Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

National Championship 2017

• 04-04-2017 1:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,569 ✭✭✭

Its a fair way off and all I know is that they will be held the weekend of June 24/25 somewhere in Wexford.

Any indication of the lap at this stage ?

Or where race headquarters will be ?

Or even where roughly in Wexford the race will be held (its not the biggest of counties but its not the smallest either) ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭clog

I believe Gorey C.C. are hosting it so things should be close to town. Possibly the 3 day final stage loop through Craanford /Camolin ?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 Classyrider

Lumpy, rolling route....!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭EAD

I believe the TT is Enniscorthy to Wexford and back while the main event is out of Wexford town itself. TT is far less rolling than last year while there are meant to be a nice few rolls in the open race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭royrogers

EAD wrote: »
    I believe the TT is Enniscorthy to Wexford and back while the main event is out of Wexford town itself. TT is far less rolling than last year while there are meant to be a nice few rolls in the open race.

Any idea of the route for the RR??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 Classyrider

Yep any road routes online anywhere?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭boomdocker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,569 ✭✭✭harringtonp

Wow !

Wexford is a lovely town, pretty and busy. Along the quays and over the bridge, how on earth are they going to swing that one ! Both Saturday and Sunday, local traders will be up in arms... memories of objections form last year come back.

If they can pull it off though should make for great spectating and a wonderful atmosphere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭Homer1798

I imagine the masters races and womens might be held on a different circuit, to avoid annoying the local traders (who I'm sure will appreciate the extra trade a Nationals brings to a town).

Homer1798 wrote: »
    I imagine the masters races and womens might be held on a different circuit, to avoid annoying the local traders (who I'm sure will appreciate the extra trade a Nationals brings to a town).

That would be a pity if that's how it works out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭nilhg

That would be a pity if that's how it works out

There's a comment on a visitor post to the FB page linked above which says that it's the same course on the Sat, for masters and ladies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭fondriest

The TT route hasn't been 100% confirmed yet , it was up until last week when we had a meeting with the council and there was an issue , The original route is along the N25 between Barntown and Ballinaboola its 40km for the Elite /U23 / Ladies and 32km for paracyclists. The 2nd choice route is Enniscorthy to Wexford and back . We'll know exactly which one is going to be a chosen in the next few days.

The road race route is the same on Saturday for the M40 , M50/M60 races as it is for the Elite/U23 and Ladies races on Sunday . All the races will be into the town and over the bridge , Wexford County Council and the Gardai have been brilliant helping to get this organised.
    Race HQ is the Wexford County Council buildings as used for the Wexford 2 day Sunday stage last year.

The event is not being hosted by Gorey c.c. but by "Wexford Cycling" which is a working group of 7 clubs in the county which got together a few years back to get better organised marshalling for the leagues and open races in the county etc.

I am on the organising committee and picked the routes so if anyone has any questions just ask and I should be able to answer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭Derrydingle

fondriest wrote:
    The event is not being hosted by Gorey c.c. but by "Wexford Cycling" which is a working group of 7 clubs in the county which got together a few years back to get better organised marshalling for the leagues and open races in the county etc.

Great work fair play to all. Should be a great weekend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭clog

Thanks for the clarification. I stand corrected re organising club but it was the impression was given.

Good luck with the organisation.

clog wrote: »
    Thanks for the clarification. I stand corrected re organising club but it was the impression was given.

Good luck with the organisation.

It is in the CI calendar as Gorey cc alright . The race director is Derek Webb of Gorey so that may be the reason.

That's a really good course. The laps through town will give it a Crit or Kermesse type of atmosphere hopefully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭Homer1798

Having looked at the circuit in some detail last night, there's gona be some surprises in the last 6 km......check it out on google maps.

Yep the "Muur de Ferrycarrig " is a little brute :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭royrogers

fondriest wrote: »
    Yep the "Muur de Ferrycarrig " is a little brute :-)

A 100+ riders up there is gonna be fun!!! Cant wait. On another note, will there be rolling road closure's for the races??

royrogers wrote: »
    A 100+ riders up there is gonna be fun!!! Cant wait. On another note, will there be rolling road closure's for the races??

Yes , it will be done similar to the Ras , hopefully shouldn't cause a lot of inconvenience to the locals .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,711 ✭✭✭Thud

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭TheBlaaMan

Thud wrote: »

Is that climb now re-paved or will it be as cut up as it looks?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

TheBlaaMan wrote: »

Its too stop the climbers getting away on the rest of the bunch.

TheBlaaMan wrote: »

It was resurfaced in the last couple of years , smooth as babies a£$e .

Thud wrote: »

The climb is only about a minute long but I think for about 150m after the hairpin is about 14 or 15% .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭Eamonnator

The climb is only about a minute long but I think for about 150m after the hairpin is about 14 or 15% .

Speak for yourself.
    The 150m @ 14 or 15% would take me more than a minute!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭Eamonnator

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭TheBlaaMan

ooohh, there going to be some serious pain faces there. nice......... :cool:

There is another little hill on the back road between Crossabeg and the N11 it's about 700m long in total , first 200m is about 8% and then drags up the rest of the way . Tougher than it sounds .

The only other steep lump is a little 45 second dig out of Castlebridge ,on paper the route looks pretty flat but it will wear people down over time .

If anyone is down that way and wants the guided tour let me know .

The national championships website is live and entries open today . http://www.roadchamps.irish/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭manwithaplan

Think we rode most of that circuit in the Wexford 2 Day last year. Should make for great racing - the last few kms surprised the ****e out of me.

Edit - actually looking again, while it includes that very tough section up from the river, it doesn't include the second dig up to the Council Offices that was used in the Wexford 2 day. Still going to blow things apart so close to the finish.

What is the address for the HQ I don't see it on the website

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,799 ✭✭✭cython

What is the address for the HQ I don't see it on the website

Looks like the Council Offices? http://www.roadchamps.irish/contact/

cython wrote: »
    Looks like the Council Offices? http://www.roadchamps.irish/contact/

Yep Wexford county council offices , I'll get the full address added to the website.

cython wrote:
    Looks like the Council Offices?

Nice one thanks

fondriest wrote:
    Yep Wexford county council offices , I'll get the full address added to the website.

Thanks is the car park in the county council Offices open to racers taking part or is it the car park in harbour boat club that is to be used?

Council car park is for racers, Boat club car park is for team cars/ race traffic on last lap of race .

Closing dates for entries are getting close . TT entry closes on June 15th and road race on June 18th. Pre-entry ONLY , no entry on the day and no one day licences .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 724 ✭✭✭JK.BMC

I had a look at the new TT course lately- to be honest it is fairly rough in places, not ideal for a fast clean time trial. I would be interested in knowing what's happening at the turn around point in Kilmore Quay (grandfather was born there) as the little roundabout at the harbour is met by some very narrow little roads.
    I appreciate that there may have been some traffic issues with other routes but this one is 'interesting' to say the least. Hoping ye get some sun south East weather on the night

JK.BMC wrote: »
    I had a look at the new TT course lately- to be honest it is fairly rough in places, not ideal for a fast clean time trial. I would be interested in knowing what's happening at the turn around point in Kilmore Quay (grandfather was born there) as the little roundabout at the harbour is met by some very narrow little roads.
    I appreciate that there may have been some traffic issues with other routes but this one is 'interesting' to say the least. Hoping ye get some sun south East weather on the night

Yep definitely some rough road surfaces in parts but nothing we can do about it unfortunately , we came up with several alternative routes but couldn't make them work. The TT will approach Kilmore from the Baldwinstown road , turn right at the small roundabout pass the memorial garden and entrance to the beach and turn left at the t junction this brings you back on to the road you travelled out .

fondriest wrote:
    Closing dates for entries are getting close . TT entry closes on June 15th and road race on June 18th. Pre-entry ONLY , no entry on the day and no one day licences .

Will there be a list of the riders anywhere after the closing date it be interesting to see what big name pros are doing it this year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭All My Stars Aligned

Dd I see that Italy have said that if pro's don't enter their nationals they are ineligible for the worlds.

Will there be a list of the riders anywhere after the closing date it be interesting to see what big name pros are doing it this year
    Yes should be available pretty quickly after entries close.

Dd I see that Italy have said that if pro's don't enter their nationals they are ineligible for the worlds.

Yep and I believe France and Belgium have a similar rule.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,837 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

Roche Bennett and Dunbar all attending as far as I know. Martin has TDF commitments and I'm unsure about Mullen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,256 ✭✭✭MPFGLB

Pudsy33 wrote: »
    Roche Bennett and Dunbar all attending as far as I know. Martin has TDF commitments and I'm unsure about Mullen

Mullen will be there too

Shame Dan Martin cant make it again

Pudsy33 wrote: »

Correct , also see Brammeier's name on the entry , Conor Dunne , Michael O'Loughlin's also . No AnPost names entered yet .

Its been a few years since I've done them (Vets) and trying to remember if I used my own numbers or if like a stage race numbers are given out. Can anybody clarify ?

Just wondering about traffic restrictions from the Curracloe side. After the racing starts will oncoming traffic be intermittently allowed over the bridge into Wexford ?

I presume the short N11 stretch will still be open so spectators can come late along this and access the race in wexford town ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,383 ✭✭✭scott1974

Its been a few years since I've done them (Vets) and trying to remember if I used my own numbers or if like a stage race numbers are given out. Can anybody clarify ?

You'll get race numbers on the day at registration..

Just wondering about traffic restrictions from the Curracloe side. After the racing starts will oncoming traffic be intermittently allowed over the bridge into Wexford ?

I presume the short N11 stretch will still be open so spectators can come late along this and access the race in wexford town ?

You're pretty much spot on , expect delays from Curracloe direction , N11 should be ok , N25 will have delays as you get close to town centre . We will be stopping traffic at 1798 street which is just after the finish line , this is the main flow of traffic into the town centre and quays from the north side . This will give the race a clear run at the quays and bridge but will cause delays.

Personally if I was heading to spectate or compete weather coming from N11 Dublin / North etc or N25 Waterford , Cork direction . Get to the Barntown ( Maldron hotel) roundabout and head for town . A the first set of lights turn left , sign on is 100m on left . If spectating during race times just keep going past sign on , drop to the next roundabout and any exit from it will bring you to a different section of the race route.