Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A Few Things that The GAA need to Do!!!

• 26-01-2017 8:53am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,729 ✭✭✭

Feel free to add.
    1 Listen more to the grassroots . The Sky deal has been a disaster why do it again?
    2 Take Dublin out of Croke Park bar everything nearly bar Leinster final in Leinster. Let them play at opponents venues not neutral.

3 Enforce the training ban for inter countyteams until January. Give fellas a break.

4 Bring a decision in congress down to 55% majority ruling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,596 ✭✭✭threein99

thesultan wrote: »
    Feel free to add.
    1 Listen more to the grassroots . The Sky deal has been a disaster why do it again?
    2 Take Dublin out of Croke Park bar everything nearly bar Leinster final in Leinster. Let them play at opponents venues not neutral.

3 Enforce the training ban for inter countyteams until January. Give fellas a break.

1. Fix the fixtures
    2. Fix the fixtures
    3. Fix the fixtures

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,898 ✭✭✭statto25

Feel free to add.

Why is the Sky deal a disaster? From the point of view of the GAA, its bringing in revenue. Or, are you referring to the fact that these games are not free-to-air?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,946 ✭✭✭MayoAreMagic

5. Find a proper plan and ethos as regards Dublin in the gaa.

When they are trying to justify the funding directed to it they describe it as more of a province. When they want to compete it is a county. You don't need to be a genius to see that isnt going to work in the long term as regards fair competition.

We probably need a fresh and objective pair of eyes or two to have a look at things. For example, the logic where the DCB decide that because they cant get a decent crowd into croke park, they should instead build another smaller stadium, just underlines the issue. But of course, if we seen this happening in something we arent really involved with, like the SPL for example we would say well surely a better option is addressing the lack of competition and making a great spectacle for people to actually watch, thereby getting people into the stadium instead of building a smaller one to suit the dwindling crowds for a product that seems to be losing interest...

That is what people don't consider enough in the gaa - what makes a competition good isn't the level of the top team, it is the competition between the teams, with a bit of rivalry thrown in.

Now Dubs will of course say, this is just anti-dub - it actually isn't, Id say the same for any county in that situation. It is in fact anti-nothing, but rather Pro-gaa. The biggest issue in the gaa today is that we are headed the same way as the SPL in Scotland. This needs to change.

Sorry if I went on a bit there, but the point needed a bit of explanation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,601 ✭✭✭robbiezero

I'd be inclined to lift the ban on training.
    Most modern managers are now very conscious of the need to rest players and not over-train them and also they have the players on gym programs so most of them are training away anyway.
    Weaker counties that are out of action since June should be able to get together an odd time when they want and get things going again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

5. Find a proper plan and ethos as regards Dublin in the gaa.

When they are trying to justify the funding directed to it they describe it as more of a province. When they want to compete it is a county. You don't need to be a genius to see that isnt going to work in the long term as regards fair competition.

We probably need a fresh and objective pair of eyes or two to have a look at things. For example, the logic where the DCB decide that because they cant get a decent crowd into croke park, they should instead build another smaller stadium, just underlines the issue. But of course, if we seen this happening in something we arent really involved with, like the SPL for example we would say well surely a better option is addressing the lack of competition and making a great spectacle for people to actually watch, thereby getting people into the stadium instead of building a smaller one to suit the dwindling crowds for a product that seems to be losing interest...

That is what people don't consider enough in the gaa - what makes a competition good isn't the level of the top team, it is the competition between the teams, with a bit of rivalry thrown in.

Now Dubs will of course say, this is just anti-dub - it actually isn't, Id say the same for any county in that situation. It is in fact anti-nothing, but rather Pro-gaa. The biggest issue in the gaa today is that we are headed the same way as the SPL in Scotland. This needs to change.

Sorry if I went on a bit there, but the point needed a bit of explanation.

The obsession continues ......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,729 ✭✭✭thesultan

statto25 wrote: »
    Why is the Sky deal a disaster? From the point of view of the GAA, its bringing in revenue. Or, are you referring to the fact that these games are not free-to-air?
    Viewing figures are very poor and I feel they should be free to air.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,898 ✭✭✭statto25

The issue with the Sky deal is that the money involved is not down to ratings so the GAA are getting paid no matter who watches the games on Sky. As long as this continues they will retain the rights. The GAA don't care about the average Joe who doesn't have Sky. They care about revenue. It will take an Irish FTA channel to better the Sky deal to entice the GAA.

