Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"Irish men are wimps. They need to man up!" (Alive free Catholic monthly newspaper)

• 04-04-2017 1:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,922 ✭✭✭

This caught my attention. I know that this newspaper would be against abortion but other things are also thrown at men in this piece.

250,000 copies are distributed nationwide according to the front page.
    Front page:
    Irish men are wimps. They need to man up! See page 9.
    Alive April 2017

Wimpy men

Irish men, including so many Catholic men, are turning more and more into wimps. And they are bringing up their sons to be the same. They lack conviction, confidence, commitment and, above all, courage.

As a result, they are easily fooled by the latest left-wing nonsense, and are intimidated into silence.

It is the crazies in the media who now tell them, for example, how they should think, when they should feel indignant and about what issues.
    Marxist feminist ideology in particular, has played a major role in robbing men of a sense of their identity and turning them into silent bystanders or servile fellow travellers with those promoting an irrational, anti-human agenda.

The morality of "choice", which dominates our society, means that Soros-funded groups and those with media support for their aims can manipulate the public to support virtually any absurdity.

How could men ever have been led to believe that they could ignore God and his commandments in their lives?; that higher wages for more consumption is the purpose of life?; that booze and sport is the best we can do for happiness?

How have a growing number of men come to think that they can keep a woman waiting for years for marriage, giving her the second label of "partner'"? Why would any woman want to marry such a gutless guy?

How has our society come to accept that men have some kind of right to walk out on their wives and children to set up home with another woman? How have men been fooled into believing that the protection of marriage and the family is not their responsibility?

Savage notion

Above all, how could any man, indeed any human being, accept the corrupt and savage notion that brutally ending the life of an unborn child is "a woman's right to choose"? What kind of spineless wimp does it take to betray his girlfriend or even his wife, in a time of crisis, to ignore or deny his grave responsibility to do every-thing possible to protect his own unborn child? We need a revolt against this kind of destructive feminist ideology that is bringing so much misery on so many people. And the revolt should be led by men.

Men need to have the courage and the conviction to stand up, not just for their own personal beliefs, but for something more fundamental: for the Catholic faith, for truth, justice and goodness.

Each man in his own particular situation needs to man up, beginning today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭H3llR4iser

If I didn't know this was serious, I'd have said it was the funniest stuff I read in a while. Straight out of "The Medieval Herald" material. This writer is either deranged, taking the p1ss or downright dangerous...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 293 ✭✭jackinthemix94

Utter garbage. Any man carrying on like that should be laughed at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

Married men are wimps. Or more, a lot of men in relationships are.
    Oh no, I can't do this thing that I want to do because she won't like it.
    I must not speak my mind for fear of setting her off.

Thanks but no thanks.

I like how he uses the term crazies in the media without any sense of irony.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,196 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Yeah men, stop being such fuckan wussies. Quit doing what the left/feminist/meeja-crazy crowd tell you, and do what this shower tell you, whoever they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,741 ✭✭✭jameshayes

A load of horse sh!te in my opinion but he is not wrong in regards to men are becoming less manly..

Its taboo now to be proud to be a man but popular and encouraged to be proud to be female

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,764 ✭✭✭cml387

The purpose of a headline is to grab your attention so that you read on.
    It worked in your case OP.
    Me, I'd just see the ALIVE! banner and ignore the squalid rag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,706 ✭✭✭brevity

Stand up and kneel down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,496 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

The only thing that rag should be used for is lighting the fire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,467 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Oh Noes! Modern men are pro-choice! What can we do about this? Let's tell them they're wimps! That'll work, right?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

250000 copies! 99% of which end up in the bin because they just shove them through random letter boxes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,226 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

God be with the good old days, when men beat their wives and handed over their pregnant daughters to the PP to be dealt with.

Sure now they're allowing their wives to work and babysitting their grandkids. :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,951 ✭✭✭frostyjacks

It is true though, masculinity has been under attack for a long time from hairy-legged women, funded by that Soros group. They make a living out of this gender issues and rape culture nonsense.

Joe Brolly was being interviewed on Off The Ball at the weekend, and was describing how great it was to see players who are being taunted by their opposite number to turn around and hit them a box, because that is exactly what they deserve. You could tell the interviewer was horrified that someone would dare advocate the use of physical force.

Where did all stuff about Soros funding feminists or left wing protestors come from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,226 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Gee, Frosty, I didn't expect you to turn up in a thread like this. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,807 ✭✭✭✭Orion

iptba wrote: »
    250,000 copies are distributed nationwide according to the front page.

