Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Medals

• 28-01-2017 7:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭

I know this seems ridiculous to some people but i love getting medals/ good goody bags!

I was wondering what are peoples opinions on the best medals/bags for 10k or half marathon races in 2017?

If anyone knows the same for swimming/ triathlons is well I would appreciate it.

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 631 ✭✭✭gman127

I also love the medals / goody bags! The Gingerbread 10k/half in November have a fantastic medal, gift and gingerbread man for all finishers. I did a race in Dunlavin, Wicklow last year that had a fun little foot medal and t shirt (10k) and I did a 6k trail run in Carton Maynooth (around June or July I think) that had a fab medal. Athlone triathlon had a slightly unique medal last year in that it was square shaped and also a tshirt and goody bag for all finishers. A lot of the triathlons actually have great medals / goody bags!

I have seen some lovely medals advertised for this year - the Crumlin 10k / half marathon in June in Wicklow and the Clontarf 5 mile / half in July both have great medals (saw these advertised on pop up races) and a slightly shorter distance than you are looking for but the jog for a dog in Castletown Celbridge in April have a lovely medal too (5k). Raheny 5 mile is known for a fantastic chocolate filled goody bag and plaque but it's on today so not sure if they have registration still open!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭ene

Brilliant! I will look into them all. Any other suggestions or links?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,120 ✭✭✭andrew1977

The rock and roll half marathon in Dublin gives out a fantastic medal, really liked the one I got last year. Great goody bag also.
    Would recommend.

I have already signed up for the rock n roll 10k

ene wrote: »
    I have already signed up for the rock n roll 10k

Do the 5km on the Saturday as well, and they give you another "remix medal"

I was considering that- is that a ridiculous thing to do just to get another medal or two?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,196 ✭✭✭MonkstownHoop

I was considering that- is that a ridiculous thing to do just to get another medal or two?

Not at all, I done the 5 and half last year, treated the 5k as a fun run really was good craic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 425 ✭✭Mulberry

This year the Dunboyne 4 Mile is giving entrants a beautiful medal hanger! Get all the medals and then come to Dunboyne on Sunday 26th March for something to hang them on :) Will post a photo up here soon so you can get a look at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭livedadream

im mad for the medals too, and beware there will be the ''serious'' runners arriving to say medals are pointless, whats the point if everyone gets a medal, im all about the PBs these day.

I love medals i put alot of effort into my running and having something tangible to remind me how far ive come is fab!
    the rock and roll are the best medals for me!
    but there is a company bling bandits on facebook that you can do a monthly virtual race and get a different medal each month, its great because if your not able to make races (due to work schedules or kids or what not) you can still do your race and theres a great community there too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,611 ✭✭✭muddypaws

Mulberry wrote: »
    This year the Dunboyne 4 Mile is giving entrants a beautiful medal hanger! Get all the medals and then come to Dunboyne on Sunday 26th March for something to hang them on :) Will post a photo up here soon so you can get a look at it.

Do you know if the medal hangers are made in Ireland? There is one place in the UK that makes nice ones, and we are looking at them as possible prizes at the end of our season, but would rather use an Irish company if we can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,537 ✭✭✭The Davestator

muddypaws wrote: »
    Do you know if the medal hangers are made in Ireland? There is one place in the UK that makes nice ones, and we are looking at them as possible prizes at the end of our season, but would rather use an Irish company if we can.

I bought mine from 'Hit the wall designs' Found them on FB.

No affiliation with them other than recommending them to friends

that sounds amazing! where can i find info about this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,864 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

So no.t-shirt?

If so that's a real shame. Medal hanger is as about useful to most runners as a hamstring injury.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

Medals are grand, but t-shirts?

At the Clontarf 1/2 last year, they were offering a €5 refund if you didn't take a t-shirt. Good idea, but I think they were only doing it because they ordered too few.

I've far too many t-shirts that I don't use, but I quite like my stash of medals.

Phoebas wrote: »
    Medals are grand, but t-shirts?

At the Clontarf 1/2 last year, they were offering a €5 refund if you didn't take a t-shirt. Good idea, but I think they were only doing it because they ordered too few.

I've far too many t-shirts that I don't use, but I quite like my stash of medals.

T-shirts handy for throwing away on wet race days.

