Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How would you improve Ireland in 10 ideas.

• 28-03-2017 8:35pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭

I know these are mostly political, practical and economic impossibilities but just imagine some genie could grant them

1) Allow pubs to open to 3-5am like they do in mainland Europe, will cut down binging and our ridiculous infantile 'forbidden fruit' attitude to alcohol.

2) High Speed Rail lines linking Dublin, Belfast, Galway, Cork and Limerick cutting journey times down to an hour.

3) Legalise and decriminalise drugs, let's put the gangster's out of business.

4) Legalise and decriminalise prostitution.

5) Massively fund the Garda to clean up Dublin City Centre and the problem areas beyond.

6) Huge house building programme, both private and public sector.

7) Stop the U.S using Shannon Airport for nefarious activities.

8) Less Dublin-centricism, relocate certain Govt departments regionally.

9) A total re-examination of how Irish is taught and used, encouraging it's usage to the point where we become a genuinely bi-lingual country, this would have massive cultural benefits.

10) Huge investment in the new economies, clean energy, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

1) Allow pubs to open to 3-5am like they do in mainland Europe, will cut down binging and our ridiculous infantile 'forbidden fruit' attitude to alcohol.

2) High Speed Rail lines linking Dublin, Belfast, Galway, Cork and Limerick cutting journey times down to an hour.

5) Massively fund the Garda to clean up Dublin City Centre and the problem areas beyond.

9) A total re-examination of how Irish is taught and used, encouraging it's usage to the point where we become a genuinely bi-lingual country, this would have massive cultural benefits.

10) Make plagiarism legal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

dd972 wrote: »
    I know these are mostly political, practical and economic impossibilities but just imagine some genie could grant them

1-10) Find a way, to actually do and pay for the above actions, that would find favour with a majority of the electorate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

1-10) Find a way, to actually do and pay for the above actions, that would find favour with a majority of the electorate.

Tax drugs and prostitution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭Glenster

place charges all along the m50 and finally free us from the burden of rural Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,443 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

1) Make sure none of the above ever happen.

I don't need another 9 attempts at it, just one good idea will do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

I dont really care but it'll do nothing to change the drinking culture.

Maybe to Belfast if funded mainly by the EU. Cork isn't even a proper city it's a largish town.

Yep

Currently legal, leave it legal. Don't allow it to be industrialised like Germany and the Netherlands

What like sweeping or something. The issue are ingrained social issues.

Fair enough

Meh

Tried and failed.

Would it my arse. Teach a proper foreign language like French or German.

Well fire in your hidden millions I'm sure the rest of us will follow.

1 . Stop fecking with housing - keep the CB rules in place and let the market do what it's going to do.

2. Sort out public transport at a grass roots level

3. Sort out the rental sector - the current tenants rights are fine but make it so people can be evicted at most in 90 days for non-payment.

4. Sort out social housing as a nationwide solution. No job in >10 years, get out of the urban areas.

5. Prisons. Increase the estate and close the ones that are not for purpose. Adopt the Scandinavian model of rehabilitation.

6. Decriminalise drugs, make Heroin freely available in clinics.

7. Leave prostitution as it is now

8. Introduce a third level of income tax at 75% for incomes over €150K

9. Increase the motorway speed limit to 140Kph

10. Make cyclists less smug.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭Jack the Stripper

Give all the no hopers on the rock and roll a shovel and put them unblocking road drainage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 696 ✭✭✭TheFitz13

1) Make sure none of the above ever happen.

I don't need another 9 attempts at it, just one good idea will do.

Why? I feel like they're good ideas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,443 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

TheFitz13 wrote: »
    Why? I feel like they're good ideas

I'd give it a week long party before the country would shut down.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

1. Get rid of religion from schools and the constitution (and open pubs on good Friday.
    2. Find a way of effectively taking dole/benefits off those who have never tried to work despite being able to.
    3. Have more prison places available for the horrible anti-social crime and find a way to reduce the cost of keeping prisoners.
    4. Spend more money on front line services, less money on admin in the essential services.
    5. Don't just give everyone child benefit, use this money to better subsidise childcare for those who work.
    6. Bin all CIE companies and let private operators fill the gap.
    7. Use the money saved from above to fund fund proper broadband infrastructure.

That's enough unrealistic things with zero chance of happening to make a good start of improving the country. Number 1 should be the most realistic, but sadly far too slow in happening.

It's time to put a cap on having children too, in my opinion two kids is a base point.

11. Paid for live organ donation, (kidneys).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

It's time to put a cap on having children too, in my opinion two kids is a base point.

