Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Silly questions people have asked?

• 13-03-2017 12:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,211 ✭✭✭✭

When I was in secondary over ten years ago now. Their was a guy who's father owned a large haulage firm. You'd see their articulated lorries all around the country. When you first met him he'd introduce himself as XXXX XXXX and that his father owned X company. He was always on about lorries and trucks.
    One day the word articulated lorry came up in class and he asked the teacher what an articulated lorry was? The whole class and even the teacher couldn't resit laughing. (You might have needed to being their or known the guy)
    I can think of other examples.
    Have ye any experience of people asking silly questions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,234 ✭✭✭Bredabe

"Why did the card I posted in switzerland with a dutch stamp not arrive in Ireland?"

"Can I use French francs in Russia"?

"Have you ever wagged your tail so hard you fell over"?-Brod Higgins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Someone I know and who shall remain nameless recently asked if Ash Wednesday was this Friday or next Friday? They were told don't be silly it's the following Tuesday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,554 ✭✭✭valoren

My younger brother.

"You know how I have a loan in the credit union? If I get another loan, do I have to pay back the first one?"

He was 20 at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Why are they called cowboys when they ride horses?
    My 24 year old sister there with that gem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

Engineering Project Manager: "Is there anyway we can fix this.....(pause)......without changing anything?"

(in fairness, I think it was more wishful thinking than a serious question)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,434 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

"What time is the 10:30 bus due?"

*waits for an answer... the penny eventually drops*

"Oh."

Yeah...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 646 ✭✭✭hungry hypno toad

Can a teacher interrogate a student without parent's permission?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 984 ✭✭✭gutenberg

'How many hours ahead of Dublin is London?'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,211 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Once my aunt(who'd have being her fifties) was at my house. We live a small bit down a country road off the main Dublin road in the country side.
    I said did anybody anybody heat the guys doing doughnuts last night at about 3am and my aunts response was 'Did they sell many of them?''.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭FallSilently

I get asked the same three stupid questions constantly and they're always in the same fecking order:

"Who are you?"
    "Where am I?"
    "What do you want with me?"

Jesus, have patience would ye

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭Macca07

What's the difference between the languages English and Irish?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,545 ✭✭✭SteoL

An ex of mine who was born on 25th April:

I wonder why my birthday never falls on Friday the 13th?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 315 ✭✭Teddington Cuddlesworth

Friend: What's the currency in Ibiza?
    Me: Euro!
    Friend: The same Euro as us?
    Me: Yea and Spain.
    Friend: What? (getting thick with me) I didn't ask about Spain.

This from a 32 year old, third level educated man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,708 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Any question that can't be answered with the simple use of Google.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭Stigura

Have ye any experience of people asking silly questions.

Yes. Someone once asked if I'd like my cock sucked. I mean; How senseless a question is That?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭MonsterCookie

Friend: What's the currency in Ibiza?
    Me: Euro!
    Friend: The same Euro as us?
    Me: Yea and Spain.
    Friend: What? (getting thick with me) I didn't ask about Spain.

This from a 32 year old, third level educated man

Reminds me of a customer in tesco asking for an Irish euro coin when she wasn't happy with the one she was given in her change. She kept saying 'this is an espagna one!' And demanding it be changed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭nhunter100

Stigura wrote:
    Yes. Someone once asked if I'd like my cock sucked. I mean; How senseless a question is That?!

Was it a him or a her that asked? Although a BJ is still a BJ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭Stigura

nhunter100 wrote: »
    Was it a him or a her that asked? Although a BJ is still a BJ.

Sort of answered ye own question there! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭nhunter100

Stigura wrote:
    Sort of answered ye own question there!

I see what you did there, evading the question. :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

My sister was trying to figure out a name to give a pet who had a moustachey looking fur pattern on his face.

"What was Hitler's surname?"

She got off easy too, nobody in the room could pick which of the five slaggings running through our heads would be the best to go with so there was just silence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,509 ✭✭✭robbiezero

"What time is the 10:30 bus due?"

*waits for an answer... the penny eventually drops*

"Oh."

Yeah...

In fairness, that is a legitimate question in Ireland. The only time you can be quite certain the 10:30 bus will not arrive at is 10:30.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

Years ago was telling my girlfriend how you can go to Moscow and view Lenin's embalmed body in Red Square.
    She asked why John Lennon's body is in Moscow.
    Still married her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 646 ✭✭✭hungry hypno toad

dan1895 wrote: »
    Years ago was telling my girlfriend how you can go to Moscow and view Lenin's embalmed body in Red Square.
    She asked why John Lennon's body is in Moscow.
    Still married her.

Don't expect your kids to become rocket surgeons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

I remember sitting in the back of the car as my Dad, seeking directions, pulled up to a wizened old fella sitting on a wall in a rural French hamlet, wound down his window and inquired "Excusez moi monsieur, parlez-vous français?"

The quizzical look on yer mans face as he contemplated just how ridiculous the question was ensured that Dad is still slagged about that episode some 25 years later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Man asked a Liverpool bus conductor, " Is this bus going to Speke?"