249,999 copies are used as cat litter.

H3llR4iser wrote: »
    If I didn't know this was serious, I'd have said it was the funniest stuff I read in a while. Straight out of "The Medieval Herald" material. This writer is either deranged, taking the p1ss or downright dangerous...

2 out of three. Unfortunately he's not taking the piss. Deranged and dangerous - yes. Here's the smiley little mysoginistic, hatefilled, spiteful man in his dellboy guise.

alive.jpg

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

He's right!

First thing tomorrow morning, i'm gonna punch Lenny in the back of the head...

wwf3zu.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,597 ✭✭✭gctest50

Orion wrote: »

A cat wouldn't sh!te on ALIVE!!!!11!11

this little one is stunned at the suggestion :

1yB8K83.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,922 ✭✭✭iptba

2 out of three. Unfortunately he's not taking the piss. Deranged and dangerous - yes. Here's the smiley little mysoginistic, hatefilled, spiteful man in his dellboy guise.

alive.jpg
    Misandrous is the word that comes to mind with this article.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

You lost me at Alive OP. The biggest joke of a rag ever to be printed. Completely irrelevant rubbish for anyone with an ounce of cop on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

eviltwin wrote: »
    You lost me at Alive OP. The biggest joke of a rag ever to be printed. Completely irrelevant rubbish for anyone with an ounce of cop on.

You're obviously a heathen wimp…

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

All I see there is someone attempting to put upon the reader their own sense of authority. Pitiful really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,467 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Cats?! They're for feminists!

Men have dogs. :p

Sleepy wrote: »
    Cats?! They're for feminists!

Men have dogs. :p

And they're not neutered like those effeminate, Soros-funded poodles you see out there these days.

When you see the popularity of Fifty Shades, Downton Abbey etc. it proves that women prefer the traditional gender roles. They want the best of both worlds now; screech for equal pay and at the same time expect red carpet treatment at home and in work.

One too many red pills?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,387 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

So you're a pussy for not agreeing with one groups POV and a pussy for agreeing with another groups POV.

So basically you're a pussy no matter what you do.

Great.

When you see the popularity of Fifty Shades, Downton Abbey etc. it proves that women prefer the traditional gender roles.

That is really stupid…

I watch slasher movies, does that prove that I think the best way to deal with people is to don a mask and slice them up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

That's some leap even for you.

That is really stupid…

I watch slasher movies, does that prove that I think the best way to deal with people is to don a mask and slice them up?

The 'damsel-in-distress' scenario traditionally used in slasher movies backs up my point. The female lead is looking to be rescued by a man. Nowadays, studios would have the roles reversed, and they would show the man crying or such like.

The 'damsel-in-distress' scenario traditionally used in slasher movies backs up my point. The female lead is looking to be rescued by a man.

Totally wrong, the damsel in distress is always turned on its head in slasher movies - the female lead always beats the serial killer on her own without the need of help from others.

Totally wrong am I? Who shot Michal Myers at the end of Halloween?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭H3llR4iser

There might be a bit of a point to "traditional macho" thing still being relatively popular; personally I was made to suffer through the Twilight movies and, if I have to be honest, it wasn't the silliness of the storyline that I found irritating - it was the main female protagonist being so useless, for most of the movies, that her "suitors" even physically carried her around.

As for "50 Shades of Grey", if I have to be totally blunt and honest...the reactions it solicited in the public proved one thing: that plenty of women are weirdly clueless about the vastness of the sexuality spectrum; For every lady going "oohhh, never thought about that!" there were three guys thinking "yep, saw that in a p0rn flick last night!" :D:D:D

That is really stupid…

Yes. You're obviously a fcuking psycho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,018 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Glad to see that ALIVE! is still as bracingly mental as ever. A beacon of consistency in a rapidly changing society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,370 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

Joe Brolly was being interviewed on Off The Ball at the weekend, and was describing how great it was to see players who are being taunted by their opposite number to turn around and hit them a box, because that is exactly what they deserve. You could tell the interviewer was horrified that someone would dare advocate the use of physical force.
    Are you suggesting automatically resorting to violence is an acceptable reaction if someone insults you?

Being able to control your aggression is nothing to do with traditional gender roles or being a 'wimp', it's to do with being a mature adult.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

Are you suggesting automatically resorting to violence is an acceptable reaction if someone insults you?

Being able to control your aggression is nothing to do with traditional gender roles or being a 'wimp', it's to do with being a mature adult.

And a good foot baller. Getting sent off because your opposite number insulted you is detrimental to your team and downright stupid.

That's the thing, we're punishing players for doing the manly thing. The weasel gets to play on and provoke someone else into a reaction. It's encouraging cowardice twofold; first from the provocateur and then from the recipient who is being asked to be a doormat.

Why is punching someone the manly thing?

So he punches the guy, gets sent off, his team are down a player and could potentially lose the match. What if it was a final? That doesn't seem manly to me, that just seems selfish. He put himself above the team.

Why couldn't the manly thing be to ignore him? Knuckle down and score or mark him out of the game?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

That's the thing, we're punishing players for doing the manly thing. The weasel gets to play on and provoke someone else into a reaction. It's encouraging cowardice twofold; first from the provocateur and then from the recipient who is being asked to be a doormat.

I don't agree. Surely being stoical, disciplined and playing your part in the team is manly as well. Its not a street fight or Ice hockey :pac:

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

When you see the popularity of Fifty Shades, Downton Abbey etc. it proves that women prefer the traditional gender roles.

That's a non-sequitur, an invalid argument. Whether it is true or false, one does not follow from the other.

Your posts don't make any sense from a logical point of view.

Have you considered applying for a post with ALIVE! newspaper?

That's a non-sequitur, an invalid argument. Whether it is true or false, one does not follow from the other.

Your posts don't make any sense from a logical point of view.

Have you considered applying for a post with ALIVE! newspaper?
    I think he thinks Downton and 50 Shades are documentaries

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,084 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

brevity wrote: »
    Why is punching someone the manly thing?

So he punches the guy, gets sent off, his team are down a player and could potentially lose the match. What if it was a final? That doesn't seem manly to me, that just seems selfish. He put himself above the team.

Why couldn't the manly thing be to ignore him? Knuckle down and score or mark him out of the game?

When you act the hard man on the Internet, no-one can see your questionable facial hair and taste in hats. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,767 ✭✭✭Ben Gadot

The relief of being able to easily dimiss such a deranged article.

I would have said though that the question of some men being perceived as or feeling weak and afraid in today's society was an interesting one to pose.

I certainly do feel that some men struggle to find their voice in today's society. A lot of men tend to avoid the harder discussions completely rather than get involved in anything nasty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,524 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Ben Gadot wrote: »
    A lot of men tend to avoid the harder discussions completely rather than get involved in anything nasty.

Most likely because they have better things to be doing than getting involved in a handbag swinging match?

As for the article in the opening post, it's like something Louise O' Neill would write if she had balls. Two cheeks of the same arse really, with one fundamentalist wingnut as bad as the other in terms of their ideological affiliations, neither representative of the majority of either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,767 ✭✭✭Ben Gadot

Most likely because they have better things to be doing than getting involved in a handbag swinging match?

I forgot blokes don't get involved in handbags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,370 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

That's the thing, we're punishing players for doing the manly thing.
    So men are violent beings who can't control their anger? I know men who can't control their anger and lash out physically at people they feel insulted by. I don't have any respect for them and I believe they are pathetic excuses for men.
    frostjacks wrote:
    It's encouraging cowardice twofold; first from the provocateur and then from the recipient who is being asked to be a doormat.
    Its anything but. Doesn't the phrase 'to be the bigger man' mean rising above other people's pettiness?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,602 ✭✭✭Stigura

Okay, lads. One thing ..... Why the F**k is the guy in the motor dressed like that :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,181 ✭✭✭opinionated3

Tbh while i may not agree with the article in its entirety, i do happen to believe that men in this country need to man up a bit. We seem so afraid now to speak our minds for fear of being accused of sexism, racism, etc. I had the misfortune of having to sit down for lunch at work a few days ago with some of my female colleagues. What they said about their husbands would shock a lot of people. One girl wouldn't allow her other half to go for drinks at the weekends unless she was with him. Another had strict guidelines as to when he was allowed play his golf. Another would get hubbie drunk on the first night of a weekend away so she could spend the rest of it shopping! I couldn't believe this rubbish. Where was the compromise? Or were the hubbies just sitting there, nodding the head and going along with this for the sake of a peaceful marriage? When i told 2 of my friends about this i could tell by their reaction that they too were used to this treatment. WTF!!. Man up lads. Speak your mind! I generally keep myself to myself but my opinions on topics i hold strong. I vote in referenda the way I want to, not what the media tells me to. ....is that wrong or am i clinging to a clint eastwood/John Wayne type persona that just doesn't work in modern times? ?