Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Significant Development in Trevor Deely Case(No Speculation)

• 05-04-2017 12:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭

There was a very interesting thread about this a few months ago which seems to have vanished.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2017/0405/865418-trevor-deely/
    Gardaí are trying to identify a man who spoke to Trevor Deely shortly before he went missing in Dublin in December 2000.

Investigators have discovered new information in the the case of the 22-year-old who disappeared more than 16 years ago.

Mr Deely, from Naas in Co Kildare, was last seen walking home from a Christmas party in the city centre in the early hours of 8 December 2000.

RTÉ News has learned that gardaí have discovered that the man they are now trying to trace waited outside Mr Deely's workplace in the early hours of that morning.

The new development, which gardaí believe is significant came about as a result of technological advances in the examination of CCTV footage.

The Deely family are to make a new appeal for help in tracing this man later this week.

Detectives at Pearse Street Garda Station in Dublin never closed the file on the disappearance and hope this new information will lead to a breakthrough in the case.

Mr Deely worked in Bank of Ireland Asset Management in Dublin and was last seen walking down Haddington Road, close to Baggot Street Bridge, after the office Christmas party at 4.14am on 8 December 2000.

Numerous appeals for information over the years failed to establish what happened to him.

Last December gardaí began a "cold case review", which included reviewing the evidence gathered, re-interviewing witnesses and looking again at CCTV footage gathered as part of the original investigation.

Trevor Deely was last seen on CCTV as he walked home on 8 December 2000
    Some of that material, VHS footage taken from outside Bank of Ireland Asset Management on the night he disappeared, was recently sent to the UK to be forensically enhanced.

RTÉ News has learned that this footage shows a man standing outside the bank's office in the early hours of 8 December 2000 apparently waiting for Mr Deely to turn up.

Mr Deely arrives following the Christmas party, just before 3.30am, and is seen speaking briefly to the man before he goes into the office where he meets a colleague and has a cup of tea.

The man is seen waiting outside in the rain for a short time before crossing the road.

When Mr Deely leaves the building after 4am a man, possibly the same man, follows him.

The last image of Mr Deely is of him walking down Haddington Road under an umbrella he got from the office. He has not been seen since.

Mr Deely had reportedly been in great form that night. He had phoned his best friend and told him he had a great night and would talk to him later but that was the last anyone heard from him.

Gardaí are now seeking to identify and interview the man seen waiting outside Mr Deely's office that night.

They are also due to issue a new appeal for witnesses or anyone with information to contact them

The Deely family have been informed of this development and have already said the fact that the footage was sent to the UK for enhancement had given them "renewed hope".

They will also appear at a Garda Crimestoppers Press Conference on Friday

Still seems a long way from resolution and I'm sure there has been appeals about this other person before now

MOD
    I'm adding a 3 parter from the Irish Times that goes into details about the movements and circumstances around the night in question.
    This gets mentioned frequently in the thread.

Part 1: http://www.irishtimes.com/life-and-s...rt-1-1.2120358

Part 2: http://www.irishtimes.com/life-and-s...arch-1.2119911

Part 3: http://www.irishtimes.com/life-and-s...loss-1.2119923

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,506 ✭✭✭harr

Hardly significant unfortunately ...this info has been known for a long time..detectives have asked for this person to come forward before and has been discussed at length on boards before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,898 ✭✭✭statto25

Wasn't it the case that Detectives knew Trevor spoke to a man, but didn't know the man had waited for him. There seems to be an implication that they knew each other and it wasn't just a passing conversation between 2 strangers...just my thoughts. I hope someone comes forward but Ive a feeling it will come to nothing.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,248 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Can you really pop into the office at 3am for a cup of tea?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭mrsdewinter

Listening to the News at One there, it feels like the 'new' element of the story is that the guards have had access to technology that enhanced old CCTV images, so there's a greater chance of the man Trevor spoke to being recognisable.
    Also, the images won't be released until later in the week.
    They're just letting us know now, like, that they have the images.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Thread Closed
    There was a thread on this previsously that was closed until anything new was available in the case.
    If there is something new released later in the week, we can open then.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

I'm re-opening this thread as there has been new footage released and enhanced footage of Trevor that night.