Reply, " It if does I am getting off"
    ( as in speak)
    Destination was on the front..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

"How do you boil potatoes?"

A 26yr old man asked me that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

One of the nuns in the convent school I went to was a bit mad. She stopped a girl in the corridor one day and said "Are you the clock?". Maybe she just wanted to know the time but we got great mileage out of it :)

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

If fish smell like the ocean, why doesn't steak smell like a field?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 398 ✭✭DanMurphy

My neighbour won a trip to the States.
    A single man, a farmer, had never been out of Ireland before.
    'Will my cigarette lighter work over there,? was all that worried him !

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

Someone I know was having a not concentrating too well day (not me)

They lived in a tower block....Anyhoo somebody gets in the lift (even number lift) and ask where would number 13 (meaning flat 13 ) be ?

The Answer was : Go to 12 and go up one by stairs to 13.......... There were only 12 floors on the building:D

Luckily the person got out at floor 10 after realising that they had given instructions that were completely bonkers:eek:

There was really no explaining that one.....as dignified an exit as possible was the only solution..........:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,501 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

Yamanoto wrote: »
    I remember sitting in the back of the car as my Dad, seeking directions, pulled up to a wizened old fella sitting on a wall in a rural French hamlet, wound down his window and inquired "Excusez moi monsieur, parlez-vous français?"

The quizzical look on yer mans face as he contemplated just how ridiculous the question was ensured that Dad is still slagged about that episode some 25 years later.

Years ago i was walking around a small french town a bit (very) hung over.

A woman pulled over and rolled down her window and asked me for directions in french. I said in "I dont speak english", with a puzzled look she then asked me in english for directions and i said "i dont speak french".

She just shook her head and drove off.
    Took a minute to sink in what i had said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭RubyXI

American: Where's the Blarney Stone?
    Me: It's in Blarney
    American: Oh ok thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

"Did it hurt when you fell from heaven?"

Hurt like a mudderfudder!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭Johnson_76

A middle aged acquaintance told me once, that if he won the lotto he would put it in the bank and live off the insurance. He asked me was that a good idea ? I walked away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭RhubarbCrumble

Your Face wrote: »
    "How do you boil potatoes?"

A 26yr old man asked me that.

My father's 66 and still wouldn't have a clue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭Lady Spangles

While walking down the Dublin Road, a guy asked me directions to none other than the Dublin Road. "It's here," say's I. To which he replied: "Yes, but where is it?" A bit mystified, I thought he might have misheard me so I told him it was "right here. This is it. This is the Dublin Road." He glanced around a bit, still looking puzzled and then looks back at me as if I'm speaking a foreign language and says: "Never mind. Thanks anyway."

Perhaps he was asking for exact coordinates, or perhaps he was just dumb. I dunno.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭cactusgal

I'm American, but living and working in Ireland. An American person once asked me if I got paid in dollars or euros here :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,167 ✭✭✭RiderOnTheStorm

Once got a call from a guy in our UK office, asking what time was it in Ireland. I told him the time and he said "yeah, its the same here. I just sent a fax and it hasn't arrived, so I thought maybe if there was a time difference then it wouldn't arrive until the times matched.... "

face....palm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Sister in law to Corner , "can you get sunburnt inside the house " ?

Corner " yes , you should probably wear a hat inside".

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 5,837 Mod ✭✭✭✭irish_goat

2nd year Economics lecture a student asks our professor.

"Why can't they just print more money?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

About 10 years ago...

My Mother: How do I rewind a DVD to the beginning?
    Me: It's a DVD, why would you want to do that?
    Mother: To avoid being fined when I return it to Xtra Vision..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

irish_goat wrote: »
    2nd year Economics lecture a student asks our professor.

"Why can't they just print more money?"
    Quantitive Easing..............printing money sort of.....

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 5,837 Mod ✭✭✭✭irish_goat

blinding wrote: »
    Quantitive Easing..............printing money sort of.....

Yeah that's not what he was getting at...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭Four Phucs Ache

Wife:Are you going to finish that?

Me : Looks at her with disbelief.

Ive since lost 6 stone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 398 ✭✭DanMurphy

On the beach in Lanzarote talking to a guy I'd just met (from Tipperary)
    'Look, says I, a dead seagull.'
    'Where, where, says he, looking up at the sky!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,206 ✭✭✭Samsgirl

I once asked my husband if dragons existed the same time as the dinosaurs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

When is Christmas in Australia?
    Why doesn't it rain when there's no clouds?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

I was working as waiter in Burger Bar (In South Carolina), when I met Hugh*.

Hugh: Where are you from?
    Me: Ireland.
    Hugh: Wow, did you come here by train?

(*His name wasn't Hugh.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,234 ✭✭✭Bredabe

I was working as waiter in Burger Bar, when I met Hugh*.

Hugh: Where are you from?
    Me: Ireland.
    Hugh: Wow, did you come here by train?

(*His name wasn't Hugh.)

Was once asked if I took the no 11 Dublin bus from college in Dub city centre to my parents home in Galway.

"Have you ever wagged your tail so hard you fell over"?-Brod Higgins.