If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Ploughing a garden

• 15-02-2017 01:55PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭

What's the best set up for ploughing a garden or small area, say half an acre? Access good but fenced on all sides.
    Small tractor / two scrape plough or something bigger?
    What would leave the tidiest job and reach the most of it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭laoch na mona

a tiller and a young lad to push it

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,047 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

A_pair_of_horses_ploughing_-_geograph.org.uk_-_517658.jpg

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

greysides wrote: »
    A_pair_of_horses_ploughing_-_geograph.org.uk_-_517658.jpg

When can you start? :-)

a tiller and a young lad to push it

He could be an old lad again he's finished. :-) How long would it take to do half an acre?
    I see a fairly hefty tiller in the local hire shop, but I'd be thinking a half acre is too big? Am I wrong?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

He could be an old lad again he's finished. :-) How long would it take to do half an acre?
    I see a fairly hefty tiller in the local hire shop, but I'd be thinking a half acre is too big? Am I wrong?

If this is the yoke yer on about, stay the hell away from it. Got one for a wknd and it wasn't worth a shyte!
    Spray it and rotovate it??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

What are you using the garden for? Veg?
    We do about 1/3 of an acre, maybe a bit more with the tiller each march and then make the furrows ourselves. Once you get used to it it's simple enough, those tillers are fairly powerful yokes! We get one out for the weekend with a lad a few miles away and we each use it for one day and it's a mighty job. I had a photo of last year but it's somewhere god only knows on Twitter and I'm not searching through all my photos for it! :pac:

I have it sprayed off since late last back end. So it's in good condition to plough. I hope to reseed it with grass. It's rough, so I'd hope to plough, till it, run a land leveller over it, and sow it. Something like that anyway. But I'm just wondering what would be the best set up to do it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 77 ✭✭DX85

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 256 ✭✭Stephenc66

Small tractor with rotovator and finish it of with a lawn rake bucket on a small digger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Does it have to be ploughed ? Would a lad with a power harrow get it good enough for grass ?

Bullocks wrote: »
    Does it have to be ploughed ? Would a lad with a power harrow get it good enough for grass ?

Jaysus, it's starting to sound like a big job :-)

Why I'd like to plough it is because I dunno what is below the ground. I'd be afraid there's blocks buried or fcuk knows what.
    Also, rightly or wrongly I'd like to plough now and leave in the furrow till just before I decide to till and sow.
    I could easily be talked out of it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Jaysus, it's starting to sound like a big job :-)

Why I'd like to plough it is because I dunno what is below the ground. I'd be afraid there's blocks buried or fcuk knows what.
    Also, rightly or wrongly I'd like to plough now and leave in the furrow till just before I decide to till and sow.
    I could easily be talked out of it though.

Haha , half an acre walking behind one of those hand rotavators and you would be easy talked out of it .
    Are you going ploughing yourself or asking someone local ? I'm sure it wouldn't be hard enough get someone

Bullocks wrote: »
    Haha , half an acre walking behind one of those hand rotavators and you would be easy talked out of it .
    Are you going ploughing yourself or asking someone local ? I'm sure it wouldn't be hard enough get someone

I'm between minds whether to get in a lad with a small tractor and plough or go at it myself with a slightly bigger outfit.
    I'd think a small outfit would get in tighter around tge place, but the more I think about it the more I'm convinced I'll end up doin It myself. The tractor is set up for foddering this time of the year so I'd jump at the chance of someone else doin it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭arctictree

Those tillers won't do old grassland. You'd need to plough it first or turn it over by hand. Then rotovate it and then run over with a rake/harrow a few times. You'll then have a good seed bed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 292 ✭✭queueeye

Plough and power harrow.
    Simple job.
    Unless I'm missing something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,781 ✭✭✭✭Base price

I'm between minds whether to get in a lad with a small tractor and plough or go at it myself with a slightly bigger outfit.
    I'd think a small outfit would get in tighter around tge place, but the more I think about it the more I'm convinced I'll end up doin It myself. The tractor is set up for foddering this time of the year so I'd jump at the chance of someone else doin it!
    Contact your local vintage club and get someone with a two furrow & handy tractor to plough if for ye. As you said leave it and let the weather tiller it. Rotovate/power harrow (land level if needed) before sowing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,254 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Local plough club would be another good place to ask.

There's usuallly a lad in every area that will plough/Harrow gardens with small equipment.

As for trying to plough old ground with self propelled hire gear, I'd say don't it's not going to be any way easy.

queueeye wrote: »
    Plough and power harrow.
    Simple job.
    Unless I'm missing something.

No, you're on the ball. It's straight forward enough. The real issue I was wondering about is what type of set up would do the tidiest job.
    Maybe a small two scrape plough would be best.
    I've no experience of reversible ploughing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,781 ✭✭✭✭Base price

No, you're on the ball. It's straight forward enough. The real issue I was wondering about is what type of set up would do the tidiest job.
    Your hardly going to use a reversible plough in half a acre. Jeez where would the headlands be ;)

Base price wrote: »
    Your hardly going to use a reversible plough in half a acre. Jeez where would the headlands be ;)

I don't know, I never used one. I think the only way I can do it is start one side and keep reversing back up idle after ploughing each pass.
    Any time I ploughed before was out in a field where I'd plenty of room.

I don't know, I never used one. I think the only way I can do it is start one side and keep reversing back up idle after ploughing each pass.
    Any time I ploughed before was out in a field where I'd plenty of room.
    Misunderstood what you meant. I though you were thinking about using a reversible plough.
    Its easy enough to do and operates as you stated above. Only problem is you get an awful pain in your neck/lower back constantly looking behind you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 292 ✭✭queueeye

Standard plough will be fine, anybody with any cop on will manage it. Harrow will give it a good finish.