Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Car to take 3 child seats? - not an mpv

• 23-02-2017 11:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3

Hi there, I hope you can give me some advice please. I cannot find any recent posts on this and perhaps the market hasn't changed too much but what options do I have?

I have a 2 and a 3 year old now and hopefully another in the future. Car needs changing anyhow so looking to future proof if possible.

I'm hoping something like a Passat might do the job??? I want to avoid 7 seater and would like to fit 3 seats in a row..

Potentially I'd have 2x high back booster and 1x baby maxi cosi
    Or 1x high back,1x stage 2 and 1x baby

Any thoughts on Insignia or Mondeo?
    Hopefully a 2014/2015. Budget around €15k. Willing to source in NI.

Thanks a lots!
    Mar_d

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 958 ✭✭✭grudgehugger

Have a Skoda Superb estate. Tight squeeze but works.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,984 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Mar_D wrote: »
    Hi there, I hope you can give me some advice please. I cannot find any recent posts on this and perhaps the market hasn't changed too much but what options do I have?

I have a 2 and a 3 year old now and hopefully another in the future. Car needs changing anyhow so looking to future proof if possible.

I'm hoping something like a Passat might do the job??? I want to avoid 7 seater and would like to fit 3 seats in a row..

Potentially I'd have 2x high back booster and 1x baby maxi cosi
    Or 1x high back,1x stage 2 and 1x baby

Any thoughts on Insignia or Mondeo?
    Hopefully a 2014/2015. Budget around €15k. Willing to source in NI.

Thanks a lots!
    Mar_d
    From experience Mondeo wont do the job. It's extremely difficult to access the seatbelts when there boosters are in never mind the 2 boosters and maxi cosi. I think the Passat is smaller again.

In similiar situation here and to really future proof we went with a 7 seater with many options for seat configuration so that it can take 3 full seats, additional kids or morph into a decent sized transporter of bits and pieces with all seats down etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭CiboC

You may not like it, but the answer is a Fiat Multipla!

3 child seats across the middle, no problem. Loads of room. Can still fit a buggy and assorted crap in the boot. Compact on the road. As a 'function over form' vehicle they are just brilliant. Yes, it's hideous, but ask anyone who has driven one as a family car and they would usually have another tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 375 ✭✭pajosjunkbox

I am in the same position. Have a 4 year old in high back booster, a 2 year old in car seat and baby on the way. We went to look at MPVs yesterday and it was fairly depressing !
    I have a superb estate and can't see how three would fit across the back ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭kindalen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,519 ✭✭✭Oafley Jones

I am in the same position. Have a 4 year old in high back booster, a 2 year old in car seat and baby on the way. We went to look at MPVs yesterday and it was fairly depressing !
    I have a superb estate and can't see how three would fit across the back ???

Got rid of our Superb combi at the start of the month owing to the squeeze in the back. Unless you want to go the multimac route, the Superb is a poor option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 375 ✭✭pajosjunkbox

What did you go for ? . Right now I'm debating with my wife. She wants to buy new MPV. I'd be happy to pick up a 2010 FRV EX somewhere. We do about 20000 km a year but a lot of that is short enough journeys.
    She has a round commute of 40 km a day and then the 10 minute trips into town, shopping, dropping and collecting kids.
    I have a 1.8 civic. Love it. Except the tax !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,662 ✭✭✭walus

Unfortunately the only car that can fit 3 child seats in the back row is MPV. I’ve have done my research 2 years ago when the third baby was on its way and concluded that. In my case I was looking at used FRV, Scenic and C4 Picasso and ended up with FRV. Went with the Honda due to its reliability and the way you can rearrange the interior – you can have the youngest baby in the front row middle seat and push it back. This way the new born is right in the centre of the vehicle, in the safest place while you still have access to him/her while your drive. I have had the Honda for 3 years now and cannot fault it. The 1.8 petrol is nippy enough albeit a bit thirsty with the autobox. I’ve been trying to find a reason to replace it this year but know damn well that even with a large estate I will not be able to seat three child seats in across the back and not to break my back leaning over to fasten their seat belts. FRV will have to stay with us for 2 more years I’d say.

”Where’s the revolution? Come on, people you’re letting me down!”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,141 ✭✭✭Yakuza

I had a similar issue in 2010, went from an e46 320i to a 1.5 daysul Qashqai+2. It accommodated a rock-a-tot for the new baby, a high-back booster for the (then) 3 year old and a booster cushion for the (then) 8 year old. Your kids are a bit younger, so the fuller booster seats might not fit. A mate of mine (from whom I bought the 320 as it turned out) was in a similar position to yourself and he got himself an S-Max - three middle row seats and a huge boot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,519 ✭✭✭Oafley Jones

What did you go for ? . Right now I'm debating with my wife. She wants to buy new MPV. I'd be happy to pick up a 2010 FRV EX somewhere. We do about 20000 km a year but a lot of that is short enough journeys.
    She has a round commute of 40 km a day and then the 10 minute trips into town, shopping, dropping and collecting kids.
    I have a 1.8 civic. Love it. Except the tax !

