Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So, What's In Your Handbag?

• 01-04-2017 3:27pm

Before I left for a hospital appointment yesterday morning, I dropped my Kindle in my bag and off I went. A couple of hours later I got home and my shoulder was aching, and it was only then I noticed how heavy my bag was, so I emptied it out on the bed.

Everything from a pashmina for when my office aircon gets too much, to interdental sticks, to four different kinds of pain relievers, to a scrubby spa cloth I'd forgotten I'd bought last week. This is my weekday bag and I carry another bag full of papers to and from work as well but there are no personal items in that. On weekends I either don't carry any or I have use one the size of my wallet there that I stick the bare essentials into.

I know it's a crazy amount of stuff to be lugging around on a daily basis so I've ditched a good bit of stuff - the box of cold and flu relief, the ibuprofen lotion, the notebook, the document cases, and one of the phones belongs to my partner and I had that by accident, so it's a more manageable weight now. Am I the only one who carries so much in my bag?

Ladies, show me what's in your bag so I can have a nosey don't feel alone! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,982 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

I don't own a handbag:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,514 ✭✭✭bee06

I have the standard wallet, phone and keys and then have a tin of Vaseline, a tube of 8 hour cream, a tube of hand cream, earphones, tampons, my work badge, 2 pens and tissues. These would all be permanent items.

I also have been carrying around my passport for the last few weeks because I need to photocopy it at work but keep forgetting and a tiny Tupperware container that I brought home from work to refill with chia seeds but forgot about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,812 ✭✭✭Vojera

I have a messenger bag type one and it's badly in need of a clean out. I have about four months' of payslips, a couple of copies of flyers I made for a party I'm having, painkillers, antihistamines, antibiotics for my skin, rennies, some cold and flu tablets that have been in there for months and never opened, a phone charger, two notebook/diaries, neither of which I use, a book I borrowed from a friend and haven't read, a smelly tree for the car which I keep forgetting to take out, some bobbles, my reading glasses, a tesco bag for life, a headwarmer, and two washbags for my sanitary towels (I use the cloth type). Also, my car keys, house/work keys, wallet and phone.

At the weekend I usually wear jeans and all I carry then is my phone and keys in my pockets. I give my wallet to my wife and don't worry about the rest.

I wouldn't mind but I'm always giving out to my wife that her bag is like a black hole, but when I see it all written down there I realise I'm just as bad.

Vojera wrote: »
    I have a messenger bag type one and it's badly in need of a clean out. I have about four months' of payslips, a couple of copies of flyers I made for a party I'm having, painkillers, antihistamines, antibiotics for my skin, rennies, some cold and flu tablets that have been in there for months and never opened, a phone charger, two notebook/diaries, neither of which I use, a book I borrowed from a friend and haven't read, a smelly tree for the car which I keep forgetting to take out, some bobbles, my reading glasses, a tesco bag for life, a headwarmer, and two washbags for my sanitary towels (I use the cloth type). Also, my car keys, house/work keys, wallet and phone.

At the weekend I usually wear jeans and all I carry then is my phone and keys in my pockets. I give my wallet to my wife and don't worry about the rest.

I wouldn't mind but I'm always giving out to my wife that her bag is like a black hole, but when I see it all written down there I realise I'm just as bad.

I'm definitely not alone! That's a fair bit of stuff too. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,812 ✭✭✭Vojera

Candie wrote: »
    I'm definitely not alone! That's a fair bit of stuff too. :)

My shoulder does be killing me as well. I think I've discovered why! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Parchment

Things i always have with me:
    -Purse
    -Nuxe lip balm
    -Small hairbrush
    -Headphones
    -Phone
    -linen reusable shopping bag folded up really small to negate needing any bags if i buy something.

Thats it. I am very minimal with what i bring about with me - i couldn't imagine carrying lots of things around if they are not needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,513 ✭✭✭✭Lucyfur

Phone
    Wallet
    Keys
    Lip balm
    4 nappies
    Muslin cloth
    water wipes
    an elephant
    A teething mitt
    Change of baby clothes

I don't have a handbag of my own at the mo

A nappy bag is a sort of handbag!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,994 ✭✭✭sullivlo

Lucyfur wrote: »
    Phone
    Wallet
    Keys
    Lip balm
    4 nappies
    Muslin cloth
    water wipes
    an elephant
    A teething mitt
    Change of baby clothes

I don't have a handbag of my own at the mo

A baby elephant?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Pencils, laptop , phone charger, make up bag, books, contact lenses, pens and that's pretty much it along with a travel cup

I manage to have a 13 inch wide handbag that contains it all only use it for work. Outside of work I don't use one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,263 ✭✭✭robyntmorton

In mine right now:
    A business card
    Face powder
    Mascara
    Bourjois lip gloss
    NYC lip crayon
    Chanel lipstick
    Mints
    Tissues
    Hand gel
    Paracetamol
    Hair brush
    Umbrella
    Sunglasses
    Perfume (Armani Code dupe)
    Lens cloth
    Earphones
    Purse
    Keys
    6 old receipts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,513 ✭✭✭✭Lucyfur

sullivlo wrote: »
    A baby elephant?

