.

How does the test differentiate between heroin and that poppy seed bagel you just ate? IT DOESN'T.

jonnycivic wrote: »
    What happens is you were in the USA or Amsterdam and smoked some herb legally and were pulled a day or two after your return and it found to be in your system?

No idea!!

Stupid rule and should be based on impairment tests coupled with this DrÀger DrugTest 5000.

Common sense should prevail but alas this is Ireland

srsly78 wrote: »
    How does the test differentiate between heroin and that poppy seed bagel you just ate? IT DOESN'T.

Only if you eat around 40 grams worth of poppy seeds.

How many bagels would that be?:confused:

big syke wrote: »

Good read but we need to see the Irish rule on that.
    And people need to to know, cause if u get a ban for 1 year we'll say, it could have massive implications for somebody with mortgages etc etc, over something consumed a few days ago.

Good excuse though for making a long weekend over not knowing if you are over a limit.

Really?

Yes really. If you set a limit of ZERO for the chemical in question you would catch both heroin users and bagel afficionados. Poppys are the source of heroin etc.

Similarly for codeine and other prescription drugs.

For this reason having a limit of zero for anything is really dumb.

Must disagree, alcohol limit should be zero also

Your goal is admirable, but your suggested execution flawed. In reality having zero alcohol in your system may prove difficult, even for a teetotaler. Mouthwash and other items could cause false positives for example. There will always be trace amounts of something present if your test is sensitive enough.

To avoid these stupid false positives there has to be a sensible limit (greater than zero). Think about this from a scientific point of view rather than an emotional one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,035 ✭✭✭SteM

Classic boardsie move of asking a question, answering it yourself in CAPITALS and being wrong. All in the same post :pac:

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

Your goal is admirable, but your suggested execution flawed. In reality having zero alcohol in your system may prove difficult, even for a teetotaler. Mouthwash and other items could cause false positives for example. There will always be trace amounts of something present if your test is sensitive enough.

To avoid these stupid false positives there has to be a sensible limit (greater than zero). Think about this from a scientific point of view rather than an emotional one.

Also if you eat a meal out there could be traces of alcohol in the food which you have now consumed and cause a big stupid mess with a zero limit.

Mouthwash etc will not put you over limits for driving. You may fail a roadside breath test ( unlikely) but you will not fail the legal test done in a station.

That isn't relevant. This is in the context of your proposed ZERO alcohol limit, and why it's a terrible idea. Same argument applies to everything else like bagels etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

SteM wrote: »
    Classic boardsie move of asking a question, answering it yourself in CAPITALS and being wrong. All in the same post :pac:
    Technique previously used by FAI supremo John Delaney in an interview.
    "Am I doing a good job?" "Yes, I am"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,735 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Jaysus they will have a field day after events like Life festival, Body & Soul and Electric Picnic or any music festival for that matter.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭Really Interested

The amount of rubbish on this thread.

Here is the Act

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/eli/2016/act/21/section/8/enacted/en/html#sec8

As people can see there is limits it is not an offence once the blood test records limits below those listed for example Benzoylecgonine (Cocaine)

50ng/ml

Of course the offence of impaired driving remains once Drink or drugs shown to be reason for impaired driving

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Doesn't affect me so I'm not bothered

Jaysus they will have a field day after events like Life festival, Body & Soul and Electric Picnic or any music festival for that matter.

Only if a person is driving through the crowd. Of course expect check points on all roads leading away, but the saliva test must be followed by arrest and station blood test.

Also note they don't seem to have limits for acid/ecstacy/mephedrone etc so maybe those aren't tested for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭me_irl

Doesn't affect me so I'm not bothered

Me either.

Eating popcorn, enjoying the paranoia.

Suppose that's a side-effect isn't it?

Also note they don't seem to have limits for acid/ecstacy/mephedrone etc so maybe those aren't tested for.

Such drugs remain illegal once the blood or urine test shows they in system together with evidence of impaired driving.

so you can drive off your face on acid/pills :pac:

Surely they would add limits in for the other listed drugs.

so you can drive off your face on acid/pills :pac:

Surely they would add limits in for the other listed drugs.

No it is just harder to get a conviction as it is with prescription drugs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

As far as I can make out they're not gonna be testing for stuff like THC levels.

They're testing for a metabolite in the saliva that remains for around 12 hours after you've smoked a joint

As far as I can make out they're not gonna be testing for stuff like THC levels.

They're testing for a metabolite in the saliva that remains for around 12 hours after you've smoked a joint

Totz from what I seen previous to this the 12hour odd estimate is for someone that smokes one the odd time. If you are in anyway regular you will have it there for a lot longer than 12hours. I must have a look for that link again when I get home.

I posted the act, they will test at Road side if positive then arrest taken to station blood sample test for example 11-nor-9-carboxy-Δ9-tetrahydrocannabinol (Cannabis)

5ng/ml is the limit. Under that ok over that then possible conviction.

Totz from what I seen previous to this the 12hour odd estimate is for someone that smokes one the odd time. If you are in anyway regular you will have it there for a lot longer than 12hours. I must have a look for that link again when I get home.

It can last for months because thc gets absorbed by fat cells and slowly released over time.

Are you saying that months after a smoke a person will test above 5ng/l of blood?

If you were a regular heavy smoker then yes it could stay there for days at least, not sure about months but it is a good bit longer than the 12 hours.

Just like drink if you drink every day to excess then you may never be under the limits for drink. So law does not seem to be different to what has existed for years.

Not necessarily: I am saying that trace amounts get released over time into the blood stream. The exact amounts released depend on many factors, would have to look at studies.

So law does not seem to be different to what has existed for years.

The law hasnt existed for years tho, its only coming into force :pac:

Not necessarily: I am saying that trace amounts get released over time into the blood stream. The exact amounts released depend on many factors, would have to look at studies.

I would be interested to see any study which shows after time a blood test will exceed 5ng/l.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭Allinall

If you're a regular heavy smoker, then you probably shouldn't be driving anyway .

I would be interested to see any study which shows after time a blood test will exceed 5ng/l.

Why not go have a look online for such a study then? If you find it please link to it as I wouldnt mind having a look tbh.

The reason I said I was interested is because I have for last week looked for exactly that and not found any study yet that makes that claim.

I posted the act, they will test at Road side if positive then arrest taken to station blood sample test for example 11-nor-9-carboxy-Δ9-tetrahydrocannabinol (Cannabis)

5ng/ml is the limit. Under that ok over that then possible conviction.

OK, so what is 5ng/ml.
    Like people know a half pint etc.

There's nothing on other recreational drugs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,388 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

It's very important that tests for driving under the influence of drugs (worse imo than alcohol) are used and enforced properly but there should be clear guidelines so that people know if they are good to drive or not. Otherwise you just end up with a situation where people will disregard and have no respect for the law.