Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Great body or handsome face

• 15-02-2017 6:20pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 652 ✭✭✭

A question for men.

Would you rather have a big muscular and shredded body and an ugly scone or a skinny body and a handsome face?

I can imagine some people will answer "a handsome face as you can develop a great body but can't change a handsome face" for the purpose of this thread imagine that you're skinny body will remain skinny for the rest of your life.

choice 30 votes

Great body - ugly face
    0% 0 votes
    Handome face - skinny body
    100% 30 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭The Raptor

If it's a question for men, why does the face have to be handsome?

As a woman, I'm going to answer that I would prefer a sexy ass on the man.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,552 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

Is there a none of the above but a gallows humour option?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 dicanio

Handsome face, skinny body. Clothes look better and you won't look like a bag of prunes when older - and most women prefer a 'dad bod', anyway... so we're screwed either way

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭Yourself isit

dicanio wrote: »
    Handsome face, skinny body. Clothes look better and you won't look like a bag of prunes when older - and most women prefer a 'dad bod', anyway... so we're screwed either way

There's a wide chasm between what women say they like and they actually like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 dicanio

There's a wide chasm between what women say they like and they actually like.

Ain't that the bloody truth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,450 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

"An ugly scone" :D

I'd rather a handsome face and a skinny body, it's been the other way round long enough already, and most of the time my body is covered from the face down. Sure you can get clothes that make a blubber body look well, can't do a whole lot with an ugly pug.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,270 ✭✭✭clairewithani

Why is there no "Great Personality" option?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Because it's a blatantly sexist question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭tonycascarino

Would much rather a handsome face and a skinny body than a great body and an ugly face. Even if you had a great body you will still be ugly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭Rumpy Pumpy

Good question OP. Never had to think about it before as I have a killer body and a ridiculously handsome face.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Interesting you have a "skinny body" as the alternative to an ugly face. Surely a fat body would be worse?

I know the muscular physique is the stereotypical optimum, but I never really considered skinny to be bad.

That said, I'm biased as I'm fairly skinny myself :p

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭stimpson

Once I can keep my massive langer I'm not too pushed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,420 ✭✭✭corner of hells

stimpson wrote: »
    Once I can keep my massive langer I'm not too pushed.

You've got your own Cork person ?

I keep Eddie Hobbs in a cage under the stairs.

I'd take an average height body with an unattractive face over my current short body with averagely attractive face.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Im not giving up either one.

GLaDOS wrote: »
    Interesting you have a "skinny body" as the alternative to an ugly face. Surely a fat body would be worse?

I know the muscular physique is the stereotypical optimum, but I never really considered skinny to be bad.

That said, I'm biased as I'm fairly skinny myself :p

Yeah I would personally, as a straight man, consider the thin male physiques of the 1970s to be more aesthetic than the bulky ideal of the current period. My ideal would be to have the physique of a lean premier league footballer. I would imagine being such a body would *feel* a lot better too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

But sure we all have great personalities!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,058 ✭✭✭whoopsadoodles

Your Face wrote: »

It's ok, no one is asking you to give your ugly face or your skinny body. It's only hypothetical.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

It's ok, no one is asking you to give your ugly face or your skinny body. It's only hypothetical.

Top notch bantz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,908 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

stimpson wrote: »
    I keep Eddie Hobbs in a cage under the stairs.
    Have you got room in the cellar for David McWilliams?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭pumpkin4life

Pedantic cùnt time.

If you've got a great body, you're probably muscular and lean. If you're lean, then you're lean in the face too. Which means that if you're muscular and lean, then you've probably got a decent, above average looking face anyway.

http://forum.bodybuilding.com/showthread.php?t=144053401 <sort of NSFW. Bodybuilding forum and all that.

There are very few ugly people out there, and this ain't some pumpkin coombia shìte either.

Considering that less and less people take care of themselves these days, its easier than ever to be above average in looks.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,604 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

A question for men.

Would you rather have a big muscular and shredded body
    Shredded ? :eek:

I knew a guy who fell into an upholstery machine. Horrific.

But he's fully recovered.

Have you got room in the cellar for David McWilliams?

