Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Identifying sites for new border posts on the NI border

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Same spots as previously. Simples.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Time to reapply for that Duel Citizenship me thinks.

Although I'd say if one back road was barricaded again, we would be half way back to the bad oul days. Let's hope who ever replaces Enda has a plan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Such spinelessness and there hasn't even been an indication of a border being enforced.

The Irish Government should wholey state Our Armed Forces or Gardai will not be enforcing a border and neither will the British. So if the EU want a border they have to man it themselves and if they enter Irish soil it will be deemed an act of war. FIN.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Such spinelessness and there hasn't even been indication of the a border being enforced.

The Irish Government should wholey state Our Armed Forces or Gardai will not be enforcing a border and neither will the British. So if the EU want a border they have to man it themselves and if they enter Irish soil it will be deemed an act of war. FIN.....

Ihre papiere Bitte

Danke

Good luck

Thank you

Halt Halt!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭markpb

Posts like this make me wish I knew how to make the eye rolling smiley.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,409 ✭✭✭Nomis21

markpb wrote: »

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

It would be like the scene out of father ted where the priest had the guns hidden.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,285 ✭✭✭bonzodog2

: rolleyes : :rolleyes: (no spaces)

Such spinelessness and there hasn't even been indication of the a border being enforced.

:rolleyes: :rolleyes:

Oh get real. That's senseless bluster. We will be subject to the treaties we have signed in Europe.

:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,978 ✭✭✭GhostInTheRuins

Same spots as previously. Simples.

You must be clueless if you think it's simple, unless you want to go back to the days of hundreds of roads blocked with giant cement blocks and metal spikes, and destroyed bridges.

Otherwise yeah it's dead simple.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Grand, we will make border posts and just have a sign on the door 'out for lunch'

Leave it like that, carry on as normal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Feck off with your ****e

You supported Brexit in a load of threads on here despite being told that this would be an outcome of it. People like you rubbished it as scare-mongering

Now you're ready to go to war over such idiocy? Jog the fcuk on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

bonzodog2 wrote: »

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

bonzodog2 wrote: »

Got it :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,721 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

In fairness moan and bitch all ye want but a prudent government will explore all options and have plans in place for many eventualities.
    The current government are a shambles but it makes sense to scope these things out.

Personally I can't see how there could be no controls on a border crossing where you will be exiting to a non eu state.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Hopefully we will have a proper government in place....... Ha ha ha some how doubt it but oh well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

Hopefully we will have a proper government in place....... Ha ha ha some how doubt it but oh well.

NI will be same setup as before and god only knows what we'll have in the RoI. I would like to see a strong border, with a significant level of investment from both governments, in terms of security. I'm fairly confident that Europe are going to push for a proper border.

Feck off with your ****e

You supported Brexit in a load of threads on here despite being told that this would be an outcome of it. People like you rubbished it as scare-mongering

Now you're ready to go to war over such idiocy? Jog the fcuk on

You have very little imagination. Do you honestly think that the EU will send their own troops (of which none exist) into Ireland?

Now where is that rolleyes smiley?

:rolleyes: :rolleyes:

Oh get real. That's senseless bluster. We will be subject to the treaties we have signed in Europe.

:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

Countries break EU treaties all the time. Tell them to fock off, get yourselves an army and man it yourselves.

What will they do about it? NOTHING, Literally ****ing nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

You have very little imagination. Do you honestly think that the EU will send their own troops (of which none exist) into Ireland?

You said we should refuse to man any borders if the EU asks us to.

Why would we do that? We're still part of the EU and the vast majority of Irish people are happy to be.

If it's a case that there are going to be hard borders, then we have a duty both nationally and on a European level to protect our own borders.

Countries break EU treaties all the time. Tell them to fock off, get yourselves an army and man it yourselves.

What will they do about it? NOTHING, Literally ****ing nothing.

We want to be in the EU and will continue as such. That commitment requires us to adhere to EU principles. You are in cloud cuckoo land if you think we'd do as you suggest, or even want to.

You must be clueless if you think it's simple, unless you want to go back to the days of hundreds of roads blocked with giant cement blocks and metal spikes, and destroyed bridges.

Otherwise yeah it's dead simple.

I live ON the border. You are confusing security measures against terrorism with what we had as customs posts. Brexit, hopefully, is a return to customs and immigration controls and not anti terrorist measures.

Clueless? No, far from it. And where did I say I wanted to go back to that?. For customs the pre-existing sites still hold as the logical locations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 681 ✭✭✭Mr. FoggPatches

I hear the site liberal.ie may be up for grabs soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

I'm wondering how they'd border the m1?

The border can stay open if the UK and ROI have immigration control at ports and airports and a joint visa scheme with customs exemptions for the North. This is already partly going into operation.

The ROI might be playing with the idea of border controls to try to persuade those in the North to vote for a united Ireland to avoid a border scenario.

You said we should refuse to man any borders if the EU asks us to.

Why would we do that? We're still part of the EU and the vast majority of Irish people are happy to be.

If it's a case that there are going to be hard borders, then we have a duty both nationally and on a European level to protect our own borders.
    We want to be in the EU and will continue as such. That commitment requires us to adhere to EU principles. You are in cloud cuckoo land if you think we'd do as you suggest, or even want to.

