Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Underground Run: Dublin Tunnel - March 26, 2017

• 04-02-2017 8:37am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭

Looks like there's a 10k in the Port Tunnel coming up! It's a commercially run for-charity event, so mightn't suit everybody, but running in the tunnel sounds like fun to me (I wasn't a runner when Clonliffe put on a 10k in the tunnel before it opened).

https://www.undergroundruns.com/the-course/#map

From the FAQ:

Is this a charity event?

Yes. All proceeds from the event are donated to Focus Ireland. We are aiming to raise €150,000 for Focus Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,611 ✭✭✭corcaigh07

Singer wrote: »
    Looks like there's a 10k in the Port Tunnel coming up! It's a commercially run for-charity event, so mightn't suit everybody, but running in the tunnel sounds like fun to me (I wasn't a runner when Clonliffe put on a 10k in the tunnel before it opened).

From the FAQ:

Is this a charity event?

Yes. All proceeds from the event are donated to Focus Ireland. We are aiming to raise €150,000 for Focus Ireland.

Sounds cool at first but it might get fairly boring after the initial novelty wears off, it's 2 straight lines and nothing much to look at!

Hope it goes well though and it's encouraging that Dublin City Council are creating such a big new event.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,615 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

32 quid though. :eek:

Tee shirt, medal, massage, hot tubs, post-race party - I suppose you're getting something for the money. No mention of a goody bag though. :rolleyes:

I like the idea of running the tunnel all the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,303 ✭✭✭crisco10

Murph_D wrote: »
    32 quid though. :eek:

Tee shirt, medal, massage, hot tubs, post-race party - I suppose you're getting something for the money. No mention of a goody bag though. :rolleyes:

I like the idea of running the tunnel all the same.

But but but my garmin...it won't work!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,664 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Did the first one, Twas ok but nothing special

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Muppet Man

I'm a bit claustrophobic... :-( Good luck to them though.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

I did the first one too but these days and purely an occasional jogger/slogger. It was fun and quite different, surprisingly hot in the tunnel last time on a cold winters day iirc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,553 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Participants and competitiors will get a unique chance to run through Ireland’s longest tunnel and under the iconic Dublin city.
    Ehh....? Did it years ago... :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Muppet Man wrote: »
    I'm a bit claustrophobic... :-( Good luck to them though.

haha this is exactly what I was thinking! Absolute nightmare if you have those tendencies! NO WAY OUT!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Even thinking about it makes me shudder...:o:(

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Saw this race on facebook this evening and checked out their site. Wasn't convinced on the whole charity aspect so I asked them and they are indeed donating all funds (after standard expenses) to Focus. None of this Virgin Media Night Run rubbish of pretending it's for charity when really they are not giving anything from the race to charity.

Defo one to look at for me on this basis alone - even though it is pricey. At least the funds are actually going somewhere. I think it'd be kinda cool to run in the tunnel...was raging I missed the first one at the time. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,630 ✭✭✭Working class heroes

Does the 32 Euro cover the Toll?

Racism is now hiding behind the cloak of Community activism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,302 ✭✭✭ooter

I ran the original race about 10 years ago but didn't they do it again a few years ago or did I imagine that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭Yintang

Hundreds of sweaty bodies passing through the hot tubs....yuck!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,553 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Yintang wrote: »
    Hundreds of sweaty bodies passing through the hot tubs....yuck!!
    Did it the first time and it was grand. It does get warm and humid in the tunnels, so despite the cold outside temperatures, wear less clothes, assume it's going to get very warm. Definitely a different running experience. Also, because there are walls either side there's very little passing room so position yourself in the right starting area and don't expect much support on the course!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,031 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Their claim re great public transport in Dublin early on a Sunday morning?

Jaysus....

Might do this one though!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 703 ✭✭✭happygoose

From the FAQ:

Is this a charity event?

I hope they're a little more honest in relation to this than their assertion that "The race will be conducted in accordance with the rules set out by Athletics Ireland" given that the race hasn't got an AAI permit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭ArtieFufkin

Did this the time it was on a few years back. It was an interesting experience and there was a unique atmosphere. I was ahead of the main pack but the noise when the bulk of the runners hit the entrance was memorable.

As mentioned, your garmin won't work but might pick up a signal when you do the switchback. I think I ran a pb at the time mainly because I had no idea how to pace myself. I'd do it again but the price is too much really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Not for me, even this spiel doesn't draw me, it's boring as it is to drive through so I suppose they need to do something to liven it up.
    . This race will be like no other with features such as a tunnel laser light show, DJs, urban themed aid stations, entertainers, UV lighting and live kilometre markers adding to the underground chic element of the event.

Urban themed aid stations?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,360 ✭✭✭stampydmonkey

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Urban themed aid stations?

Bit of LSD to liven things up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,218 ✭✭✭blackwhite

Drove out through the tunnel today, and was trying to visualise the run when doing it :D

It's a long steady uphill pull on the outbound leg - probably less than 1k downhill after the entrance, and then solid uphill until the switchback.

