Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish people and their ignorant whinging.

• 11-03-2017 8:42am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭

Seen a headline about Venezuela this morning and it got me thinking about how lucky we are in this country.

Yet you have people always whinging it's a 3rd world country, the country is in a mess, the goverment don't care blah blah.

I think as a nation a lot of people are spoiled and live in a bubble that think if everything isn't perfect were all ****ed.

Anyway here's the link.

http://www.thejournal.ie/venezuela-starvation-3276409-Mar2017/

"Some 9.6 million Venezuelans are living on two or fewer meals a day, according to the Living Conditions Survey.

And 1.5 million are living on food given to them or found in bins, says one of the report’s authors, nutritionist Maritza Landaeta."

That's socialism lads!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,491 ✭✭✭Fighting Tao

Yet you are here whinging about people whinging.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

Yes here I am indeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,491 ✭✭✭Fighting Tao

Yes here I am indeed.

Well done. Did you feel the need to back up your stereotyping with evidence?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 281 ✭✭skankkuvhima

This is a good example of a recursive whinge

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,063 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Your headline is a bit on the auld wide and sweeping side isn't it? Some people whinge..... most I think don't. I can't think of anyone amongst my group of acquaintances who would whinge about their lot in life.

Well done. Did you feel the need to back up your stereotyping with evidence?

If someone is constantly whinging and giving out you can surely tell them to give it over no?

Or are you not allowed cause that's whinging I don't get it?

Next time my child is whinging because they can't go to bed when they want I must not tell them to stop because I'll be whinging then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭Elemonator

It's definitely true. I used to moan about the transport infrastructure here........then I went to Turkey.

Permabear wrote: »
    This post had been deleted.

And certain parties.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

Good job OP.

It's about damn time someone was brave enough on the internet to call it like it is!

Don't just highlight the poor Venezuelan's, spare a thought for the 2017 famine in South Sudan.

If we all send positive waves and try not to whinge about our lives, that could really fill poor peoples bellies.

You are the hero poor people need. Im here to fully support you. I need to check your posts to make sure you are as righteous as you proclaim.

.......nope, your post history suggests a litany of whingy comments.

You are full of sh1t OP! Its your fault the Venezuelans are hungry.

I cant be part of your movement anymore...you are a fraud.

Good job OP.

It's about damn time someone was brave enough on the internet to call it like it is!

Don't just highlight the poor Venezuelan's, spare a thought for the 2017 famine in South Sudan.

If we all send positive waves and try not to whinge about our lives, that could really fill poor peoples bellies.

You are the hero poor people need. Im here to fully support you. I need to check your posts to make sure you are as righteous as you proclaim.

.......nope, your post history suggests a litany of whingy comments.

You are full of sh1t OP! Its your fault the Venezuelans are hungry.

I cant be part of your movement anymore...you are a fraud.

Hey I'm all about me and people not annoying me from day to day!

Venezuela isn't my problem!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

Hey I'm all about me and people not annoying me from day to day!

Venezuela isn't my problem!

Exactly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

I think some of our whingers are the most informed whingers on the planet. Not ignorant at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Feeling you can't moan about the daily ****e you experience because someone somewhere has it worse is like not feeling happy about the good stuff because someone somewhere has it better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,310 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

Move to Venezuela.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,043 ✭✭✭me_right_one

OP, you are right. We live in one of the luckiest, best countries in the world. The more I think about it, the more I am convinced of it, every day. Its not perfect, and it has certainly been worse, but it is a little goldilocks of a country overall. People who say "urrgh, I hate Ireland" can go and feck off.

Solidarity with Venezuela.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,820 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

...and neoliberalism is working perfectly to?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭DareGod

I'm sure everyone understands what your point is, OP, and it's definitely a valid point to an extent. Of course it is. But I think the whingers you're talking about are generally whingeing about national problems that are caused by chronic incompentency and corruption at government level and that's something that should always be talked about in every country regardless, never ignored.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

Just because other countries are worse does not mean we should not strive for our country to be better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

DareGod wrote: »
    I'm sure everyone understands what your point is, OP, and it's definitely a valid point to an extent. Of course it is. But I think the whingers you're talking about are generally whingeing about national problems that are caused by chronic incompentency and corruption at government level and that's something that should always be talked about in every country regardless, never ignored.

the weather?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 646 ✭✭✭hungry hypno toad

Anyone critising the Venezuelan government on this thread is probably a profiteer who has been stockpiling goods to raise prices in an attempt to destroy the legacy of Hugo Chavez.

This is NOT the fault of the Government. Venezuela continues to be a socalist paradise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

Depends whether there's valid reason to complain and what level of complaining people do, and who they direct it at. I don't mind people getting it off their chest if they're struggling. I do mind people running the whole country down and calling it a kip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Depends whether there's valid reason to complain and what level of complaining people do, and who they direct it at. I don't mind people getting it off their chest if they're struggling. I do mind people running the whole country down and calling it a kip.

as they do if they are Irish but try even the smallest hint of that if you ar enot and they turn into aggressive wee turkeycocks. :eek:

and the Americans who worship Ireland from afar are worse..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

Anyone critising the Venezuelan government on this thread is probably a profiteer who has been stockpiling goods to raise prices in an attempt to destroy the legacy of Hugo Chavez.

This is NOT the fault of the Government. Venezuela continues to be a socalist paradise.

Just on this thread? Are there a lot of Irish profiteers from Venezuela on boards that wait for threads about the country to attack the government? Must be that deep state thing I keep hearing about...

True, people constantly moaning about **** was on my list of reasons of why to leave Ireland. Leaving had made me a much more optimistic and happier person!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭fiachr_a

Remember the one in the papers with red hair who moved to Canada with her husband complaining about our bad education system for her daughter? Great seeing her on TV having to buy milk in a plastic bag.

Samaris wrote: »
    Just on this thread? Are there a lot of Irish profiteers from Venezuela on boards that wait for threads about the country to attack the government? Must be that deep state thing I keep hearing about...

I was being sarcastic...

Wouldn't be a fan of de foreinders coming here and criticising Ireland. They know where the door is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

Elemonator wrote: »
    It's definitely true. I used to moan about the transport infrastructure here........then I went to Turkey.

Travel broadens the mind as they say.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 907 ✭✭✭Alpha_zero

Most Irish people couldn't tell you the capital of Venezuela.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

The Venezuela reference really caught the interest of the whingers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭Lackey

Millennials winging about the state of our healthcare....in my day we just died.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭infogiver

Yes here I am indeed.

I agree with you wheelie. We're all very spoiled and the more people get the more they want and the greater they're sense of entitlement.
    Then you have the MMT politicians feeding this by telling people who sit in front of 52" TVs while smoking 40 JPB a day despite never having had a job because "they're from a disadvantaged background "that they're living in 3rd world conditions and/or it's a "police state" when the Gardai seize they're Subaru Impreza for having no tax or insurance.
    Sickening

infogiver wrote: »
    I agree with you wheelie. We're all very spoiled and the more people get the more they want and the greater they're sense of entitlement.
    Then you have the MMT politicians feeding this by telling people who sit in front of 52" TVs while smoking 40 JPB a day despite never having had a job because "they're from a disadvantaged background "that they're living in 3rd world conditions and/or it's a "police state" when the Gardai seize they're Subaru Impreza for having no tax or insurance.
    Sickening

Entitled entitled entitled!!

****en word has this country deluded.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭infogiver

Entitled entitled entitled!!

****en word has this country deluded.

40 years of patting people on the head and apologising to them for well...nothing really, hasn't worked and it's time to take a different direction.
    The current minister for SP has a good grasp on the situation and I hope that whatever else happens he can continue to make the changes he's pressing through

40 years of patting people on the head and apologising to them for well...nothing really, hasn't worked and it's time to take a different direction.
    The current minister for SP has a good grasp on the situation and I hope that whatever else happens he can continue to make the changes he's pressing through

Problem is we are heading to a point where it's not sustainable to be babysitting people through life and giving into their every demand.