Question: What do you think the EU would do if they told Ireland to enforce the border and we did literally nothing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 249 ✭✭Galway_Old_Man

We don't want a hard border. Neither do the Brits. But we can't do a deal on this as the EU puts its foot in...

Are we going to turn over and let them f us up the arse like we did in the banking crisis (thanks Brussels) or will we say shove it, this is the way we're doing it and any slimey French or Germans who get their knickers in a twist about it can take a running jump.

Put on the Green shirt and take it up the arse from the Commission eh???

Balls to that, it's time to start swinging our dick in the EU and let them now that we won't be privy to their games anymore.

So why then is everyone in the North entitled to an Irish passport?

Nomis21 wrote: »
    So why then is everyone in the North entitled to an Irish passport?

I belive it was one of the terms of the good Friday agreement.

Build a border crossing like anywhere else in the world. Make a toll plaza type set up.

Could you imagine the traffic at it.

The sound of one-hand-typing folks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,093 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Such spinelessness and there hasn't even been an indication of a border being enforced.

What a load of shïte.

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭Banana Republican

Sad it's going to happen but was always on the cards given the brexit vote. We'll have to get used to it and respect the will of the British people and government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,731 ✭✭✭firemansam4

They already have random customs checkpoints at some border points mainly checking northern reg cars and making sure they are not owned by residents in the republic.
    I would not envisage there being any hard borders like the past, but I think there will be some sort of compromise made - as a guess I would say there will be an agreement to have much more random custom checkpoints working all the different crossing points at different times, and maybe higher port controls on the Island of Ireland as a whole.

They already have random customs checkpoints at some border points mainly checking northern reg cars and making sure they are not owned by residents in the republic.
    I would not envisage there being any hard borders like the past, but I think there will be some sort of compromise made - as a guess I would say there will be an agreement to have much more random custom checkpoints working all the different crossing points at different times, and maybe higher port controls on the Island of Ireland as a whole.

This is what will happen exactly. Increased stoppages and probably a permanent presence by a couple of Garda at most of the Points.

And if a person is here or in Northern Ireland for non Tourist or business activities they must declare it to Dublin or Belfast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

I don't think any sort of border could happen long term.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,085 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

We don't want a hard border. Neither do the Brits.

Complete and utter nonsense, if the Brits did not want a hard border then they would simply leave things as they are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Commotion Ocean

I don't see why we can't keep the borders open.

Norway and Sweden are non-EU and EU respectively, and yet the border remains open because they have the Schengen agreement between them.

Similarly, Ireland has the CTA with the UK, so why can't our borders stay open with the non-EU member?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Complete and utter nonsense, if the Brits did not want a hard border then they would simply leave things as they are.

Brexit wasn't based on logic. The voters had zero idea about a lot of the consequences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭Tuco88

Well the E.U are gona make the Brexit as hard as possible, it can't be seen in anyway as good for the uk.

If it's a successful move I rekon the ass will fall out of the eu.

I would think hard border is preferred by the E.U

I'd wish they would hurry up with it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

We don't want a hard border. Neither do the Brits. But we can't do a deal on this as the EU puts its foot in...

Are we going to turn over and let them f us up the arse like we did in the banking crisis (thanks Brussels) or will we say shove it, this is the way we're doing it and any slimey French or Germans who get their knickers in a twist about it can take a running jump.

The reason a hard border might happen is because the UK voted out of the EU. The EU wanted them to stay. The republic of Ireland wanted them to stay. People were told, both here and in the UK, that if the UK voted for brexit a hard border might be the result. They voted out. It was the UK that decided this. Sure, most in northern Ireland don't want a hard border but most in Britain couldn't give a fcuk.

Yet it's all the nasty EU's fault according to you.

Tuco88 wrote: »
    Well the E.U are gona make the Brexit as hard as possible, it can't be seen in anyway as good for the uk.

If it's a successful move I rekon the ass will fall out of the eu.

I would think hard border is preferred by the E.U

I'd wish they would hurry up with it...

They won't be hurrying anywhere if Marine Le Pen wins the French presidential election in May. Personally I don't think she will, but if she did nobody outside of Ireland would give a f**k about the border here since the problems the EU would face would multiply by a million in dealing with the outcome of a Le Pen victory.

Immigration, is the key word. You cannot emigrate to a country legally without going through the procedures. Otherwise you are an illegal. The British don't want to stop people entering the country, they want to stop people emigrating into the country. Unless they go through the proper channels, they cannot do this. Unlike during the EU era of just turning up at Heathrow, getting their equivalent of the PPS Numbers and bobs your aunty, you have emigrated.

They'll still have 90 day tourist visas and the like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Immigration, is the key word. You cannot emigrate to a country legally without going through the procedures. Otherwise you are an illegal. The British don't want to stop people entering the country, they want to stop people emigrating into the country. Unless they go through the proper channels, they cannot do this. Unlike during the EU era of just turning up at Heathrow, getting their equivalent of the PPS Numbers and bobs your aunty, you have emigrated.

They'll still have 90 day tourist visas and the like.
    So you're saying on one hand that there shouldn't be a hard border but on the otherhand that people (I'm assuming the Irish are people) should have to apply for a 90 day visa.