Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Which Taoiseach would you go for a few pints with?

• 16-02-2017 10:52am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 39

Given that we may be getting a new one soon enough, this question popped into my head. Which living (ex-) Taoiseach would you go for a few pints with? The "pint" factor used to be a big one with Bertie. It was said in a way that assured you he was "a man of the people" and why wouldn't you have a pint of Bass with him, or indeed vote for him?

So given the choice (it's a grim list!) which one would you for a few pints with? I'd opt for Bertie. I'll leave political differences aside, I think it'd be quite interesting to get a few of the stories from him. And I reckon he'd be on for a skinful.

Liam C, I'd worry that he'd die and we'd end up like Weekend At Bernies. Bruton is a dry sh!te. Cowen, I think he's a mess. Kenny is grand but not sure how much craic he'd be.

Which living (ex-) Taoiseach would you go for a few pints with? 145 votes

Enda Kenny
    0% 0 votes
    Brian Cowen
    13% 19 votes
    Bertie Ahern
    33% 48 votes
    John Bruton
    45% 66 votes
    Liam Cosgrave
    8% 12 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,633 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Has to be Cowen for the impressions and singing.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,973 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

There's no way Bertie would get a round in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Lemass, Costello or Fitzgerald.....

.....or Haughey.

The bunch in the poll are just boring......

EDIT: Just saw you said living Taoiseach :o.......I'd still rather dig up one of the others and go out with any of that lot!

At a push - Cowan, at least he get his round in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,236 ✭✭✭Patser

Poll is seriously missing Haughey, you know he'd have hookers, coke, French shirts etc and wouldn't give a flying feck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,317 ✭✭✭HigginsJ

Oh dear, what an awful list to choose from, John Bruton if push came to shove.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Brian Cowen methinks, the closest living embodiment of Tull McAdoo. Strikes me as a man who wouldn't shy away from the bar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭323

Where's the option for "None of above"

“Follow the trend lines, not the headlines,”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭323

“Follow the trend lines, not the headlines,”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,733 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

I'd rather go with Fitzgerald's corpse than any of the living ones.

Liam Cosgrave is still alive?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 39 re_shaft

HigginsJ wrote: »
    Oh dear, what an awful list to choose from, John Bruton if push came to shove.

Good God man.

Yeah Cowen's a good shout but I'd worry about him cutting the night short, or ditching you early, for a run at the takeaways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,058 ✭✭✭whoopsadoodles

Patser wrote: »
    Poll is seriously missing Haughey, you know he'd have hookers, coke, French shirts etc and wouldn't give a flying feck.

He doesn't quite pass the "living" test though.

Liam Cosgrave is still alive?

He is, he's 96 and in reasonably robust health.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,317 ✭✭✭HigginsJ

re_shaft wrote: »
    Good God man.

Yeah Cowen's a good shout but I'd worry about him cutting the night short, or ditching you early, for a run at the takeaways.

He is more interesting to listen to the rest of that lot (not too familiar with Cosgrave TBF).

Cowen just no, Bertie would be fine for half an hour but that's about it.

As for Enda, I would rather rip off my ears and eat them than sit and listen to him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

I would say that Bruton would be best at the start of the night. A clever insightful man.

Then, after a few pints, move on to Bertie as you start to get merry. Take the piss out of him.

After 8 pints you would roll up your sleeves and head over to Cowan's table for the sing song and lock in.

Enda could make me a cup of tea to help nurse the hangover. No need for any conversation.

osarusan wrote: »

You see, in Ireland is is quite possible to have lively, robust political discourse over a few beverages along the lines of "You an' all belingin'cha are nattin' but Blueshirt bastards!" "Oh yeah? Well you're a.. a conniving Anti-Treaty sleeveen clodhopper, the same as your grandmother!!" and it's all in good fun and is quite a popular evening sport where I live in Bishopstown. Let's not get too much like the Americans, where friendships end and families split over disagreements about healthcare financing. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭EICVD

Bertie, up the Dubs & all that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

323 wrote: »

And/or I don't drink..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭jacksie66

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,210 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Bruton. My mother is from Meath, I can handle the humour.

