Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

WALES V IRELAND, 10 March 2017, Millennium Stadium, 8.05pm

• 09-03-2017 8:50pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭enzo roco

Wales:

FB 15 Leigh Halfpenny
    RW 14 George North
    OC 13 Jonathan Davies
    IC 12 Scott Williams
    LW 11 Liam Williams
    FH 10 Dan Biggar
    SH 9 Rhys Webb
    N8 8 Ross Moriarty
    OF 7 Justin Tipuric
    BF 6 Sam Warburton
    RL 5 Alun Wyn Jones (c)
    LL 4 Jake Ball
    TP 3 Tomas Francis
    HK 2 Ken Owens
    LP 1 Rob Evans
    Replacements:
    HK 16 Scott Baldwin
    PR 17 Nicky Smith
    PR 18 Samson Lee
    LK 19 Luke Charteris
    N8 20 Taulupe Faletau
    SH 21 Gareth Davies
    FH 22 Sam Davies
    CE 23 Jamie Roberts

Ireland:

FB 15 Rob Kearney
    RW 14 Keith Earls
    OC 13 Garry Ringrose
    IC 12 Robbie Henshaw
    LW 11 Simon Zebo
    FH 10 Jonathan Sexton
    SH 9 Conor Murray
    N8 8 Jamie Heaslip
    OF 7 Seán O'Brien
    BF 6 CJ Stander
    RL 5 Devin Toner
    LL 4 Donnacha Ryan
    TP 3 Tadhg Furlong
    HK 2 Rory Best (c)
    LP 1 Jack McGrath
    Replacements:
    HK 16 Niall Scannell
    PR 17 Cian Healy
    PR 18 John Ryan
    LK 19 Iain Henderson
    FL 20 Peter O'Mahony
    SH 21 Kieran Marmion
    FH 22 Paddy Jackson
    WG 23 Tommy Bowe

After reading Gordon Darcys article yesterday, and he didn’t mention the Ireland v Wales match. I couldn’t believe it, I had nothing to copy and paste.

Ireland go into the best stadium in world rugby. It will be hell for the Irish players, it has to be, Welsh fans demand a win, and the players must deliver. Or else they face a trip to Paris, and facing 4 losses in the 6nations, a disaster.
    I’d love to be at the match. The last time I was in cardiff, when Philips scored that try in 2011, I thought it was a good try with excellent quick thinking, but found out Ireland were robbed after the match. The noise in that stadium is similar to the Vicente Calderon or the new camp. Something aviva Stadium is not close to unfortunately. I'm sure professional athletes are used to it, but I wouldn't like to be taking a penalty in the 79th minute with that crowd.
    After the anthems, and fireworks nonsense. The first 10 mins I expect a furious pace, and also mistakes to be made. Both teams need the win, and will start 100%. Two years ago Ireland struggled with the start, and also the ref made some curious decisions and didnt keep up consistently. But all the Irish players need to do is concentrate on their job, and let Best worry about the ref. Barnes has been criticised about how he reffed that match. He will be under pressure also not to repeat mistakes.

With Lions places at stake now is the time to shine. If Wales lose three or four games in the 6nations, gatland could hardly bring a big Welsh contingent. Maybe he would though, but he’ll need to explain why Welsh lads are in ahead of Scottish or English champions.
    After watching the Wales v England match, I really thought Wales were in a good place, so close to beating the champions, and if small margins went differently, Wales might be favourites by 3 points or more.
    At the start of the second half, for those 10-15mins, the Welsh back row were on top of their English counterparts I put money on wales then, and was going bananas when Daly went over at the end, so close.

But what about Wales v Scotland. How does anyone explain what happened in the second half? Well done to the Scots? But what about Ireland in the first half in Murrayfield?... The Scots did them both. Therefore win at all costs tomorrow.