Can I ask that this thread is kept on topic without speculation.
    A fresh appeal is being made in the case today. Trevor went missing after attending a Christmas party on 8 December 2000, and was last spotted on CCTV footage which showed him crossing Baggot Street Bridge and walking towards Haddington Road in Dublin city centre.

Details of the new CCTV were reported earlier this week, although the footage has only been published today. Forensically enhanced VHS footage taken from outside Trevor’s office at Bank of Ireland Asset Management on Leeson Street shows him meeting a man.

Trevor arrives just before 3.30am, speaks briefly to the man and goes into his office for a cup of tea with a colleague. The man, who has never come forward, is seen waiting for a short time before crossing the road.

Trevor leaves the office around 4am, when someone – possibly the same man – follows him. He was last seen at 4.14am walking under an umbrella. He spoke by phone with a friend, telling them what a good night he had. He has not been seen since.

http://www.thejournal.ie/cctv-trevor-deely-3328673-Apr2017/?utm_source=shortlink

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭malarkus

Thats chilling footage. Its hard not to speculate but it does appear the 'man in black' stopped, checked then waited for Trevor to pass before following him. If its the same guy in all three clips he's waited 1hr10min in the rain while following Trevor. That to me points to a very sinister angle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭macnug

Anybody know where he was actually going? I know he was going home but where did he live? I lived in the area at the time but I cant remember what I was doing on the night, pity the CCTV wasn't better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,506 ✭✭✭harr

malarkus wrote: »
    Thats chilling footage. Its hard not to speculate but it does appear the 'man in black' stopped, checked then waited for Trevor to pass before following him. If its the same guy in all three clips he's waited 1hr10min in the rain while following Trevor. That to me points to a very sinister angle.
    Trevor doesn't seem to know him...as he walked right past him,then the man in black jacket followed him and waited till he reappeared and again followed him.
    Unfortunately it does look sinister..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Parchment

harr wrote: »
    Trevor doesn't seem to know him...as he walked right past him,then the man in black jacket followed him and waited till he reappeared and again followed him.
    Unfortunately it does look sinister..

It looks like Trevor only spoke to him at the gate as the guy was so close to him...he kind of had to acknowledge him and you can see he is careful to close the gate after him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,044 ✭✭✭Wabbit Ears

MarkR wrote: »
    Can you really pop into the office at 3am for a cup of tea?

Thats not a thing people do normally. You dont ring your mate at 3 am after the office party to goto the office for a cup of tea. Thats just not a believeable story.

Maybe not for you, but if I was walking past my office in lashing rain and I was drunk I would see no problem going inside to grab a brolly and cuppa tea if I had 24hr access.

As for the interaction at the gate, it reminds me of being at an ATM and someone asks for change. You dont know them but you are decent enough to speak a few words. I dont think he knew the guy since he walked past him full stride moments earlier.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Parchment

Im pretty sure this has been thrashed out before and it was something like a friend did the night shift for Trevor so he could go to the work night out or something like that. Then Trevor was passing, wanted an umbrella and i guess to fill his friend, who did a turn for him, in on the nights gossip. Seems normal enough to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

I think it is believable. He had just been to see some girl in Alaska. It was lashing rain. So why not pop in to the office to see if she had sent him an email and get an umbrella. Get a cup of tea to help sober up before the walk home.
    Most people did not have internet at home in those days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,779 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

What I see is somebody arrive at a gateway at 03.05. The footage cuts to over 25 minutes later and the man is still there (did he stay there the whole time?). Then Trevor walks past at 03.34.15 on that security camera timestamp. It doesn't look like they interact much. A few second later he goes in the same direction as Trevor.

Then it cuts to a gate at the BOI Building on Leeson Street. The timestamp is actually some seconds earlier than the time the previous one ended - so it's hard to say how much later Trevor arrives at the gate (because I don't know where that gateway is that the man originally waited at). Here, it looks like the man arrives at the gate a few seconds before Trevor. Trevor converses briefly with the man, before letting himself in through the gate. We don't see the man leave as the footage cuts off.