Bonniedog wrote: »
    The obsession continues ......

No obsession at all man. Just a fairly reasonable post on a thread about things that should be done to improve and develop the GAA.

The methodology in place is fundamentally flawed. We have numerous examples of how this effects the game in other sporting fields. Attack the poster all you want but there is no denying this reality.

Well thinking about it objectively, what person with no affiliation to any team, i.e. just a general sports fan, would want to watch 2-3 teams dishing out hidings in games that are generally over before they start and physically over after 15 minutes? Where everyone puts a heap of bodies in front of their own goals if faced with a strong opponent and generally lose by a distance anyway...

That is a big part of why there is zero interest from non-affiliated people - the product is no ways entertaining for them. If the sky deal happened in the 90s I believe it would have been a bigger hit, because it was more entertaining and there was more teams capable of winning things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,582 ✭✭✭ArielAtom

OK, so we have OP stating that Dublin should be taken out of Croker at all costs, the a reply stating that Dublin getting "small" crowds in Croker and wanting to build their own stadium is a vanity project, then OP thanks said post, Ya could'nt make it up!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Lads, get the development going in other counties and use the Dublin model as a yardstick to measure yourselves against.

The money thing is something that comes as an easy stick to beat Dublin GAA with. I am involved at juvenile level and we have to fund raise fo everthing we require, no hand outs here. If Dublin leverage thier popularity to secure sponsorship deal, that is what it is, using their popularity, if that upsets the majority then so be it. Was there anyone saying Kerry or Kilkenny funding should be cut when they were dominating or anyone whinging about Dublin when they were losing on a regular basis, not more of a snigger when they lost I'd say. Dublin are not dominating. Mayo were 1 point off them over two games FFS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,778 ✭✭✭DJIMI TRARORE

The first round of all 4 provincial championships shud be played the same w/end and rd 2,+3 as well

Counties that need money for hurling development, Offaly laois and Wexford. Need to get these competitive.

Have two sided 1a and 1b hurling league . have ten to twelve teams .

Croke park give a once off payment direct to clubs.. Say €2000 each. (Out of sky money and concerts).

Any teams playing at Croke park, should get a free meal there after the game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

Well thinking about it objectively, what person with no affiliation to any team, i.e. just a general sports fan, would want to watch 2-3 teams dishing out hidings in games that are generally over before they start and physically over after 15 minutes? Where everyone puts a heap of bodies in front of their own goals if faced with a strong opponent and generally lose by a distance anyway...

That is a big part of why there is zero interest from non-affiliated people - the product is no ways entertaining for them. If the sky deal happened in the 90s I believe it would have been a bigger hit, because it was more entertaining and there was more teams capable of winning things.

Crowds are bigger than they ever were. Even look at the O'Byrne and McKenna games that had a few full houses or close to. League final last year was sold out - a record. You couldn't get tickets for love nor money for Dublin/Mayo and Dublin/Kerry games and there were big crowds at other matches.

Sky doesn't make sense because a lot of supporters don't have it; it forces people to go to pubs/clubs; and it is a tiny market for Sky overseas. Just checked a while ago and there were 11 different sports on my Sky package!

No way GAA is going to break into randomers with that competition.

ArielAtom wrote: »
    Lads, get the development going in other counties and use the Dublin model as a yardstick to measure yourselves against.

Ok, every county will just tap into their 1.3 million populations and massive sponsorship deals then shall they? Why didn't someone suggest this
    sooner?!

Your sentence should be put in the dictionary beside the word rhetoric. It is about time everyone stopped looking out for themselves and themselves alone. It is turkeys voting for Christmas and ultimately it is the gaa itself that suffers because of it.

Kerry and Kilkenny have average resources available to them. If any county can dominate from that starting point the good luck to them. There is nothing stopping other counties from matching them - which all importantly is the definition of fair competition. However, how can other counties match what Dublin have though? How is that the same? That is just more rhetoric.