Graces7 wrote: »
    323 wrote:

And/or I don't drink..

Fine I'll put away the guns that I'm holding to your heads forcing you to vote/drink alcohol with politicians.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,435 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

none, most politicians are a boring lot, with similar or same ****e ideas

• Closed Accounts Posts: 681 ✭✭✭Mr. FoggPatches

Inda. I'd do a Begbie on it and launch a glass, then point at Kinny and shout 'It was him!'.
    Hilarity would ensue. Hilarity and violence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,283 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Where's Dev I want to spit in the auld bollixs glass. Ask him did ya do it, we'll did ya. Too many options o that question to be frank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,921 ✭✭✭buried

All of them

And plenty of polonium I'd bring with me

Make America Get Out of Here

Inda. I'd do a Begbie on it and launch a glass, then point at Kinny and shout 'It was him!'.
    Hilarity would ensue. Hilarity and violence.

Not much love for Enda on the poll which is a shame as he actually is quite a nice chap. I suspect he'll get a higher ranking in a few years after being out of office for a while and we're dealing with another FF one with their Finger On The Button.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

Jack Lynch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,236 ✭✭✭Patser

He doesn't quite pass the "living" test though.

Still better craic than that list. Weekend at Haughey'!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 681 ✭✭✭Mr. FoggPatches

Not much love for Enda on the poll which is a shame as he actually is quite a nice chap. I suspect he'll get a higher ranking in a few years after being out of office for a while and we're dealing with another FF one with their Finger On The Button.

TBH, if I wanted to drink with someone who has never done a day's work in his life, I'd take a 6 pack to the dole office.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭storker

I think I'd pick Enda.

I'm not an FG supporter and I think Enda is a terrible political performer and has been a poor Taoiseach. His Dail performances range from cringeworthy to infuriating, and even FGers are finally noticing/fessing up to his Hans Christian Andersen-like grasp of the facts.

All that said, I've heard from a number of quarters that the guy in person is very different to his public persona, and he can actually be quite good company. I'd be interested in seeing that side of him for myself, and I don't mean that I'd be abusing the face off him or going off on anti anti-FG rant either, although that's not to say that points would not be made...but it would be quite civil and coversational.

(I don't imagine I'll be getting a PM from him anytime soon though...) ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

List is very bad. You'd have to pick Haughey though. Like him or loathe him he was one of the most influential (for better and worse) politicians this country has ever had at a time when Ireland finally dragged itself into the modern era.

That drama series RTE did a year or two back was actually very interesting!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 475 ✭✭jimmy blevins

Would I have to toast the queen if i went on the tear with bruton?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

I've a mate who's father went to school with Enda Kenny. Fella was meant to have been an absolute piss head as a young man. Also I think Enda would be in need of a pint nowadays as things seem to he turning to ****e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

Patser wrote: »

he used to threaten guards enforcing closing time with Donegal if they didn't leave the pub , my kind of drinking buddy :D

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,748 ✭✭✭✭Lovely Bloke

Absolutely not true, the man regularly stands rounds for all manner of people in his locals, still to this day.

Most notably the Gardaí who drink in the Home Farm clubhouse in Drumcondra, it's right beside the station, and Bertie always had a lot of respect for the Rank & File Gardaí.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

I would politely decline.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,509 ✭✭✭robbiezero

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    none, most politicians are a boring lot, with similar or same ****e ideas

Would ya think so?
    I would have thought they would be full of interesting stories and anecdotes. Try a night out with a bunch of software engineers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,435 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

robbiezero wrote: »
    Would ya think so?
    I would have thought they would be full of interesting stories and anecdotes. Try a night out with a bunch of software engineers.

hahaha good point actually, true they would actually have very interesting stories but ive found political journalists/commentators far more interesting;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

Bertie Ahern all day long. I'd suffer him for the few hours, then fcuk the curry chips over him in the chipper afterwards and give him a couple of good, hard slaps.

Cowan for the LOLZ, singing and craic.