Then it cuts to 04.01, and Trevor lets himself out through the gate. The man is not visible in the footage. Trevor walks off at 04.03.

The next footage is at 04.14, with Trevor walking down the street, followed about 20 seconds later by a person - who may or may not be the man that Trevor interacted with earlier.

My first reaction is that they don't look like the same person. The second person seems a bit less broad, a bit slighter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

What line of work was he in?
    I've popped into the office before at that time on occasion, one, to get earphones, once to get my spare house keys in my desk.

I've also popped in (sober) from a night out when a friend was doing a once off night shift, said I'd shoot the breeze with her for 30 minutes.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,043 ✭✭✭me_right_one

Another thing is, maybe he was just trying to get rid of yerman. Maybe thats what decided it for him - "I'll go in here, chill for an hour while yerman has to wait outside in the rain, and surely he'll go away".

God Bless Trevor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,416 ✭✭✭nc6000

osarusan wrote: »
    What I see is somebody arrive at a gateway at 03.05 and stays there for about 25 minutes before Trevor walks past at 03.34.15 on that security camera timestamp. It doesn't look like they interact much. A few second later he goes in the same direction as Trevor.

Then it cuts to a gate at the BOI Building on Leeson Street. The timestamp is actually some seconds earlier than the time the previous one ended - so it's hard to say how much later Trevor arrives at the gate (because I don't know where that gateway is that the man originally waited at). Here, it looks like Trevor converses briefly with the man, before letting himself in through the gate. We don't see the man leave as the footage cuts off.

I think it looks like two camera angles of the same 30 seconds or so.

First camera angle shows someone waiting as Trevor goes past on his way to the gate then the second camera pick up both of them as the gate is being unlocked.

nc6000 wrote: »
    I think it looks like two camera angles of the same 30 seconds or so.

First camera angle shows someone waiting as Trevor goes past on his way to the gate then the second camera pick up both of them as the gate is being unlocked.
    The second piece of footage seems to take up where the first left off, with perhaps a lapse of a few seconds Where is the gate the man was waiting at in relation to the gate of the BOI building? How long does it take to walk from one to the other?

Despite the summary quoted earlier, we don't actually see the man "waiting for a short time before crossing the road." The footage cuts off with him still standing by the gate pillar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭fatknacker

That footage is eerie. Great job they did of making it more defined. I really hope it helps them get to the bottom of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

Was the footage of the man every shown before?

How come it too so long to discover the new footage?

The first clip seems to be from this door.
    https://www.google.ie/maps/@53.3324753,-6.2520683,3a,75y,325.82h,81.8t/data=!3m6!1e1!3m4!1scSX5wfv2LSi_DtltAHCkLQ!2e0!7i13312!8i6656

And the gate Trevor enters is to the right of that.
    I was confused about the geography here and always thought he had gone in the main gate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,980 ✭✭✭wyrn

My thoughts go out to his poor family. It can't be easy for them to go through this all again. I really hope something comes of this for their sake.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 171 ✭✭Gavinz

The Gardai may stand down.

The Boards.ie detectives are on the case.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭TallGlass

Another thing is, maybe he was just trying to get rid of yerman. Maybe thats what decided it for him - "I'll go in here, chill for an hour while yerman has to wait outside in the rain, and surely he'll go away".

God Bless Trevor

But if that was so. Would he not have mentioned to his friend that he was been followed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭fatknacker

What time did he call his friend?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,508 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Winterlong wrote: »
    I think it is believable. He had just been to see some girl in Alaska. It was lashing rain. So why not pop in to the office to see if she had sent him an email and get an umbrella. Get a cup of tea to help sober up before the walk home.
    Most people did not have internet at home in those days.