The real issue is counties will have peaks and troughs. But such is Dublin's advantage, we are coming to the point where their trough will still be stronger than everyone elses peak - we seen signs of this last year when they were average enough compared to the previous year, yet were still the best team in the country. We see it at celtic, we see it at Barcelona and real Madrid, we see it at Bayern munich, and we see in in Dublin in the gaa.

You are basically trying to argue that money and population wont make a difference. If that is the case then why don't Dublin just give the funds to the gaa? Wont make a difference right? In reality - more rhetoric...

The methodology of powering one team ahead of everyone else is completely flawed. If you cant see that then sport isn't for you.

Bonniedog wrote: »
    Crowds are bigger than they ever were. Even look at the O'Byrne and McKenna games that had a few full houses or close to. League final last year was sold out - a record. You couldn't get tickets for love nor money for Dublin/Mayo and Dublin/Kerry games and there were big crowds at other matches.

Sky doesn't make sense because a lot of supporters don't have it; it forces people to go to pubs/clubs; and it is a tiny market for Sky overseas. Just checked a while ago and there were 11 different sports on my Sky package!

No way GAA is going to break into randomers with that competition.

Crowds are down man, check the averages. Picking one off games between the 3 teams that people think might be able to win is like picking the old firm derby and saying Scottish football is flying... Complete rhetoric in other words.

The reason the market is small overseas is because the sport is not entertaining for people who don't have a vested interest - same as any sport.

The 1990s were great because A) there was far more teams capable of winning and putting it up to teams, thus there were much more good games. B) There was no defensive football. The rulemakers need to reproduce that environment for objective sports fans to take interest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

Counties that need money for hurling development, Offaly laois and Wexford. Need to get these competitive.

Croke park give a once off payment direct to clubs.. Say €2000 each. (Out of sky money and concerts).
    <snip>
    firstly,
    you obviously missed the €900,000 5 year plan to target Hurling in Offaly, Laois, Antrim, Carlow and Westmeath
    http://hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=217230

regarding cash bonanzas.....
    giving a couple of grand over 2518 affiliated clubs thats € 5,036,000 out of the pot for targeted development to be redirected to clubs where €2000 might make a precious little difference when taken in the context of the tens of thousands it takes to run a club and maintain a grounds.
    I'm not wildly against it, but not a fan of spreading a large fund too thinly.

If there was 5 million burning a hole in the pocket, which I dont think there is, then maybe getting a number of clubs set up or expanded in urban areas outside of Dublin would be my suggestion of something more strategic and long lasting.

We will have to wait for the 2016 accounts to be published, but I dont think that theres any bonanza coming from the Sky deal anyhow, but more that their presence ensures RTE are paying a more competitive amount than if it was just a choice of RTE and TV3 . Its all a little vague so hard to tell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,971 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

OK, so we have OP stating that Dublin should be taken out of Croker at all costs, the a reply stating that Dublin getting "small" crowds in Croker and wanting to build their own stadium is a vanity project, then OP thanks said post, Ya could'nt make it up!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The money thing is something that comes as an easy stick to beat Dublin GAA with. I am involved at juvenile level and we have to fund raise fo everthing we require, no hand outs here. If Dublin leverage thier popularity to secure sponsorship deal, that is what it is, using their popularity, if that upsets the majority then so be it. Was there anyone saying Kerry or Kilkenny funding should be cut when they were dominating or anyone whinging about Dublin when they were losing on a regular basis, not more of a snigger when they lost I'd say. Dublin are not dominating. Mayo were 1 point off them over two games FFS.

Counties don’t have the population to follow the Dublin model

What they can do however is follow the Donegal or Mayo model.
    Counties with small dispersed populations consistently going toe to toe with Dublin this decade, while more populated places like Kildare and Meath are a joke.
    Do what they are doing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

Where's the funding going to come from to get hurling going in Westmeath or Kildare or Offaly?

Just wondering so we can apply and follow the Dublin model

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,971 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Feel free to add.

Like it or not the Sky deal is a done again for another few years, Sky must be seeing the correct data on new and renewed subscriptions to make it worth their time bidding again.
    And if you listened to the grass roots I don’t think Sky would be high or their list, I know there was a motion to make all game FTA but it was heavily defeated (or withdrawn I can’t remember) at congress

They need to look at the structure of the football championship, it’s not right that a team in Ulster or Leinster can potentially play 4 games to get out of their province while a team in Munster or Connacht can potentially only play 2 to get to the same point.
    Same in the qualifiers, how can a team that win the preliminary round potentially start the qualifiers in the same round (1) as the team they beat in the preliminary.
    What every way you do it make it so that teams play the same amount of games to get to the same spot in the championship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Dublin are not dominating. Mayo were 1 point off them over two games FFS.

Fair enough at national level there are a few teams not that far behind Dublin and the Dubs won't win the All-Ireland every year.

However Dublin's total dominance in Leinster is a bigger concern, especially the margins of victory where 20 point hammerings are becoming the norm. Not Dublin's fault and you can only beat what's put in front of you but it's now become a one horse race and that doesn't look like changing any time soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,763 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Kerry and Kilkenny have average resources available to them. If any county can dominate from that starting point the good luck to them. There is nothing stopping other counties from matching them - which all importantly is the definition of fair competition. However, how can other counties match what Dublin have though? How is that the same? That is just more rhetoric.

This isn't true. Dublin are of course top of the pile when it comes to sponsorship, but Kerry have huge resources being put in, as do Mayo, Donegal and Tyrone to name a few.

There is an argument that sponsorship needs to be fairer and more evenly distributed to level the playing field (I think Leitrim get €50k or something from theirs) but that isn't just a Dublin problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 967 ✭✭✭Stationmaster

Reduce the amount of levies clubs have to presently pay to their county board and croke park. Our club, hurling only, have to pay croke park over €3,500 every year in membership/player injury scheme and the same approximately to our county board in levies and public liability insurance. That's over €7k before we even buy a sliotar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 294 ✭✭TrueGael

This isn't true. Dublin are of course top of the pile when it comes to sponsorship, but Kerry have huge resources being put in, as do Mayo, Donegal and Tyrone to name a few.

There is an argument that sponsorship needs to be fairer and more evenly distributed to level the playing field (I think Leitrim get €50k or something from theirs) but that isn't just a Dublin problem.

Kerry received €19 per member in GDev, Donegal €20 Tyrone €21 Mayo €22 while Dublin €275 over the last 5 years so please spare us the notion that there is anthing even approaching a level playing field

None of the above could contemplate attracting sponsorship from foreign multinational companies providing perks such as a free car and the like.

Now I have no problem with the DCB attracting sponsorship, what I do have a problem is them draining the vast bulk of the Games Dev funding which the other 31 desperately need, some more than others obviously. They can fund their own underage coaching with the sponsorship money as opposed from denying those who need it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,351 ✭✭✭Rasputin11

All scores in Gaelic Football should be scored with the boot.

It is true.

I don't see how you think having an average number of people, who know their role, do a good job and work hard, is somehow an advantage akin to having 10 times the average population...

Kerry leave mayo in the ha'penny place on fundraising, but that is down to their ability in the role. That is not an advantage, we, and the majority of other counties can go and match them on that front. How can we match Dublin pray-tell?

Re money not being just a Dublin problem, nobody said it was - it is a gaa problem, and so needs to be addressed gaa-wide and Dublin are at the root of that problem. The resources, or at least the majority of them, should be pooled. If that were the case we could see the cash for this golden calf in Spawell redirected to somewhere like Roscommon for example - a county with the interest and a high level of players, but not the means. Someone like that could be turned into a very good side very quickly, yet a team who are breaking their backs to be competitive are left to buy an expensive bus because they cant afford to stay overnight for games... It's actually ridiculous.

Sweet Jesus Christ half the population of dublin play other sports, the other half are our country cousins who go back home to play for their home clubs, if you are going to quote numbers at least quite specific numbers relating to GAA. You have a whinge in every thread about Dublin, it really is tiresome now #moanformayo.

nice_guy80 wrote: »

Where's the funding going to come from to get hurling going in Westmeath or Kildare or Offaly?

So which is it Westmeath, Offaly or Kildare you are with. Dublin put a plan in place, sought funding and serious sponsorship and executed the plan perfectly, hurling NFL is way off due to agent Cunningham but that's another story. The whinging only started with AI success in football, Shute the country cousins live nothing better than the Cats putting the jacks back in their bix. Spare me the violins

Sweet Jesus Christ half the population of dublin play other sports, the other half are our country cousins who go back home to play for their home clubs, if you are going to quote numbers at least quite specific numbers relating to GAA. You have a whinge in every thread about Dublin, it really is tiresome now #moanformayo.