Indeed. A green baby elephant named Furtado, to be exact.

Nellie the Elephant Furtado.

I like it. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,559 ✭✭✭B00!

You're not alone, my bag is way too full!
    :o Everyone says my satchel is too heavy, but it's generally what I need for a day out so I can't seem to lighten the load.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭chuckles30

You're definitely not alone - I keep threatening to cut down, but never get there...here goes:

Keys (2 for my house, 2 for my mothers, 2 car keys, 2 for community centre plus trolley tokens, loyalty cards and key rings)
    Phone
    Wallet
    Earphones
    Work locker/laptop lock keys
    Lip balm
    Glasses cleaning cloth
    Small tape measure
    4/5 foldable shopping bags (for when I forget the main ones)
    Weight Watchers points calculator
    Address book (used for tracking my ww points)
    Notebook (just in case...I never actually use it!!)
    Pens
    Tissues
    Pantyliners
    Nail Clippers
    Cold Sore Cream
    Band Aids
    Assortment of pain killers - paracetemol, ibuprofen, aspirin, rennies

Gods your poor backs must be in bits.

I carry;
    Book
    Diary
    Journal
    Phone charger
    Keys
    Lip gloss
    Purse
    Mirror
    Vaseline

Sometimes it's just book, purse, keys, lip gloss.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 12,526 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

I'm not going to dig around in it now to see but off the top of my head:

driver's licence
    earphones
    key to my drawers in work
    cloth for cleaning my glasses
    gift voucher
    wallet
    keys
    phone
    packet of tissues
    used tissue(s)
    multiple lip glosses & one lip crayon yoke
    mascara - don't normally carry this, it was given to me last week and I forgot to take it out at home
    Vaseline lip balm
    pen
    nail file
    several sanitary towels
    multiple receipts and tickets from things.

It's badly in need of a clear out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭LenaClaire

During the work week its:
    Laptop
    Phone
    Wallet
    Inhaler
    Allergy Meds
    Panadol
    Migraine Meds
    1-2 emergency tampons
    Granola bar
    2-3 Hard candies
    2-3 packs of tissues
    Random receipts
    Hair ties
    pens
    Notebook
    Comb
    lipstick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,112 ✭✭✭StripedBoxers

What is in my bad depends on where I am going and what I am doing to be honest.

If I am going into hospital then usually this is what I put in

Mini make up bag which has a hand cream, thermometer, lip balm, hand sanitising gel, sweeteners, two pens.
    Phone
    Appointment booklet and blood forms
    Diary
    Purse
    Phone charger/earphones
    Sanitary products just in case

If I'm going grocery shopping

Phone, earphones, purse.

If I'm meeting my friends

Mini make up bag which has a hand cream, thermometer, lip balm, hand sanitising gel, sweeteners, two pens.
    Phone
    Earphones
    Purse

It sounds like a lot but its not actually heavy, I can't carry anything heavy at the moment and generally what I bring with me, if stuff I actually need, when I get home, I take out what I don't need and leave it on the dresser for whenever I need it next.

I was awful before for having everything and anything in it but now I clear it out as soon as I'm home so I don't forget. :o

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

How any bags do ye have?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,112 ✭✭✭StripedBoxers

Stheno wrote: »
    How any bags do ye have?
    Who me?

I have four, but really only use the one at the moment as it as a long shoulder strap so easy to carry, plus its not too big/small, its just the right size for everything I need.

