Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rip John Hurt

• 28-01-2017 1:30am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭

Legend of the acting world John Hurt has sadly passed away After battling cancer aged 77 ,
    An acting career that spanned near 6 decades
    From the original Aliens to Harry Potter ,

Rip sir

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,741 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Feck! RIP John Hurt, man of many different characters and convincingly too,

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

Ah Jaysus, he was one of us

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

Irony the man who main star in the film version of 1984 died on this day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Jesus this is sad. Scared me for life him up on the table in aliens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭Vincent Vega

44MdnUP.jpg
    :(:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭SILVAMAN

And bodycount 2017 starts....Hurt, Mike Connors, Della Street......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

44MdnUP.jpg

That film scared the crap out of me too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Ferrari3600

rossie1977 wrote: »
    Irony the man who main star in the film version of 1984 died on this day

Wha'?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Ferrari3600

SILVAMAN wrote: »

The Queen Mother. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,421 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

RIP. Probably the scene he will most be remembered for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,753 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

2016 de Ja vu

RIP to an amazing actor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

"Bird" o Donnell and Bull McCabe reunited again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

He was absolutely magic in the Field. Rest in peace, fella.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 249 ✭✭Galway_Old_Man

I thought he was pretty good as a Doctor in Dr Who.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

The Field, The Elephant Man and Champions were the ones I rememer him best in. And this...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,694 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Tell me this is tongue-in-cheek?

Aged 77, 91, 92.

Yeah, they are leaving us all too young.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭Ann22

Oh my God, I didnt hear this until now. His performance of Timothy Evans in "10 Rillington Place" was a standard by which all acting students shout aspire. A huge loss and an undisputed legend. RIP...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭ChunkyLover54

Nineteen Eighty Four, The Field, Midnight Express, Alien (among others) - the guy knew a good script when he read one. Not to mention that great voice...

Rest in peace John Hurt :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,478 ✭✭✭eeguy

Wha'?

Suppose it's due to Trump's "Alternate facts"...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I loved his stories about filming 'The Field' with Richard Harris.

The boys used to just get fcuking loaded every day of the filming.

John was also a fierce man on the fags, a very heavy cigarette smoker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭Deathwish4

Max: The best thing to do is to get your ass out of here. Best way that you can.
    Billy Hayes: Yeah, but how?
    Max: Catch the midnight express.
    Billy Hayes: But what's that?
    Max: Well it's not a train. It's a prison word for... escape. But it doesn't stop around here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,218 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Ahh that sucks. Great actor.

Rip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Just seen him in a film today at the flicks (Jackie). Was excellent in it to, playing a priest.

RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,808 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

I'm not mad into these RIP threads but John Hurt definitely deserves one. He usually had a delicate voice, which could be used in different ways, (good or bad) but either way, he always did it very well. For me, I'd have to mention Alien, The Field, 1984, Watership Down, and Doctor Who (a bit).. And, of course, The Elephant Man.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭judeboy101

Criminal how the academy voters overlooked him on numerous occasions. No doubt they will all talk about him next month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,769 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

An amazing actor with a love for Ireland. I saw him perform krapps last tape in the Gate a few years back. Was lucky enough to be sitting a few feet away from him. An amazing performance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

Absolute icon. His range was unreal.

uch wrote: »

Not that it makes an iota of difference but it actually turns out that he wasn't. Quite a famous episode of the below, actually quite difficult to watch when he realises himself as he loved Ireland so much

URL="http://www.bbc.co.uk/whodoyouthinkyouare/past-stories/john-hurt.shtml"]http://www.bbc.co.uk/whodoyouthinkyouare/past-stories/john-hurt.shtml[/URL]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,314 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Bull McCabe: Who took the meat out of this one?
    Bird: T'was not me, bull.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,675 ✭✭✭exaisle

uch wrote: »

As turns out, he technically wasn't...he had thought that one of his ancestors was an illegitimate daughter of the Earl of Sligo, but she wasn't....

However, he was Irish in spirit....and that's good enough for me..

A genius actor. I was hooked as soon as I saw him in Midnight Express....

RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

judeboy101 wrote: »
    Criminal how the academy voters overlooked him on numerous occasions. No doubt they will all talk about him next month.

The Academy is a joke to begin with.

I would consider it an honour not to be recognised by those bastards.

John wasn't a politicer, he was his own man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

RIP

Loves his roles in 1984, V for Vendetta and his later role as the War Doctor in Doctor Who.

Great voice for acting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,127 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

Is he first on the 2017 list?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

He was very good in The Proposition and Tinker,Tailor,Soldier,Spy.

In Tinker,Tailor,Soldier,Spy he had such a fabulously weathered and craggy face.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

Back in the late 90s his then girlfriend lived in the apartment beside us. Got to meet him a few times.
    He was a very nice man, interesting fella who had a wealth of anecdotes to tell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,520 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

Even in small roles, he carried an air of authority and belief in his character. In Contact, for example, where his screentime was extraordinarily limited, his character still managed to convey an ambiguous menace, and just drew your attention completely.

RIP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

He has a brother in Glenstall Abbey and has/had children living in Waterford.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,317 ✭✭✭Frankie5Angels

44MdnUP.jpg

"My heart has joined the thousand, for my friend stopped running today".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭force eleven

Anyone who isnt moved by his performance as John Merrick in the Elephant Man is cold hearted. So they are. RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭seenitall

Coinkydinks strikes again: was just watching "Dogville" (a special viewing experience, btw, you'll either love it or you'll hate it), where he's the narrator, thinking to myself: "Ah THAT John Hurt voice...", then popped to the boards for my news ;) and... :(

Great, great character actor, I loved him in "Brighton Rock" especially for some reason, "The Hit" I'd like to re-watch at some point, "The Naked Civil Servant" looks interesting, and also, who could forget his chilling turn as the demented Caligula in "I, Claudius"... :D Good stuff, good times. Thank you, Mr. Hurt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭selwyn froggitt

I can't really think of any roles where John Hurt didn't excel.

And what a voice!

RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

He was just amazing in whatever role he portrayed. R.I.P. John Hurt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,501 ✭✭✭✭Slydice

RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,946 ✭✭✭indioblack

I can't really think of any roles where John Hurt didn't excel.

And what a voice!

RIP
    The voice, yes.
    First saw him in A Man For All Seasons.
    Even with a small role, and accompanied by a raft of excellent actors, he was still memorable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

The clock has struck 13.

RIP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭EmoCourt

He has a brother in Glenstall Abbey and has/had children living in Waterford.

He lived in Ballintubbert House near Stradbally in Laois. Daniel Day Lewis father also lived there, as did Sebastian Shaw (Darth Vader).

...though not all at the same time. That would have been silly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Something must be done about the intolerable situation of more than one old person dying in a calendar year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,520 ✭✭✭learn_more

I wonder if the Alien that burst out of his stomach will be on the telly today speaking of their working relationship. Must be all grown up now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,741 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

He loved Ireland too.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto