Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Young women in farming

• 11-03-2017 1:23am
    Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,102 Mod ✭✭✭✭

I was watching the Late Late Show this evening and it featured three bright and talented young Irish women who are running their farms. I thought it was great to see but how many farmers out there are women? I've heard that there is still a lot of bias within the farming community against women and that old traditions die very hard.

Would a farmer be willing to leave their farm to their daughter if she expressed a keen interest or would farmers still be inclined to leave it to a son regardless if they were interested in farming or not?

I would be inclined to think that women farmers would work harder as they have to fight against predominant stereotypes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

You'd be inclined to be wrong IME

Farming is one of the more progressive industries and this shte about tradionally ways is long dead

Farming has modernised more in the last 40 years than the previous 200
    Do you know any farmers?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,102 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

You'd be inclined to be wrong IME

Farming is one of the more progressive industries and this shte about tradionally ways is long dead

Farming has modernised more in the last 40 years than the previous 200
    Do you know any farmers?

Yes, I know quite a few actually. I have close relatives in farming in the North. I myself do horticulture on a small scale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,217 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

JupiterKid wrote: »
    I was watching the Late Late Show this evening and it featured three bright and talented young Irish women who are running their farms. I thought it was great to see but how many farmers out there are women? I've heard that there is still a lot of bias within the farming community against women and that old tradition die very hard.

Would a farmer be willing to leave their farm to their daughter if she expressed a keen interest or would farmers still be inclined to leave it to a son regardless if they were interested in farming or not?

I would be inclined to think that women farmers would work harder as they have fight against predominant stereotypes.

Times have moved on. In most cases the farm will be left to whoever has an interest in it be they male or female. Missed the bit on the late late show as it was on too late for me :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,473 ✭✭✭Wildsurfer

Would have no problem at all passing on farm to my daughter over my son if she shows more of an interest for it. I think farming is either in you or its not. My older brother hated farming from day one, still would never visit or ask about it whereas my sister and I always loved it. But my father was old school so my sister was never considered an heir which was unfair really as she did so much work here. I guess the name thing would be big, that the family name would live on. So if my daughter gets the place whoever she marries will have to take on our surname... Only fair I think...:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,490 ✭✭✭stefanovich

When I think of young women and farming...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,329 ✭✭✭emaherx

I think the OP is correct to a point, there is still an older generation of farmers who hold this view. I think Irish Farming Mammies from about the early 70's raised their sons and daughters to think a bit more progressively.

Although even my 80 year old dad is starting to come around now that he sees regularly his grandsons come to visit in white runners and some of his granddaughters are much more likely to turn up in wellies. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

JupiterKid wrote: »
    I've heard that there is still a lot of bias within the farming community against women

Honestly I would say you've heard wrong. I was a a committee meeting about a month ago. All farmers from early thirties to not sixties. We were asked who we would like as an external speaker at a couple of futher meetings during the year. First two names mentioned were women. Bias is long gone. Second largest agribusiness in the country headed by a woman. What other major exporting industry can say that? I meet two other dairy farmers on the school run every morning. My bil working for a biotec multinational goes out of his way to demonstrate that his focus on his career isn't compromised by his family. I hear of this sort of nonsense all the time from various industries usually an attempt to overcompensate for the essentially soft/handy nature of roles many of them involve. Farmers of either sex don't have to prove themselves in this regard and are therefore far more relaxed about the division of labour at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Can you still call them farmettes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Can you still call them farmettes?

Only if you feel like checking if any of your teeth are loose.

Does Anna May not still call them that?

So it's gone by the wayside like Ban Garda, how about lady farmer?

Does Anna May not still call them that?

What age is anna may? Does she not only use that phrase for a category in the ploughing? It shouldn't make any difference if you're a male or female farmer as long as the job is done right

How are Anna May's teeth :)

whelan2 wrote: »
    What age is anna may? Does she not only use that phrase for a category in the ploughing? It shouldn't make any difference if you're a male or female farmer as long as the job is done right

I was ball hopping Whelan. Outside of Ireland afaik there aren't any separate competitions in ploughing based on the sex of the competitors. Funny though if I'm right how an organization headed up by two women would be so far on the wrong side of something like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

I was ball hopping Whelan. Outside of Ireland afaik there aren't any separate competitions in ploughing based on the sex of the competitors. Funny though if I'm right how an organization headed up by two women would be so far on the wrong side of something like this.

More classes = more entries = more money

ganmo wrote: »
    More classes = more entries = more money

Aye they badly need the money

Well the Merriam-Webster definition of 'farmer' is
    : a person who pays a fixed sum for some privilege or source of income
    : a person who cultivates land or crops or raises animals (as livestock or fish) Not a man, a person.
    So why any need to differentiate the sexes at all? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

A bit of useless information for ye.