Or give us a option of cheaper entry.
    Unless I win the race I don't want the medal, medal holder just go straight in the bin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭daydorunrun

Getting medals for 5 and 10k races is pointless, unless you're a kid, or as stated above you win (I'd take one for 2nd or 3rd too:)) Make entry cheaper or better still give the money to a worthy cause.
    Hearing fully grown adults complain about not getting a medal for a 5k is embarrassing!

“You tried your best and you failed miserably. The lesson is, never try.” Homer.

Hearing fully grown adults complain about not getting a medal for a 5k is embarrassing!
    id be more embarrassed at being an <snip - no need for that!>

id be more embarrassed at being an elitist ******** tbh

Just because I think it's pointless giving out medals for 5k races makes me elitist? Can you explain without resorting to personal insults?

“You tried your best and you failed miserably. The lesson is, never try.” Homer.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Getting medals for 5 and 10k races is pointless, unless you're a kid...

...or have a kid in tow that you need something to entertain them with then medals are incredibly useful post race.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,035 ✭✭✭HelenAnne

im mad for the medals too, and beware there will be the ''serious'' runners arriving to say medals are pointless, whats the point if everyone gets a medal, im all about the PBs these day.

Aw! I was going to post to say 'No they won't!' because I thought this medals thread was going nicely and people who liked medals were able to discuss their favourite ones without anyone jumping in to say they shouldn't want them ... but I was wrong! Someone did jump in!

Anyway, some people like them, some don't - if you do, this thread seems a good place to see which races have interesting or unusual ones.

My 2 Cents - the Burren 10k & Half Marathon in late May has HUGE ones with a dolmen on them, and I remember seeing one somewhere that was a bottle opener, which is pretty good!

Dingle full and half have the bottle opener! V handy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭eliwallach

If you like to run and receive a medal, I would highly recommend the Clonakilty Half Marathon (usually in December). They have been known to give 2 (yes, TWO!) medals (the size of saucers!) for everyone who finishes. The slogans on these medals are uplifting and inspiring, if you are into that kind of thing.
    It's certainly not my cup of tea (no half-pun intended, with the saucer remark above) and I do find the whole event expensive and a bit on the twee side ("Miles & Smiles" - wtf) but as I said if you like a medal (or 2) it's for you.

that sounds amazing! where can i find info about this?

Glad you like the idea!
    Check out http://dunboyneathleticclub.com/4-mile-road-race/ for information about the event and keep an eye on www.facebook.com/DunboyneAC for updates. We're putting the final tweaks on the medal hanger at the moment, photo almost ready! Will post it here. Enter before the end of Feb to be guaranteed a medal hanger.

This year we'll also give every entrant a Dunboyne AC running diary, which will be useful for those who still use a pen to track training and races! Lots more good stuff too - I'll put it all on the Events page here actually in a minute.
    Registration for the race is here: https://athleticsireland.primo-events.com/ps/event/DunboyneAC3RacePackage

So no.t-shirt?

If so that's a real shame. Medal hanger is as about useful to most runners as a hamstring injury.

Hi Average Runner. That's correct, no tee shirt this year at the #dunboyne4mile.

The feedback was that people already have a lot of tee shirts and were a bit bored with them, so we decided to do something different. You can't please everyone though, but this is a nice item that we hope will appeal to people who's won a medal competitively, as well as to those who love their participation medals. There are some really nice medals out there.

We'll also be giving entrants a nice running diary, again this will appeal to some, but not all.

Hope you can make the race nonetheless Average Runner!

muddypaws wrote: »

Hi Muddypaws, yes I'm glad to say we were able to source these from an Irish company - check out www.kerrysignaturefurniture.ie

The sample I have looks very nice I have to say. It'll be going up on my wall!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

T-shirts handy for throwing away on wet race days.
    I feel guilty throwing away a perfectly good black bin bag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,782 ✭✭✭SmallTeapot

I love medals! I keep them all hanging up in my room (liking the idea of the medal holder, Mulberry - kudos to yer innovation for including one for the race, something different than the norm).

I also keep all my race numbers in a folder and write the timings on the back after the race.

I think of medals as a tangible representation of all the different races I've done. Granted, I have the data from my Garmin watch, but when I look at the medals, I'm reminded of completing the races.

....Like the races whereby I 'got up at crazy o clock in the morning, just to travel half way across the country to run down a rural road in freezing cold temperatures with a load of other half-cracked, neon clothed, crazy people, fixated on the promise of tea and cake in the local GAA clubhouse after.'

And for me, that's what racing is all about really. That's what makes it fun. I collect the medals and feel proud of what I've achieved each time I've completed one.

Back on topic: Great limerick Run had a lovely, fairly sizeable medal last year (think the design coincided with 1916 centenary). The gingerbread run in portlaoise last November was also great.

Phoebas wrote: »
    I feel guilty throwing away a perfectly good black bin bag.

When you get two years training out of a top, you would be throwing away anyhow. So I keep them for races

Hi Average Runner. That's correct, no tee shirt this year at the #dunboyne4mile.

The feedback was that people already have a lot of tee shirts and were a bit bored with them, so we decided to do something different. You can't please everyone though, but this is a nice item that we hope will appeal to people who's won a medal competitively, as well as to those who love their participation medals. There are some really nice medals out there.

We'll also be giving entrants a nice running diary, again this will appeal to some, but not all.

Hope you can make the race nonetheless Average Runner!

Oh I be there. It's a great race

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭KJ

I also keep all my race numbers in a folder and write the timings on the back after the race.

I thought I was the only loser who keeps race numbers.

obviously not, :D   

can you not just answer the OP's question without insulting them no?
    ''I was wondering what are peoples opinions on the best medals/bags for 10k or half marathon races in 2017?''
    [font=Open Sans, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]if you dont run thats fine, and if you dont know of any good races with a good medal or goodie bag thats fine too... some people cant run races, its nothing to be ashamed about...[/font]

[font=Open Sans, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif] but bogartting a thread to suit your own agenda is pointless without having the respect to answer the question posed is pointless, and only perpetuates this idea of running elitism where you only run for PB's and to run fast and get faster and beat everyone and if you don't your not a serious runner.[/font]

[font=Open Sans, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]so while theres no pun intended jog on, theres plenty of threads about how medals are pointless, and goodie bags are for the ''kids''.[/font]

Hands up- I had to google boggarting! New one on me. Anyway think I get the drift, you think I'm hogging the thread for selfish reasons, if my unban dictionary is correct. Just to be clear I gave one opinion on a public thread, hardly hogging!!
    for the record I never said people that collected race medals were lesser people or athletes- that would be elitist. I just said I thought there were better alternatives e.g. Collecting race numbers as mention. They contain part of our DNA in the form of blood (if you haven't lubricated), sweat and tears!
    Enjoy your medals.

KJ wrote: »

I thought I was the only loser who keeps race numbers.

I keep mine too! And do the time and date on the back all stuck up above my headboard with my medals makes a really nice arty type piece

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭nhunter100

not back seat moderating at all, just pointing out the obvious. anyway off for a run now. No medal included sadly.

I believe if you record the run you can sign up for a virtual race and just send on proof of the time with the fee and presto medal in the post. No need for medal less training runs anymore. Win win.

nhunter100 wrote: »
    not back seat moderating at all, just pointing out the obvious. anyway off for a run now. No medal included sadly.

I believe if you record the  run you can sign up for a virtual  race and just send on proof of the time with the fee and presto medal in the post. No need for medal less training runs anymore. Win win.
    i actually do that through bling bandit for some races now, (long story but cant always make the scheduled ones) only once a month but im helping a friend get up to 10 miles so we do one race a month together with a few other friends and get medals from bling bandit to encourage ourselves.

its a fab service but for me nothing beats the feeling of race day! and all those people encouraging each other!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Annie get your Run

Brilliant! which reminds me I must register! look forward to seeing the sample too. There are too many race t-shirts out there IMO and most of them are ill fitting. I treasure the nice well fitting ones, the others have mostly gone in the bin though so something different is always good.

I do keep race medals but don't display them. I hold onto all my race numbers though and make a note of the time/weather conditions etc so looks like there's a few of us in that boat :D

its a fab service but for me nothing beats the feeling of race day! and all those people encouraging each other!

So you'd just as easily enter a race without a medal at the finish. The sense of encouraging others is its own reward, nice to know. As an aside the cost of many races is higher than it needs to be because of medals and trying to outdo each other with more bespoke ones. Just my 2 cents, but I would think getting faster/ stretching the distance would be more important than a drawer full of 'bling'.
    For the OP many races now show a picture of the medal available. If you really want a big piece try the Quadrathon in Donegal in the Summer. Four marathons in four days, huge medal. :-)

Bling Bandits...... I'm learning a lot today.
    Maybe I'm a dinosaur for thinking completing/competing in races was reward in itself- look no further than Park Run for evidence of this. But people getting medals posted out for training runs? That's mental!!

Disclaimer:
    Before I'm accused of being a child abductor again..... each to their own, if that's what it takes to get out and stay motivated- fair enough.
    I would venture that needing such motivation or rather having the simple act of running/racing being insufficient could lead to becoming a former runner when the novelty of medal collection wares off. Again I offer this as opinion rather than fact.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Some posts deleted on this thread - livedadream you have already received a warning today. Any more of this and you'll be taking a break

So you'd just as easily enter a race without a medal at the finish. The sense of encouraging others is its own reward, nice to know. 
    of course, yeah i dont run for medals (never said anything like it either tbf), (i dont think anyone here has said they do but fair enough if they do, each to their own i guess) theres another thread here reasons why you love running or other runners, is a fab thread for seeing all the different reasons why people run and is pretty inspiring.
    the only race ive ever run just for a medal without really wanting to run it was clon half last year, i was unconditioned but all my club were doing it, i suffered though and the medal is pretty awesome (ie massive like the size of a dinner plate massive) and no medal is work doing a half your not ready for coming off illness no matter how big or shiny.

of course, yeah i dont run for medals (never said anything like it either tbf), (i dont think anyone here has said they do but fair enough if they do, each to their own i guess) theres another thread here reasons why you love running or other runners, is a fab thread for seeing all the different reasons why people run and is pretty inspiring. the only race ive ever run just for a medal without really wanting to run it was clon half last year, i was unconditioned but all my club were doing it, i suffered though and the medal is pretty awesome (ie massive like the size of a dinner plate massive) and no medal is work doing a half your not ready for coming off illness no matter how big or shiny.

So you don't run for medals? But you do a virtual race once a month to get a medal off bling bandits to encourage yourself to...run. Your own business but I don't see the point . Running has its own rewards social, mental well being, health to name but 3. Medals to me are absolutely meaningless. But as you said each to there own.

of course, yeah i dont run for medals (never said anything like it either tbf), (i dont think anyone here has said they do but fair enough if they do, each to their own i guess) theres another thread here reasons why you love running or other runners, is a fab thread for seeing all the different reasons why people run and is pretty inspiring. the only race ive ever run just for a medal without really wanting to run it was clon half last year, i was unconditioned but all my club were doing it, i suffered though and the medal is pretty awesome (ie massive like the size of a dinner plate massive) and no medal is work doing a half your not ready for coming off illness no matter how big or shiny.

So you don't run for medals? But you do a virtual race once a month to get a medal off bling bandits to encourage yourself to...run. Your own business but I don't see the point . Running has its own rewards social, mental well being, health to name but 3. Medals to me are absolutely meaningless. But as you said each to there own.
    no i run to enjoy it, i train with a friend who is trying to get up to 10 mile distance and because (due to life ,work schedules, illness etc) we cant make alot of races so we organise a race ourselves once a month to test her distance and pace get a few friends and club mates involved and get a medal, its a good reward base for us. I like medals, their tangible things that show how far ive come (from 20 stone to 12ish and not able to walk up stairs to running marathons) but for me its not all about medals or time or races, its about how i feel from running, the medals are a happy by product of that.
    i dont get the judgement other people have (im not directing this at you nhunter btw), at the end of the day this thread is about what medals you like the OP asked a question, simples., not why people dont see the point of medals or why medals are for kids or why an adult should be embarrassed about it, i guess i just dont see the point of taking a thread of topic to prove a point.
    i post in another forum/thread where off topic discussion is outlawed totally and maybe i was expecting that here or something, basically to put it another way, i dont see why if someone asks what do you love about steak, why youd go out of your way to post on about how meat is murder and vile etc. its off the point.
    why cant we all just get along and answer the question posed? :)

no i run to enjoy it, i train with a friend who is trying to get up to 10 mile distance and because (due to life ,work schedules, illness etc) we cant make alot of races so we organise a race ourselves once a month to test her distance and pace get a few friends and club mates involved and get a medal, its a good reward base for us. I like medals, their tangible things that show how far ive come (from 20 stone to 12ish and not able to walk up stairs to running marathons) but for me its not all about medals or time or races, its about how i feel from running, the medals are a happy by product of that. i dont get the judgement other people have (im not directing this at you nhunter btw), at the end of the day this thread is about what medals you like the OP asked a question, simples., not why people dont see the point of medals or why medals are for kids or why an adult should be embarrassed about it, i guess i just dont see the point of taking a thread of topic to prove a point. i post in another forum/thread where off topic discussion is outlawed totally and maybe i was expecting that here or something, basically to put it another way, i dont see why if someone asks what do you love about steak, why youd go out of your way to post on about how meat is murder and vile etc. its off the point. why cant we all just get along and answer the question posed?

Basically this is a public forum, everyone has different opinions. As I already said I'm in agreement with your comment 'each to their own' however one of the reasons why races have become so expensive is this desire by people for participation medals and the more bespoke the better. Running should be about improving times, distance etc these are just my opinions I also value the social side. But as I said this nonsense of medals is juvenile. 1st 2nd 3rd yeah but one for everyone in the audience where's the value? Recording time on a race bib I feel is far more beneficial and note worthy. Again just my opinion on what is posed in a public forum. If people don't wish to hear contrary views maybe a public forum is not the place to pose a question they may not like the answer too. Anyway those are my thoughts on medals worthless pieces of nonsense that push up the cost of race entry. Have a good one.

Basically this is a public forum, everyone has different opinions. As I already said I'm in agreement with your comment 'each to their own' however one of the reasons why races have become so expensive is this desire by people for participation medals and the more bespoke the better. Running should be about improving times, distance etc these are just my opinions I also value the social side. But as I said this nonsense of medals is juvenile.  1st 2nd 3rd yeah but one for everyone in the audience where's the value? Recording time on a race bib I feel is far more beneficial and note worthy. Again just my opinion on what is posed in a public forum. If people don't wish to hear contrary views maybe a public forum is not the place to pose a question they may not like the answer too. Anyway those are my thoughts on medals worthless pieces of nonsense that push up the cost of race entry. Have a good one.
    and i totally take your point, but i guess i just dont think this is the thread for it, sure start a thread about how races are overpriced and how you dont think particiaption medals should exist ill enagage and chat away, but on a thread where someone asks a simple quesiton it can come across as trolling or WUMing, your opinion and my opinion at the end of the day yes while differing, are just that, opinions.
    you think only 1st 2nd 3rd should get medals, i think starting and finishing a race for some people deserves a medal, ive seen people who were told they might not run again, finish a 5km, last place, but be overjoyed at that and at the medal around their necks and they vaule that medal as a tangible record of their result to hang on a wall or throw in a drawer, for me, with a disability (i hate that word) starting and finishing and sometimes being faster than i used to be is an achievement for me, ill never come 1st or 2nd or 3rd in a race, unless its just a race for 11 and a half minute milers :D  but the medals hanging over my bed from races like the dublin marathon, the dingle half, clon, waterford, sonia o sullivan 5km and countless others (including the bling bandits on the door) are worth the same as first place for me.
    its a bit of perspective people need sometimes, yes in the olympics you only get 1st 2nd 3rd but in real life where everyone can try and take part, a medal is sometimes recognition of the effort.
    judging people who think a medal is an awesome thing to get and achieve is one of those things that makes the elitism in running so horrible to see, the your not a proper runner if ...you like medals, want the t-shirt, if your not training with a goal in mind, if you dont run less than a 10 minute mile, if your not in a club, if your not registered, if you dont have a sub 30 minute 5km, if you dont do marathons, do negative splits, if you listen to music when you train, if you dont cross train, etc etc etc your a runner if you run. i said it before why cant we all just get along and enjoy running for what it is. moving your legs faster than walking.

elitism in running so horrible to see, the your not a proper runner if ...you like medals, want the t-shirt,

Sorry I can't let this go without a comment. I have met and ran races with some of the top runners in this country and in no way can they be described as elitist. This is a label I hear too often applied to people who enjoy the purity of the sport want to improve their times further their distance but are classed as elitist because they shun medals/t shirts usually by those whom are unwilling to push themselves. I have placed in the top 3 in several marathons I have my times recorded, where the medals are? not sure and I don't care. I respect everyone who runs, a 5 min mile is and a 10 minute are exactly the same distance. I would strongly recommend however you stop applying labels to others, it is not them it reflects badly on. Now on that note I take my leave.