I was just about to do post this. It was a totally different time regarding access to the net etc. There's a good chance his only access to the net was at work.
    I know people who'd have access to their workplace whenever they want and if anything happened at 3am to them people would be saying what the hell were they doing. But in my experience the majority of the time their just catching up on work or getting something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Yer man looks well dressed

Bouncer like attire

TallGlass wrote: »
    But if that was so. Would he not have mentioned to his friend that he was been followed?

Possibly didn't wanna come across as paranoid. Or needy or less of a man. ''I came in here cos this fella was following me''. ''Why didn't ya just batter him!?''. Some guys have these type of macho conversations, especially at that age!

Another example would be if a guy crossed the street if they saw a rough couple of blokes up ahead (just to be safe) but would hate the thoughts of their mates knowing they did it in case it made them look like a bit of a coward. Funny how the male psyche and bravado can work sometimes.

Was the footage of the man every shown before?

How come it too so long to discover the new footage?

Anyone?

Winterlong wrote: »
    The first clip seems to be from this door.
    https://www.google.ie/maps/@53.3324753,-6.2520683,3a,75y,325.82h,81.8t/data=!3m6!1e1!3m4!1scSX5wfv2LSi_DtltAHCkLQ!2e0!7i13312!8i6656

And the gate Trevor enters is to the right of that.
    I was confused about the geography here and always thought he had gone in the main gate.
    You might be right about the gate the guy is waiting at, but not about the gate Trevor enters (if you mean the bigger gate visible in the same google maps streetview).

That gate is just a few steps away from the first gate, yet the guy waits a few seconds before going in the same direction as Trevor, then arrives at the gate before him?

Also, where exactly was the BOI Asset Management building?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Anyone?

They sent it over to the UK to be cleaned up

You might be right about the gate the guy is waiting at, but not about the gate Trevor enters (if you mean the bigger gate visible in the same google maps streetview).

That gate is just a few steps away from the first gate, yet the guy waits a few seconds before going in the same direction as Trevor, then arrives at the gate before him?

Also, where exactly was the BOI Asset Management building?

Actually I think he is spot on with the gate. If you look at the video theres a spotlight that comes on, presumably a motion sensor. You can see one if you zoom in on the google maps link beside the billboard for "Al Fresco dining". Also the perimeter wall to the left ends in white with the exact same shape of brickwork as the wall in the maps link.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭Phibsboro

That footage is very interesting. There are a few things that confuse me.

What I assume are the two gates can be seen in the one shot, here :

https://www.google.ie/maps/@53.3324925,-6.2520114,3a,75y,321.99h,85.31t/data=!3m6!1e1!3m4!1sTOlMQ9OyMxAVpBBhIuvrlQ!2e0!7i13312!8i6656

They literally a few feet from each other. But in the footage, the guy in black follows Trevor from the first gate but arrives before him at the second gate - how on earth did he manage that? Did Tervor stop? Where the guy in black goes to (right up to the second gate) is off the street by good bit, did he know that is where Trevor was headed?

Re Trevor going into office because he was being followed, that doesn't make sense when you see how close the gates are. It was only a few feet from when he passed the guy to when he went into the building. Unless there was some kind of an interaction between the two scenes, which might also account for the guy arriving before Trevor at the second gate.

Re the interaction we do see, it seems like begging to me - watch the guy in black's head drop as the interaction finishes, classic hang dog expression after being told no while begging. Trevor certainly doesn't know the guy, as he waltzes right by him seconds earlier.

Finally - that walk. If that guy is every going to be found, its that walk that will give him away...

malarkus wrote: »
    Actually I think he is spot on with the gate. If you look at the video theres a spotlight that comes on, presumably a motion sensor. You can see one if you zoom in on the google maps link beside the billboard for "Al Fresco dining". Also the perimeter wall to the left ends in white with the exact same shape of brickwork as the wall in the maps link.
    Actually that makes sense alright.

Maybe it's just the angle that makes it look like the other guy arrives first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,416 ✭✭✭nc6000

Maybe it's just the angle that makes it look like the other guy arrives first.

On the second camera from the other side of the gate the guy in black does get there before Trevor.

How is that I wonder?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Maybe I'm being stupid here, but when Trevor comes back out of the office at 4am, I see no indication that the guy is still there?