A female baker was called a "Bakester".
    It's where the surname Baxter came from.

Also a female weaver was called a..... "Webster".
    Alas the surname Webster.

I wonder is there such a thing as a female hammer?:confused:

pedigree 6 wrote: »

RZvompi.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

pedigree 6 wrote: »

Casurette

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭davidk1394

How are Anna May's teeth :)

I'm sure their dentures by this stage

Well the Merriam-Webster definition of 'farmer' is
    : a person who pays a fixed sum for some privilege or source of income
    : a person who cultivates land or crops or raises animals (as livestock or fish) Not a man, a person.
    So why any need to differentiate the sexes at all? :confused:
    Oh dear :(
    https://www.reddit.com/r/AskReddit/comments/2p5nxi/why_are_people_so_sensitive_nowadays_it_seems/

I was just answering your question with my opinion and asking a question back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭heldel00

And Banaltra. It's now just altra.

heldel00 wrote: »
    And Banaltra. It's now just altra.

There are alot of male nurses now though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

A website trying to be like boards.ie.

Imposters.
    Throw them overboard.

Sam your bringing in a whole different subject now and maybe people are going too far.

Of course female farmers should be called farmers.
    The same as male farmers being called farmers.
    It's not a sex related profession term.

But this thing of people saying that people are easily offended nowadays is a bit rich too.
    I bet Sam if I called you a label based on your religion, ethnicity, age, sex, marital status I could offend you too.

There is a happy medium but put yourself in the other person's shoes before you come up with a label for that person and see it from their viewpoint of who is calling them this label.

It's a minefield. But common sense should prevail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭kerry cow

Two brothers working together would work but a brother and a sister who's married would never work .The ould name thing would come back to play .
    Two bucks in a patch spells trouble .too much testosterone .

kerry cow wrote: »
    Two brothers working together would work but a brother and a sister who's married would never work .The ould name thing would come back to play .

what would the sisters husband have to do with it?
    there are fewer and fewer women taking the mans now too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,434 ✭✭✭fepper

ganmo wrote: »
    what would the sisters husband have to do with it?
    there are fewer and fewer women taking the mans now too

If the brother died ,the farm would be now xxx husbands name

fepper wrote: »
    If the brother died ,the farm would be now xxx husbands name

Does that make a difference ?

kerry cow wrote: »
    No Whelan but it seems what kerrycow was referring to

Sure if she married someone with the same surname it would all be grand

It would be grand alright but in reality they usually have different surnames

Lot of women keeping their own name now too! You don't need to take the husbands name any more.

Yes but what about the kids?

Ok miss Murphy who owns farm marries Mr o Sullivan and have 5 kids and all the kids would be o Sullivans and eventually down the years,the farm would be known as o Sullivans farm but I'm sure miss Murphy would be holding the deeds!.....

More PC nonsense. Throwing away tradition for no good reason.

Sure the kids might have no interest in farmin.

If the woman is farming it and still goes by her maiden name would ya say it's her husbands surnames farm?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭Who2

When I'm six foot under I reckon il have a lot more pressing matters than what the neighbours call the few acres I used to farm

Who2 wrote: »
    When I'm six foot under I reckon il have a lot more pressing matters than what the neighbours call the few acres I used to farm

I'm sure your neighbours will be calling up the auctioneer enquiring about those few acrrs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,329 ✭✭✭emaherx

Also not unknown for lads to take their new wife's surnames in cases where family business names are involved.

Unless a farm is selling produce direct to the public and has a brand name what difference does it make?

Their choice when they're older i would imagine.
    More PC nonsense. Throwing away tradition for no good reason.

How is that PC? If I want to keep my name it shouldn't be frowned upon, just because it's 'tradition'. Traditions aren't always good.

If you want your husband to be considered an emasculated laughing stock then go ahead.

Just because you'd feel like that doesn't mean every man would.
    Man can keep his name, woman can keep hers, I see no issue there at all.

But they have to be kids first before being a adult,what are the kids going to do for their surnames then

Just because you'd feel like that doesn't mean every man would.
    Man can keep his name, woman can keep hers, I see no issue there at all.

And the kids? Perhaps the girls take the mothers name and the boys the father? Or perhaps they all take the woman's name including the husband? That would be really progressive.

Total headache and nightmare when your descendants are trying to trace the family tree.

fepper wrote: »

But they have to be kids first before being a adult,what are the kids going to do for their surnames then

Double barrel it! That's what my brother and his partner are doing, have both names at the moment but are letting him choose if he wants to keep both or one when he's older.

LADYHAYWIRE,clue in posters name

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

Less of the roid rage sweety :).