Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

An Post RAS 2017

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,661 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Ah lovely...itll be going past my parents front door on the thursday...may need to take a few days off also!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,116 ✭✭✭bazermc

Jeeze talk about ignoring Munster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,138 ✭✭✭buffalo

bazermc wrote: »

Four days in 2016 wasn't enough? Along with 2014, 2013, 2011, 2010, 2009, 2008...

It hasn't been to Donegal since 2012 afaics, think it's good to give the north of the country a chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Out of interest when was the last time the Ras went over the Wicklow hills?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,138 ✭✭✭buffalo

P_1 wrote: »
    Out of interest when was the last time the Ras went over the Wicklow hills?

Went over the Wicklow Gap in 2013.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,861 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

Jaysus..... Shur that's nowhere near the Southeast !!!!
    We were spoiled for the last few years ...... :/

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭wav1

buffalo wrote: »
    Four days in 2016 wasn't enough? Along with 2014, 2013, 2011, 2010, 2009, 2008...

It hasn't been to Donegal since 2012 afaics, think it's good to give the north of the country a chance.
    There were actualy 5 stage ends in Munster in 2016.Charleville,Dingle,Sneem,Clonakilty,and Dungarvan.Its impossible to fit in everywhere in 8 days.When the decision is made to include Donegal it nearly has to exclude Munster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,185 ✭✭✭nilhg

Anyone know when was the last time the RAS visited the Slieve Blooms, there's the makings of a fantastic stage over the Glendine, Wolftrap and the Cut. I had a quick look on the RAS site and it doesn't seem to have been in that neck of the woods since at least 2005.

nilhg wrote: »
    Anyone know when was the last time the RAS visited the Slieve Blooms, there's the makings of a fantastic stage over the Glendine, Wolftrap and the Cut. I had a quick look on the RAS site and it doesn't seem to have been in that neck of the woods since at least 2005.
    2007 on stage 1 to Templemore took in a lot of that countryside from memory.

wav1 wrote: »
    2007 on stage 1 to Templemore took in a lot of that countryside from memory.

How did I miss that, cheers, only took in the easiest climb in the whole Blooms though.

If any of the RAS organisers read this there's a lovely new surface on both sides of the Glendine, it'd be a great place to see the RAS go by, maybe in 2018?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

Good route and will be a tough Race/Ras (for a change ;) )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 781 ✭✭✭Mr. Grieves

When was the last time the Ras crossed the Border?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

When was the last time the Ras crossed the Border?

2007 I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭niceonetom

Might be the last time they get to do that too. Hard to get a bunch stopped to all show their passports.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,384 ✭✭✭Kaisr Sose

bazermc wrote: »

Parish pump cycling. ?

Going from 9 to 8 days made it hard for a route for all provinces every year! The TDF also ignores part of France year to year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,041 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

I'll be getting myself to The Gap of Mamore on the 24th. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,041 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Anyone know which side of Mamore? It hard to make it out from the maps/details. Hopefully it's the gruesome southbound side!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

You'll probably cycle up that morning :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭glassdoc

It is indeed southbound from Urris over Mamore to Buncrana :eek:
    With the 2 following stages going around the tough, rolling & hilly coast of Donegal it's going to make for great viewing and hard racing.

Ye Munster lads are more than welcome up to sample the hospitality here :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭ht9zni1gs28crp

Yep, Mamore will be packed i guess!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,450 ✭✭✭Harrybelafonte

Looks like I'll go home and spectate for large chunks of this. Passes almost by my family front door. Awesome. Can we see it stage by stage yet on a map?

Weepsie wrote: »
    They have it stage by stage on the website. Unfortunately they don't use very detailed maps whatsoever as yet, even though they are sponsored by OSI.

Thanks, was on phone earlier and didn't see it properly. Yes!!! They'll be racing one of my favourite roads and going almost past the house on Stage 5. For anyone making plans to get a good view etc, An Chuirt hotel will be an awesome spot, though they might be going a bit fast. Otherwise the hill out of Loch an Iúir.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭glassdoc

Thanks, was on phone earlier and didn't see it properly. Yes!!! They'll be racing one of my favourite roads and going almost past the house on Stage 5. For anyone making plans to get a good view etc, An Chuirt hotel will be an awesome spot, though they might be going a bit fast. Otherwise the hill out of Loch an Iúir.

It won't be going through Loch an Iuir, leaves the N56 at Crolly going through Annagry. Best spot might be there then skip back to Dungloe for the stage finish.

Ah ok. That bit after Crolly is rolling enough?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,661 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Ah ok. That bit after Crolly is rolling enough?

Too right.
    The short ramp out of kincasslagh is a right donkeypuncher, would be a good spot as well

Did Gortahork to Gaoth Dobhair as part of spin today. Windy as hell. But it always is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭ezra_

Look like the name could be changed to the (Your Name Here) Ras

Not surprising but not good news.

ezra_ wrote: »
    Look like the name could be changed to the (Your Name Here) Ras

Not surprising but not good news.
    How do you work that one out?They have stopped sponsoring the sportives but still have a huge commitment to the sport through the team,the ras,and ras na mban.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭ezra_

wav1 wrote: »
    How do you work that one out?They have stopped sponsoring the sportives but still have a huge commitment to the sport through the team,the ras,and ras na mban.

Because when cutbacks start, they don't tend to stop.

ezra_ wrote: »
    Because when cutbacks start, they don't tend to stop.
    Possibly but lets not bury anything before its dead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 jamo31

Im an A1 rider with UCD, Does any club out there have a ras place available for this year? Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,221 ✭✭✭thekooman

any have full route details... wanna see if any of my KOMs will be safe! :D
    the site just says what towns but near me it could go 2 ways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

Race technical guide should be here
    http://www.anpost.ie/AnPost/irishCyclingRas/Info/Race+Technical+Guide/

But only 2016 one available at the moment.
    Wish they'd hurry up and release it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,429 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

jamo31 wrote:
    Im an A1 rider with UCD, Does any club out there have a ras place available for this year? Thanks

Omagh did as of last week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭jimbobaloobob

jamo31 wrote: »

Contact Eddie Dawson and he might be able to let you know which teams are looking for riders. There's always a few spots come available for various reasons in the week before.

Thanks would you have Eddie Dawsons contact details?

sory never mind, just got his details there

jamo31 wrote: »
    sory never mind, just got his details there
    He is not involved anymore so wouldn't bother.Best way is just to put the word out there on social media etc..Lots of guys in the same boat this year.

Stage3 4 and 5 and 6 look like really tough days in the saddle !!
    Really Bloody tough !

First rule of the RAS

Theres no easy day in the RAS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭25sean

anyone see any maps with an elevation profile of the stage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,908 ✭✭✭CrowdedHouse

25sean wrote: »
    anyone see any maps with an elevation profile of the stage?

They're in the Road Book - link in post #42 above.

Seven Worlds will Collide

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

They're in the Road Book - link in post #52 above.
    Given yours is post #48, I presume you mean #42;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,908 ✭✭✭CrowdedHouse

Thanks!

(Should have just put in the link again)

Seven Worlds will Collide

So how many Irish stage winners do ye think their will be? Im putting two out there.
    One from a county team rider.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭25sean

Thanks!

(Should have just put in the link again)

thanks for that... perfect

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭manwithaplan

So how many Irish stage winners do ye think their will be? Im putting two out there.
    One from a county team rider.

County rider stage wins don't come along too often. Hope I'm wrong but after last year we might have to go without for a while.