Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Shops/Businesses with the most annoying "customer service"

• 04-02-2017 8:03am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Parchment

Holland and Barrett - the staff stalk you around the shop asking are you ok, then if you do buy something they ask loads of questions about getting a loyalty card at the till. If you say you dont want one they tell you why you *should* get one. I know the staff are just doing what they are told but its such an off putting shop to go into, i rarely do anymore.

Aitricity spring to mind too - "What do you mean you dont want to save money??!"

Any other suggestions?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭D0NNELLY

Footlocker.. they're like Liverpool chasing you around the shop!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

Kill them all

Also Vodafone only seem to hire people who hate working in shops and hate phones.

And Dunnes with their OAP outreach programme.. poor feckers should be at home in a comfy chair, not trying to figure out how to work a till six months later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Parchment

D0NNELLY wrote: »
    Also Vodafone only seem to hire people who hate working in shops and hate phones.
    Funny you say that - my mom has is with vodafone and had a few problems over the past few weeks with her service/actual phone (very new). They were nothing but rude and unhelpful to her each time - she moved to 3 after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,071 ✭✭✭MarkY91

Bookmakers seem to only hire "yungwans" from council estates who don't say thank you and look like they want to kill you.

Thank God for the fact they have machines now to eliminate the purpose for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭lisasimpson

Sky dont need to say anymore

Eir.
    Close thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Parchment wrote: »
    . They were nothing but rude and unhelpful to her each time - she moved to 3 after that.

That's like jumping from the frYing pan into the fire

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,846 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

Xtravidion used to be a right pain towards the end the seldom time that I went in, usually just if my Bb was down.

"I would like to rent this DVD" then you had to listen to a 5 minute upselling spiel on all the possible "money saving" combinations they had. 3 for 4 nights for €7, 11 for 7 nights for 50p etc
    "I know this I can read the zillions signs ye have up"

That's like jumping from the frYing pan into the fire

I have been with three for years now and have never had a problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭shar01

Was going to say Cablelink NTL Virgin but then they don't have anything resembling customer service to get annoyed about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,400 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Any of them with automated customer service phone lines where you have to listen to 20 minutes of slow drawn out bullsh!t in both Irish and English, and make 30 button presses before being put on hold to talk to someone.

Worst offenders for me are usually aib who've blocked my card for the 'suspicious activity' of spending €1.99 in Tesco, while ignoring the large amounts spent on the Russian or Brazilian Xbox stores.

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Any of them with automated customer service phone lines where you have to listen to 20 minutes of slow drawn out bullsh!t in both Irish and English, and make 30 button presses before being put on hold to talk to someone.

Worst offenders for me are usually aib who've blocked me card for the 'suspicious activity' of spending €1.99 in Tesco, while ignoring the large amounts spent on the Russian or Brazilian Xbox stores.

Bank Of Ireland are the worst for this - i actually made a complaint in branch the other day.

Worst offenders for me are usually aib who've blocked my card for the 'suspicious activity' of spending €1.99 in Tesco, while ignoring the large amounts spent on the Russian or Brazilian Xbox stores.
    Happened me in Asda up north. Turned my phone off. Bought a heap of shopping, paid with AIB card. Went to another shop and the card wouldn't work coz I didn't reply Y to a text after the first card use!
    Suppose it's a good feature for security but would be nice to have known before hand

Bank Of Ireland are the worst for this - i actually made a complaint in branch the other day.

who did you complain to? The lodgement machine?

You done well to find a staff member in a bank these days. They have their automated, normally out of service/eat your note machines.

who did you complain to? The lodgement machine?

I actually asked to speak to someone. I also asked her how could they justify the fees they charge when i, in essence, do my own banking now.

She was very apologetic and gave me her card to ring her with any issues so i could by-pass all the automated phonecalls. I think i am going to move banks regardless.

It was a turning point when i saw a staff member pretty much forcing an older man to sign up for online banking when he obviously didnt have a bulls notion what it was let alone own a computer. I thought it was so awful and he was so confused. BOI used to be ok to deal with but of late its like walking into a building of robots with FREE WIFI!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,668 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

Bank of Ireland. I had to pay money into a club account and was given out to that I should use the machine evenue though the treasurer had the card and was at work. Nasty people in that bank would never go there if I didn't have to. And they are the only bank that closes at lunchtime .

