Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

#fitfam gym parasites

• 06-03-2017 10:19pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Bambi985

If a millennial goes to the gym and doesn't post a selfie to Instagram and a story to snapchat about it under innumerous innane hashtags, did they in fact go to the gym at all?

#fitspo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

That depends.

What's a millennial?
    What's a selfie?
    What's an Instagram?
    What's a Snapchat?
    What's a hashtag
    What's a #fitspo?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

Bambi985 wrote: »
    If a millennial goes to the gym and doesn't post a selfie to Instagram and a story to snapchat about it under innumerous innane hashtags, did they in fact go to the gym at all?

#fitspo

There's soo much shoite there you should flush it.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

I seen one gimp over the weekend post something about "Anti-Gravity Yoga" and a picture of people hanging upside down. Just because you are hanging upside down doesn't make it Anti-Gravity ffs. What is the equivalent of a meathead for a female?

It was also accompanied with #FitFam.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭Dr Crayfish

Where do people see all this sh*t? Is all this on Instagram? Trust me, I've never used it, I'm not really sure what it is apart from people posting photos, but your life wont be any worse without it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭Yourself isit

That depends.

What's a millennial?
    What's a selfie?
    What's an Instagram?
    What's a Snapchat?
    What's a hashtag
    What's a #fitspo?

You've been on the Internet longer than most. You know what to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭snowflaker

Do you need a safe space op?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,130 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

It's almost as if their social media account is a place for them to post about their life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

social media has given rise to posing and narcissist behavior in people :p
    Sorry to burst their bubbles but other people don't care if you go to the gym and did 3k on a threadmill. Despite any thanks / thumps up sh*te you can get.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,550 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

I dunno. Theres so much criticism of any time anyone puts anything on facebook that i dont really use it any more other than to post inspirational quotes on pictures of cute kittens

social media has given rise to posing and narcissist behavior in people :p
    Sorry to burst their bubbles but other people don't care if you go to the gym and did 3k on a threadmill. Despite any thanks / thumps up sh*te you can get.

3k? That's point and laugh rather than like, surely!

Though I'd say a fair few gym instructors these days couldn't run a bath, all caught up in the whole body/image angle. Glorified slimming classes for women who need a man with bulging biceps complimenting them to give them the esteem needed to drop the fork for a few weeks. And 2 months of chicken and kale and burpees later and they're so shocked that eating properly and exercising inevitably leads to weight loss that they put the "after" pic on Facebook too.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

I dunno. Theres so much criticism of any time anyone puts anything on facebook that i dont really use it any more other than to post inspirational quotes on pictures of cute kittens
    03e2bb78dc954a8810d33b4cef9e2ebb880e81c4063318e0e9b14c0d085abfa3.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

Ah I see. And you're being forced at gunpoint to view these people's posts and instagram photos and what not?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭FizzleSticks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Bambi985

Ah I see. And you're being forced at gunpoint to view these people's posts and instagram photos and what not?

Pretty much yeah. Every time I log onto the interwebz a weird Johnny Bravo brawny bro type pops out of my screen and literally holds a gun to my head, forcing me to scroll through multiple #legday posts on various social media platforms lest I get my head blown off. Tis weird

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭Glenster

Someone did something that I wouldn't do. Wahhhhhh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Why are you stalking millennials?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭hank scorpio89

Imagine if back in the day you took a load of photos of yourself and your dinner and sent the oul disposable in to be developed sure you'd be committed .ketchup ? Catsup hes lost the plot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Where do people see all this sh*t? Is all this on Instagram? Trust me, I've never used it, I'm not really sure what it is apart from people posting photos, but your life wont be any worse without it!

Big social media person so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

Remind me which ones are millennials.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,435 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

People really have gone weird with all this social media stuff, get over yourself and start actually socialising with your fellow human beings

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,023 ✭✭✭Donal55

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    People really have gone weird with all this social media stuff, get over yourself and start actually socialising with your fellow human beings

.....says guy on boards at 7.15 am.
    #biglol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭dub_skav

threadmill.

It can feel like you've been put through that around here sometimes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,435 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Donal55 wrote:
    .....says guy on boards at 7.15 am. #biglol

I don't spend all day on my phone taking pictures of myself, showing how boring my normal life is, social media really is weird. Ditch the phones folks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,341 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

Donal55 wrote: »
    .....says guy on boards at 7.15 am.
    #biglol

It's only 11.30PM the night before for me. Not everyone is in Ireland. #Biggerlol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,724 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

social media has given rise to posing and narcissist behavior in people

Absolutely not! Social media has given narcissism an outlet that your generation didn't have. Narcissism wasn't invented recently.

Subscription to other people's social media isn't mandatory so you never have to see any of it.

What's the matter OP? Young people aren't exactly same as back in your day? That sounds like their problem alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Seems to be a fair few multi tag insta users in here hash tag everything.

No one's coming to give ye free product and lift you out of your dull job into gym fame

#fitfam #goodjaysus

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

longshanks wrote: »
    Remind me which ones are millennials.

People who'd of been late teens / young adults around 2000. So not folks in their early 20's right now. Who I think the OP is picking at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,058 ✭✭✭✭anewme

What does fitfam mean?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

Yknow, I feel I have failed as a millennial. I think the only selfie I've ever taken was for a passport photo (it didn't work, btw), while I had a twitter account briefly I didn't really know how to use it and hashtags can be amusing but are mostly just weird meme thing.

I wonder would it have taken off if they had gone with "twitting" rather than "tweeting"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭team_actimel

anewme wrote: »
    What does fitfam mean?

FitFam is a hashtag for fitness lovers who support one another to reach their ideal fitness goals.

#irishfitfam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

FitFam is a hashtag for fitness lovers who support one another to reach their ideal fitness goals.

#irishfitfam

It's a hashtag for FitFamily :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 437 ✭✭Vela

Bambi985 wrote: »

#fitspo

That #fitspo stuff wrecks my head. But FYI you're also talking about Gen Z (born after 1994). Millennials get an awful lot of sh1t.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 437 ✭✭Vela

FitFam
    #irishfitfam

That one's like a fcuking cult.

Vela wrote: »
    That one's like a fcuking cult.

'Tis. They all "support" each other by following each others' accounts and giving each other the all important likes. #goals #killingit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

There's a new trend I've noticed.
    At the moment I prefer to do HIIT and weight circuit classes and there's always a bunch of girls that tag in after the class with that #fitfam bollix. Now, that itself isn't a bad thing except they barely do anything during the class, each exercise can't be done as they have a sore shoulder/knee/tooth.

They then spend the days between classes sharing gym memes and fitness videos with exercise routines that are waaaaay past their capability. These same girls have an absolute heart attack if anything past a burpee is suggested in class.

Samaris wrote:
    Yknow, I feel I have failed as a millennial. I think the only selfie I've ever taken was for a passport photo (it didn't work, btw), while I had a twitter account briefly I didn't really know how to use it and hashtags can be amusing but are mostly just weird meme thing.

I wonder would it have taken off if they had gone with "twitting" rather than "tweeting"?

'Young people enjoy things I dont understand. They must be twits'. Said every generation, ever.

Wouldn't older people just do what they enjoy? Although it does seem that the older people get, the more enjoyment they can take from having a go at young people.

I'm calling it now, "activewear" parties will be the "in thing" in 5 years time.
    It will replace Tupperware, Ann Summers and Avon "drinkies" sessions.

'Tis. They all "support" each other by following each others' accounts and giving each other the all important likes. #goals #killingit

You mean offer each other social support to acheive something that's important to them as a group? Sounds awful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Where is this #Tit farm??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,084 ✭✭✭✭Stark

That depends.

What's a millennial?

Term that Americans use for young adult.

Don't ask me what the relevance is to us here in Ireland.

razorblunt wrote:
    I'm calling it now, "activewear" parties will be the "in thing" in 5 years time. It will replace Tupperware, Ann Summers and Avon "drinkies" sessions.

Could completely happen. Fitness and all that jazz is fairly well in the culture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,058 ✭✭✭✭anewme

I did see someone put up that fitfam etc and I had no clue what they were on about, but did not want to ask and appear stupid.

Its really bad horse****!

Could completely happen. Fitness and all that jazz is fairly well in the culture.

Yep, personally I think it's great, all joking aside, you get these numpties everywhere, but there's some folk that have jumped on board with the fitness trend the last few years and really seeing the benefits now, myself included.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 308 ✭✭GypsyByName

I just had the greasiest of breakfast sambos #fatfam

razorblunt wrote:
    Yep, personally I think it's great, all joking aside, you get these numpties everywhere, but there's some folk that have jumped on board with the fitness trend the last few years and really seeing the benefits now, myself included.

Fair play.

Can't say I'd be going to many gym wear parties, but I never went to any Ann summers, Tupperware or Avon parties either. Can't say they harm anyone so... Millennials are stupid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

That depends.

What's a millennial?
    What's a selfie?
    What's an Instagram?
    What's a Snapchat?
    What's a hashtag
    What's a #fitspo?

What's a gym?

zqYQwYD.jpg

Aren't we all Millennials? I mean, we were all born in a millennia.

You mean offer each other social support to acheive something that's important to them as a group? Sounds awful

I agree people supporting each other with goals but this fitfam can be an obsession to the point where people feel bad about eating normal food.

Sometimes groups take things too far... Not exclusive to young people, not exclusive to fitness groups.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 473 ✭✭__Alex__

I post food photos a lot, mainly because me and a few of my friends are really interested in cooking and food. Not everything a person posts on their social media is for the benefit of every single person who can see the page.