When Martyn Williams said last night that he’d rather Wales started Faletau and Charteris over Moriarty and Ball, I nearly choked on my caviar and coco pops, but then, I realised he meant, as the impact would be stronger with Ball and Moriarty coming off the bench, I like that thinking… In such a close game of course the bench will be vital, and numbers 16-23 know this. I do wonder when will Jackson come on, if he is on within the first 20 minutes, would Ireland be favourites? Perhaps…
    But if Biggar goes off early, would Sam Davis be able to lead his team to beat Ireland. It’ll be a struggle with only 5caps. Id hate to play against the Irish pack. Narky men like Furlong, Ryan, O’Brien and O'Mahony would make it tough for any rookie outhalf at this level.
    I agree with many on here about Bowe named at 23, other names have been mentioned that deserve the jersey, but I’m sure he’ll be solid when called upon. I’m sure Joe and his coaching team have reasons for the decision, I'm guessing defensive capabilities and experience. Harsh on the others but they're professionals.

Captains
    Best and Jones. They'll be buddies in a few months I'm sure.
    If Wales Lose tomorrow, will Alan wyn Jones be favourite for captain of the Lions??? I'd guess no.
    Best will play 60mins max, while Jones will finish the game. Both will be in Barnes' ear tomorrow non stop.
    Jones was harshly treated against for that debate with his kickers against Scotland. But I feel he made two bad calls against England, scrum over 3 points from halfpenny, madness... Yes yes captain hindsight has arrived, but still, its England, take the points.
    I hope Best has the game of his life, it will be a huge battle.

Back row war
    War makes is more dramatic... Stander and O’Brien would put fear into many an opponent. But I don’t think Warburton and Tipuric are sh1tting themselves. It’s their home turf, their back yard. They can’t and won’t let the Irish back row dominate... Obviously both back rows will constantly try and rip ball/hold a player up in the tackle/poach. Penalties will be given away no doubt.
    I would go for the Welsh to get the better. Moriarty and Falatau scare me. 50/30 mins each no doubt, same as it was against england.
    I cannot wait for the tackling, the hits will be colossal, I have a feeling a back row forward will be on the wing by 70mins.

Half back game of chess
    These four are world class players, and which ever two get the better, their team will more than likely win. I hope none have to go off early due to injury, but there will be some hard hitting aimed at them no doubt.
    Again, these four might be working with eachother in a few months.
    Biggar and Sexton are two narky *****, that wont accept failure from their packs.
    Sexton needs to be close to perfect off the tee. If he goes off, Jackson has proven time and time again he is capable kicker and his all round game is solid without being near Sexton.
    The box kicking and the kick from hand battles are mouthwatering.

Predictions

Wales win in a tight game, by 5 points. Mainly thanks to Leigh Halfpennys boot, the man is just spectacular with the ball on the tee. He can imagine a string from the ball to the imaginary post all he wants,once he nails them… I think he’ll kick himself onto the plane to new Zealand.
    Another reason I think Wales will win, is home advantage. With a 23 so strong, they will not lose two matches at home in a 6nations, can they?
    A wounded Welsh team need victory.
    The teams are so evenly matched, and in their first three games, at times both have been very good, and both made a mess of a half against Scotland.

I have put my money on Wales. I was surprised last weekend that Ireland went from +1 to +3 with the bookies, but better odds for me.

Tipuric to get man of the match.

Leigh Halfpennys kicking is vital and I wouldn’t be surprised if he wins the game and kicks 14+ points.

3 tries. Owens, Sexton and North.
    3 Yellows.
    4 Fights/handbags.

Apologies no gifs or pics, but I'm not sure how, and didnt have time to try. But edit and delete at will mods. I made a mess of the players, just robbed obviously. Ah well!!!
    I reckon I should be up for a pulitzer prize with this article, or maybe a full time rugby correspondence job for an Irish broadsheet???? Anyone agree??
    Slag/abuse/slag away, ladies and gents. I deserve it. But only within the laws of the charter. Pm to call me a pr1ck.

Cmon Ireland!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,902 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

TL/DR

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

mfceiling wrote: »
    TL/DR

Ireland to win but Krum will catch the snitch.

• Administrators Posts: 54,420 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

A good debut enzo. :)

Bonus points for using abbreviated position names in the team lists. Now that's detail!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭Dog Botherer

I don't fear Halfpenny nearly as much as I used to. His kicking percentages have definitely taken a hit since that last major injury, and he still misses a few he'd have gotten 3 years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

Still better than Venjur's effort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,128 ✭✭✭CMOTDibbler

Wales to win!. By five!. :eek:

And he put money on them. :mad:

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I kind of like the stream of consciousness style an think the entire thread should be just the OP live commenting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Webb V Murray gonna be a humdinger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

I kind of like the stream of consciousness style an think the entire thread should be just the OP live commenting.