Just thinking on the conditions though? Is it likely to be fairly manky air to be breathing in throughout? Surely they won't be closing the tunnel until an hour or two before the race - so plenty of lingering exhaust fumes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,336 ✭✭✭EC1000

blackwhite wrote: »
    Drove out through the tunnel today, and was trying to visualise the run when doing it :D

It's a long steady uphill pull on the outbound leg - probably less than 1k downhill after the entrance, and then solid uphill until the switchback.

Just thinking on the conditions though? Is it likely to be fairly manky air to be breathing in throughout? Surely they won't be closing the tunnel until an hour or two before the race - so plenty of lingering exhaust fumes?

I doubt the exhaust fumes will be an issue as the tunnel is extremely well vented. However, I did the run the last time before the tunnel opened and the air is certainly warmer and has a muggier feel than when in the open air. Was good to do it though and certainly something a bit different...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Johnnio13

Did this when it opened first. Good craic. Very entertaining to be running in the tunnel but very warm with 1000s of other and unlike ArtieFufkin I was in the middle of it.
    pricey though. Will pass this time around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,302 ✭✭✭ooter

People stripping off aots the last time.

I did this in December 2006, I remember it being really hot, and a tough slog, seemed uphill the last few kms.
    Having said all that, the early Sunday morning suits, and I will probably do it again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭terminator74

i did this back in 2006 when I first took up running. Can't say it was an enjoyable experience. Dark, claustrophobic, hot, lacking atmosphere... unremarkable except for the fact its in a tunnel. Fail to see how I would recommend this to anyone unless you are motivated by the charity aspect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭T5180

EC1000 wrote: »
    I doubt the exhaust fumes will be an issue as the tunnel is extremely well vented. However, I did the run the last time before the tunnel opened and the air is certainly warmer and has a muggier feel than when in the open air. Was good to do it though and certainly something a bit different...

As a regular user of the tunnel I have have to completely disagree with you here . The air quality in the tunnel is very poor in the northbound leg , at times it is so poor that visiability is noticeably reduced . There are a number of large fans at high level along the tunnel but to the best of my knoweldge these only move the air to the tunnel entrance/exit . If you have more information on this I would love to hear it .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 906 ✭✭✭JMSE

Pros: Focus Ireland

Cons: Likelihood of high levels of dioxin in the 'air'

and for that reason .....

Call me a wally but even when I truck through those tunnels of a weekday, I wind up the windows, turn off the blower fan and switch the air to recycled until I'm out and then it's all windows down and get some fresh in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,031 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

What time does the tunnel close at?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 pushpush

i did this back in 2006 when I first took up running. Can't say it was an enjoyable experience. Dark, claustrophobic, hot, lacking atmosphere... unremarkable except for the fact its in a tunnel. Fail to see how I would recommend this to anyone unless you are motivated by the charity aspect.

I would fully agree
    Did the first one , because I didn't think it would happen again.
    To many people to hot to noisy not for me .
    My wife also ran and she enjoyed it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 Paulbloggs

Ososlo wrote: »
    haha this is exactly what I was thinking! Absolute nightmare if you have those tendencies! NO WAY OUT!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Even thinking about it makes me shudder...:o:(

We'll if you get claustrophobic
    You can always run out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭meathcountysec

From the FAQ:

Is this a charity event?

It's a pity they decided to run this the same day as the Dunboyne 4 Mile Road Race, a well established, club-run, road race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭shane1981

JMSE wrote: »
    Pros: Focus Ireland

Cons: Likelihood of high levels of dioxin in the 'air'

and for that reason .....

Call me a wally but even when I truck through those tunnels of a weekday, I wind up the windows, turn off the blower fan and switch the air to recycled until I'm out and then it's all windows down and get some fresh in

Bit of an overreaction? The tunnel will be closed to traffic and the jet fans will be in use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 906 ✭✭✭JMSE

shane1981 wrote: »
    Bit of an overreaction? The tunnel will be closed to traffic and the jet fans will be in use.

Yeah probably a bit, it's hardly nuclear fallout, and it is for charity!

**edit** change of mind on this again, as meathcountysec says, just go to Dunboyne, it's fresh and flat, heat? ..... never

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,903 ✭✭✭zulutango

Did it 10 years ago just prior to the official opening.

A few words of caution ..

1. The fans were not on for that race. If you were any bit towards the middle or back it ended up being a gruelling run because of the lack of air and the heat generated by the pack. If you were up front you wouldn't have noticed this.

2. There was only one water station (outside at the opposite end of the tunnel, i.e. half way point). There was nowhere near enough water at it and what happened was the people who needed water least (those up front) consumed it all such that by the time the people who needed it most (due to the heat and stifling conditions) didn't get any, so their race was made doubly tough. My 10k time is 39 mins. That day I did it in 53 mins because I didn't push up at the start and was overcome by lack of air and heat exhaustion. I actually walked the last few hundred metres up the incline at the exit. It's by far and away the slowest 10k I've ever done but had I been positioned well I might have done a fast one. I was definitely fit enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭The Rook

This was my very first race all those years ago, finished in 64 minutes, will be interested to see how I've progressed since then !!