If I'm going grocery shopping, I'll sometimes use the smaller shoulder bag :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,188 ✭✭✭dee_mc

I think I have 3 handbags (everyday use), one of which is old and in bits and will never be used again but I bought it the day I first got paid for my first 'real job' so I'm not ready to throw it out 10 years on!
    I carry
    Purse complete with every loyalty card ever
    Keys
    Phone and charger and sometimes a power bank
    Tablet
    Lipstick
    Vaseline tin
    Ecig and spare battery
    Toothpick thingies
    Reusable water bottle
    Tampons and pads
    Passport
    Granola type bar or an apple
    Spare hair tie
    Small hairbrush
    Glasses cleaning cloth
    Nurofen cold and flu
    Antihistamines (hayfever)
    8 hour cream
    Pack of tissues
    Lighter for lighting incense at work
    Pen
    Lip balm I never use
    Painkillers I never use

It's no wonder I have a bad back!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭chuckles30

At any given time, I have one 'main' handbag that I use most of the time. When I get fed up of it or it gets worn out, it goes to handbag heaven. I used to keep them to use again, but never actually re-used them, so now just move them on.

I have a small cross-body handbag that I use when I don't want to bring all the 'crap' with me...this takes my phone, a smaller wallet, keys, lip balm, headphones and tissues.

Then I have a selection of occasional/dressy/going out handbags.....you know the ones you bought to go with that dress!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Phone
    Charger
    Headphones
    Purse
    2 bags of dried fruit
    Bag of cashew nuts
    Work ID
    House keys
    Oyster card
    Ella's Kitchen fruit pouch
    Baby spoon
    Peppermint Aero
    Tissues
    Tampons
    Race number from an event I did at the weekend
    Pens
    Tube of yellow Metanium
    One Pampers Baby-Dry size 4

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 12,526 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

chuckles30 wrote: »
    At any given time, I have one 'main' handbag that I use most of the time. When I get fed up of it or it gets worn out, it goes to handbag heaven. I used to keep them to use again, but never actually re-used them, so now just move them on.

I have a small cross-body handbag that I use when I don't want to bring all the 'crap' with me...this takes my phone, a smaller wallet, keys, lip balm, headphones and tissues.

Then I have a selection of occasional/dressy/going out handbags.....you know the ones you bought to go with that dress!!

I think I have more of these than the day to day/weekend bags! Moved house a few years ago and due to space most bags stayed in a box, moved again a few months ago and still most bags have stayed in storage - time for a big bag clearout!

ETA: I forgot to add to my list random bits of post that I am supposed to be following up on and 2 bank digipass yokes for confirming changes on your bank account.

Interesting! regarding the handbag selection - i have one i use for "work" stuff but as cycle to work pretty much daily i use a pannier as my handbag.

Otherwise i have 5 shoulder bags and two clutch bags. All get used depending on my needs/outfit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭LenaClaire

Stheno wrote: »
    How any bags do ye have?

I have one laptop backpack that I carry with a wristlet when travelling.

When I am home I alternate between main bags seasonally and have small cross body bags for holidays when I want to just carry wallet, phone, inhaler.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Bambi985

Wallet, phone, work laptop, earphones, several work notepads, diary, house keys, 5,493,039 pens, a tube of carmex and Chanel mascara, can of diet coke, tooth brush and paste, moroccan oil, scarf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

Phone
    Car and other keys, I don't know what half of them are for
    Lodgement slips mixed with shop receipts
    Sunglasses
    Wallet
    Make up bag
    Personal and business digipass
    Tissues and some sanitary stuff
    I'm getting better at emptying my bag and currently I use smaller bag. When I carry bigger bag there is more rubbish in it.

Phone
    Ipod
    Headphones x2
    Keys
    Big wallet
    Tissues
    Lip balm
    Concealer stick
    Deo
    Mini hairbrush
    Mini perfume
    Hair bobbins
    Panadol
    Anti allergy / cetrine
    Pocket mirror
    Probably more I've forgotten
    It's a small crossover bag. I have a bigger one i used to use day to day and i could fit more in that like my kindle but prefer the smaller one now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

Parchment wrote: »
    Interesting! regarding the handbag selection - i have one i use for "work" stuff but as cycle to work pretty much daily i use a pannier as my handbag.

Otherwise i have 5 shoulder bags and two clutch bags. All get used depending on my needs/outfit.

Do you keep everything loose in the pannier? I cycle to work but have a basket, so if I did that everything would bounce out by the time I got in - terrible roads :pac:

I have about 20 handbags I guess, use 3 or 4 regularly during the week interchangeably.

Contents are generally:

Phone
    Wallet
    Tissues
    Vaseline
    Sunglasses
    Pen
    Diary
    Plastic shopping bag

Malari wrote: »
    Do you keep everything loose in the pannier? I cycle to work but have a basket, so if I did that everything would bounce out by the time I got in - terrible roads :pac:

I have about 20 handbags I guess, use 3 or 4 regularly during the week interchangeably.