I like your thinking i fully agree oh look a biscuit yummy well anyway I think the roof closed was the right choice bet the atmosphere will be incredible man I'd love to be there hmmm think I'll have another biscuit chocolate polo they're too good... to be continued I need a poo can't type on the loo

• Administrators Posts: 54,420 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

1281761.jpg

This picture doesn't look that encouraging to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,812 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

awec wrote: »
    1281761.jpg

What's he looking for?

Buer wrote: »
    Still better than Venjur's effort.

Buer doing the Ireland v England match thread. Thanks Buer!

awec wrote: »
    1281761.jpg

If he's having to do a core / lat stretch this late in the season were in big trouble.

But it doesn't matter because our pack are going to melt their faces COYBIG!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,457 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Looking forward too the match and having a few pints. Initially wasn't a fan of Friday night international games but it's something different

We badly need this win, Wales will fly out the traps I'd say there a passionate bunch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,466 ✭✭✭kuang1

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Looking forward too the match and having a few pints. Initially wasn't a fan of Friday night international games but it's something different

We badly need this win, Wales will fly out the traps I'd say there a passionate bunch

Won't be able to join you in the 3 Shippes PTH...on a plane to cardiff at 3.10pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,457 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

kuang1 wrote: »
    Won't be able to join you in the 3 Shippes PTH...on a plane to cardiff at 3.10pm.

Lucky ,Enjoy the trip

• Subscribers Posts: 42,171 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Ireland by 12.

Wales to score 1 try to irelands 3.
    Ireland to keep penalty number to 8 or below, wales to be double that.

Stander motm once again.

If he's having to do a core / lat stretch this late in the season were in big trouble.

But it doesn't matter because our pack are going to melt their faces COYBIG!
    1281762.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭Cervantes2

Hope it's more entertaining than the French match....

A lot of over confidence I feel on this forum. We lost to Scotland FFS, and this Welsh team should have beaten England only for a brain fart at the end. They're at home, playing with the rood closed, Friday night under lights, boozed up fans roaring them on. One score game that could go either way for me. I will need a couple of pints in me beforehand just to settle the nerves...

Zzippy wrote: »
    A lot of over confidence I feel on this forum. We lost to Scotland FFS, and this Welsh team should have beaten England only for a brain fart at the end. They're at home, playing with the rood closed, Friday night under lights, boozed up fans roaring them on. One score game that could go either way for me. I will need a couple of pints in me beforehand just to settle the nerves...
    How many roods in a perch again? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

One score game that could go either way for me. I will need a couple of pints in me beforehand just to settle the nerves...

We are still a better team than the Scottii. Would win at least 4 out of 5 games against them. That doesnt mean we can lose one as we did - and we are still a better team and would generally beat them despite that loss. Two games generally can go either way, but yes this one is tight. I would go Ireland 6 games out of 10 against them or so. So we will most likely win. But could lose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

For once I can get back to what it used to be like watching a Welsh game, kind of. Two Celtic nations getting stuck into each other, and whoever wins wins, no hard feelings. Gatland isn't there this year, thanks Lions, so I don't have to worry over the spectre of losing to that ... him. Wales are marginally less dislikeable without him, and I can focus on the Welsh lads I like, Warburton, Tipuric, Davies, and then focus more on beating the ones I don't like, Williams, Webb etc. Beating Wales without Gatland just doens't have the same zest to it, in the same way that losing tomorrow just won't feel as soul destroying.

Of course, it's all f*cking academic, because I managed to book myself and my girlfriend into a restaurant in Kilkenny for her birthday slap bang when the match starts, like a f* cking rookie. It's not like you've been watching this for the last 25 odd years, you tosser Dave.

My only consolation is the hopefully high quality of the restaurant. And the fact we should hopefully knock the living sh*te out of these taff lads, both on form and on paper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

Bowe for a hat trick by the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

I honestly think we will win the game but there won't be more than a score in it, which means I'll probably need a xanax after the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,943 ✭✭✭ionadnapokot

You might choke on your steak if that happens!