Edit : IF I've progressed since then!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,779 ✭✭✭eyeball kid

I also did this before the tunnel first opened. Can't remember the heat some people are talking about though. Remember enjoying it it as it was something different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,543 ✭✭✭Claude Burgundy

I've been told 3,000 registered and i'll be on the mic at the first water station in the total...............a real underground dj:D

I'm number 3500 and something so appears to be well supported

Ya well we'll have 4 djs on route at various points.

So how'd everyone get on? Not as packed, warm, or polluted as many suggested. Was really well organised and glad I did it. 87c of every €1 raised went to focus so hope they got their targets.

Not laser light show though : (

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭AAD

I did it this morning and as some suggested it did get very warm but only for a short time between around 3.5k until the exit from the tunnel. I found that the first water station wasn't great, they needed more people to man it which meant poeple having to stop and open the packs of water and help themselves. Apart from that the race went very smoothly and as has been said above, where was the laser lights...

the bonus of course is that a lot of money was raised for a very good cause.

PS: Has anybody seen where the results are posted??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭haminka

I did the run today too. I am claustrophobic but surprisingly found the tunnel really great. The fans were running constantly so even though it was a bit warmer it wasn't muggy and difficult to breathe. It's rather uphill for the first half and at the end so slightly tough especially as we went hiking yesterday so I still felt it in my legs today and my meniscus was acting up but the second half was good except for the end. Overall I found it really great fun and for a good cause.

ETA. My Garmin was off by about 600 metres, not bad for being underground for most of the run. Looking for results too but if they do it next year, I will be there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭KJ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭Caprica

The results are below. It shows a field of just under 1,700. Just over a 1,000 men and just under 700 under. The winning time was 33.10.

http://www.sportsplits.com/Home/QuickResults?clientId=74&raceId=257&culture=en-US

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭xabi_a

Did the run today and was thrilled to do it. Great novelty and I found the air to be fine.

One water station in each tunnel and no problems with them that I could see. But 4 DJs, hot tubs, lasers? All I saw was one DJ!

Very ironic to be running in a tunnel on one of the best days of the year so far. But the sun was appreciated as we hung around before and after the race.

Anyway all for a good cause, and I hope people are right in saying all the money went to charity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭The Rook

The Rook wrote: »
    This was my very first race all those years ago, finished in 64 minutes, will be interested to see how I've progressed since then !!

Edit : IF I've progressed since then!!

So that's the second port tunnel run over and done with, a 10k pb for me at 46:39 which I was very happy with. Saw a guy doubled over puking with about 600m left, hope he was ok.
    Very well organized, very well marshaled and I really enjoyed it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭gaf1983

Really enjoyed that. Thought it was a very well organised event. I was speaking to a truck driver yesterday, and he did warn me about the hills - I just wouldn't have been aware of them from travelling through it on the Aircoach!

Got a PB of 46:04, so can't complain about that! The sun was lovely at the halfway point, but a bit blinding as we emerged the second time at the end. I stormed out of the blocks at the start of the second wave, so managed to get in one of the photos here:

http://www.dublinlive.ie/incoming/gallery/underground-run-dublin-tunnel-aid-12799464

CC-TUNNEL-RUN-_290361745.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭KJ

I was in wave 1 which seemed to be smaller than the 2nd wave which was good. Lots of space, the air was fine, the fans were a bit load but nice breeze from them. I ran without a watch for the first time and managed to get a PB without realising it until I emerged from the tunnel and saw the clock. I sprinted to the finish and got a new PB of 43.22. I think the guy beside me thought I was racing him and he immediately began sprinting too.
    Great race and very well organised. Would definitely do it again.

xabi_a wrote: »
    Did the run today and was thrilled to do it. Great novelty and I found the air to be fine.

One water station in each tunnel and no problems with them that I could see. But 4 DJs, hot tubs, lasers? All I saw was one DJ!

Very ironic to be running in a tunnel on one of the best days of the year so far. But the sun was appreciated as we hung around before and after the race.

Anyway all for a good cause, and I hope people are right in saying all the money went to charity.

There was a dj in the urban village, one at the start/finish, a very good looking dj at 3.5k:D and one at the water station at 7.5k.

Eh hot tubs and lasers aren't my area:P

The Rook wrote: »
    So that's the second port tunnel run over and done with, a 10k pb for me at 46:39 which I was very happy with. Saw a guy doubled over puking with about 600m left, hope he was ok.
    Very well organized, very well marshaled and I really enjoyed it!

Yeah he was checked over and sent to get fluids into him i believe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭avork

Did I miss the lasers or were they counting the self-illuminating multi-coloured cats' eyes count as lasers?

I think that they were hoping to raise €150K for charity so maybe turnout was much lower than they expected as €32*1,700= €54,400 (not counting anyone that donated extra or got sponsors etc).