With our ageing population it's a bombshell. These people need to get up off their arses and start contributing something instead of taking.

20 billion a year welfare Bill isn't sustainable.

But all I see is the system getting easier for people to screw.

Go "homeless" and your bumped up the list quicker for a nice house for life.

Just Google Erica Fleming. Need I say anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

Graces7 wrote: »
    as they do if they are Irish but try even the smallest hint of that if you ar enot and they turn into aggressive wee turkeycocks. :eek:

and the Americans who worship Ireland from afar are worse..

I do know what you mean. Again it depends on the level. I've a French friend who doesn't know when to stop complaining about everything wrong with the country. He hasn't been home to France in thirty years and his own recently arrived French friends keep reminding him that things he complains about here are the same if not worse in France. Eventually it's understandable for people to get really tired of it and wonder why he doesn't just go back to France. I've had to bite my tongue once or twice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

eviltwin wrote: »
    Feeling you can't moan about the daily ****e you experience because someone somewhere has it worse is like not feeling happy about the good stuff because someone somewhere has it better.

This is true but when discussing problems in this country, posters will say things like 'this is like a 3rd world country' or some other equally ignorant comment while they sit in their fully heated spacious homes full of good quality food and with clean water and practically everything you need being quick and easy to access

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

He/she either knows every Irish person or else igorantly believes they are all whingers, talk about being ignorant of your own ignorance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

F--k Venezuela - I want an iphone.

Sam Kade wrote: »
    He/she either knows every Irish person or else igorantly believes they are all whingers, talk about being ignorant of your own ignorance.

Did you read my post?

I never once said EVERY Irish person.

Talk about not reading a post and been ignorant of its content.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Did you read my post?

You need to change your heading to some Irish people ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

Did you read my post?

:D A perfect example.

There​ are a scary number of idiots out there OP. Remember to add the general list of caveats to any opening post in future...

... I don't mean every person...

... this is a discussion, not a whinge...

God forbid someone may not take a post in the context of which it was meant.

Pac1Man wrote: »

There​ are a scary number of idiots out there OP. Remember to add the general list of caveats to any opening post in future...

I know right:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

The Irish loves being miserable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,776 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Seen a headline about Venezuela this morning and it got me thinking about how lucky we are in this country.

Yet you have people always whinging it's a 3rd world country, the country is in a mess, the goverment don't care blah blah.

I think as a nation a lot of people are spoiled and live in a bubble that think if everything isn't perfect were all ****ed.

Anyway here's the link.

http://www.thejournal.ie/venezuela-starvation-3276409-Mar2017/

"Some 9.6 million Venezuelans are living on two or fewer meals a day, according to the Living Conditions Survey.

And 1.5 million are living on food given to them or found in bins, says one of the report’s authors, nutritionist Maritza Landaeta."

That's socialism lads!!!

That's not socialism, that's corruption and US influence, and you know it!

As to the topic at hand: I love the way that people try to make Ireland look like a modern nation is to compare it to developing or third-world countries.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,004 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

Sickening

J P B...are they still on sale ?

The Gardaí ?...never mind them...just look what happens when the Brits seize a Roscommon man's car.....

https://www.facebook.com/johnnyanstephanie.nolan/videos/707250062735148/?hc_ref=NEWSFEED

Police State !! :eek:

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

I was being sarcastic...

Poe's Law :P

wakka12 wrote: »
    This is true but when discussing problems in this country, posters will say things like 'this is like a 3rd world country' or some other equally ignorant comment while they sit in their fully heated spacious homes full of good quality food and with clean water and practically everything you need being quick and easy to access
    Pac1Man wrote: »

Not to be awkward (okay, I'm being awkward), but we shouldn't take the obviously exaggerated sweeping statements of people seriously when they're complaining about the obviously exaggerated sweeping statements made by whinging Irish people?