Contents are generally:

Phone
    Wallet
    Tissues
    Vaseline
    Sunglasses
    Pen
    Diary
    Plastic shopping bag

My pannier has a zipped pocket on the inside of the closing - so i keep phone/purse/keys in that. In the main section i throw in my clothes for work (i change when i get there) and my lunch bag.

I take my pannier off when i get to work and take it with me so its essentially a really ugly handbag for the day!

• Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭Neyite

I don't know how many handbags I have :o
    In my defence, they've all been given to me either as gifts or someone I know doing a clear out and offered them to me.

Mine is surprisingly sparse at the moment as I had a recent clear out but always in mine is
    Keys
    Wallet
    phone
    headphones
    sunglasses
    reading glasses
    paperwork - bills to be paid or stuff to be followed up on
    pen
    lip balm

Before I had a smart phone I had a diary /organiser /notebook, and my kindle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,843 ✭✭✭SarahMollie

I've recently had an ephiany. I've bought a smaller handbag and I now love it.

I bought it in Arnotts, (Longchamp - figured it was important to buy something nice so I would want to use it!) so its beautiful leather. Its about 15cmx12cmx4cm with a long strap. It limits me to carrying only the essentials (keys, phone, cards, bit of lippy and a compact umbrella. I can wear it cross body and just go about my business.

I'd highly recommend!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭RhubarbCrumble

I have a lot of bags and change them regularly and because of that, only the same five things ever go in:

Purse
    Phone
    Keys
    Make up bag
    Pen

I'm shocked at the amount of stuff that some of you are carrying around on a daily basis. Your poor shoulders must be in bits :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,238 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

Phone
    Wallet
    Keys (3 in total)
    Sunglasses
    Power bank
    Lip balm
    Lip gloss
    Lip liner

That's it. I stopped carrying my "day" make up bag with me because the only thing I ever touch up during the day is my lip gloss.

In terms of how many bags I own, I couldn't tell you off the top of my head - maybe 15 actual handbags and then another 5 or so clutches/evening bags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 614 ✭✭✭notsoyoungwan

For everyday/work use I carry wallet, my personal phone, work phone, a few pens, hairbrush, and a small zip bag that holds tampons and pain relief. I also carry an epipen after a severe anaphylactic reaction last year. For weekends, subtract the work phone and the content is pretty much the same.

I am unashamedly a handbag person. I'd estimate that I own around 50. Some are high end designer, others are TK Maxx €19.99 specials. Usually I change my bag with my outfit, though obviously some bags are more neutral and will go with loads of outfits, but I probably wouldn't carry the same bag for more than 5 consecutive days.

For everyday/work use I carry wallet, my personal phone, work phone, a few pens, hairbrush, and a small zip bag that holds tampons and pain relief. For weekends, subtract the work phone and the content is pretty much the same.

I am unashamedly a handbag person. I'd estimate that I own around 50. Some are high end designer, others are TK Maxx €19.99 specials. Usually I change my bag with my outfit, though obviously some bags are more neutral and will go with loads of outfits, but I probably wouldn't carry the same bag for more than 5 consecutive days.

I'm not particularly into fashion or whatever, but I do love a nice bag. I'd say I've got about 25 and it's one of the few things I'll really spend on. Most of my bags would be leather, most would be mid to high end. I don't regret a single one.

I'd rarely go a week without changing bags, but at weekends I either carry a much smaller one or none at all. During the week, I tend to carry my world in my bag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 cailin8

None, just a coat with 3 zipped pockets, fits phone wallet, keys, tissues. I've got so used to not having to remember a bag unless on a night out. Then I need a bag.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Bambi985

I've got the total sum of about four handbags, two of which I use almost on a rotating panel, the other two I'll knock out for special events or if I just want a change.

Not a bag person at all, they are strictly for the function of logging around all of my crap!

I'd spend most of my disposable income on shoes and skincare though so I guess we all have our weaknesses!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,517 ✭✭✭Sunny Dayz

Oh gosh I don't think I even want to look!
    I've gotten lazy over the past year or two and don't bother changing my handbag day to day or week to week. I treated myself to a Michael Kors bag a year and a half ago so I tend to just use that all week long.