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

Pharnacies have terrible staff too. Nosey f*cks who in their heads they are pretty much doctors, while in reality they are more like clerical officers for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,426 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Pharnacies have terrible staff too. Nosey f*cks who in their heads they are pretty much doctors, while in reality they are more like clerical officers for them.

"Turtyturd , has the syphilis flared up again ? "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Definitely agree with the banks. I used to bank with AIB when I was at home and had two accounts, one I didn't have an ATM card for the other I did. Whenever I called in to make a deposit or withdrawal your one behind the counter was like a dog and one day said "I just can't understand why you don't get online banking!"

Honestly like, I asked her what would happen if everyone did that and where does she think she'd be working if that happened? Bloody automation drives me mad sometimes. My local Lidl only has two cashiers and ten self-service machines and it's a horrible shopping experience with twenty minute queues as people take ages to use the things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭One_Of_Shanks

My worst 5 list would be:

Bank Of Ireland

The sheer incompetence and utterly unhelpful nature of their lot is just out on it's own. Horrible shower to deal with.

I am glad others feel the same about BOI - i thought i was alone with my Joe Duffy caller levels of crankiness when it came to dealing with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,550 ✭✭✭sioda

You've found someone in a branch to complain to we'll done. Main BOI here in limerick doesn't even have a customer service desk anymore

sioda wrote: »
    You've found someone in a branch to complain to we'll done. Main BOI here in limerick doesn't even have a customer service desk anymore

Im in Limerick - i got someone after being cranky in the branch in Dooradoyle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,022 ✭✭✭xabi

There's a clothes shop in cork where the owner basically has you measured up walking into the store, tape around your waist and chest and starts pushing shirts and jeans that would suit you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,242 ✭✭✭duffman13

I worked for a pharmacy a few years ago and I have to agree, in fairness though there is so many ridiculous laws they have to follow you now get grilled when trying to buy paracetamol. Stupid stuff!

Esso service stations used to be appalling, id go in with a fifty for petrol and then listen to a two minute speech on whatever was on special. Two chocolate bars for €2 etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭quartz1

B&Q.... Customer self service payment machines that rarely work or if the do work require a cranky Customer Service Person to jump in with a magic key. Staff operated payment points that are not manned because there are automatic points that aren't working. Cranky staff on the human till in bad mood because they resent you troubling them and not using the automatic machine.... A friendly helpful approach would cost B&Q little.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

xabi wrote: »
    There's a clothes shop in cork where the owner basically has you measured up walking into the store, tape around your waist and chest and starts pushing shirts and jeans that would suit you.

That's not the Denim Store is it?
    If not, its my nomination in Cork, I don't even know if it's open anymore. You can't get two feet in the door without being absolutely pestered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,022 ✭✭✭xabi

razorblunt wrote: »
    That's not the Denim Store is it?
    If not, my nomination in Cork, I don't even know if it's open anymore. You can't get two feet in the door without being absolutely pestered.

That's it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭ Cyrus Microscopic Oyster

Is that the place in the savoy across from Gloria jeans - can never go in there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,332 ✭✭✭Poochie05

Bank of Ireland. I had to pay money into a club account and was given out to that I should use the machine evenue though the treasurer had the card and was at work. Nasty people in that bank would never go there if I didn't have to. And they are the only bank that closes at lunchtime .

Opening at lunchtime is no great shakes, my experience is that most of the staff head off on their lunch anyway so there's usually only one desk open...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

For rubbish, soul destroying, rage inducing uselessness ; Three.

Both their non emglish understanding, script reading 'service' staff and their joke broadband.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,101 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

Aer Lingus since the changeover from Gold Circle to Aer Club.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

I went to the counter to pay for something in The Jean Scene in Carlow a few years ago. The girl that was serving me went to open the cash register and knocked a cold cup of coffee all over my clothes and shoes. She tutted and shook her head but it didn't even dawn on her to say sorry or to look for a cloth for me to wipe my clothes.

