Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Paddy's Day

• 16-03-2017 12:05am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 849 ✭✭✭

What will you be up to on our national festive day, it looks like it will be a weekend of it with the lads on green playing the following day

Moved into town in the last few months so it is my first Paddy's Day in here and am looking for some new ideas this year ....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

If you moved into to my town you're in for a shock, Easter Monday is Paddy's Day around here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

I don't drink, so I'm gonna go the movies assuming its open.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

St. Patrick's Day. Not Patty's Day, not Paddies Day, or Paddy's Day.

Saint Patrick's Day.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭Jack the Stripper

Get absolutely baloobas and insult half the parish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 849 ✭✭✭IrishLad90

I'm tryna avoid the pub crawl scene this year myself but it is paddy's day and it be rude to :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

Saint Patrick's Day.

Whist now Junkyard Tom!

Too-ra-loo-ra-loo-ral, Too-ra-loo-ra-li,
    Too-ra-loo-ra-loo-ral, hush now, don't you cry!
    Too-ra-loo-ra-loo-ral, Too-ra-loo-ra-li,
    Too-ra-loo-ra-loo-ral, that's an Irish lullaby.

Happy St. Patty's day to you 🐢🐬🍺

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,467 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Working til 7pm so will prob hit the pub sometime after

Busy day ahead for pubs with the gold cup on

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

Happy St. Patty's day

Oh, no.

Oh, no, no, no, no.

Nope.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

Going to get drunk, make a show of myself in front of the Canadians and exploit my accent to get the shift.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,035 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

Going to get drunk, make a show of myself in front of the Canadians and exploit my accent to get the shift.

Say 'kiss me, i'm Irish'. They love that over there.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

St. Patrick was Welsh so I'll be doing traditional Welsh things like; being boring.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

J Mysterio wrote: »
    Say 'kiss me, i'm Irish'. They love that over there.

I have a shirt with that written on the diddies.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,105 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

I'll be chilling at home. If I'm up early enough I'll watch a bit of the parade on TV. I've left my drinking days behind so there'll be no pubs for me.

I got sick of going into town for Paddys Day years ago. Too messy and full of scummers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,959 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

faceman wrote: »
    St. Patrick was Welsh so I'll be doing traditional Welsh things like; being boring.

Shag some sheep, we're good at that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭The Raptor

Be boring. Watch the parade on TV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

Worst day of the year if your working in A&E, knew a woman who worked the desk in that department at night time. Said it's chaos from 6 in the evening onwards with drunk people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭hank scorpio89

Decided to go off the booze for 30 days only started monday.what a time to start ey feckin paddys week.i rekon ill eiher just sit in alone and pig out on fast food and chocolate ..or ill throw in the towel and sit in alone slaughter 20 cans of lidls finest galereux and scream incoherently at movies on the tv...yeno the usual friday night ..im a very social person you see .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Working......plus - I'm not sure if this is a good or a bad thing - I'll be in probably the only large capital city in the world (Yangon) without an Irish bar - 7 million people and no Irish bar, talk about a business opportunity!!

Hardly world ending but it means having to watch the rugby in an American-themed bar and arguing with them when they switch over to US college sports!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,435 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Hopefully mountain biking but forecast looks ****e

• Closed Accounts Posts: 646 ✭✭✭hungry hypno toad

Saint Patrick's Day.

What about St. Paddy's Day?

Jawgap wrote: »
    Working......plus - I'm not sure if this is a good or a bad thing - I'll be in probably the only large capital city in the world (Yangon) without an Irish bar - 7 million people and no Irish bar, talk about a business opportunity!!

Hardly world ending but it means having to watch the rugby in an American-themed bar and arguing with them when they switch over to US college sports!!

https://www.myanmore.com/yangon/2016/03/st-patricks-day-yangon/

50th Street Bar is my hostelry of choice, but it's American themed, and the rugby comes third behind the US sports and soccer.

The Fat Ox is also on 50th street and is a British pub......so naturally enough full of ex-pat Brits. Not a fan of it, unless there's a football match I want to see.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

I'm going to fall down and then go drinking :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

I'm going to sit in a pub on my own making edgy comments about the perceived hypocrisy of the celebrations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

Decided to go off the booze for 30 days only started monday.what a time to start ey feckin paddys week.i rekon ill eiher just sit in alone and pig out on fast food and chocolate ..or ill throw in the towel and sit in alone slaughter 20 cans of lidls finest galereux and scream incoherently at movies on the tv...yeno the usual friday night ..im a very social person you see .

Yeah but did you decide on 30 consequtive days?

Loophole!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Kent Brockman: Ladies and gentlemen, what you are seeing is a total disregard for the things St. Patrick's Day stand for. All this drinking, violence, destruction of property. Are these the things we think of when we think of the Irish?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

jamesbere wrote: »
    Worst day of the year if your working in A&E, knew a woman who worked the desk in that department at night time. Said it's chaos from 6 in the evening onwards with drunk people

God help us all! I was once in an all-night tesco early on and said it was early because I wanted home before it all started.

The manager warned me it had already started. In the wee small hours a coach load of kids, all out of their minds on drugs and drink and the driver buying booze for them.

Staying home and yes, praying, especially for eg Gardai and hospital staff.

Kent Brockman: Ladies and gentlemen, what you are seeing is a total disregard for the things St. Patrick's Day stand for. All this drinking, violence, destruction of property. Are these the things we think of when we think of the Irish?

A trap methinks :rolleyes: ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Thank you for reviving happy memories of my early Irish SAINT PATRICK'S DAY.

Where I was living the garden , long neglected, was overrun with shamrock.

I would spenr the two days before the Day picking and bunching. Then on my way out, woud drop some in at neighbours...

Then to the Poor Clare convent. A bunch for each and some for visitors...

Then across the Mass at another town, wearing my own bunch of course.

A lovely modern round church, and traditional music; fiddle flute and accordion..

The young curate well away in Gaelic, then suddenly stopping, breaking into a huge grin. " Not doing badly am I?" to great applause and sympathetic laughter; he was not an Irish speaker...

Lovely start to the day and the church packed and smiling.

Then, yes, home. I have no love of crowds. One other year I was trading at a market in a small town and thought I would see what the fuss was about.

The Army was there in force, for ceremonial reasons, and an attempt to break a world record for the most leprechauns in town that day

Then i slipped away to look at the Parade, expecting some iota of faith?

My most vivid memory is of a drummer, green wig flapping eyes closed in a manic trance as he ( or she?) drummed into oblivion..

Home this year...

Graces7 wrote: »
    Thank you for reviving happy memories of my early Irish SAINT PATRICK'S DAY.

Where I was living the garden , long neglected, was overrun with shamrock.

I would spenr the two days before the Day picking and bunching. Then on my way out, woud drop some in at neighbours...

Then to the Poor Clare convent. A bunch for each and some for visitors...

Then across the Mass at another town, wearing my own bunch of course.

A lovely modern round church, and traditional music; fiddle flute and accordion..

The young curate well away in Gaelic, then suddenly stopping, breaking into a huge grin. " Not doing badly am I?" to great applause and sympathetic laughter; he was not an Irish speaker...

Lovely start to the day and the church packed and smiling.

Then, yes, home. I have no love of crowds. One other year I was trading at a market in a small town and thought I would see what the fuss was about.

The Army was there in force, for ceremonial reasons, and an attempt to break a world record for the most leprechauns in town that day

Then i slipped away to look at the Parade, expecting some iota of faith?

My most vivid memory is of a drummer, green wig flapping eyes closed in a manic trance as he ( or she?) drummed into oblivion..

Home this year...

That is depressing, hope this year is better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Saint Patrick's Day.

It's a religious term. Deserves no respect.

Zebra3 wrote: »

No, it's the name of the day - we could just call it Friday but by your logic a day named after a deity wouldn't need to be used.....

....or we cold just call it 17 March, but March is named for Roman god.....

.....maybe we should just call Stardate 47634.44 :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,325 ✭✭✭munster87

Ah sure respect is usually nice regardless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

I'll be spending my first night in Nha Trang, Vietnam. Planning to walk the beach front and keep an ear out for a party. Failing that, there's bound to be an Irish bar there, and I've got to go into one some day..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,733 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

No plans. Parade in Limerick gets too busy and too hard to see anything. Might go to Kilkee like last year - parade was nice and short and we spent a couple of hours at the beach afterwards.

My neighbour knocked on the door yesterday asking if I wanted to go halves on a slab of Guinness going cheap, to get ready for Paddy's day. He didn't want to buy it by himself as he already has a slab of something else and a bottle of Bushmills.

He's Polish.

That is depressing, hope this year is better.

?? I enjoyed what I had; for me the mass and the giving.

will stay home this year gladly. Too old and happy to do that.

osarusan wrote: »
    No plans. Parade in Limerick gets too busy and too hard to see anything. Might go to Kilkee like last year - parade was nice and short and we spent a couple of hours at the beach afterwards.

My neighbour knocked on the door yesterday asking if I wanted to go halves on a slab of Guinness going cheap, to get ready for Paddy's day. He didn't want to buy it by himself as he already has a slab of something else and a bottle of Bushmills.

He's Polish.

Kilkee sounds good.

Polish hey? WHen in Rome?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Woodville56

Saint Patrick's Day.

I was wondering how long it would take into the thread before the auld kick at religion got an airing - early too (7.04 am). Made your day eh ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

I'm not doing much. I'm hoping the weather stays reasonably clement as it has been in recent days as there's a loop walk I want to do nearby.

No drinking for me; I've a long drive ahead of me early on Saturday morning and wouldn't risk it.

Aglomerado wrote:
    I'm not doing much. I'm hoping the weather stays reasonably clement as it has been in recent days as there's a loop walk I want to do nearby.

Forecast doesn't look great unfortunately, enjoy

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    Forecast doesn't look great unfortunately, enjoy

Feck :( ...I've got good weather gear but walking even more fun when I am enjoying nice views.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,639 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

I was wondering how long it would take into the thread before the auld kick at religion got an airing - early too (7.04 am). Made your day eh ?

Why would anybody respect anything that is based on fantasy with no evidence to back it up?

Aglomerado wrote: »
    Feck :( ...I've got good weather gear but walking even more fun when I am enjoying nice views.

im getting picky in my old age of the type of weather i walk in, hate walking in full wet gear. it depends where you are, but parts of the country will get light rain. morning looking like the best part of the day

munster87 wrote: »
    Ah sure respect is usually nice regardless

Respect has to be earned.

Something Christianity is a long way from ever attaining.

I'm down south, and morning is my preferred time of day for walking, so looks like it's on! :)

Aglomerado wrote: »
    I'm down south, and morning is my preferred time of day for walking, so looks like it's on! :)

i think you ll be grand, rain is to move from northwest to southeast, not getting to the south east until the afternoon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

IrishLad90 wrote: »
    Moved into town in the last few months so it is my first Paddy's Day in here and am looking for some new ideas this year ....

Temple Bar is where it's at.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭jacksie66