Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Performance chip?

• 29-03-2017 9:34am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,821 ✭✭✭

Anyone have any experience with these crowd?

https://www.italianspeed.eu/

Have a small diesel that could do with a bit more pep. I like the fact it can be removed without major issues. I've done a bit of googling and found some positive reviews. Any thoughts?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,858 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

It's offering me 45bhp extra for under €80! Lower mpg too.

I'd say it's rubbish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,226 ✭✭✭Stallingrad

It may be rubbish, but at that price its tempting rubbish! If I had a banger I'd be all over this.

Some of those yokes just increase accelerator response .

Whats the car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,821 ✭✭✭Xcellor

puegeot 207 1.4 HDI, at 68bph it's saying it would achieve 100 which is a nice jump.

https://www.italianspeed.eu/en/chiptuning-peugeot-206/chiptuning-peugeot-206-14-hdi-68-hp-1100.html

I'm considering purchasing. If it doesn't work I'll send back. It's a plug and play and requires no recabling.

Sounds too good to be true but I'd imagine there would be more bad reviews out there if it really was a box with some flashing lights and nothing else?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,594 ✭✭✭tossy

If it plugs into anything fuel related then it's not a proper remap its just a device that will trick the ECU into injecting more fuel for more bang, it will be a very low increase in power but will happen over a very short period as the fuel is injected so it will 'feel' a lot quicker when in fact it's not.

I've had many cars 'tuned' diesel and petrol and not once did the economy improve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

A proper remap of the ECU or tuning box from the likes of Bluefin is the way to go imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭Four Phucs Ache

That's a 47% increase for less than 80 quid.

Load of balls.

If results like that could be achieved then the manufacturer would have done it in the factory.

I'm skeptical, it's probably snake oil but for 80E plug and play with no cables to cut. There are some vids on youtube of people installing them, of course there could be a "placebo" effect... "Engine sounds different... better" (Yeah coz you have your bonnet up mate...)

To add to my skepticism it is only 80 quid.Get it and see what happens and review it.

I fitted a scorpion exhaust to a Micra in 99 and I swear the thing went faster in 2nd when I floored it.

At best they reel you in by paying €80 for something that doesn't work, at worst you damage your car's ECU or other component by plugging in an unproven €80 resister/cable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,340 ✭✭✭mullingar

https://www.italianspeed.eu/en/chiptuning-ford-focus/chiptuning-ford-focus-16-tdci-109-hp-80-kw-2140.html

Its just a very simple device to trick the ECU to increase the fuel pressure as its interferes with the common rail fuel pressure sensor. €1 in parts would do the same as a voltage divider.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

52 more hp but -21% fuel economy and -1.5 seconds 0-60? Bollox to that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭mikeecho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

https://www.italianspeed.eu/en/chiptuning-bmw-7/chiptuning-bmw-7-740d-313-hp-230-kw-1822.html

adds 100bhp to a 740d apparently.

standard crap of tricking the injectors into adding more fuel, you won't get the increase it claims but it just makes your car run rich, thats it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,795 ✭✭✭Neilw

This is most likely what you're buying, a few cents worth of parts.

nemtuningbox.jpg

So yous think I should buy one and try it out for the sake of putting this one to bed?

Putting aside science and everything.

Xcellor wrote: »
    So yous think I should buy one and try it out for the sake of putting this one to bed?

Buy two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,795 ✭✭✭Neilw

Don't waste your €80, IMO if you want more power get a proper remap instead of a plug in device. It will probably cost 5x as much but at least you'll get what you pay for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

mikeecho wrote: »
    Buy two.

link them all together and get 500 horses out of it sure.

Thread should definitely be over on the Bargain Alerts forum. :pac:

Neilw wrote: »
    Don't waste your €80, IMO if you want more power get a proper remap instead of a plug in device. It will probably cost 5x as much but at least you'll get what you pay for.

Given the amount of rust, and the quality of repairs done to the OPs car, all those extra ponies will pull it apart.

Go for it.

As outlined by above posters it's a box of shoite to make the car run rich on fuel.

If you take all the crap and junk out of your car like I have you will go faster.For about 3 months I had about 80kg of tools and man junk in the 1.4 focus so I emptied it and the thing felt like a rocket for a while.I had no fear overtaking tdi's

Use that 80 to buy your woman a bottle of perfume and get yourself 40 1 euro scratch cards instead of this Italian voodoo magic box.

mikeecho wrote: »
    Given the amount of rust, and the quality of repairs done to the OPs car, all those extra ponies will pull it apart.

Go for it.

hah different car scrapped it yesterday.

Op..

Get the car dynoed, then buy the Italian tuning box,

Get the car dynoed again.

Post pics here.

Well after further consideration I decided what the heck. So I bought an Italian Box Pro. The feedback on eBay was quite impressive.

http://feedback.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewFeedback2&userid=ansproteus&&_trksid=p2047675.l2560&rt=nc&iid=161813967773&sspagename=VIP%3Afeedback&ftab=FeedbackAsSeller

So I received the box (ill take some pictures at weekend and post).

Installation maybe happen next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

We look forward to your disappoi.... I mean, results. :P

dar83 wrote: »
    We look forward to your disappoi.... I mean, results. :P

With over 1000 positive feedback and only 1 negative review I have to believe it does something... I know if it doesn't give any appreciable difference I'll be posting some negative feedback!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,638 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

With over 1000 positive feedback and only 1 negative review I have to believe it does something... I know if it doesn't give any appreciable difference I'll be posting some negative feedback!

Does it look like the pic in #17?

It's probably a neater job..
    Like this :

image005.jpg

just look at the attention to detail.

The finest hand crafted workmanship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,229 ✭✭✭marklazarcovic

i have one in my cdti vectra c , bought it as like the op,i just wanted to see after all the reviews from different places were positive enough, i didnt expect the xtra 50 hp it claimed but i hoped it would increase my mpg even by 5/10%.

its the italian speed i have as well as they had the best reviews,even from random youtube mechanics. when yours arrives pm me your findings 3 full tanks after fitting and ill tell you my findings :)

OK pictures as promised.

It is definitely more than a few resistors and some hot glue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,340 ✭✭✭mullingar

Can you get a sharper pic of the chips?

mullingar wrote: »
    Can you get a sharper pic of the chips?

Taken a closer pic but still hard to see some of the chips.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,866 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

Taken a closer pic but still hard to see some of the chips.

All I can make out so far in the pic is the 74HC4066 chip, which allows different outputs based on it's input signal

It's far neater than a series of resistors and diodes soldered together!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

I love a bit of quad SPST action.

So the smaller one chip of the other two is from a company called Microchip. MCP-***** ... the rest is a blur unfortunately.

What does this box sit between? ECU and fuel pressure sensor?

Hard to see but there is chip made by these guys
    http://www.st.com/content/st_com/en.html (basing this on the logo on the chip, googling below doesn't find me anything)

ST
    7B49632f03f4p6
    phl 542

Then there is
    MCP6L02E
    SN 1526
    Q50

The MCP from googling is a multi chip package.

So there appears to be some decision making capability and some storage probably. They did tell me they have to code the box for the specific car, it's not a one size fits all

So the smaller one chip of the other two is from a company called Microchip. MCP-***** ... the rest is a blur unfortunately.

What does this box sit between? ECU and fuel pressure sensor?

From my understanding I unplug the common rail connector plug it into one side of the cable connecting to the box and then the other cable goes into where the common rail connector was removed from.

ST microcontroller of some sort, similar to the one sold here as part of a developer package.

HTB1ihGYHXXXXXX5apXXq6xXFXXX8.jpg?size=79034&height=454&width=700&hash=65c7a18dcfdb53d0ebf502c278c322ff

So yeah, that's is where your "decision" and "storage" is happening.

Discussion of similar tuning box here, I've only skimmed through it yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭rex-x

What that does essentially is raise the fuel pressure so the car injects more fuel than it thinks it is.
    The ecu will have maps that say ok at 3000 rpm and 80% throttle, with 1000 bar of pressure we open the injectors for <this long> to get our desired fuel......your device will tell the ecu the pressure is 1000 bar when in reality it may be 1300 thus it will inject more fuel than it thinks it is.
    That will not be good for the high pressure pump long term as with a proper remap the duration of the injector openings are increased to gain the extra fuel which is more sensible (alongside a pressure increase) It will work and it will give more power but it is not good for the engine.

rex-x wrote: »
    but it is not good for the engine.

What could happen to engine?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭rex-x

What could happen to engine?

It will wear out the injectors and hp pump by them being constantly battered by high pressure. Should also reduce fuel economy by having to pump so much extra pressure too. Essentially it removes the engines ability to protect and regulate its fuel supply

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,147 ✭✭✭pm.

Well lads what's the latest? Did it increase your hp? My hp will go from 218 to 291...

Unfortunately in my case the rail is located in a place that is not "plug and play" accessible.

I had to remove the battery, battery holder but couldn't identify. The support though to their credit respond within 24 hours and even during weekend.

I sent them a picture of what I see and they replied marking the connector on the picture. I've not a huge amount of space to work with but if I get another dry day and a window of opportunity I'll try again...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,594 ✭✭✭tossy

pm. wrote: »
    Well lads what's the latest? Did it increase your hp? My hp will go from 218 to 291...

What car ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

tossy wrote: »
    What car ?

It's an A4 3.0TDI quattro.

Probably not a good idea when it's a leased vehicle, but that car is no longer anything for me to be concerned about ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,147 ✭✭✭pm.

I think it's best when it's a leased vehicle :-) I was just curious as to how the op got on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,229 ✭✭✭marklazarcovic

any update? how you finding it