Another time I bought a pair of jeans there which I discovered were faulty (I think there was a rip in the pocket or something). I went back with them and the girl (a different one) told me I could still wear them. She refused to give me my money back although she eventually gave me a credit note.

They've long since closed down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

TheTorment wrote: »
    Eir.
    Close thread

I swear they have fuccking people down to such a fine art I think they must practice on labrats first

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭mohawk

Don't like going into Schuh they keep asking if they can help over and over and over. The amount of times I have just left a shop because I can't take it anymore.
    On the other extreme JD sports staff are really good at ignoring you. All I want is to try on a pair of runners.
    How about a happy medium. Is that too much to ask.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭Crazyteacher

Over helpful next staff. On top of you from the moment you step in to the shop. It's not helpful it's off putting.

Even I do a make a purchase I then have to put up with their insincere drivel about how nice my purchase is, even if it's a black pair of leggings!

Thankfully their stock has gone down in quality so no desire to shop there anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

Sky.

Takes a ****ing age to get through to their cancellation department, that's if they don't just drop your call. They make it really really hard to cancel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,063 ✭✭✭sticker

Sky.

Takes a ****ing age to get through to their cancellation department, that's if they don't just drop your call. They make it really really hard to cancel.

I couldn't agree more. Recently tried to cancel a movies subscription at Christmas... but you know what, in terms of customer service for TV service, regular calls etc. I would rate Sky as the best company I've ever dealt with over the phone. Honestly..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,833 ✭✭✭Sebastian Dangerfield

Greyhound bin company. Bins not collected for 4 weeks - only answer is "we've red flagged it to the logistical manager" and a generally rude response. Lucky Panda have been picking up our rubbish by mistake when they get the neighbours. Tomorrows collection will tell whether we stay with them or move to another company

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

The problem with retail and staff being forced to harass the customers is that it does work ie it increases sales.

PC World, Currys are beside each other in Navan, why they don't just shut one since they merged is beyond me.
    Pc world "I want a laptop for a home office, cheapest you have" #1 none in stock try Blanch, 2 none in stock try Blanch, #3 try Blanch #4 yeah we have that one, it's a display model though so we will have to clear software off will take a day

Currys next door , again nothing in stock." Have you tried online"

No, I haven't tried online or Blanch because I was trying to keep you in an ffing job, but I will in future

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Lyle Lanley

You done well to find a staff member in a bank these days. They have their automated, normally out of service/eat your note machines.
    Went to lodge money to my own account a while ago. Three lodgement machines including one lodge/withdrawal, all out of service. Queued up for 15 mins to lodge at a desk and all I get is dirty looks for making her do the work..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,438 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

PC World, Currys are beside each other in Navan, why they don't just shut one since they merged is beyond me.
    Pc world "I want a laptop for a home office, cheapest you have" #1 none in stock try Blanch, 2 none in stock try Blanch, #3 try Blanch #4 yeah we have that one, it's a display model though so we will have to clear software off will take a day

Currys next door , again nothing in stock." Have you tried online"

No, I haven't tried online or Blanch because I was trying to keep you in an ffing job, but I will in future

So your issue is the item was sold out? I'm confused as to how that's poor customer service

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

Dunnes cashiers. Slow and slower

• Site Banned Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Ralf and Florian

Ha,ha I was just about to post about him. Also in Cork the Flying Enterprise bar/restaurant. Nosy overbearing owner who won't leave you alone and he has his staff all trained that way too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭fizzypish

Collie D wrote: »
    So your issue is the item was sold out? I'm confused as to how that's poor customer service

I do. They don't know **** about computers. They'd sell you a toaster and swear to you it can run windows vista perfectly. Still, it was my own fault for trusting the ****ers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭ Cyrus Microscopic Oyster

Ha,ha I was just about to post about him. Also in Cork the Flying Enterprise bar/restaurant. Nosy overbearing owner who won't leave you alone and he has his staff all trained that way too.

Speak Irish or ask why doesn't he sell condoms in his shop, it will piss him off