Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Late Late 3rd March

• 03-03-2017 7:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,522 ✭✭✭✭

None other than Michael Gambon, who played Dumbledore in the Harry Potter films, will be on The Late Late Show tonight. The Dublin-born actor will soon take to the stage at The Gate Theatre. He’ll be chatting to Ryan about his extraordinary career alongside Michael Colgan, The Gate’s artistic director.

Actor and writer Emmet Kirwan will also be on the show. His powerful take on the state of the nation, ‘Heartbreak’, went viral earlier this year. Kirwan will be chatting about striking a chord with his latest work and where he thinks Ireland is at right now.

Nathan Carter's younger brother, Jake will make his television debut tonight. Hot on the heels of his brother's success, he has a brand new song, Trouble, that he will perform on the show.

Rosemary Adaser will tell Ryan and the audience about her life and what life was like to grow up in Ireland in the 1950s. When she became pregnant at 16, the baby’s father wanted to marry her but she was sent to a mother-and-baby home and her child was taken away from her. Rosemary will tell her story on The Late Late Show, alongside Brian Rothery, the foster father who helped to build her back up after years of suffering.

Professor Sabina Brennan will be talking about how Ireland is with the topic of aging and a panel, including Mary O’Rourke, George Hook and Rita Ann Higgins, will be telling the viewers about their experiences of life after getting the bus passes.

More music on the night will come from Brian Kennedy.

latest?cb=20100220154955

latest?cb=20161118055031

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,296 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Ryan's final show before Ciaran Muloolly takes over :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,552 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Sounds like a right barrel of laughs tonight anyway. As if the torrential rain wasn't bad enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭drugstore cowboy

I hear Una Mullaly pulled out of the planned abortion debate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,050 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

Mammy O Rourke and Hookie on the same panel.......................

anchorman-i-dont-know-what.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

YEA!! Persian Kitty's make it to the thread! Thank you Paulie :)

Nathan Carther has a brother who sings. This means there is no end to this saga - Actually, I have to say, Good luck to him! Saw Nathan on some program and he seems like a decent lad, the Mammy must be delighted with the pair of them :)

But..........Mary O'Rourke talking about a free bus pass?? What a load of freeloading...............

Ryan's final show before Ciaran Muloolly takes over :pac:

I'm not even joking WM, I was breaking my heart laughing when I saw that thread this evening. Had a brutal week at work and logged on and couldn't stop laughing!! :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,279 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

Never heard of Rita Ann Higgins until now,poetry was never high on my list of life's priorities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,987 ✭✭✭Trampas

But..........Mary O'Rourke talking about a free bus pass?? What a load of freeloading...............

First question will be did you take the bus here

Trampas wrote: »
    First question will be did you take the bus here

She did Trampas......................................yeah...........If you get my drift!

Love the name btw!:):)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

Michael Gambon is good. Easy to interview, genuinely funny, articulate and intelligent man with a lot of good anecdotes over the years. Tubridy could do a lot, but he'll be overawed by the greatness of the man and he'll keep one eye on the clock, sweating and counting down the 17 minutes until he's in the arms of someone more familiar like Mammy O'Rourke and Hookie.

An interview like this could be a marker for Tubridy, but you know or fear in advance that he'll do nothing with it. Gaybo or Kenny would have a laugh and a good chat. Tubridy will be obsessed with the 5 years that Gambon lived here as a baby and can probably barely remember, and him playing Dumbledore 'cos his daughter loves Harry Potter and he always watches it with her.

It'll be a lost opportunity and we all know it.

*sigh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,734 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Yer fella Gambon reminds me if Top Gear.

Other than that, I got nothing.

How are yis all?

Ol' Donie wrote: »

How are yis all?

Get the ice, will ya Donie??....:p

How are yis all?

Yeah,the real Top Gear,not that **** that replaced it.

Get the ice, will ya Donie??....:p

That was weird.

I literally am getting ice right now.

Ciders fer me tonight, lads. (Ciders & Nintendo, more like).

Yeah,the real Top Gear,not that **** that replaced it.

Every time i read his name I hear Clarkson saying "...round Gambon..." in my head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

Never heard of Rita Ann Higgins until now, poetry was never high on my list of life's priorities.
    I wouldn't be too keen on Rita Ann Higgins' work but I do love poetry. However, I know lots of people who were turned off it at school.

Here are five reasons to give poetry a second chance........
    • It slows you down in a noisy world.
    • It awakens your senses.
    • It can be digested in small, delicious doses.
    • It transports you into new emotional states in a matter of a few lines.
    • It sensitises you to the wonder and music of words themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Nathan Carter's brother.

I'm getting out of here before BP finds out.

I wouldn't be too keen on Rita Ann Higgins' work but I do love poetry. However, I know lots of people who were turned off it at school.

Exploring English 3 Lady C!! :)

It was the beginning of a love affair thanks to our lovely teacher...All of the above that you mentioned...Just love it. x

sligojoek wrote: »
    Nathan Carter's brother.

I'm getting out of here before BP finds out.

If you don't tell him he won't know.....:P

Every time i read his name I hear Clarkson saying "...round Gambon..." in my head.

With a star in reasonably priced car:)

Exploring English 3 Lady C!! :)

It was the beginning of a love affair thanks to our lovely teacher...All of the above that you mentioned...Just love it. x
    GSW, I have a copy of Exploring English 3 but my pride and joy is my copy of Soundings, complete with all the ....'Lady C loves 'X' inscriptions'...

5099579058_628a8be4d8_b.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

Everyone to their taste,but it does none of the above for me.

GSW, I have a copy of Exploring English 3 but my pride and joy is my copy of Soundings, complete with all the ....'Lady C loves 'X' inscriptions'...

I didn't know much about Soundings Lady C......After my time! I have Exploring English1,2,3 West and I read them now and again when the weather is manky and fire roaring. I met up with some class friends last year (we all went foreign in the '80's) and the one thing we remembered was our love for English. Little grey was no arts student but even she loves Shakespeare and the classics from her childhood. I sound like a posh git but if you are given the gift of reading and listening it's a lifelong passion.

Now, I'll get the gin. Donie is terrible slow............;)

Yeah, but on the other hand...y'know...you have to read stuff.

Not for me.

Not for me.

No ice, no poetry..........

Grade D Donie.....:P

Not for me.
    We're honoured that your read our posts, Donie ;)

:D:D:D

I wandered once as a ..........................???

(off you go Donie)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,296 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭sudzs

5099579058_628a8be4d8_b.jpg

Still have my Soundings too, complete with stickers and biro notes all over!

Happy Belated St. David's Day WM!!.... :)

As an adopted Quarker....Can they not even try Google?.....:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,696 ✭✭✭Lisha

I love poetry.

I found this on twitter, totally sums up the Tuam babies (and lets be honest there are prob many more identical examples) horror

Written by John Moynes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,213 ✭✭✭Mena Mitty

Never heard of Rita Ann Higgins until now,poetry was never high on my list of life's priorities.

Know feck all meself about the poetry, but from reading the Sunday supplements over the years Rita Ann would appear to be high enough up the poetry ladder so yo speak...nearly up there with the greats...whoever they might be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,696 ✭✭✭Lisha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,262 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

Evening all, Auto is in top form tonight :)

Who's doing the drinks order this evening? I'll have ice in my lucozade ;)

Mena Mitty wrote: »
    Know feck all meself about the poetry, but from reading the Sunday supplements over the years Rita Ann would appear to be high enough up the poetry ladder so yo speak...nearly up there with the greats...whoever they might be.

I'm like that, I think I was lucky enough to listen to poetry as a student spoken by a very enthusiastic teacher. Some makes sense to me and some poetry leaves me scratching.

It's the nature of the beast I suppose. :) x

Autosport wrote: »
    Evening all, Auto is in top form tonight :)

Who's doing the drinks order this evening? I'll have ice in my lucozade ;)

I'll lock up Mr. T so Auto.................:p:p:p

You're a danger to Montrose...:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Tommie Gorman on the news goes on about the Nordie Elections as if people down here have been talking of little else all week.

Don't think many people could give a fliuch, Tommie.

:D:D:D

I wandered once as a ..........................???

(off you go Donie)

Don't get me started.

Lonely clouds? Bejaysus, it was wall to wall clouds today. None of 'em even close to being lonely.

Poems. They're really just lies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭small town girl

I'll lock up Mr. T so Auto.................:p:p:p

You're a danger to Montrose...:D

According to Facebook Mr T was launching a book this week with his "hunky brother"

That reminds me, I must book an appointment with Specsavers

Lisha wrote: »
    I love poetry.

I found this on twitter, totally sums up the Tuam babies (and lets be honest there are prob many more identical examples) horror

Written by John Moynes

https://twitter.com/johnmoynes/status/837625124333449216
    Thanks Lisha, that's desperately sad.

Unfortunately, poverty was a crime in Ireland for years, if you got pregnant and were from a well off family you might be sent to England or another part of Ireland to have your baby before you gave him/her up for adoption. However, if you were poor, you were at the mercy of the local parish priest who sentenced you to the local mother and baby home :(

Skid X wrote: »
    Tommie Gorman on the news goes on about the Nordie Elections as if people down here have been talking of little else all week.

Don't think many people could give a fliuch, Tommie.

Tommie is a Legend Skid.

I want to rescue him from the North....Give him a cushy number in RTE etc....

According to Facebook Mr T was launching a book this week with his "hunky brother"

I suppose if Leo has a "dashing doctor" Mr. T can have a "hunky brother"...

We really lived in a messed up world...........:(

Really hating stupid headlines lately..

Oh yeah, I saw an ad in town for him doing a signing for that one.

"Patrick and The President", an illustrated kids book about meeting JFK.

He is seriously Acting The Maggot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,733 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Evening all, I was going to give up the beer for lent but feck it, you only live once, can't be on the dry of a Friday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Evening all. Gambon will always be The Singing Detective, not Dumblewhatever.

Strobe Lighting are on this show almost as often as Mario Rosenstock.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

Evening all. Is it true that Nathan Carter's brother is going to be on again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,013 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

I thought Gambon was dead

Evening all. Gambon will always be The Singing Detective, not Dumblewhatever.

Hi Harry! :)