Sharan. Honestly, given our kids ages an MPV (3 and a half, 18 months and 4 months) was the only type of vehicle that really made sense in terms of making things easy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 643 ✭✭✭REBELSAFC

Toyota Corrolla Verso.
    We have one (2008)as our second car and it is perfect with three seats in the back

toyota_verso_03.jpg?itok=PDDMe_Yv

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

^ 7 seat mpv though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

And the hint is in the thread title. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 Mar_D

Thanks for all the feedback,I think I was hoping for a miracle!
    It's beginning to look like I may need to re-visit mpv after all....😬

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Realistically something like a Renault Scenic with 3 individual rear seats is what you probably need. The Scenic is a bit wider than a standard hatchback/saloon car so is more suitable, the current model since 2009 visually looks less MPVish too if that helps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 759 ✭✭✭ltdslipdiff

Can post with confidence and experience on this one! Have 3 kids all were in booster seats together for a while and with work being in the motor trade I was always chopping and changing cars so got the opportunity to try out many different makes/models and you won't believe the car brand that was the best at taking 3 in a row......Dacia Duster and/or Sandero! How come? I found the rear seat to be more flat and not as hollowed on either side,if that makes sense? Don't get me wrong it's by no means the easiest operation in the world but a heck of a lot easier that even larger hatchbacks etc. Well worth a try OP if you can live with the badge! As others have pointed out the likes of a Superb have oodles of space in the rear too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭photosmart

Hi there

I know for a fact that an octavia III or superb III (and I m sure there are others) will fit three across but not justany three. The key is to choose seats that are narrow

ie Diono radian, graco nautilus, britax or rodifix or graco highback boosters etc...

I can't count the amount of people who say they can't fit three across when you can.

check out carseatlady.com and cardetective (american sites) but many of the seats they discuss are available in UK/Ireland

Best of luck

P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,984 ✭✭✭✭kippy

photosmart wrote: »
    Hi there

I know for a fact that an octavia III or superb III (and I m sure there are others) will fit three across but not justany three. The key is to choose seats that are narrow

ie Diono radian, graco nautilus, britax or rodifix or graco highback boosters etc...

I can't count the amount of people who say they can't fit three across when you can.

check out carseatlady.com and cardetective (american sites) but many of the seats they discuss are available in UK/Ireland

Best of luck

P
    You might be able to fit three seats of specific type but try fitting seatbelts and get back destroyed over next few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭bridster007

It all depends on the child seat type.

Managed fine for 4 years in a 2012 Mondeo with 2 HBB Janemontecarlo and a maxi cosi rear facing (centre seat). Then moved up to 3 HBB, all Janemontecarlo.
    Hard on back putting children in and out though.

Now have 3 HBB in a Tiguan ( old model) with no problem, same child seats. Much easier on the back.
    So it can be done with the right seats. And if you get an SUV, you need one where the centre seat belt does not come from the ceiling because they require extra buckle point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 Mar_D

Does anyone know if a CMax will take 3 seats?
    If we end up mpv at least something like that doesn't look a big as a lot of the 7 seaters...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,648 ✭✭✭✭beauf

Get two 911s

The whole point of an mpv is more space, to make your life easier. Many are shorter than an estate or large saloon they are just boxier. Also higher up so loading kids is at better height for your back.

Because you lose a lot of shoulder room for car seats in a curved roof and sides of a modern saloon.

beauf wrote: »
    Also higher up so loading kids is at better height for your back.

And I think this is a point that a lot of people miss. Hoicking junior into the car seat every day a few times will be a pain (literally) very quickly. They have an awful habit of getting heavier every day too. Once you realise that you are lifting a Ryanair baggage allowance or more every time, anything that makes it easier is better.

I mentioned a Multipla earlier on, we have one for herd transport in our house and apart from the space, the height of the seat is perfect in that you are not bending over at all to lift our youngest (3yo) in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭Seamu$

Managed to fit 3 seats across an 06 Audi A6. Same in a 520d. It is a squeeze though and, as previously stated, it can depend on the seats chosen. You need at least 1 to be a booster seat though (not high-back). For access to seat belts I found seat belt extenders essential. Something like these: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Universal-Adjustable-Extender-Mercedes-Benz-buckle-tongue/dp/B00DGP7R98/ref=sr_1_9?s=automotive&ie=UTF8&qid=1488239004&sr=1-9&keywords=seat+belt+extenders

I've also heard that the Bubblebum seats are also recommended for those trying to get 3 seats in the back: http://www.halfords.ie/kids-zone/car-seats/child-car-seats/bubblebum-inflatable-booster-seat-black

kippy wrote: »
    You might be able to fit three seats of specific type but try fitting seatbelts and get back destroyed over next few years.

I hear that - nothin easy in this world

We have 3 kids - 6 4 and 2.5. Our toyota verso is a medium mpv but we have no problem with seats as the middle row also slide. Its actually a grand car to drive and park etc although I would have preferred an estate octavia or similar it wasn't as practical.

problem with MPV's etc is that they are more expensive but they also tend to hold their value.

Out other car is a golf mark IV. I ca actually fit three in the back now that the 4 year old is in a HBB.

Configuration is

Middle - Maxi Cosi or Britax group 1
    Britax adventure HBB either side.

Its not ideal but its reasonably easy to access seatbelts and all kids get into the seats themselves so I don't lift them

There's a bit of leaning in to fasten belts etc but its grand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,648 ✭✭✭✭beauf

With 3 also comes more luggage, buggies, bikes, scooters. Often awkwardly sized, and the taller boot of a MPV is useful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,381 ✭✭✭vintagevrs

We have three seats in an F10 5series. 3 year old, 2 year old, 10 month old at this stage. Took a while to find three seats that would work together, none are ISOfix to allow the centre seat to fit in, otherwise not a hope. An MPV is definitely the easier and more practical option, but if you don't want to drive one there are ways of doing it with a car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭soap1978

Would a ford cmax work for a 11,8 and 6 year old?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Citroen C5 has space for 3 proper isofix seats in the back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,892 ✭✭✭Kersh

XC90? 7 seats, 3 across the back.

We are the same, a 5 year old, 2 year old and a new one in 2 weeks or so. We plan on getting the Peugeot 5008 when our current 2008 deal is up in 16 months, but to bridge the gap we were looking at a cheap (ish) car to do the job.

We are between an XC90 and a C4 Picasso! The C4 makes most sense, from every point of view, but sure, when did sense ever come into it!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

CiboC wrote: »
    And I think this is a point that a lot of people miss. Hoicking junior into the car seat every day a few times will be a pain (literally) very quickly. They have an awful habit of getting heavier every day too. Once you realise that you are lifting a Ryanair baggage allowance or more every time, anything that makes it easier is better.

I mentioned a Multipla earlier on, we have one for herd transport in our house and apart from the space, the height of the seat is perfect in that you are not bending over at all to lift our youngest (3yo) in.

Can't people's kids climb into the car seat?

Do you have kids?

They don't start off being able to get in by themselves, and are getting pretty heavy by the time they can!

Even once they can climb in themselves, sometimes they don't want to, and in either case you still have to lean in to attach buckles/seatbelts. It may not sound like much, but believe me, it can get tedious and painful quickly particularly if you have more than one child who needs assistance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,381 ✭✭✭vintagevrs

Kersh wrote: »
    XC90? 7 seats, 3 across the back.

We are the same, a 5 year old, 2 year old and a new one in 2 weeks or so. We plan on getting the Peugeot 5008 when our current 2008 deal is up in 16 months, but to bridge the gap we were looking at a cheap (ish) car to do the job.

We are between an XC90 and a C4 Picasso! The C4 makes most sense, from every point of view, but sure, when did sense ever come into it!

Is the volvo not like 70k?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,662 ✭✭✭walus

Do you have kids?

They don't start off being able to get in by themselves, and are getting pretty heavy by the time they can!

Even once they can climb in themselves, sometimes they don't want to, and in either case you still have to lean in to attach buckles/seatbelts. It may not sound like much, but believe me, it can get tedious and painful quickly particularly if you have more than one child who needs assistance.

And add to this now lashing rain and massive amount of water running down your back... this is where theory never meets the practice...
    MPV can save you from that!

”Where’s the revolution? Come on, people you’re letting me down!”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,892 ✭✭✭Kersh

vintagevrs wrote: »
    Is the volvo not like 70k?

Just get an older one :)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Do you have kids?

Yeah. Been at it 3 years now. I think some people have a tendency to over state how hard it is to get a kid in and out of a car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,439 ✭✭✭Wailin

Have a Skoda Superb estate. Tight squeeze but works.

Would love to know how you're getting 3 childseats in an octavia when a supetb won't do it. Octavia not much bigger than a golf.

Hi

I put the group 1 seat (britax) but maxi cosi also works in middle
    Then britax adventure boosters either side

simples

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 IrishBelle

Have you thought about the Diono Radian 5 as a carseat? I have seen it fit 3 across the back in many different cars. It would also give you the option of extended rear facing. Furthermore, it can be used as a five point harness up to 25kg.

Here is a fitlist guide for the Radian... as you can see it fits quite a few cars, particularly in that awkward middle seat. https://uk.diono.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/12/Radian-5-Fit-Guide-EU_lowres.pdf

If you narrow it down to a few cars, I would definitely suggest bringing said cars on a test drive to somewhere like Tony Kealys to try fitting them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

I'd never heard of the Diono Radian - just checked out some motor journos review - they seemed to like it in fairness but jaysus it looks uncomfortable for anything bar the smallest kids. Poor kid in the picture (about 5 years old) practically had his knees in his face. You couldn't force your kids to travel like that!