Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Creatures of Habit

• 18-02-2017 10:19am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭

There are things we do in a certain way or on a certain day or at a fixed time because we have no choice. But I have found myself doing things just out of habit. Little things. Such as, the vacuuming is done on a Saturday morning even though I could do it any day. Or, I'll lock up at night at the same time every day.

Are there things you do just out of habit, when there's no need to do them at that time, or indeed, do them at all?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,828 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

I have to be first to reply to these type of threads.

Glazers Out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 696 ✭✭✭Noddyholder

I check my phone first thing in the morning, even though I know I got no calls etc. as its never switched of, which in its self is another habit...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭5rtytry56

I'm a spelling nazi: noddyholder above you meant "switched off" didn't you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I smoke cigarettes when I drink coffee.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

biko wrote: »
    I smoke cigarettes when I drink coffee.

If I'm having a pint, I have to go out for a smoke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 696 ✭✭✭Noddyholder

5rtytry56 wrote: »
    I'm a spelling nazi: noddyholder above you meant "switched off" didn't you!

:D yea, spelling is not a habit of mine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

Life with out orderly habits is too chaotic for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

If I'm having a pint, I have to go out for a smoke.

Is that habit or addiction though?

Grayson wrote: »
    Is that habit or addiction though?

In that case it's pure habit. If I wasn't having the pint I wouldn't have the cigarette and often when I do light up I'll discard most of it anyway and go back to the craic inside.

I find myself always parking in the same general area of a shopping centre car park and, when I worked, would always park in the same spot even if other more convenient spots were free when I called into the office.

Laundry is done on Saturday mornings, so is the weekly cleaning. It feels wrong any other day.

The car gets filled up on Mondays, always Mondays.

I get dressed from the bottom up every time, I don't mind being top-half naked but being bottom-half naked while dressed up top feels wrong. Very wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Candie wrote: »
    I get dressed from the bottom up every time, I don't mind being top-half naked but being bottom-half naked while dressed up top feels draughty. Very draughty.

Fixed your post :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

My late dad's cousin is a nun , she's a creature of habit I suppose.

She used frighten the bollix out of us when we were kids , didn't help at all when rumour had it she turned into a bat at night.

A bat being a creature and uniform being called a habit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,172 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

I always smell my fingers after scratching my arse even though I know the smell won't be nice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

I get dressed from the bottom up every time, I don't mind being top-half naked but being bottom-half naked while dressed up top feels wrong. Very wrong.

Tsk, Tsk. so wrong. If you do it like that one half of you will turn to ice whilst the other half will be toasty. Here's how it's done:

Undies.
    Then socks, as you'll be putting your feet on the floor and you can't have them being cold as the drop intemperature goes up your spine to your brain.
    Then t-shirt/shirt
    Trousers
    Shoes/footwear
    Top (jumper/sweater)

This of course is after you've had a wash; teeth first to get the taste out of the mouth, then a shave then the shower.

I brush the teeth again after breakfast. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

Mostly heroin. Sweet, sweet heroin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

I always smell my fingers after scratching my arse even though I know the smell won't be nice.

Do you scratch yer hole?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

I'd have little tics that I do. Tend to fall into routine very quickly.
    Eating the same food day in day out for weeks on end. Right now it's semolina and porridge, I could eat porridge for two meals in the day. Guaranteed in a month I won't even be able to look at it.

My wardrobes, divided into sections, i.e. One wardrobe is dresses and skirts. Dresses one end, skirts the other. White --> pastel colours --> light colours --> coloureds/florals/darker colours/navy/black. I keep meaning to mix it up because it's actually harder to find things esp the darker colours. Just the way I hang them up though.

Going to the same places on holiday, staying in the same hotels, I've had an iPhone since 2008 and I don't think I'll ever change even though I know there's better phones on the market. I like what I like, but get too set in my ways

I have a celebration **** every saturday morning.

It's like mass to me. A weekly offering in praise and thanks for the week just past and the 2 glorious days ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭jonon9

Squeeze the wood in the morning, It's a ritual.

jonon9 wrote: »
    Squeeze the wood in the morning, It's a ritual.

I hear ye

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

If out for the night the first cubicle I use in the toilets is the one I go to then for the rest of the night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

73Cat wrote: »
    If out for the night the first cubicle I use in the toilets is the one I go to then for the rest of the night.

Me too. And I will never use the cubicle/urinal nearest the entrance to the loo (figuring that one is the most commonly used one and probably minging).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,789 ✭✭✭Alf Stewart.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

73Cat wrote: »

What if you move onto another pub??

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

I always clean the countertops and kitchen before I start to cook, even though they are already clean.
    Even if I was just putting a bit of Nutella on bread, I've to clean the kitchen first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭blaze1

Walking over 2 drains.... Never 3..

Saluting Magpies

Oh not crossing paths with people on stairs.

Red Kev wrote: »
    Tsk, Tsk. so wrong. If you do it like that one half of you will turn to ice whilst the other half will be toasty. Here's how it's done:

Undies.
    Then socks, as you'll be putting your feet on the floor and you can't have them being cold as the drop intemperature goes up your spine to your brain.
    Then t-shirt/shirt
    Trousers
    Shoes/footwear
    Top (jumper/sweater)

This of course is after you've had a wash; teeth first to get the taste out of the mouth, then a shave then the shower.

I brush the teeth again after breakfast. :)

I quite like being in the nuddy as long as it's not freezing and as long as the bottom half isn't nuddy while the top half is covered. That's just weird.

I have one cup of coffee a day when I wake up then I do the teeth. Then it's run/swim, then shower and dress and teeth again or if I'm having brekkie at home it's teeth again after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

I quite like being in the nuddy as long as it's not freezing and as long as the bottom half isn't nuddy while the top half is covered. That's just weird.

I have one cup of coffee a day when I wake up then I do the teeth. Then it's run/swim, then shower and dress and teeth again or if I'm having brekkie at home it's teeth again after.

I be donald ducking all over he shop :pac:

blaze1 wrote: »
    Walking over 2 drains.... Never 3..

Saluting Magpies

Oh not crossing paths with people on stairs.

Are those not superstitions, as opposed to things done out of habit that could be done differently or at a different time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,206 ✭✭✭Samsgirl

Always have spag bol for dinner on Tuesday. No reason, could cook it any day but it's always.on Tuesday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,363 ✭✭✭VonLuck

I have breakfast, lunch and dinner at the same time every day of the week. I rarely eat because I'm hungry, but because it's "that time again"!

Same goes for coffee breaks.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I have to have my work clothes for the next day sorted before dinner each evening.

I do not drive my car if there is less than a quarter tank of petrol in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

I need to have a cup of tea with me at my desk when I start work.

Stheno wrote: »
    I have to have my work clothes for the next day sorted before dinner each evening.

I fill the car every Monday. Doesn't matter if it's 3/4 full, it gets topped up to full every week.

I don't know how anyone can drive with less than 1/4 of gas, or carry a phone with less than a 40% charge!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

Did you ever try putting on your pants with the opposite leg than you usually do? Focking impossible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 692 ✭✭✭fuerte1976

Crikey Alf, I've not seen you stuck for words before!

I just did it... And before I read these posts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,665 ✭✭✭Tin Foil Hat

There's nothing wrong with a pair of bare bollox hanging out from under a buttoned shirt - not even when you've mis-buttoned and one side of the shirt is an inch and a half higher than the other.
    Perfectly dignified.

There's nothing wrong with a pair of bare bollox hanging out from under a buttoned shirt - not even when you've mis-buttoned and one side of the shirt is an inch and a half higher than the other.
    Perfectly dignified.

Sounds attractive, suave and elegant all at the same time. I'm almost sorry I don't have any, I think that look would suit me. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,665 ✭✭✭Tin Foil Hat

Noveight wrote: »
    Did you ever try putting on your pants with the opposite leg than you usually do? Focking impossible.

I'm 41 years old. That's 15,000 days - ish. If you asked me, I have no clue what leg of my pants goes on first, what sock goes on first or what shoe goes on first. Not a notion.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I fill the car every Monday. Doesn't matter if it's 3/4 full, it gets topped up to full every week.

I don't know how anyone can drive with less than 1/4 of gas, or carry a phone with less than a 40% charge!

My oh does both

So does mine. It's a situation I can barely cope with. :(

I agree. Along with chronic timekeeping, ****e driving ability and brutal attention to detail they drive me mad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭blaze1

Are those not superstitions, as opposed to things done out of habit that could be done differently or at a different time?

They are superstitions yes, but is it not habbit that I have to abide by them?

blaze1 wrote: »
    They are superstitions yes, but is it not habbit that I have to abide by them?

No, that would be what my mother used to call "a wee want" :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭Elemonator

My radio volume must be an even number.

I get anxiety otherwise ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,611 ✭✭✭muddypaws

How do you get it to the garage to fill it up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

My neighbours in England used to wash their car every Saturday morning, and go out for their grocery shopping every Saturday evening.

muddypaws wrote: »
    How do you get it to the garage to fill it up?

I fill it up before it's at a quarter full :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

I drive my car down to 0 before I fill it

I like to keep track of how many miles I get to a fill

nice_guy80 wrote: »
    I drive my car down to 0 before I fill it

I like to keep track of how many miles I get to a fill

Do you not have a little readout telling you your MPG?

I had that even in my last car, which was basically antique.