There are plenty of people who don't play gaelic football in all counties. When you have 10 times the population of other counties, you will have 10 times the people who don't play too. I accept that a higher percentage don't play in Dublin, but surely that is up to Dublin to get them playing, like it is down to Kerry to get good people in roles of fundraising?

As for moaning about Dublin, maybe stop thinking the world revolves around Dublin for a start - I couldn't care less about Dublin to be honest with you, Im discussing a serious issue facing the GAA, in a GAA-wide manner, because I am a GAA-person who has a genuine interest in the sport. You just seem to be looking to excuse Dublin any way you can, because you happen to be from there. Surely any self-respecting gaa-person should offer more than that to the discussion? You say it is me moaning, Im just pointing out some issues in the gaa, it is you that is doing the moaning from where Im standing 'ye are just out to get Dublin' - any fool can see that there is substance to the points being made...

But you rhetoric is constantly Dublin are the big bad guys, I like you are a GAA man, I had to go through lean times as a Dublin fan, did we whinge incessantly about Kerry's advantage with their big Kerry Group sponsorship, no we got on with it. Please stop whinging, it's embarrassing at this stage. It's every thread you can introduce it into, BTW Mayo are not magic😉.

The thing is Dublin need little funding from the Gaa with the sponsorship they have . The Gaa could look into Antrim as smaller scale Dublin. Belfast is a soccer city yet Castleknock and Dalkey were hardly GAA hinterlands twenty years ago.

To be fair Cuala have always had a good standing, Castleknock are feeding from both Brigids and OPERS cup, albeit more successfully at juvenile level over the past few years hence their emergence at adult level

But you rhetoric is constantly Dublin are the big bad guys, I like you are a GAA man, I had to go through lean times as a Dublin fan, did we whinge incessantly about Kerry's advantage with their big Kerry Group sponsorship, no we got on with it. Please stop whinging, it's embarrassing at this stage. It's every thread you can introduce it into, BTW Mayo are not magic😉.

Kerry dont have any advantages though. They have just been better than the rest. They have hammered my own county numerous times - why would I be defending them? It ju as t simply isnt accurate that they have advantages, so it wont be allowed to pass here.

The only embarrassing thing here is your defence of shouting 'stop whinging stop whinging' over and over again when faced with some pretty reasonable truths about the gaa. It only underlines how you just dont like what is being said, but cant deny its validity.

A thing Kerry need to to banish tadhg keannelly from the county

So Kerry are just better and Dublin win because of funding, you have shown your hand, I'm out of here #moanformayo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,788 ✭✭✭tritium

So Kerry are just better and Dublin win because of funding, you have shown your hand, I'm out of here #moanformayo.

Ah sure its just the pure innate shkill flowing in their blood from birth. Nothing to do with having a better model and funding than most other counties. Its only unfair when it's dublin after all, didnt you get the memo :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,788 ✭✭✭tritium

aidan24326 wrote: »
    Fair enough at national level there are a few teams not that far behind Dublin and the Dubs won't win the All-Ireland every year.

However Dublin's total dominance in Leinster is a bigger concern, especially the margins of victory where 20 point hammerings are becoming the norm. Not Dublin's fault and you can only beat what's put in front of you but it's now become a one horse race and that doesn't look like changing any time soon.

Surely a better model then would be to use a form of the dublin model on other relatively populous leinster counties. Meath and kildare have seen huge population shifts in 20 years but havent managed to get their **** together. If you fix that for one of them you now have two counties that have a shot at leinster which is at least as competitive as every other provence bar ulster.

And just to put the competitiveness of leinster in context. Kerry have 78 munster titles to dublins 55 leinsters. This century both have the same number (12) of provincial titles (mayo have 8 in the same period). So dublin are a problem child why exactly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

nice_guy80 wrote: »

As mentioned above, there's already a 900000 special fund allocated for hurling in Westmeath, Offaly, Laois and a couple of others, so it's already in place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭deadybai

Develop hurling in weaker counties. Been saying this for the last 15 years .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭ammc

statto25 wrote: »

I thought the whole point of the SKY deal was not about revenue but about getting a wider audience abroad at least that's how the GAA sold it to its membership anyways. And by all accounts even that hasn't worked out so far and viewing figures are terrible.

Maybe SKY should air their games for free and let SKY and RTE have rights to all games and let the public decide which channel they would rather watch (that is for those who have access to SKY)

Well when you compare what the Dublin hurlers and footballers have won in the last 10 years and compare to the 15-20 before 2005, it is night and day.

The Leinster Football was a really exciting and competitive championship over the years and now because of sustained financial injections over a 10 year period we have the scenario where Dublin's 3rd string who have barely played with each other beating Kildare which is really sad from a sporting perspective

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,393 ✭✭✭Jaden

TrueGael wrote: »
    Well when you compare what the Dublin hurlers and footballers have won in the last 10 years and compare to the 15-20 before 2005, it is night and day.

The Leinster Football was a really exciting and competitive championship over the years and now because of sustained financial injections we have the scenario where Dublin's 3rd string who have barely played with each other beating Kildare which is really sad from a sporting perspective

Leinster hasn't been competitive since about 2005, and a dead duck for the last 5 years or so. What I'm unsure about, is exactly how that ties in with increased spend for Games Development, which honestly, we can't expect to reap dividends from for a few years yet. Are people under the impression that this money has been ploughed into the Senior setup to buy Sam?

As mentioned above, there's already a 900000 special fund allocated for hurling in Westmeath, Offaly, Laois and a couple of others, so it's already in place.

its not really development of grassroots though. Not one extra coach will be on the ground.

its just being put towards county hurling team expenses in the likes of Westmeath, for S&C, specialist coaching etc. Which over a 5 year period will be..... 200,000
    look it up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

[1] A masters fixture list sent out to each club player at the beginning of the year that gives as many possibilities as possible. For example, if Galway get beat in a Connacht Semi final, Round X will be played on this date, but if Galway get to the Connacht final, Round X will be played on this date. The club player should be able to plan his year as much as possible. I know many club players who have stopped playing for this reason.

[2] Greater variety of loyalty packages. The season ticket is a good scheme, but there is so much scope for other loyalty schemes that GAA could benefit from. Schemes for neutrals, schemes for hurling / football combinations etc.

[3] Try to get more social Gaelic football initiatives going. Always thought it was a great shame that the GAA couldnt tap into a GAA equivalent of tag rugby.

[4] Club championship finished in 1 calendar year. I love watching or attending the club finals on St. Patricks Day. It has been my tradition for many years. However, it is very unfair on those club players. I have seen very good players from successful clubs burn out because of the demands of training over the winter. After March, it is hard for them to have the hunger heading into another summer. October bank holiday weekend would be a preferable time to finish the club championship.

[5] Increased marketing for the league. The league is one of the most under-estimated competitions out there. It is awesome - in most divisions, you have a scenario where any 1 team could beat any of the other teams. It generally leads to very close league standings and some very tense games towards the end of the league. I think I remember reading a Paul Galvin article where he said that when he looks back on his career, the more memorable matches were actually in the league.

Jaden wrote: »
    Leinster hasn't been competitive since about 2005, and a dead duck for the last 5 years or so. What I'm unsure about, is exactly how that ties in with increased spend for Games Development, which honestly, we can't expect to reap dividends from for a few years yet. Are people under the impression that this money has been ploughed into the Senior setup to buy Sam?

So the enormous financial investment still hasn't taken effect after 11/12 years!!!!! God help us all if you are right

It stands to reason if the DCB are receiving far higher coaching subsidies from the GAA they will have much to spend on the senior IC teams which is further buffered by a far bugger market with which to attract sponsorship

I dont blame the DCB either one bit, any County Board takes what it can get , the GAA are supposed to be custodians of the game and they should start by bringing a reasonable expenditure cap and prevent these ridiculous 30-40 man backroom teams

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

3 pages in and not one mention of the black card.

3 pages in and 90% of the posts involve Dublin.

Hmmm.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭Davys Fits

Developing hurling is always slow. I believe its happening in weaker counties and in the right places. The time it takes counties like waterford, clare and galway to win allirelands is proof that it can take generations to make it count.

Davys Fits wrote: »
    Developing hurling is always slow. I believe its happening in weaker counties and in the right places. The time it takes counties like waterford, clare and galway to win allirelands is proof that it can take generations to make it count.

Give me an example where it is happening?

There are less hurling clubs in Roscommon than 15 years ago
    Same in Longford

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,393 ✭✭✭Jaden

So the enormous financial investment still hasn't taken effect after 11/12 years!!!!! God help us all if you are right

I don't have a crystal ball, but that is what I expect will happen. The development funding sparked an almost re-birth of GAA in Dublin. The money was earmarked at promoting games to a wider audience that would not normally have been exposed to them. Not was a red cent of it was spent on the Senior Inter County setup. The results are starting to become evident at underage levels - the number of kids in Dublin who are playing GAA has rocketed. I have seen Club nurseries with 200+ kids at them, that's just under 8's at a single club. All this will eventually filter up to Minor, U21 and Senior. There are no certainties in life, but the future looks bright for those in Blue.
    It stands to reason if the DCB are receiving far higher coaching subsidies from the GAA they will have much to spend on the senior IC teams which is further buffered by a far bugger market with which to attract sponsorship

Inter county spend is tracked year on year. Dublin spend the most alright, but Galway are right behind them, and Cork are close enough. Even the Frugal Kerry lads spend almost exactly a Million Euros on Inter County Setup annually. It would be expected that Dual or Dualish counties spend more, and that is borne out by the numbers. Mayo, probably the number 2 team in Ireland, and no real hurling setup to pay for, spend over 600K at last check, and this is expected to he higher again when new numbers are published.
    I dont blame the DCB either one bit, any County Board takes what it can get , the GAA are supposed to be custodians of the game and they should start by bringing a reasonable expenditure cap and prevent these ridiculous 30-40 man backroom teams

The DCB have done a great job with what they've got, and herein lies another issue. The GAA hand out money in cases where they believe it will be well spent. A County board comes with a plan, a budget, and measurable targets, and it gets funding based on the merits of these. Based on a litany of bad experiences, I fully believe that GAA central does not want to start handing out cheques to county boards who have a fair chance of simply squandering it. And rightly so. The GAA as a sport is not professional (yet), but we should expect the people who mange it to act professionally. County Boards are not exempt from this expectation. Some of them are well run, but some of them look like closed-shop me-feiners.

AFAIK Clare Hurlers have the largest backroom team in Ireland. I'd have to dig up a source for that.

Slattsy wrote: »
    3 pages in and not one mention of the black card.

3 pages in and 90% of the posts involve Dublin.

Hmmm.....

Well in fairness, if there wasn't a few painfully biased lads actually trying to argue that the money and population isn't any advantage at all, or the laughable point that Dublin and Kerry is in fact very similar - the topic wouldn't have dragged on for so long. The arguments are actually insulting to people's intelligence, so obviously you are going to get a response.

Here is an idea, now that Dublin are rolling in cash, how about they pay back the irish sporting council grants the rest of the country sent their way, without issue, to make them competitive?
    Since everyone is supposed to be against you, why would you want their money? Or how about some of that 50% of gaa money that Dublin get? The fact that only 20% of the population on the island reside in Dublin would indicate that a sizeable amount of that money comes from the rest of the country. If it isn't down to money, why are Dublin taking so much of it?

You see that is the thing people don't realise, and the gaa don't want to mention. On top of the Irish Sporting council grants, massive sponsorship, not to mention their own huge fundraising ability, Dublin are actually taking 2.5 times what they are raising as regards GAA money, which means they are actually taking from the Leitrims, Carlows, Roscommons and Monaghans. Indeed, taking from everyone.

Again, it isn't about Dublin, it is about the future of the gaa. But it is telling that no Dublin fan has actually admitted that this is indeed not good for the game...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Dots1982

I normally stay away from these debates with randomers on forums because the Dublin fans who post on forums are basically irrational.

But I'll put it to you this way if Dublin continue to dominate and there is no reason they shouldn't then people will stop attending intercounty matches. If that happens GAA revenue will crash. If that happens Dubs should not believe for one second that the GAA won't act to secure their revenue.

I personally think that will mean amalgamating counties.

But things will change if revenue falls and they will change drastically to even up the playing field and get GAA revenue back to the normal level.