How would you enforce that

eviltwin wrote: »

Rigorously

eviltwin wrote: »

Cut child benefit.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,537 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

1. Remove the Irish language from the curriculum as a compulsory language.
    2. Cut funding for the Irish language to 0
    3. Seperate Church and State.
    4. Legalise abortion with basic legislation to protect women.
    5. Legalise and marajuana and apply a fair tax.
    6. Sell RTÉ. Failing that, give it away.
    7. As above with Bus Éireann.
    8. Introduce a tax-free income threshold and lower income tax as much as possible with the aim of shrinking an absurdly huge public sector.
    9. Invest in proper infrastructure and internet.
    10. Introduce a tax for people who don't have a cat (I've gone mad with power at this point). Proceeds to be used for cat charities.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,035 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

Glenster wrote: »
    place charges all along the m50 and finally free us from the burden of rural Ireland.

The M50 is just a patch of road serving Dublin itself. Muppet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭Here we go

1: get rid of life time/ dynasty politicians it's like a caste system with the best person to elect comes from the same family generation after generation

2: build more prisions to many people on double/triple digit convictions waking the street

3 : fund these prisions with the best possible rehabilatation facillites which carry over to release

4: remove child allowance but make all education free, books uniform copy's everything supplied with breakfast and diners provided and a large investment in youth clubs playgrounds and after school activities and clubs

5: A 2 yearly people's referendum day where people get to vote on any issue that gets x amount of signutres like in Switzerland

6: a full review of are corporate tax to see if we can either raise it 1/2% with out pushing them out or if lowering it 1/2% will attract much more companies which ever results in tax take going up

7: remove the artist tax exemption for proceeds over 35k a year

8: ad road tax on to fuel costs

9: have election costs be covered by taxation so all candidates have a fair equal footing and can not owe anyone any thing no donations no way to sway favour

10: a joint European pharmacy purchase system we are part of a eu block and should be negotiating as such not each for there own but a United customer base of how ever hundreds of millions we are to get the best possible prices on huge bulk order

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,955 ✭✭✭Conall Cernach

1. Shoot anyone who has ever sat in Leinster House.
    2. Shoot anyone who ever tried to get elected to Leinster House.
    3. Shoot anyone who ever voted for any of the people or parties in Leinster House.
    4. Shoot anyone who ever worked for RTE.
    5. Shoot anyone who ever worked for The Independent.
    6. Shoot anyone who was ever a member of the security forces.
    7. Shoot anyone who has immediate family in the above categories.
    8. Shoot anyone who complains about the above.
    9. Shoot anyone who complains about the new regime.
    10. Free ice cream for everyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

..says ancapailldorcha...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,218 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Well a few I'd like to see.
    1.I'd like to see more prisons built.
    2.Have plenty of resources in prisons for people to access education.
    3. Increased sentences particularly for recurring offenders.
    4. Tag prisoners once released for a long period of time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Fill in the canals and build high speed rail lines on them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Beyondgone

1. Shut the Gards and start fresh. Only hire people who answer "yes" to the question -"Do you like cats?".

2. Introduce a new minimum wage of €20 per hour. Because let's face it, that's pretty much what you need to get if you don't want to live with the mammy and eat whiskas.

3. Abolish car tax discs. Buying them, needing them, the whole hog. Stick whatevers needed to make up the balance onto Apple. Everyone knows they wouldn't even notice, despite their whinging.

4. Close RTE. We're done. Good luck. Get a job, ye pack of chancers. Sell their assets to Apple on the cheap to make up for the minor sting of "3".

5. Ban the wearing of GAA jerseys unless you're a GAA player and you're on a pitch, playing GAA. Balance this by paying an extra €100 social welfare, per week, to fit women who wear Yoga pants at least 3 days of the week and walk at least 12 km per 7 days. No need for them to be social welfare recipients to begin with, it's a good move so keep it loose..the 12 km is self reported.

6. All Audi, BMW, Range Rover, Mercedes and Porsche drivers to be hit with a €2000 Tax. No particular reason. But it's important.

7. Banks to pay 5% interest minimum on ALL savings. They say they lose money by dealing with people and holding their money, but everyone knows they're spoofers and are milking it on the quiet. 5%. Deal with it Banker boy. You signed up to finance. Finance that sh1t.

8. A&E to guarantee a 1 hour maximum queuing time before they have fixed your stuff/put you in a body bag/schlepped you into a bed. No reasons needed. We've all been in A&E. 1 hour. Or else..

9. Pub opening hours are "Whenever feels good". Let the publicans sort out the finer details. It's their pub. As long as it feels good is grand..

10. Childcare is free. And universal. Chuck the bill at Apple. If they whinge, chuck it at a few others, like AIB or the ESB, or all three. Use leverage to make sure they pay. Childcare matters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

1)Metro in Dublin
    2)more developed tram infrastructure in Dublin
    3) Better public transport such as trams in irelands smaller cities
    4) More emphasis on outdoor activity in Ireland, so what if it rains. Why cant we have outdoor gyms and theme parks and other cool things just because of climate
    5)houses that didnt all look almost the exact same
    6) Free GP visits
    7) Nicer architecture in general
    8) more forests
    9) and accompanying bio diversity, fields and sheep can get a bit same-y after a while

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,748 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

(1) Abandon inter-city rail apart maybe from Cork-Dublin-Belfast so long as they can be completely separated from commuter and DART (perhaps use the Phoenix Park Tunnel)

(2) Electrify the Maynooth line, the DART at least as far as Drogheda and as far as Kildare or Newbridge

(3) Electrify the Cork commuter lines, build more stations and ensure the development of houses and jobs are along these lines. Build at least one Luas line in Cork to service those areas not accessibly by existing rail

(4) In Limerick, use rail reservations to Limerick Junction, Foynes, Ennis and Nenagh as a DART or Luas system. Extra stations where required.

(5) Ban one-off housing outside all towns and villages except in the case of farmers where one house per generation is allowed.

(6) Build the M20 between Cork and Limerick.

(7) Make the construction of windfarms and solar farms easier and abolish the planning restrictions

(8) Allow high-rise building in Dublin particularly office-blocks near rail and LUAS.

(9) Restrict the growth of Dublin outwards to force higher density.

(10) Prioritise the growth of Cork and Limerick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,511 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Permabear wrote: »
    This post had been deleted.

There's already too much detail in it for them.

Permabear wrote: »
    This post had been deleted.

Then reading out the list in the Dáil and sounding like the biggest "sell off RTE or give it away" fanboys going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭17larsson

Opt out organ donation so everyone is automatically signed up to donate. If they don't want to donate their organs when they die they have to let the state know.
    Many countries already do this, it makes so much sense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭jonon9

1. Remove religion from schools - school is a place of education not fairytales

2. Abolish Tv license - RTE you can either like it or lump it

3. Faster trains - Or train system is appalling and over priced.

4. Breeding Dogs - Bring in a Cert of some sort to be able to breed dogs anyone breeding without one faces a €10,000 fine and 100 hours community service (more to follow)

5. Child care allowance for one child, if you decide to have another one tough titty your on your own.

6. Change the Insurance companies pricing in this country its too high.

7. Make euthanasia legal in this country, if someone is very sick and doesn't want to live it should be their choice, their life their right.

8. Make abortions legal.

9. Overhaul planning laws, there outdated and stupid - If someone wants to build a super eco house and doesnt need the services of the ESB then let them without been scrutinized.

10. Secondary school curriculum needs to change too much emphasis on a bloody exam and not much on the teaching of life in the real world outside school.

17larsson wrote: »
    Opt out organ donation so everyone is automatically signed up to donate. If they don't want to donate their organs when they die they have to let the state know.
    Many countries already do this, it makes so much sense

9 more good ones and you're the new Leader.

I want an eleventh - make kids learn the difference between "There" "They're" and "Their". No more "leaving certs", just a spelling and grammar test. Fail and it's euthanasia. Make "It" "It's" and "It is" part of that too. Catch out the unwary with a swift "thought/taught" question. Use passing this test to abolish Universities. Spend the money saved on really fast Cop cars. Use those fast cars to detain slow drivers and tractors that don't pull in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭lazybones32

1: Make Judges appointments by election, not political appointments. Every 4-5 years alongside local/Natl elections. No cushy pension for 1 or 2 term
    2: Empower County Councils.
    3: Make myself Emperor.
    4: Tell the EU to suck my balls and ban the UN from sending delegates to my empire.
    5: Make National Service mandatory for 2 years.
    6: Introduce hard labour for prisoners
    7: Introduce night Courts - if you're out of your head on a Fri night, you won't get to appear before a judge 3 months later, in a suit with lots of character witnesses. The judge will get to see you in the condition you were picked up in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

scrap the dole for everybody even older , disabled etc.
    then replace it with a fas ce type scheme. basically you have to do 19 hours a week for the comunity or you get no money
    every one has skills or interests.
    get carpenters etc fixing stuff, gardeners planing flowers etc, painters painting derelect buildings , anyone that cant do their trade or interest does general work like cutting grass
    even people with disabilities (milder end of the scale maybe) can drive around organising, managing , getting stuff etc

get all criminals doing manual labour . minor crimes do a comunity work like picking up rubish . basically caught litering, drunk in public etc then do 50 hours comunity service

more serious crimes sent out to quarries during the day with a hammer and told to break rocks. prison at night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,387 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

Ban whinging, whining and moaning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,898 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Ban whinging, whining and moaning.

Yea, get rid of all the women.
    Good idea.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

Why are people on the dole so hated on this forum ?

Switch off wifi in the Guard stations, if they gave as much timing gaming as they would out in rural areas crime wouldn't be as bad.

Yea, get rid of all the women.
    Good idea.

And political correctness.

No idea. Maybe they're all tax-payers on here. It's bound to grate. The whole "working while they don't" thing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭Yourself isit

3. Seperate Church and State.
    4. Legalise abortion with basic legislation to protect women.
    5. Legalise and marajuana and apply a fair tax.
    6. Sell RTÉ. Failing that, give it away.
    7. As above with Bus Éireann.
    8. Introduce a tax-free income threshold and lower income tax as much as possible with the aim of shrinking an absurdly huge public sector.
    9. Invest in proper infrastructure and internet.
    10. Introduce a tax for people who don't have a cat (I've gone mad with power at this point). Proceeds to be used for cat charities.

You should run on that platform, it's always amusing to see libertarians lose their deposits.

Of course it would change bog all, since teaching Irish or funding it, is not really the source of all evil.

scrap the hse
    create a system where you have
    pharmacies do basic stuff like colds etc
    gp s do more serious but still basic stuff
    small comunity hospitals in each town that do small operations (ingrown townails, warts etc)
    loads of medium hospitals that do day sergeries in each area. seperate from a and e
    make a and e seperate so it doesnt effect normal day to day stuff
    then larger hospitals that do larger operations , have them central to 2 or 3 counties

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

It's the ones who are on it for life, I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,898 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Before the first self efficient country in the world. Ban all imports.

They get to have a high post count

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

1. ban separate hot and cold water taps
    2. Fines should be deducted from people's​ wages up to being left with 80% of minimum wage until they are paid off. 20% of dole deducted at source.
    3. Religion out of schools
    4. abortion
    5. Heavy fines for littering, more bins on the streets
    6. Ban strikes in public sector (we probably can't ban public sector so this is next best thing)
    7. Dutch type health system reform. Now that brexit is happening there really shouldn't be too much of a push to copy failed British health system.
    8. Better cycling paths
    9. Better education of cyclists to know how to use them
    10. Ban words handcrafted, gourmet and similar nonsense for food

They are not exactly in order of importance but the first one is by far the most important. Separate hot and cold taps are testament to stupidity and stupidity really shouldn't be advertised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭yermanoffthetv

1) Complete reform of planning laws and ABP. Remove right to appeal if project fits within planning guidelines and have sensible plans regards height density and zoning for urban areas. Strategic planning laws to allow for more apartments in high pressure rent zones.(and more parks!)

2) Proper public transport and cycle lanes, a metro for Dublin and trams/segregated bus corridors for regional cities.

3)If you turn down council accommodation your not classed as homeless.
    People who trash their accommodation only get offered a converted shipping container until they pay back the damage.

4)Personal responsibility, If you get pissed or take drugs you foot the bill for your actions weather that be yourself or someone else you affect or their property. No exceptions. That goes for any feral scrotes you've spawned as well.

5)Reform of the Judiciary. End suspended sentences for violent crimes. Also see the above point. Being under the influence is no excuse no matter how sorry you claim to be. Send repeat offenders to a for-profit prison to reduce their burden on society. Judges should have some oversight, some are quite frankly living on a different planet.

6)Let RTE sink or swim. TV Licences should fund public service programs only (I would include TG4 and RnaG as such) The rest should go into a pool and bid by different studios to make domestically produced programs. Ad revenue can pay for any foreign imported shows or former RTE "stars".

7)Complete separation of church and state in relation to education. Any pressure groups that are religiously backed or funded must clearly state so.

8) Strengthened animal welfare laws with jail time for illegal puppy farmers and permanently ban from owning or jailing scum who willfully neglect or abuse animals.

9)Proper public body oversight and the ability to sack or suspend under preforming managers and staff who they employ.

10) I think we as a nation need to host a major international event to boost our collective spirits. WRC 2023 would be a good start. If we win we should go all out and put on one hell of a party!

Before the first self efficient country in the world. Ban all imports.

Even Fosters?

Apprenticeships and training courses to replace the leaving cert or two year college certs

Hobby degrees shouldn't be funded by the state. Scholarships for proven and tested talent in writing, music, media, arts.

State funded degree courses should be linked to demand for skills on a sliding scale.

Tax on empty habitable property, fines for uninhabitable property.

Government mortgages for first time buyers.

Ghetto the sh1t out of workshy skangers, twenty miles out of town. Taxpayers covering their housing costs near city centre only to have them wreck the area is a disgrace

Police on every street in Dublin, battering the above if they show up.

75% tax on profit upon sale of undeveloped residential zoned land

Decentralisation of govt depts, start with shared service hubs for IT, HR, finance on a regional basis.

Tax stupidity at source.

make a rule that you have to keep you house clean and tidy at the front. ( i mean not a siht hole) . if you dont someone will come and clean it and paint it etc and you will charge you.
    especially for abandoned houses