PM sent.

Considering that less and less people take care of themselves these days, its easier than ever to be above average in looks.

This is not true, not for under 35s at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭pumpkin4life

This is not true, not for under 35s at least.

Well yeah, of course, within/around your age group.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Because it's a blatantly sexist question.

How do men not have faces or women ????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭dar100

Your Face wrote: »

Sure you're that ugly you need someone else's face

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭Mr.Plough

Sexy ugly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

It's mandatory to wear a bandana when you refer to bodies as 'shredded'?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,417 ✭✭✭Archeron

I'd go with great body. I've seen the movie Face Off, so the handsomeness could be 'borrowed'' from somebody else.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 652 ✭✭✭DanielODonnell

Pedantic cùnt time.

If you've got a great body, you're probably muscular and lean. If you're lean, then you're lean in the face too. Which means that if you're muscular and lean, then you've probably got a decent, above average looking face anyway.

http://forum.bodybuilding.com/showthread.php?t=144053401 <sort of NSFW. Bodybuilding forum and all that.

There are very few ugly people out there, and this ain't some pumpkin coombia shìte either.

It isn't as simple as that, there are many men with great body's who are harry potter lookalikes and there are many ladies with great bodies who are not that attractive in the face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

I feel like I'm being dull-shamed :( On the upside, I think I have the theme for my TED talk.

Semi-serious answer; as a bloke, you just need confidence in abundance
    without it, you're DOOOOOMED

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

I'm tall (6'2")and conventionally handsome
    Dark hair brown eyes
    When I was in college I was skinny runner build and the ladies loved it
    All clothes looked good and I thought I was too skinny
    So I bulked up
    I got up to 15 stone of muscle and I was happIer and more confident and I met the woman I married but I definitely didn't get as much attention
    Once I was married I became more interested in strength than body so I got up to 18 stone power lifter size
    It's nice being big but you seroously limit thenumebr of women that are attracted to you
    I think Taht 6'2" at 12 stone is 60% at 15 stone is 20% and at 18stone is 5-%
    But I'm now 16 stone still happens my married and big enough that I get the respect I like to get but not so big clothes don't fit

If my son is my height I'd reccomend he be 14-15 stone and fit if he wants to attract a partner

Tigger wrote: »
    If my son is my height I'd reccomend he be 14-15 stone and fit if he wants to attract a partner

My ideal combination would be to be around 6 foot and 11 to 11.5 stone - BMI of about 21. Good height, above average without standing out for your height. Not so tall that you suffer back pain or inconvenience with everyday life eg. beds being too small. Tall enough that even when you lose height as you age you will still likely stay above 5'10.
    Light enough that you can sprint quickly, feel nimble, jump high, feel atheltic, clothes look good on you, but not so light that you look too thin, have no muscle mass etc.
    Think something like David Beckhams build during his football career.

I voted.
    But I am a woman!
    I'm going to go with a good body because it's a man's world. The amount of fab looking women I have seen with rough looking men I can't count!
    Women are more attracted to personality.
    If it's a choice, face or body, I choose body, because attraction grows the more you know someone.

As someone who's always been a few pounds overweight and with an average at best visage, I'd kill to have a handsome face and skinny body. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,520 ✭✭✭learn_more

I would go for handsome face- skinny body because if you have a handsome face you can always workout your skinny body but if you have a great body - ugly face you can't workout the face.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,741 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I'm tall (6'2")and conventionally handsome
    Dark hair brown eyes
    When I was in college I was skinny runner build and the ladies loved it
    All clothes looked good and I thought I was too skinny
    So I bulked up
    I got up to 15 stone of muscle and I was happIer and more confident and I met the woman I married but I definitely didn't get as much attention
    Once I was married I became more interested in strength than body so I got up to 18 stone power lifter size
    It's nice being big but you seroously limit thenumebr of women that are attracted to you
    I think Taht 6'2" at 12 stone is 60% at 15 stone is 20% and at 18stone is 5-%
    But I'm now 16 stone still happens my married and big enough that I get the respect I like to get but not so big clothes don't fit

Or else not obsessed with this kind of ****e. Chicks dig guys who aren't obsessed with this kind of ****e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 443 ✭✭DaeryssaOne

Sorry this is one of the most ridiculous things I've read on here, imagine for one second that a woman posted this about her daughter - she would recommend a certain weight for her daughter to be so men would fancy her!
    Once your son is within a healthy range and does not feel he has been pressured into weighing a certain amount then he will have confidence in himself - which is what attracts a partner anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Christmas 2025:

'Son, you missed your target weight by 1.5kg. Santa is cancelled with imeddiate effect'.