On the second camera from the other side of the gate the guy in black does get there before Trevor.

How is that I wonder?

Could be something as simple as Trevor tying a shoelace. On the other hand it could be more sinister, could be a case of Trevor stalling to see if your man would just go on ahead and f*ck off.

seamus wrote: »
    Maybe I'm being stupid here, but when Trevor comes back out of the office at 4am, I see no indication that the guy is still there?
    No, you can't see anybody else in the footage when he leaves.

The guy is standing there for 25 minutes before Trevor arrives, speaks briefly at that gate, then apparently (but not on the released footage) "waiting for a short time before crossing the road."

In the final piece of footage we can see somebody walking a few seconds behind Trevor, but that's on Haddington Road, about 10 minutes after he leaves the BOI building, and I'm not sure it's the same person. Looks a different (slighter) build to me. But Gardai seem to think it's the same person:
    Gardaí believe that the male acting suspiciously outside of Trevor’s place of work is the same male that is seen passing the Bank of Ireland ATM on Haddington Road 34 seconds after Trevor that morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 clancywigam

How is that I wonder?

In the first clip as TD passes by the entrance it looks like he is talking on his phone, then when he appears in the second clip he is no longer on the phone. That could explain how the guy in black got to the second entrance before him. Maybe TD stopped outside to finish his phone call before proceeding in through the gate, the guy in black sees this from the first entrance and realises that TD is going to go inside so he slips past him and waits at the second gate.

That would explain the delay alright, finish up the call before neediing his hands to unlock the gate. May also have stopped to get his keys out too. The guy beside him could potentially had overheard him and waited at the gate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,194 ✭✭✭✭noodler

So hard not to speculate but you wonder was it actually just a disgruntled begger who got refused?

Then again, why wait outside BoI before Trevor arrives (first clip), and would it really be a good place for begging?

Regardless, I'm amazed this could not be seen in the footage previously.

Phibsboro wrote: »
    They literally a few feet from each other. But in the footage, the guy in black follows Trevor from the first gate but arrives before him at the second gate - how on earth did he manage that? Did Tervor stop? Where the guy in black goes to (right up to the second gate) is off the street by good bit, did he know that is where Trevor was headed?

Re Trevor going into office because he was being followed, that doesn't make sense when you see how close the gates are. It was only a few feet from when he passed the guy to when he went into the building. Unless there was some kind of an interaction between the two scenes, which might also account for the guy arriving before Trevor at the second gate.
    Yeah. In the footage from the first camera, Trevor exits to the left at 03.34.19. The guy hangs round until 03.34.34. That's 15 seconds, and there doesn't seem to be any interaction visible between them in that time. If Trevor had always planning to go in that gate, he'd already have been inside after 15 seconds.

The timestamps on the two videos are not in sync, so it's hard to tell how long it all took.

noodler wrote: »
    So hard not to speculate but you wonder was it actually just a disgruntled begger who got refused?

Then again, why wait outside BoI before Trevor arrives (first clip), and would it really be a good place for begging?

Yeah, that get's me too. Why stand there? I suppose if he was a mugger than he was waiting for someone to come along to target? But then again if he was a mugger why follow him all the way to haddington road....its darker at the canal further on wilton place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,362 ✭✭✭p to the e

Not sure if already linked but for anybody wanting to catch up on the case the Irish Times did a two parter a few months back.
    Part 1:
    https://www.irishtimes.com/life-and-style/people/the-disappearance-of-trevor-deely-part-1-1.2120358
    Part 2:
    https://www.irishtimes.com/life-and-style/people/the-disappearance-of-trevor-deely-part-2-the-search-1.2119911

noodler wrote: »

That's what I don't get.

Is this new footage they only discovered and had sent off or did they have it all along?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,253 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

That's what I don't get.

Is this new footage they only discovered and had sent off or did they have it all along?

They had the last bit with the umbrella and the man walking behind but not the rest of it afaik.

How did they only discover it recently?

A begger is hardly gonna have a car and the means to hide a dead body is he?