Phone
    2 sets of keys, one set personal, one set for work
    Wallet,
    small umbrella,
    glasses case (son's)
    Tissues
    Neurofen
    Coldsore cream
    small bottle of perfume (Lacoste Pour Femme)
    Various paperwork
    Few pens
    Vaseline
    A small torch (mainly for winter walking home from work when it's dark)
    Tampons and pads
    Various lipsticks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭misstearheus

Not really a dressing-up person myself either. I'd easily live without a Handbag. But I do love them. Handbags and Jewellery are my thing! :) Not expensive ones just regular. Have loads of going-out Handbags, and I do mix them up and give them all a night out now and again! All's that go in them is Plasters, ST's, Phone, Wallet or small Purse, and Lipstick.

In my Every-day bigger Handbag, I never empty it really, but off the top of my head; -
    Plasters,
    ST's,
    A Sheet of Paracetamol,
    A Sheet of Nurofen+,
    2/3 rounds of Anti-biotics,
    Erhm 2 Golf-Tees?!? :o:o I've decided to leave them in there, I dunno they might bring me luck?! Some lad at Pub at home one evening drunkenly stashed them in there, why I don't know, but they've stayed.
    A Concealer stick,
    Lipgloss,
    A Vaseline Nasal Inhaler thingy,
    A Toothpick,
    1/2 Biros,
    2 Lidl small Bounty Bars,
    1/2 Rolls of Silvermints,
    Bottle of Perfume,
    Tin of Vaseline,
    Tube of Teetha.
    Empty Tin of NaturesCourt Period-Salve, - that needs to be binned.
    Couple of Tissues.
    Phone always.
    Wallet always.
    Keys very rarely. Generally pocket them than bag them.
    Memory Stick mostly.
    Phone Charger mostly.
    Earphones occasionally.
    Couple of Necklaces and Bracelets an odd time.
    Tube of Heat Rub now and again.
    Tube of Coldsore Cream an odd time.

I don't even go anywhere!! Handbag gets brought in car but rarely gets carried around! But like I might as well leave it at home! It's literally just ever-cautious "in case of!" 9 times outta 10 if I'm going shopping I'll just end up taking some money out of my Wallet and stick it in my Jacket-pocket!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,490 ✭✭✭amtc

Phone
    Wallet
    Coin Purse
    Passport (was away yesterday)
    Keys
    Receipts
    Painkillers
    Small bottle of holy water (a la my mum)
    Spare Tights
    Pen
    Mints

And about 80 handbags....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,188 ✭✭✭dee_mc

amtc, do you use all/most of your bags?
    I used to have a collection (maybe 20 bags) when I was younger and would use a different one pretty much every day and change to a small one for going out during college, but I just couldn't be bothered anymore! I used to be like that with shoes too though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 662 ✭✭✭wuffly

Wallet
    keys
    deodorant
    kindle
    filofax
    2 phones (work & private)
    Passport (just had my visa renewed, need to take it out and put away)
    lipgloss - that i never use
    2 pads
    loose business cards- mixed
    Coffee loyalty card
    Glasses - need to put them in case before they get wrecked.
    Card wallet for my car park & office access

I don't know how have many bags I have. I've been slowly getting rid of ones I don't use and haven't bought a new one in ages. I have a few good ones that i rotate through, over a few years, currently using a 7/8yr old Orla Kiely crossbody, love the strap for the key!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,490 ✭✭✭amtc

I use most of them. Some are occasion wear. Some are summer ones more casual. I have one of those handbag inserts for transfers. Very handy.

A separate question...why doesn't someone invent a handbag with a light in it...like a fridge?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,263 ✭✭✭robyntmorton

Because when the batteries go you'll be rooting around in the dark corners of the handbag for the spare ones you know are in there somewhere!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭Glitter

Gift voucher for Hickey's
    Small hand mirror
    Folded up carrier bag
    Small umbrella
    Three sets of keys (home, work and bestie's spare set)
    Sunglasses and sunglasses case
    Wallet
    Change purse (this makes me sound like I'm about 105 but it's actually like a teeny-tiny hard case mini handbag, my wife gave it to me and I love it!)
    A couple of bills
    Several biros
    Travel hairbrush
    Cigarette case & lighter (if I'm going to have a revolting habit, I might at least be stylish about it)
    Two lipsticks (a Rimmel red one that I call my "day red" and a cheapo pinky-nude one from Penney's that smells like sweets and is surprisingly nice on)
    NYX black eyeliner pencil
    And hair pins

I only buy one big day handbag every couple of years (mid range leather, nothing madly high end) but I have countless small evening or going out handbags - cheap ones, expensive ones, gifts, charity shop finds, you name it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭annascott

Purse
    Phone
    iPad
    Makeup bag
    Umbrella
    Tissues
    It
    Tictacs
    Small bottle of water
    Pens
    Notebook