+1 Couldn't agree more.
    Lazy labelling is far too easy. Because somebody has an opinion doesn't make them a troll. This thread is about running and medals (indeed the title is 'Medals')so having and sharing an opinion on both is not off topic, it's just not what one particular poster wants to hear. Discussion and polite debate are what make reading threads worthwhile-
    'each to their own' has been very much agreed upon.
    Read back the thread Livedadream, nobody has in anyway tried to shove their opinion down anybodies throat. You took an aggressive stance instantly yesterday and your attitude has been questionable since.
    I have been running for 10 years, have met many many people that are now friends for life, I've encouraged many of my family and friends to take up running and participate in the very events the op refers to as well as park run-
    I have NEVER experienced elitism in any form- all runners I know love the sport and know the benefits and love nothing better than sharing/imparting that love to others.
    Runners complaining about race price increases because of bling- Rock'n'Roll half marathon for example is not elitism- they are sick of prices going up.
    Runners complaining about runners running 4 and 5 abreast at a race is not elitism, it's complaining about lack of consideration. Same goes for people starting to far forward in a race. I could go on but this is going off topic (sorry op). I just felt your lazy labelling and name calling could not go unanswered. Anyway I'm out, I wish you well in your running and long may you enjoy it.

For those who do like their bling. Here is the most impressing medal I've ever recieved-

20k8591_th.jpg

Not in Ireland I know but if anybody is interested in serious bling, head stateside.
    The charms on that medal are €2 coin size for reference.
    The Disney races are well renowned for the medals. My cousin did a race in San Fran where the medals were actually Tiffany necklaces!

elitism in running so horrible to see, the your not a proper runner if ...you like medals, want the t-shirt,

Sorry I can't let this go without a comment.  I have met and ran races with some of the top runners in this country and in no way can they be described as elitist. This is a label I hear too often applied to people who enjoy the purity of the sport want to improve their times further their distance but are classed as elitist because they shun medals/t shirts usually by those whom are unwilling to push themselves. I have placed in the top 3 in several marathons I have my times recorded, where the medals are? not sure and I don't care. I respect everyone who runs, a 5 min mile is and a 10 minute are exactly the same distance. I would strongly recommend however you stop applying labels to others, it is not them it reflects badly on. Now on that note I take my leave.
    I havnt said that nor have i ever, read my post, to be fair i said there is elitism in the sport, i never said it was by the top people running or people who enjoy the purity of just running to get faster or run further.
    who i have also ran with.

While ive never placed top three in a race i dont think it makes someones opinion weighter, you made that judgement, i have a few ultra runners in my club, an olympian as well, and they are in many people opinion at the top of their game in the sport, i didnt equate being the best runner to being an elitist, i gave examples of the opinions of people who give the sport a bad name and put off beginners. 
    you seem to be saying that those who like the medals/tshirts are unwilling to push themselves, that is elitists, for many a 30 minute 5 km is the best they will do and they push themselves to get there, for numerous reasons, not because they are unwilling to push themselves. youve missed the point entirely, now to be fair to everyone i think its save to say we've taken the thread about what medals are the best completed off the point so if you want to set up another thread or pm me im happy to discuss it with you. But please dont get it twisted, I never said that the top runners are the elitists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,782 ✭✭✭SmallTeapot

For those who do like their bling. Here is the most impressing medal I've ever recieved-

20k8591_th.jpg

Not in Ireland I know but if anybody is interested in serious bling, head stateside.
    The charms on that medal are €2 coin size for reference.
    The Disney races are well renowned for the medals. My cousin did a race in San Fran where the medals were actually Tiffany necklaces!

Yeah, I have heard that those Disney race medals are unreal irl. Google image search for those who would like a gander :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,560 ✭✭✭Woden

I want a Mickey Mouse medal!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭KJ

Woden wrote: »
    I want a Mickey Mouse medal!

Only joking. :D