Enda would be telling a few dry jokes, whilst drinking a glass of shandy. I've an uncle just like him.

Bruton would be too judgmental as to the amount I'm drinking.

Cosgrave would get ratty and tired and we'd have to call an early night for him.

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    hahaha good point actually, true they would actually have very interesting stories but ive found political journalists/commentators far more interesting;)

Frank Dunlop's book "Yes Taoiseach" is quite entertaining.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭Conchir

On a college night out last year, we ran into Enda in the Gingerman. He seemed decent company for the 2 or 3 minutes we were with him. Past that I don't know.

I went for Bertie, reckon he'd be the most tolerable.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,295 ✭✭✭Lt Dan

Given that we may be getting a new one soon enough, this question popped into my head. Which living (ex-) Taoiseach would you go for a few pints with? The "pint" factor used to be a big one with Bertie. It was said in a way that assured you he was "a man of the people" and why wouldn't you have a pint of Bass with him, or indeed vote for him?

So given the choice (it's a grim list!) which one would you for a few pints with? I'd opt for Bertie. I'll leave political differences aside, I think it'd be quite interesting to get a few of the stories from him. And I reckon he'd be on for a skinful.

Liam C, I'd worry that he'd die and we'd end up like Weekend At Bernies. Bruton is a dry sh!te. Cowen, I think he's a mess. Kenny is grand but not sure how much craic he'd be.

So long as you did not expect Bertie to pay for a single pint, unless you pulled the famous Charles J Haughey stunt, then ya, Bertie would be decent craic. One thing though, I would not touch "Bass" if the only other option was cat's pee

Cowen? Hmm, rowdy it would be, but, he is a B.I.F.F.O. , would get messy

Bruton? Would "pint" be his thing? Not a sherry , or wine? or Brandy (later two are even better)

Haughey got one on him :D

Jawgap wrote: »
    Lemass, Costello or Fitzgerald.....

.....or Haughey.

The bunch in the poll are just boring......

EDIT: Just saw you said living Taoiseach :o.......I'd still rather dig up one of the others and go out with any of that lot!

At a push - Cowan, at least he get his round in.

Haughey, easily, and it would not be some gruby pub either. The finest of chicken and wine and birds . Try and dig out some great stories (no chance in getting them)

Get Brian Lenihan Senior, PJ Mara and Ben Dunne in on the fun and it would be some bash

osarusan wrote: »

Jesus, I would hope that it is more craic than the living corpse of Fitzgerald. One shandy, he would be gone off home

Where's Dev I want to spit in the auld bollixs glass. Ask him did ya do it, we'll did ya. Too many options o that question to be frank.

Frank Aiken would have ya by the scruff of the neck and bounced around the room before ya got to even shout "Did", ya pup ya.

Up Dev, Up the Republic , yahoo:D

Noveight wrote: »
    Jack Lynch.

Great Call. Throw him and Liam Cosgrave Junior in. Those lads, despite being opponents, were known to be friendly and enjoyed a bottle of Paddy's.

You could talk about hurling and football and whether he knew about what Haughey was up to (maybe not) . Throw in Paddy Hillery too and the would be a great chat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭pumpkin4life

From experience, Charlie Haughey.

Here's a picture of me at one of the madder seshes:

lists_90sfilms_eyeswideshut_740_300.jpg

Oh, LIVING. I misread the title. Well bollocks to that.

Brian Cowen then. Here's a picture of me at one of the madder seshes.

mcnulty-drunk.png

silverharp wrote: »
    he used to threaten guards enforcing closing time with Donegal if they didn't leave the pub , my kind of drinking buddy :D

Shelbourne Hotel too , with Doherty. "Good even Guard, a Pint or a transfer"

Stuff of legends

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,765 ✭✭✭The Golden Miller

beertons wrote: »
    Bruton. My mother is from Meath, I can handle the humour.

What humour? I'm from meath and have never come close to seeing anything that could be described as a unique brand of "Meath humour", that differs from anywhere else. Even if there is, what would an affluent castle Catholic anglophile know about it?