Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Chuck Berry is dead.

• 18-03-2017 10:20pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭

One of the originals and a genuine great of the classic rock 'n roll era.

Motorvatin' was one of the first albums I bought - 22 brilliant tracks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

90 years old,

A good age.

Loved this one....

Great musician

RIP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭The Raptor

I loved roll over Beethoven

RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭dexter647

A real legend that will be missed...Rip Chuck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,682 ✭✭✭deisemum

My ding a ling

RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,753 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

R.I.P Chuck Berry

Rock and roll icon Chuck Berry has died, aged 90

http://www.mirror.co.uk/tv/tv-news/chuck-berry-dead-police-confirm-10054711

• Closed Accounts Posts: 475 ✭✭jimmy blevins

Chuck berry died; but he's alright now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Squall Leonhart

Not a terribly nice person by all accounts, but his contribution to music can not be overstated.

Hail! Hail! Rock and Roll!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,737 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

RIP rock n roll legend.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭Yourself isit

I'll be honest. Presumed he died decades ago.

Nevertheless RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,737 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Too late someone beat ya to it.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭Stigura

90 years old, a good age. Loved this one....

He played to bigger audiences though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

He influenced a lot of bands, musicians.

RIP Chuck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,990 ✭✭✭✭Lithium93_

I usually don't involved with these kind of threads, but this is the exception.

Between himself, Elvis Presley, Buddy Holly, James Brown, Jerry Lee Lewis, Little Richard, Ray Charles, Sam Cooke, Fats Domino and the Everly Brothers.

They made Rock N' Roll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,946 ✭✭✭indioblack

".....to hear you play your music when the sun go down."
    RIP.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,309 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

Great musician.

RIP.

Lithium93_ wrote: »
    I usually don't involved with these kind of threads, but this is the exception.

Between himself, Elvis Presley, Buddy Holly, James Brown, Jerry Lee Lewis, Little Richard, Ray Charles, Sam Cooke, Fats Domino and the Everly Brothers.

They made Rock N' Roll.

That's a lot of RIP threads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

OP called Timber says his ding a ling don't ring anymore. In AH. Standards must be upheld so....
    No morning wood anymore Timberrrr?
    Can't get s hard on Timberr?
    Etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,960 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

You forgot Johnny B Woode :pac:

Quite simply the greatest rock & roller of them all. Hit after hit & classic after classic. Throw in unique & instantly recognisable guitar sound, great live performer & usual at the time wrote all his own stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭Rekop dog

Feckin 2017, when will you let up!

Chuck punched Richards in the face for daring to touch his guitar

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

Absolutely and truly one of the greatest artists ever. I have always loved his music especially "You Never Can Tell" "Johnny B Goode" "Rock & Roll Music" and "Brown Eyed Handsome Man". Thanks so much for the memories and fantastic music. May he Rest In Peace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,501 ✭✭✭✭Slydice

Stigura wrote: »
    (links below cos too much youtube can hang browsers)
    Then in linked videos with John Lennon:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kpTpxbnBWYM
    John Lennons son Julian:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5YcPtitpLkk

and then others!
    George Thorogood & Stevie Ray Vaughan
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4XgI_eoMsWU
    Bee Gees
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t1oaf2hEXwY

we need a thread merge

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

Can't believe he was still alive until today.I assumed he was long dead.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭Jack the Stripper

Rekop dog wrote: »
    Feckin 2017, when will you let up!

He was 90, believe it or not everyone dies. 90 is more than average life span.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,741 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

I wonder what became of his camcorder collection

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭infogiver

Discodog wrote: »

Chuck punched Richards in the face for daring to touch his guitar

Richards really learned the true meaning of the idea that you should never meet your idols.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭Rekop dog

He was 90, believe it or not everyone dies. 90 is more than average life span.

There's everyone and then there's genuine superstars such as Chuck. The sooner we see the back of 2017 the better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,789 ✭✭✭Alf Stewart.

Can't believe he was still alive until today.I assumed he was long dead.

Goes to show, you never can tell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,348 ✭✭✭PropJoe10

One of the great rock n roll originators of all time. RIP Sir!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,194 ✭✭✭Elmer Blooker

If it wasn't for Chuck Berry the Beatles and the Rolling Stones probably would never have existed. In bleak post war 1950s Britain John Lennon and Keith Richards had nothing to do except listen to Chuck Berry records and try to copy the riffs and we know the rest....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

Bit of a rascal and that's being kind to the man.

Really natural player though, hugely influential & with a style all his own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,676 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

Would have loved to have seen him play live back when he was in his prime. From what I've seen online his shows were an absolute blast and his sense of humour between songs was razor sharp.

RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

An icon whose influence is heard still today in music and will continue to be heard for decades to come. Loved his music

RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 TheMercenary

Hard to overemphasise how influential he was and easy to overlook how good he could actually play.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭doolox

The rhythm of rock and roll imitating 19th and early 20th century steam powered machinery is observed and captured very well in Chuck Berrys song "Johnny B Goode" . Art imitates life and life imitates Art.

"Every day he's sittin' by the railroad tracks, making music to the rhythm that the drivers made."

May he rest in peace and be knockin' on heavens door....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,922 ✭✭✭buried

Man was a true innovator for sure. R.I.P

Make America Get Out of Here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

As a mark of respect, I've spent the entire evening playing with my ding-a-ling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Sad news, but big thanks have to go to Marty Mc Fly, as if not for Chuck's brother hearing him play way back when, we'd have never even had a Chuck Berry.

How true.

Far too young. 2017, you're a bastard of a year, aren't you? When will all the death of natural causes and old age come to an end?

Am I doing the boards RIP thread thing correctly?

RIP Chuck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,753 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Fleawuss wrote: »
    OP called Timber says his ding a ling don't ring anymore. In AH. Standards must be upheld so....
    No morning wood anymore Timberrrr?
    Can't get s hard on Timberr?
    Etc.

The naked lady next to me disagrees with your post:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

RIP to a true Legend of Rock N' Roll.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

The naked lady next to me disagrees with your post:pac:

There is only one answer possible in AH.....

Pics or GTFO!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,066 ✭✭✭Firewalkwithme

He farted on hookers

RIP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,066 ✭✭✭Firewalkwithme

Not a terribly nice person by all accounts, but his contribution to music can not be overstated.

Hail! Hail! Rock and Roll!

Yes there is a video of him farting on hookers out there. He liked setting up little spy cams too.

RIP Chuck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭JackTaylorFan

I have no comment (except to say: I have no comment)

http://www.jimgoad.net/index.shtml?chuckberry

You on dial up op?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

He was still alive???!!!!

Fcuk me, fair play to him for surviving THAT life, that long. RIP Chuck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭JackTaylorFan

You on dial up op?

Yes! I'm posting from a windows 95 in 2001

You should upgrade to 98.