Or else not obsessed with this kind of ****e. Chicks dig guys who aren't obsessed with this kind of ****e.

i'm not obsessed i'm answering the quesation
    i didn't ever shape my body to attract women, i got into strength sports and got big as a by product
    then i gave my opinion on having different bodytypes with the same face

Christmas 2025:

'Son, you missed your target weight by 1.5kg. Santa is cancelled with imeddiate effect'.

is he 1.5kg over or under?

jobr wrote: »
    Sorry this is one of the most ridiculous things I've read on here, imagine for one second that a woman posted this about her daughter - she would recommend a certain weight for her daughter to be so men would fancy her!
    Once your son is within a healthy range and does not feel he has been pressured into weighing a certain amount then he will have confidence in himself - which is what attracts a partner anyway.

i said reccomend not insist!!
    he can do what the fcuk he wants but if he asked i'd answer

you think younger men don't ask men they look up to about how to attract women or get a job or other things?
    i've been asked by friends many times about weight lifting to attrct girls or fo self confidence, i remember once being asked if getting a motorbike would attract women.

the answer i gave was the same as most times " confidence is key , if being stronger or more muscely or having a bike makes you happier and more confident then it will work"

As someone who's always been a few pounds overweight and with an average at best visage, I'd kill to have a handsome face and skinny body. :(

not being smart here but cut out as much sugar and processed white carbs nd eat loads of veg instead and you will lose the pounds
    bodyweight resistnce training would help you can do it for prctically free just download https://www.amazon.com/Naked-Warrior-Pavel-Tsatsouline/dp/0938045555 its only 8 dollars and its a great book
    Pavel is a legend

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,058 ✭✭✭whoopsadoodles

i said reccomend not insist!!
    he can do what the fcuk he wants but if he asked i'd answer

you think younger men don't ask men they look up to about how to attract women or get a job or other things?
    i've been asked by friends many times about weight lifting to attrct girls or fo self confidence, i remember once being asked if getting a motorbike would attract women.

the answer i gave was the same as most times " confidence is key , if being stronger or more muscely or having a bike makes you happier and more confident then it will work"

It's impossible for you to say now, that between 14-15 stone at your height, will have him at his most confident though. Doesn't really make any sense. It may have been the case for you, but that's no indication of what he'll be like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Would you rather have a big muscular and shredded body and an ugly scone or a skinny body and a handsome face?

As the proud owner of both OP (by that I of course mean neither:))It makes not a shred of difference when it comes to getting women - bitches be crazy, women are complicated creatures.
    Over the years I've found it pretty easy to get my dirty hands on one, more or less whenever, particularly as they get older - must be hormonal or something!

20's takes a bit of effort
    30's they come to you
    40's it's like a zombie apocalypse, they just spring out at you from all angles.

I'm dreading my 50's:D

It's impossible for you to say now, that between 14-15 stone at your height, will have him at his most confident though. Doesn't really make any sense. It may have been the case for you, but that's no indication of what he'll be like.

well if he's my broad build 14-15 looks like 12-13
    i hve a pic of me at 12.5 stone from 15 years ago that i stuck on fcebook and the lads all asked if i was on meth

what i ment was he shouldn't get as big as i got and that 14-15 max is enough, but i thnk people assume that 14-15 is big , its not at 6'2" 14 stone is skinney if it's muscle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 681 ✭✭✭Mr. FoggPatches

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 652 ✭✭✭DanielODonnell

learn_more wrote: »
    I would go for handsome face- skinny body because if you have a handsome face you can always workout your skinny body but if you have a great body - ugly face you can't workout the face.

You should have read my whole post sir