Feels strange going to work in my Irish jersey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Can't wait!

Just counting down the hours now. Have to go through a day of work first, which will be a minor inconvenience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,943 ✭✭✭ionadnapokot

Can't wait!

Just counting down the hours now. Have to go through a day of work first, which will be a minor inconvenience.

I wonder if we said to the boss today "but....the match!" would they just let us off home work

NO MORE SLIPS NO MORE SLIPS NO MORE SLIPS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,077 ✭✭✭✭vienne86

Ah here! Hopefully he won't even get on the pitch.

NO MORE SLIPS NO MORE SLIPS NO MORE SLIPS

Wife making you wear her undies again?

vienne86 wrote: »
    Ah here! Hopefully he won't even get on the pitch.
    Do you not want to hear, one last time: TOMMY BOOOOOOOOOOOWEEEE!? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,287 ✭✭✭crisco10

I'm worried that the Welsh will be well up for this giving all the stick they have gotten in the press this week. I can see them replicating what Scotland did to us. Namely, making the breakdown a mess (using the imbalance in our backrow against us) and utilising intense linespeed to put pressure on our one out carriers.

I also think Wales haven't been that bad, they made a lot of chances in the Scotland game but just lacked the composure to finish them. And they were only a few minutes away from beating England in a real ding dong battle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭enzo roco

I like your thinking i fully agree oh look a biscuit yummy well anyway I think the roof closed was the right choice bet the atmosphere will be incredible man I'd love to be there hmmm think I'll have another biscuit chocolate polo they're too good... to be continued I need a poo can't type on the loo

I didn't have the time. But I did type some on the loo.... At least I used some commas,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

Cautiously optimistic but it's quite possible Wales come out of the traps like clipped bulls. If we can stay on the right side of the ref, keep our discipline and not make too many uncharacteristic errors, we should have enough. We need at least 60 from Jonny too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,388 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

Chatting about amateurs, I managed to rope myself into going to see the belfast Giants tonight when the game is on. :( ah well, an executive box with copious amounts of beer should dull the pain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,994 ✭✭✭sullivlo

I'm sure they'll have a tele somewhere.

Really looking forward to the game. Although its making my Friday drag even more so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

I have a bad feeling this is a trap game for Ireland. I hope that Furligind can dominate in the scrum and set a good platform for us.

If you're Schmidders, why would you want the roof closed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Grrrr who gives a bollix about the roof? Let them do what they want and then beat the ****e out of them.

Grrr.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

To ruin the Welsh GPS systems.

Wife making you wear her undies again?

"making"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭prettyboy81

Happy Frigging Friday! Pints, Pizza & Rugby!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

Day off for a stag. Having breakfast in a greasy spoon and first pint on the horizon. Lovely stuff.

I think we'll pinch it by a single score but in no way am I confident on that. I think a moment of brilliance or, unfortunately, a moment of madness will be the difference.

I have a bad feeling this is a trap game for Ireland. I hope that Furligind can dominate in the scrum and set a good platform for us.

I think we will dominate the scrum one way or the other, this is probably the weakest welsh front row in a very long time. They will target our lineout though, can't see us getting our maul going today. Then again we may be looking for faster ball tonight and getting it out into the wider channels quicker.

Buer wrote: »
    Day off for a stag. Having breakfast in a greasy spoon and first pint on the horizon. Lovely stuff.

I think we'll pinch it by a single score but in no way am I confident on that. I think a moment of brilliance or, unfortunately, a moment of madness will be the difference.

Are you in Cardiff?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,289 ✭✭✭gucci

Grrrr who gives a bollix about the roof? Let them do what they want and then beat the ****e out of them.

Grrr.....

Ah yeah who gives a crap about the roof, pretty sure we have won a few times with the roof closed so balls to it. (nice tacky easier to fondle handle balls)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

As a fan you want the roof closed every time. It's a very special atmosphere when it's closed and the place is packed out.

I still can't remember a more intense atmosphere than the 2012 HEC Final.

I swear to god my clock is going backwards